• Steam Inn

  • (12)
    2
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Western
Beer/Wine
British
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pub and restaurant with a few vegan dishes clearly labelled on the menu. Includes a mushroom risotto, vegan pakoras with chilli dip, chickpea stew with Moroccan cous cous, melenzanie topped with vegan cheese and a vegetable linguine. Open Mon-Wed 11:00-00:00, Thu-Sat 11:00-01:00, Sun 12:00-00:00. Hours may vary by season, check ahead.


Venue map for Steam Inn
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by kmay90

AllyTheFox

Points +86

Vegan
26 Aug 2023

was ok

They only had one vegan dish, it was the burger. As all the food in England, Ireland and Schotland is, the food was not really flavored.
I got some ketchup for a bit extra sauce. The burger was just a bun (and I wasn‘t even sure if the bun really was vegan) and some guacamole with a tomato and a big portobello mushroom as a meat substitute. Not really overwhelming but better than nothing. The side salad had hardly any sauce.

Pros: Friendliness of staff

Cons: Food was not overwhelmingly good, missed some vegan mayo or sauce, sticky tables

Advertisement

SoCalCal

Points +1022

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Nothing spectacular

Took the Jacobite to Mallaig and stopped here for lunch. Nothing remarkable about the pub, but the staff was friendly. Not many vegan options on the menu, but the curry wasn't bad. The burger was also ordered and was okay. Not a lot of vegan options around this area, so it was nice to be able to find something.

Pros: Vegan options, Friendly staff

Cons: Not a lot of vegan options

Mrodmh

Points +44

Herbivore
14 May 2022

Disappointed- please change info in description

Bad information about offerings. A veggie burger is all that is vegan.

Pros: Nice people

Cons: Not many choices at all.

mcld

Points +926

Vegetarian
10 May 2022

Not recommended

The veggie options were surprisingly limited, and the place had poor decor and zero atmosphere. We didn't like the food much: it was rather bland, I'm afraid. So far, I don't think I'd recommend eating out in Mallaig.

jillybeth

Points +50

Vegan
02 Oct 2021

Good soup..

Pub was really lovely and cosy as the weather starts to get chilly. Friendly staff and helpful with the menu. Soup was vegan and very tasty, vegan burger was huge! It was a homemade chickpea/lentil pattie and was tasty with a sun dried tomato relish. Side salad was a little disappointing but in a remote area in autumn during a fuel / supply chain crisis I was happy to have hot food well made and served by really nice people.

NiamhC41

Points +1364

Vegan
12 Sep 2021

Stay in Mallaig

We chose here as our accommodation for a trip to Mallaig. The food wasn’t outstanding but there’s not a lot to be expected for vegans in a tiny fishing village. The soup is usually OK and there is vegan cheese available for pizzas. If staying, the veggie breakfast is suitable minus egg. It would be good if they could at least provide Flora for toast. There are also mini fridges in the rooms which helps.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-12

blinki

Points +920

Vegan
26 Aug 2021

Awful food

The menu has changed from what’s noted here and what was online. The one vegan main was risotto which was over cooked, bland and too wet to be risotto. I only ate it with loads of pepper because there wasn’t another option. The beer garden is pleasant to sit in but I would recommend getting a sandwich from the coop across the road if you need food around here. The waiter was very nice though and did discount our bill.

Jennypops

Points +88

Vegan
22 Aug 2021

Fab soup

From the outside looked a bit tired, but don't let that deceive you. On the inside place is lovely and modern. Staff were lovely and even apologised for not having more vegan options, but I was happy. The home made tomato soup was delicious and sourdough tasted home made too. There were also options of chickpea burger and 3 times cooked chips. They also said that they'd be getting more options in.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-22

Pros: Really lovely staff

Cons: Another choice would be nice.

mattjbwilson

Points +41

Vegan
24 Aug 2020

A number of vegan options now available (Aug 2020)

Had a delicious red onion tart and aubergine dish. A number of other vegan options. Top quality food, well priced, friendly service.

Pros: A number of vegan options, Well priced, Friendly and accommodating

AmyCBriggs

Points +16

Vegan
31 Jul 2020

No Vegan Options

If you ask for the Garden Salad without the dressing (honey and mustard) it is vegan but it’s a very mediocre salad. Very good curly fries !

qdi

Points +31

Vegan
12 Sep 2019

food was o.k.

we were really happy to have found this place. the vegetable linguine with vegan cream and vegan cheese were not great, but alright, the portion was huge and it was very filling. it is great that there is such a place in this small town, where you can get proper vegan food whilst travelling. there is still room for improvement in terms of taste however.

kmay90

Points +58

Vegan
12 Sep 2019

Clearly-labeled vegan food in Mallaig!

We were very happy to find somewhere serving hot vegan food while we waited for our train to Glasgow. Food was okay, portions large and vegan options clearly labelled. Very comfortable place with nice staff!

Pros: Multiple vegan options, Very friendly staff, Large portions




This page has been viewed 1589 times.