Vegan
American
Organic
Juice bar
Take-out

Cafe attached to the health food store. Vegan since 1994. Serves smoothies, juices, sandwiches, and salads. Kitchen makes its own soy-based mayonaise. Open Mon-Sat 10:00am-6:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Sugar Apple Organic Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

96 Reviews

First Review by hathor03

GwennieH

Points +44

Vegan
23 Feb 2024

Delightful!!!

Wonderful vegan place in Key West! The veggie burger was so good, as was the vegetable soup. Staff there so caring and helpful — they take such pride in their food and it shows. Really awesome place to eat!

Advertisement

DonnaGillespie

Points +34

Vegan
17 Feb 2024

Friendly staff

This cozy Cafe, attached to health food store, was a great find in a town full of the usual tourist spots. Reminded me of my early days of switching to plant based in the eighties. Great vibe. Food was great and lots of options.

Pros: Staff, Health food store, Owners

Ramivegan

Points +57

Vegan
07 Feb 2024

Delicious

We had the tempeh turkey sandwich which was delicious, the burger was good as well.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-07

Pros: Creative

Cons: Ambiente

Leo27

Points +567

Vegan
23 Jan 2024

Famous

Perfect place, has everything😄we had bananabread, tofurky sandwich and avo toast. The service is friendly and prices are more than ok for expensive Key West. Loved it! #Veganuary

coastalchickie

Points +405

Vegan
18 Jan 2024

Such a great find!

We loved this cafe/market! The area needs this! I wish we had something like it near us in Ca! We were only in Key West one full day but managed to eat here twice! I don’t have a photo of our to go order but that gf BLTA I had was amazing and I wish I ordered another for later! Everything we ordered was tasty and filling. The staff was very cheerful and friendly. We would definitely be regulars here if we lived nearby! Keep up the good work! #Veganuary

Pros: Fresh, tasty gf vegan options

sam654321

Points +2676

Mostly Veg
06 Jan 2024

Not bad

Small cafe attached to a grocer.
Had a pretty decent vegan menu.
We didnt get anything because it was soooo busy so it must be good !!@

Kathyzitzman

Points +20

Vegan
04 Jan 2024

Sugar Creek Cafe

The food was amazing. We had a rueben and tofu salad. This was the best meal we had this trip
in Florida.

Pros: Taste, Presentation, Amount

Cons: None, None, None

JakeThomason

Points +38

Vegan
03 Jan 2024

Yummy, good portions, good selection!

The food was great and they gave us a lot of it. We had the special of the day and the Peaceful tempeh. #Veganuary

Pros: Great taste, Kind, friendly staff, Generous portions

plantbasedgal

Points +449

Vegan
22 Dec 2023

Vegan with Good Key West Vibes

This is the only true vegan cafe on the island. The food is lovely and the portions are generous.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-22

Pros: Organic, friendly staff

Cons: Would like to see a homemade burger

harrietsleveen

Points +116

Vegan
23 Oct 2023

Enjoyed this place

It’s a friendly place with groceries and a very small, very good cafe. There are lots of choices, also has outdoor seating.

Pros: Good food, Good value , Friendly people

Vegan_ACL

Points +2417

Vegan
06 Oct 2023

Just tastes real - so good

Cute little sandwich shop churning out the most delicious sandwiches with side salads. It’s the only fully vegan kitchen on the island and they do such a good job. Their daily specials seem to sell out fast so don’t wait to close to closing time.

RobertHenryWraith

Points +108

Vegan
22 Aug 2023

Excellent!

Deli closes at 4! I love these sandwiches!

Skye

Points +1209

Vegan
22 Aug 2023

All in One

Connected to health food store! Food was yummy.

Pros: Food choices, Prices

Cons: Only counter seating or outside

casskenz

Points +20

Vegan
03 Apr 2023

Will not return

The food was good, but their customer service is absolutely terrible. Will not go back. There are plenty of other restaurants offering vegan dishes in Key West with welcoming and friendly staff.

plantbasedgal

13 Oct 2023

I think your experience was isolated. We've been coming to SA for years and have never had a bad experience with service or food.
To your last point, there really aren't many vegan-option eateries in KW. I would give them another try

tommyx

Points +101

Vegetarian
21 Feb 2023

Delicious Bread

Friendly staff who helped us prepare food without onion and garlic. I loved the bread and bought some from the vegan store next door.

KristenDiederich

Points +135

Vegan
17 Jan 2023

Absolutely delicious!

The food here exceeded my expectations. The portions are big and the food is freshly made. It feels both healthy and indulgent at the same time. I wish I had more time to try the whole menu!

DrinkNature

Points +100

Mostly Veg
29 Nov 2022

Full Service for Your Healthy Needs!

The little cafe has a broad menu of well prepared, well-sourced, tasty and nutritious offerings. We had the veggie burger on gluten free bread and it was a really surprising combination of tastes. It had sauerkraut, which hubby doesn’t usually like, but the rest of the combo made it a perfect taste treat. We also had a green juice. It felt like it was healing from the inside out. Delicious, too. Not all green drinks, juices or smoothies are tasty or even palatable. PLUS, it’s connected to a health food grocer with remarkable variety. I got some teas I had been searching for. There was one tea I requested that is pretty fringe unless you are a devout herbal, healing tea drinker and they didn’t have it. Not because they don’t carry it but because the last one was purchased the day before. And we got 2 of our fave kombuchas that are sometimes hard to find. 👍💚

Pros: Vegan all the way. , Good menu, Decent prices for the area

Cons: Parking if their lot is full. , Is a bit pricey but it’s Key West!

Sandyander

Points +1091

Vegan
17 Nov 2022

I’ll dream about the Reuben

Went back twice for the garden bisque soup and the tempeh reuben. First I had the peaceful tempeh which was also delicious but that Rueben!! I’ll dream about it. Even my non vegan friend loved it.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-17

Cons: Some stuff in the market are not vegan/veg.

Momi

Points +214

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Local familiar.

Pequeño local anexo a una tienda con sándwiches y zumos caseros. Personal amable y ambiente muy familiar. Comida cuidada con ingredientes frescos.

Pros: Ambiente.

BnardBliss

Points +134

Vegan
15 Sep 2022

Delicious!

Quick service and delicious options in an area with few vegan eateries.

Pros: Great juice selections, Superb Avocado Toast, Yummy Daily Specials

Cons: Can’t think of any

AndreaYanosovHemschoo

Points +62

Vegan
11 Aug 2022

A vegan oasis at the end of a drive from NJ

We took a roadtrip from New Jersey to Key West and felt like we were in a barren wasteland for vegan options. Coincidentally our VRBO was literally a half a block from Sugar Apple Organic Cafe. So many items on the menu to choose from. The portions are good. The food is amazing and the prices are reasonable.

APC

Points +49

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

Our daily spot!

Great to have an exclusive vegan spot on our recent trip to key west! Came in every day while we were in town.

Pros: Vegan only.

Cons: Small interior

ElectricRara

Points +206

Vegan
15 Jun 2022

Fully Vegan Kitchen

Full vegan menu! Either to go or barstool seating. Small but quick and super tasty! We had some wellness shots, fresh juices and a sandwich. While we waited for our food we shopped around in the market & picked up a few things we forgot for our trip.

Jacckknife

Points +27

Vegan
10 May 2022

Easy quick bites

Fully vegan cafe so no worries about verifying. Stopped in for lunch and the staff was so friendly; they even gave us samples of the new smoothies they were working on.

Pros: Totally vegan , Attached to a wellness shop

Cons: Small dining area

M.L.K.

Points +16

Vegan
28 Apr 2022

Delish

I love the smell of this natural foods store which has an excellent selection, but the food at the cafe is worth visiting many times over your stay in Key West.
Everyone is so friendly too. Happy place.

misslindseychris

Points +52

Vegan
11 Apr 2022

So fresh!!!

I had the tempeh reuben and a mango banana smoothie. Everything tasted super fresh and it was a very filling meal. Would def recommend!

Plant Powered Eater

Points +493

Vegan
27 Feb 2022

Wonderful Sandwiches!

This cafe is a regular stop in our annual trip to Kay West and it never disappoints. Today, I had the vegan Reuben, and it was the bomb! I loved Reubens before becoming vegan and will almost order it when offered a vegan option, but Sugar Apple has my favorite vegan Reuben. My hubby ordered a tempeh sandwich with cranberry sauce & veggies that the counter clerk said was her favorite and the cafe’s most popular sandwich. He was very pleased. Both sandwiches came with side green salads, so we got extra veggies in our meal. The cafe also has veggie burgers, a selection of salads, and smoothies. There’s also a health food store attached.




This page has been viewed 22408 times.