• CLOSED: St Mary in the Castle Cafe

  • (16)
    8

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Western
British
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe-bar offering snacks and meals by the seafront. All-day menu has several vegan dishes, and the daily specials include vegan options. For lunch you could have scrambled smoked tofu, avocado mash, choice of 3 different vegan wraps. Chef makes own vegan mayo. Gluten-free options. Theatre often has free art exhibitions. Dogs welcome. Reported closed April 2023.


Venue map for St Mary in the Castle Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by Miggi

Skyzieboo

Points +3142

Vegan
09 Apr 2022

Nice little spot

In the entrance to some kind of attraction but its a big space and not many people seem to go to it. Lots of natural light, I sat in with an iced coffee and journaled which was really nice - they gave a bourbon on the side of my coffee i could have cried. They had some vegan options on display in the case (I think a flapjack and sausage roll?) but they had sold out so they must be good!

Advertisement

LauraSeaman

Points +153

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Great vegan options in Hastings

Been twice and both times really pleased with my meals. Definitely a great option whenever I'm in hastings.

Pros: Super friendly staff, Lovely airy venue, Tasty food

OldMerryPops

Points +23

Vegan
24 Nov 2021

Friendly with Great Tofu and Mushrooms on Toast (gfo)

What's not to like? The vegan offering here was exceptional. I'd give 5 stars if Happy Cow would have let me. During our 3 night stay in Hastings we went here twice. The Tofu on toast (with tomato and mushroom) was so, so good. The mushrooms on toast also brilliant. I am wheat intolerant and they even had a gfv polenta and raspberry cake. All this coupled with friendly, helpful service! Whenever we're back in Hastings we'll eat here.

Pros: Excellent vegan choices

Veganforthewin

Points +2653

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

Best Fish and Chips in the Area

Lovely vegan fish. Not oily at all.

drlj

Points +610

Vegan
18 Sep 2020

Plant filled place

We came here for lunch and dinner on different days. Sadly they were out of scrambled tofu but we had good avo on toast & no porky bun. Also came for Dirty Vegan night (in Fridays & saturdays). Recommend the banana flower fish - comes with v good tartare sauce and mushy peas. Good kimchi fries and chickn wings. Nice cocktails. Nice place full of succulent plants! Everything lively but not amazing.

Pros: Everything vegan on fri/sat evenings , Good location on seafront , Nice cocktails

Cons: Serves meat & eggs in the day

chomp

Points +435

Vegan
07 Aug 2020

AMAZING FISH AND CHIPS!

My partner and I had the vegan fish and chips and it was EPIC! ..even the tartare sauce was freshly made! The staff member Rose made such an effort for us, and we truly had an awesome lunch. They were really welcoming of my doggie too! Highly recommend you go! Loads of vegan options! And it feels very covid safe. Thank you!

Pros: Loads of vegan options , Nice staff , Dog friendly

the_bryan_factor

Points +20

Vegan
17 Nov 2019

5*

Lovely atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Board games to be had 👍🏼 the Flat White Oat Milk was soo good.

Pros: Good Vegan Selection

pinkandblue

Points +42

Vegan
23 Mar 2019

Tasty lunch!

We popped in for lunch whilst staying in Hastings for the Half Marathon. As a vegan family we often struggle to find food that both us and our children will enjoy. The menu here had plenty of options and we tried the vegan burger, buffalo cauliflower, avocado on toast, tofu scramble and sweet potato wrap!! We all enjoyed our choices - the food was fresh and excellent quality, I don’t think there was anything left at the end! Must come back to try the vegan chocolate brownie!!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Fresh and tasty food, Family friendly

Cons: None

stevegan

Points +51

Vegan
29 Jan 2019

Great cafe in historic setting

Spacious airy cafe in historic, listed 1820s building - a little bit shabby-chic!
Nice vegan offerings - their scrambled tofu is fantastic, and usually have one or two homemade vegan cakes.

Plenty of space, so nice place to do some laptop work, and good place for pre-show drink or nibble if there is something on in the stunning concert hall above.

Pros: Open 7 days, long hours, Friendly helpful proprietors and servers, Licensed Bar

AriehMiller

Points +39

Mostly Veg
02 Sep 2018

Lovely food nice surroundings

Food hear was great! Service was a little slow but food quality very much made up for it. Nice photography exhibition on the walls and a lovely sea view. Inside was quite warm but good music and the food really was very good!

Pros: Lots of vegi options, Lots of vegan options, High quality food, reasonably priced

ConorAnderson

Points +18

Vegan
29 Aug 2018

Great vegan options

Had great scrambled tofu on toast

VeganAnnaS

Points +2702

Vegan
26 Aug 2018

Nice lunch spot

Enjoyed a light lunch here. It is bright and quite spacious inside and handy for the seafront. There were quite a few vegan options on the menu and in the end I opted for the tofu and mushroom scramble which was very tasty. Would be great for brunch as would the avo on toast which looked good. There were some more substantial dishes too.
They also stock my favourite ice cream (booja booja) and being by the seaside is a great excuse to indulge.
The staff were helpful and the food was reasonably priced. Overall a nice experience.

Pros: Light bright space, Good vegan options, Food prepared to order

Cons: Not all vegan

PerrySwift

Points +131

Vegan
05 Aug 2018

Great food in an interesting setting

Went here for a lunch, as we'd heard good things. There was immediately a nice atmosphere and David Bowie on the radio (which is always good). The staff were really friendly and accommodating.

There are loads of clearly marked vegan dishes. We went for cauliflower bites as they were gluten free. They didn't have any gluten free flour, but were more than happy to go and get some more.

As we had to wait for that, we had a booja-booja ice cream, which is absolutely delicious. The cauliflower, fries and vegan coleslaw was well worth the wait. Can't wait to come back again.

Pros: loads of options, great atmosphere, great staff

Cons: not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for.

Kamai

Points +104

Vegan
08 May 2018

good food, nice decor

A funky little place near the beachfront. I had the pepper, olive tapanade, and vegan feta wrap and my husband (also vegan) had smokey tofu scramble in sourdough toast. We both enjoyed it. Not a bad spot for lunch! The decor and music are also a plus

Pros: nice vegan options, cool decor, good music

AndyTN34

Points +103

Vegan
06 Dec 2017

Great vegan selection with skilful culinary expertise

Another gem for vegans has materialised here. There are several enticing vegan options on the menu, which are supplemented by the daily specials board, which was all vegan when we lunched there. The flavours are well thought out and balanced with skill. For example, the complimentary jug of water, flavoured with basil, strawberries and agave was subtle, but worked perfectly, unlike the unsatisfying and insipid flavoured waters that are available commercially. Four of us had lunch, three vegan and one vegetarian, two of us having starters (one soup, which was definitely a cut above the norm, and one French Toast, perhaps an unusual starter, but delicious and worked well. One main of beetroot patties (great flavour and texture) with chips and salad, two corgetti dishes with a very impressive tomato sauce, and halloumi kebabs with vegan potato salad (mayo made with aquafaba) and bean salad. Seeing the other review, this could well have been vegan halloumi, but I’m not sure. Great cakes for dessert.
I was very glad to have chosen this venue to invite my friends (who I hadn’t seen for about ten years) to. The seating area is light, airy and comfortable, music, when playing, unobtrusive. We are looking forward to eating here again.

Great value vegan food, prepared with a lot of thought and expertise. Recommended.

Miggi

Points +2634

Vegan
11 Nov 2017

Lots of vegan options

It was great to find plenty of vegan options on the menu here. The all day menu has brunch/lunch dishes like scrambled tofu, avocado smash, wraps with vegan halloumi etc. Specials board also had vegan dishes.
The smoked tofu scramble was great, and v different to other provision locally. Thick slices of toast topped with scramble, mushrooms and tomatoes, served with rocket salad and vegan mayo (the chef popped out to let me know they make their own vegan mayo).
Looking forward to trying more next time I'm in this part of town!

Pros: choices, simple but tasty lunch

Cons: opening hours not yet clear, serves meat




This page has been viewed 3721 times.