Thai
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai restaurant with 4, clearly labeled vegan dishes. Relocated from Bokwang Road 112. Reported open November 2023. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-3:00pm, 4:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Ssong Thai
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by JDWu

mrdogfood

Points +322

Vegan
17 Jun 2023

Great Thai food!

Menu with well-labeled choices. Really delicious food, and nicely decorated interior. We went right when they opened (~11am) on a workday, and it filled up soon after. Depending on when you go, expect a wait for a table.

Advertisement

MannatV

Points +526

Vegetarian
25 Sep 2022

Great Thai food

So far this is the most authentic Thai food I have had in Seoul. I wish they had more Thai dishes and almost everything is available as a vegan option. They have a very direct menu with loads of options and even their beverages menu is labeled vegan. The restaurant location is very pretty and the atmosphere is really nice. The food was really tasty and flavorful. I would definitely like to go back there to try other items off the menu.

SashaStepanova

Points +35

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Delicious but expensive

The food was really creative and tasty! My dish had a lot of sauce, which was a minus, however it didn’t ruin the overall eating experience.

I was so surprised to see vegan SHRIMP on the menu! It didn’t give off a fishy flavour - texture was somewhat accurate… but it’s the thought that counts 🤣
I expected for this restaurant to have vegetable stir fry… that’s IT! But there were good options available.

Won’t come back again though, too pricey.
My dish cost 22,000 KRW😒

Pros: Lot of vegan options OR food can be veganised!, Creative food options (eg. Vegan shrimp), Cute atmosphere

Cons: Very expensive, Food too sweet

wastelandbaby

Points +30

Herbivore
08 Sep 2022

Worth it!

Almost every dish was vegan or available as vegan option. Portions were big enough and delicious. Would absolutely go again!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-08

Pros: Many vegan options, Friendly staff

Cons: Atmosphere/music too loud

PattyB

Points +1130

Vegan
27 Aug 2022

Amazing Thai food

Went there with friends on Friday night, the place was pretty stuffed but not in bad way, I would recommend making reservation on weekend’s evenings.
We ordered one set for two people and a normal dish from the menu, and soju of course, the spring rolls were especially delicious, same with green curry. We were 3 in total but after eating everything we were very full.
Some of the dishes were surprising but not in bad way, just different then I imagined them to be.
We got some rice and kimchi (but im not sure if it was vegan, we did not eat it anyways)
Next to the exit there is a wall with autographs of different famous people like Lisa from Black Pink.

Pros: Many delicious vegan options, Alcoholic beverages marked with vegan signs

tesssss

Points +5662

Vegan
05 Jun 2022

eaten here a few times

i’ve eaten here a few times and it was good, but it’s a bit expensive for the portion. also we got some delivered recently and it was really disappointing, and i didn’t enjoy it at all which bumped it down from 4 stars to 3. i know delivery is not the same as getting it in the restaurant but it was just not good.

taylormadeJ

Points +39

Mostly Veg
27 May 2022

Vegan Pad Thai

The restaurant had a nice atmosphere and staff very friendly. I had the vegan Pad Thai and it was delicious. A little pricey but well worth it! Definitely recommend!!!

magzviolet

Points +25

Vegetarian
25 Apr 2022

Incredible

The food was so delicious, super friendly staff and really nice drinks too!! Beautiful decor

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Tons of Vegetarian stuff

Cons: Bit pricier than a regular Korean restaurant

KadiHarmon

Points +6152

Vegan
02 Jan 2022

Always good!

Love all the choices here. The morning glory is especially my favorite and they do a nice vegan milk tea. I just wish they’d bring back the macarons!

Aishu

Points +65

Vegetarian
27 Nov 2021

Good food with good time

This has many vegan/ vegetarian options. The ambience is too good.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Service is impeccable , Tasty food

Cons: Bit on the expensive side.

ErWan

Points +36

Vegetarian
10 Jul 2021

Five stars

The various vegetarian or vegan options are delicious and the place really cosy, especially the rooftop!

Chloe_Y

Points +693

Vegetarian
22 Aug 2020

Plenty of vegan option

My lemongrass soup wasnt my favourite..
Rice and soup didnt go together.
Fried dish(비건탕수육) was so good tho.
Packed with pineapple and mango flavour.
Earl grey macaron was okay

luisaluisa

Points +57

Vegan
03 Mar 2020

Delicious vegan options, great service

Restaurant has pretty much an equal amount of vegan/non-vegan dishes. Really great flavors, and big portions. I had the Kuai Tiao Pak and the vegan milk tea - delicious.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great service, Big portions

globalveganeats

Points +237

Vegan
13 Jan 2020

Great Thai food!

I love how many *clearly labeled* vegan options are at this place! I especially love their green curry, pad kaprao moo sab, and vegan milk tea!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Vegan options clearly labeled , Good food

Cons: A bit expensive

RalphWoods

Points +1046

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Good pre-club food

Food is tasty and authentic. A tad expensive but it’s central Itaewon after all.

USP is that it’s open until 2am, and the only place to go to at that time (besides casa corona which is packed and u can’t sit). I often go here for food and a drink before heading to a club nearby, so it’s very convenient.

I recommend the deep fried vegetable dish, the pad Thai, and the fried rice dish - having tried everything, these are my favourites and I usually get all 3 to share😄

Pros: Service, Ambience , Food quality

rachiedemp

Points +80

Vegetarian
03 Jan 2020

So good!!

Loved this cute little restaurant and it’s atmosphere 😍 It’s been difficult finding filling vegetarian/vegan meals in Seoul and this place hit the spot. Been craving green curry and theirs was soooo amazing, a little spicy but that’s what it’s supposed to be like. They also gave me a free macaron which was super sweet. 🥰

Pros: Multiple vegan options , Satisfied my green curry craving , Super authentic

Cons: A little overpriced- $20 a plate

Knauji82

Points +2358

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

WOW

The food here is amazing! The restaurant is really nice laid out, nice ambience. Staff speaks English... nothing to complain about here! Only that I didn’t visit sooner

Pros: Macaroons!!

vegan_nyam

Points +1528

Vegan
22 Dec 2019

Delicious

Vegan option dishes are great.

SandraPauly

Points +157

Vegan
11 Nov 2019

Delicious Thai food

The restaurant is so cozy and well-decorated. Food is very good, the waiters are all very stylish and nice.
Nice music, great atmosphere in general.

Pros: Many vegan options , Beer, wine, juice clearly marked vegan, Close to line 6 (Itaewon station)

Cons: Vegan macarons sold out (no alternative available)

erin100

Points +41

Vegetarian
10 Aug 2019

Great ambience, delicious fusion food

I love this restaurant. Some reviewers complain it's not "authentic Thai food", but personally I think it's delicious, so why does that matter?! It has a great range of vegan options compared to other Asian fusion restaurants in Korea. It's best to go here with a few people and share dishes, but if you're eating by yourself I recommend the Pad Kao Pak. I also love the Pak Tod (battered aubergine and leaf vegetable) and Lemon Grass Soup. The restaurant has a great ambience and the staff are very attentive. It's a good place for a late dinner because they stay open late. I didn't care for some of the soft drinks they serve ("Thai watermelon juice" was some awful artificially flavoured stuff in a can), but if you drink alcohol it has a good atmosphere for drinking. Great place for an evening out in Itaewon.

Pros: Open late; lots of options

Cons: Expensive

HelenHaeryounGi

Points +1942

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

Vegan Thai at restaurant or at home

I ordered from home vegan Thai foods by shuttle delivery. Great selection for vegans! I was happy they also do delivery service in Itaewon area.

frazum

Points +910

Vegan
13 May 2019

Nice interior and good food

Had a couple of vegan items here. As pointed out by a reviewer below, the padthai is not authentic. However, some people may like it. The other dish had good taste and my non-vegan companion enjoyed their orders. The restaurant has added 2 more vegan items to the menu (see photo). Vegan desserts and drinks are available.

veglover89

Points +717

Vegan
07 Apr 2019

Inauthentic Thai food, but beautiful restaurant

I absolutely love how this restaurant looks! It's the best looking restaurant I've been to in Seoul. It has tiffany blue painted brick walls with cool whicker lights and a lot of Spanish moss hanging from the ceiling.

They have an extensive vegan menu.

HOWEVER, the food is inauthentic. I had the pad Thai and it tasted absolutely nothing like any pad Thai that I had in Thailand or at authentic Thai restaurants before. The flavor was good, but it wasn't pad Thai. Maybe they should call in pad Korea instead.

They have great "milk" tea (it isn't the orange Thai tea unfortunately). I noticed that they also have macaroons and scones.

Since the environment here was so cozy and beautiful, I would consider coming back for dessert, but I would skip dinner unless I can accept that the food will not be true Thai food.

Perhaps if the owner ever goes to Thailand he/she could take May Kaidee's vegan cooking class. Then, the dishes would taste more authentic, but it's possible they were purposefully made to appeal to Korean tastebuds.

For authentic Thai food, check out Yummy Thai.

Pros: Stunning restaurant

Cons: inauthentic food

ChaseLaubach

Points +157

Vegan
24 Mar 2019

Nice spot

Right near the subway exit. Has vegan options clearly labeled. Tastes good. Quiet place. You can come here by yourself and have a tasty vegan meal without feeling awkward. You could also come with non vegan friends and everyone would be happy.

AudreyAllen

Points +109

Vegetarian
01 Jan 2019

Great food and atmosphere!

This place was great! I would give it five stars if I could.

The lemongrass soup and pad Thai were delicious! They also gave us a free Thai tea. It’s a little on the pricey side but the food is really good and the place is decorated nicely and is very comfortable. More on the fine dining side. The staff is nice too! I will definitely go again. It would also be a great place for a date.

Pros: Clearly labeled vegan option, Excellent food, Cute place

Cons: A little on the pricey side (but worth it)

MerikWesterveld

Points +755

Vegan
16 Dec 2018

good Thai food but bit expensive

the food in this place was really nice and all the vegan dishes are clearly labelled on the menu. also, the interior is nice! however, it is a bit expensive and the portions could be a little bigger

Pros: vegan options labbeled on the menu, good food, nice interior

Cons: bit expensive, portions are a bit small

MatějBrož

Points +30

Vegan
13 Dec 2018

Cool place with vegan options

Thai restaurant with vegan options. Rice noodles were ok, but nothing special. Lemongrass soup amazing! But quite expensive, however the vegan menu is clearly marked!

Pros: Clearly marked vegan menu




This page has been viewed 7111 times.