Sultans

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 18 reviews )
Contact
+32-472500394
Find

Hoogstraat 30, Antwerpen, Belgium, 2000

Coffee house est. 2017 in the historic center. Serves light vegan food and desserts like cakes and cookies. Offers a variety of plant milks. Open Mon-Wed 10:00am-6:00pm, Fri-Sun 10:00am-6:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Organic, Take-out, Bakery, European

18 Reviews

First Review by LucianaBola

Disappointing and still dissapointing half a year later. - Edit

After reading great reviews on the vegan antwerp facebook group I took my family (8 persons, 2 vegan, 2 vegetarian) here for a lunch on my birthday. First of all the paying in advance is something I think is very unfriendly to customers but this might be my personal taste. The result of this was 4 different orders (because we payed separately) and we didn't receive the food and drinks at the same time so we ate seperately. There was some mix up, wrong drinks were given, swapped and missing. Service wasn't particularly friendly. Maybe this is just not the place for a group to eat. But this is all fine when the food is good. But the food wasn't that good. It was fine at best. There was a lot of bread but not much on it. The hot dog had a sausage split in half and my mother especially was very dismayed with her (I think it was) tofu sandwich with the thinnest sliced tofu ever and not much else. It is almost 3 months ago and she is still talking about it. My family went to eat at a chips shop after eating at sultans. We are not coming back.

(2-2018) The first time I came here half a year ago was terrible but I thought I'd give it another try because of (again) good reviews. We had to wait for more than half an hour to even get our drinks, the people next to us were there 10 minutes longer then we were and still didn't have anything. They walked out.
We got the drinks just in time because we were almost gone as well.
The smoothies were tasteless, the kids didn't like them at all. after another 20 mins we got half of our orders (just like last time) en 15 minutes later we could all eat. Meanwhile the staff was arguing in the kitchen and the people there all thought it was embarrassing. More people walked out.
The food was okay, we got cake to compensate the wait, but only 2 pieces for our party of 4. We will never go back, I am embarrassed taking people there.

They also removed my bad reviews of them from facebook, don't be fooled!

Updated from previous review on 2017-12-22

Pros: Good location.

Cons: Food is just not good enough., Slow!, Not very friendly

1 Response
Read More

CarmenJoao 03 Jan 2018 - Dear Liskoekoek,

Hi, I am the owner of Sultans Coffee House. Unfortunately, I am not surprised with your review. We did had some complaints about the quantities that were served and the friendliness of the staff every time I was not present. We did have someone working with us that would not follow instructions and was not always at his best. However, this has been taken care of and, as you can see by the other reviews and by what you have read on the Vegan Antwerp group, we do provide a quality and customer-friendly service.
Therefore, I invite you informally, to come have a cup of tea with me, where we can talk about what happened and make it up to you. I am sure you will not regret it.
About the 'ordering and paying before at the counter', this is a house rule and rules are meant to be broken. :) All our customers know that I come to the table and take the order myself, unless the house is full. Some people prefer to come to the counter, order and pay. That way they can leave whenever they want and don't have to wait until I bring them the bill. It really is the customer's choice. When we have groups or birthdays, I always take the order at the table myself and the payment is in the end. There is also always a little birthday treat for the birthday-person.
I am sorry that you had such a terrible experience at our place and that your mother was so disappointed. Hopefully, we can meet and make everything right.

Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Carmen  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very sweet cafe - Edit

We shared a piece of chocolate-orange cake which was very tasty. :)
The chai latte was good, the specoloos cappuccino even better, worth a try!
The place itself is quite cute, lots of books to read and good music to listen to, when it's a little less noisy.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy environment - Edit

Very nice friendly staff with very good options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome coffee bar - Edit

The owner of the coffee bar is a very nice lady who started the bar 6 months ago, partly driven by her sense of entrepreneurship and partly by a feeling of annoyance due to the lack of casual vegan hang out spots where vegan lifestyles may come together to simply enjoy a cup of coffee and a little snack. The all vegan place offers light snacks such as sandwiches and cakes, and -yes, finally! - pralines. Top location, idea and food, and very welcoming owners to boot. Definitly recommend. Try the creamcheese sandwhich (all vegan, of course), you won't be disappointed.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice quiet coffee place - Edit

Nice little vegan restaurant. Really enjoyed a delicious chai latte and a piece of shortbread. And thank you for your kindness.

Pros: All products are vegan , Nice friendly staff, Quiet relaxing atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing cozy vegan coffeehouse! - Edit

Sultans is a very cozy coffeehouse that sells amazing coffees, teas, delicious pies and other foods! You can chill here with friends whenever you feel like.. but the best of all are the people who work here.. they are super friendly and fun! It makes the place even better! :D

Pros: 100% vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A cosy, quiet place in the busy city center - Edit

You'll feel at home and have trouble to choose from the 100% vegan menu ;)

Pros: Variety of vegan foods, Very friendly staff, All organic products

Cons: Not open during the evenings

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice place for coffee & snacks - Edit

The location is great with a cosy interior. In summer you can sit outside, in winter all the way in the back against the heater. The owners are very friendly, the food is basic but good!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

What's not to like? - Edit

Great place for lunch or a quick snack/coffee. I really enjoyed my lunch. Very friendly owners.

Pros: everything is vegan!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Diamond in the rough - Edit

First and foremost: the staff is great! Very friendly people who run their business with all their hearts. Also kudos to them for opening a 100% vegan coffeehouse in Antwerp; we need more places like this! My wife and I spent 2 hours at Sultans in the afternoon playing a board game, drinking coffee and eating sandwiches and cake (pie).

That being said, I feel there's still room for improvement. Although the food and drinks tasted great, they were nothing out of the ordinary. We make the same coffees and sandwiches at our home every day. I realize that I'm writing a review for a coffee house here and not for a Michelin star restaurant, but still it would have been nice to find a couple of original and festive looking items on the menu. Something else we missed were newspapers and magazines. It's always nice to have something to read while you're having a coffee, especially if you're alone.

So yeah, we liked it, but we didn't love it yet. This diamond in the rough just needs a little more cutting and then it'll be a brilliant addition to our diamond city!

Updated from previous review on 2017-09-13

Pros: Most welcoming staff ever!, Consistently organic & vegan throughout, A business run with a lot of heart

Cons: A little too ordinary

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Thank you so much for your review and suggestions. It was lovely to have you both. We agree: is a work in progress with room for improvement. Since your visit we have some little changes (equipment, decoration), nothing fancy, but a step forward to our goal: make our clients feel at home.
Hope to have you back soon. We suggest (in case you didn't try it yet) the Omega-3 broodje for something more extraordinary.
Note about the reading material: we don't have magazines and newspapers, but we have hundreds of books on the left and right side of our fireplace, sometimes we even trade books with costumers that go there to read.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy and delicious! - Edit

I found this place through Happy Cow and I'm glad I did! I've been there a couple of times now and everything on the menu is vegan. Even the "cheese" sandwhiches and the "milk"-shakes. I had the cheesecake, melted cheese sandwhich and the milkshake and all of them were utterly delicious!
The interior is nice and cozy and has an inviting atmosphere. And it's close to the city center.
Definitely check it out when you're in Antwerp!

Pros: Completely vegan

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Thank you so much for the reviews here and in Tripadvisor. They help us a lot and they help people looking for places like ours. It's always a delight to have you at Sultans Coffee House. We will keep working to deserve your trust and complements. See you soon.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great place - Edit

This is a really nice coffee house in the middle of Antwerp. They have so many options on the menu: cakes, soup, sanwiches, coffee, thea ... ALL vegan. They have a lot of coffee options and when it's hot you can get iced coffee or milkshakes. The staff is super friendly and the interior is very nice and calm.

Pros: 100% vegan, friendly staff, great menu

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Thank you for your visit and to take the time to write a review for Sultans Coffee House. We are happy that you love our menu and our place. Hope to have you back for a taste of nice warm organic coffee.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely place - Edit

Such nice and warm people, lovely sweet stuff with tour tea, the rest still to find out for me, but I will definitely come back!

Pros: nice people, quiet atmosphere , nice street

Cons: no decaf coffee, I was there at 9:15 for a coffee on a Friday, but

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Thank you for your feedback and your visits. Now you can drink a nice organic decaf anytime you come back to Antwerp.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice place for vegan food! - Edit

It's a really nice place if you're looking for some delicious vegan food. Friendly owner and lots of vegan options!

Pros: Full vegan, Lots of options , Friendly owner

Cons: Lots of options? Haha

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Thank you for your 5 star review. Next time let us help you with the "lots of options" situation :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My new favorite cafe - Edit

I came across Sultans on Happy Cow, and I'm so glad I found it before my trip! I ended up eating there three times, and everything I had was filling and delicious. The owners are extremely nice and the atmosphere is really relaxing. If you can, get a dessert- they are delicious! I highly recommend stopping by if you head to Antwerp- for just a cup of coffee, a snack, or lunch!

Pros: cozy, vegan, delicious

Cons: I don't live nearby

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Thank you so much for your reviews here and in Tripadvisor. It was lovely to have you with us here at Sultans Coffee House. Hope you come back to Antwerp in a near future.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan coffee and cake! - Edit

Great place for coffee, really kind staff, and the carrot cake is delicious! 100% vegan!

Pros: Friendly staff, Cosy, Homemade food

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Hi, thanks for your review in HappyCow. We are happy that you had a nice coffee&cake experience. At Sultans Coffee House you can also have a nice vegan and organic lunch, give it a try. Thank you and see you soon.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

veganheaven! - Edit

The staff is superfriendly and helpful. They have 4 different kind of milk you can choose for your coffee. The food is no nonsense and tasty.

Pros: not to big, cosy, nice setting, they have a terrace, in the middle of the centre

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Thank you so much for the review and your positive feedback. We're glad you liked the food and the drinks at Sultans Coffee House. Hope to see you soon.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food and amazing staff!! - Edit

Very cozy and friendly place in the center of Antwerp. Entirely vegan & organic. Not expensive and high quality items! Super friendly staff!

Pros: vegan / organic

1 Response
Read More

WilmerdaSilva 14 Sep 2017 - Super thanks for being the first reviewing Sultans Coffee House. Thank you so much for your several visits. Always a delight to have you for brunch/lunch  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Antwerpen Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Sultans closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2221 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support