Beer/Wine
Take-out
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vietnamese sit-down fast casual (downstairs) and full service (upstairs) restaurant with make your own pho, vermicelli and rice bowls; plus could get vegan curry, stir-fry, salads and other appetizers. Open Mon 11:00am-9:00pm, Tue-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm, Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Sprig and Sprout
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by cookiem

TheTofuTyrant

Points +1754

Vegan
03 Oct 2023

Fabulous vegan options

We loved the vegan “The Roots” pho, vegan egg rolls, vegan vermicelli noodle salad, vegan summer rolls. Highly recommend this spot for vegan Vietnamese food!!

Pros: So many vegan options , Delicious

Advertisement

LJVegan

Points +1818

Vegan
22 Feb 2023

Happy Buddha!

I have ordered through Happy Buddha (sprig and sprout vegan option on Uber Eats) no less than 25 times. I. Love. It. The Buddha's favorite vermicelli bowl with "honey" hoisin seitan is my spirit dish. Tofu fries with vegan sriracha aioli are killer. It's comfort food at its best. I ordered this dish on Valentine's Day and was so disappointed that the "honey" hoisin seitan wasn't available. I chose the new BBQ seitan option and I am not a fan of this at all. Luckily, today the "honey" hoisin seitan is back and I ordered a double serving. 🤍🌱

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-16

bknamaste

Points +811

Vegan
12 Nov 2021

Great Pho

I love the vegan pho that they have here. The broth is unique and delicious. Sometimes they don't put very much tofu in the bowl, which is my only complaint. They have vegan summer rolls and tofu nuggets too that I usually get as an appetizer. Highly recommend!

JasonManias

Points +1335

Vegan
12 Oct 2021

Loved my meal

Had a delicious banh mi, and refreshing summer rolls

firstshamrock

Points +32

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Vegan Banh Mi… oh my

When I have up animal products, I thought I would have to give up one of my favorite sandwiches. Sprig and Sprout‘s vegan Banh mi is so amazing - I’ve had the viet bbq seitan and the salt and pepper tofu. It’s one of few restaurants I’ve gone back to over and over.

levi24

Points +644

Vegan
28 Jan 2019

Good but sometimes still hungry

Quality dishes that include several faux meats. Can be on the salty side, and sometimes I wish they included a bit more food. Have only had take-out, so perhaps that's the reason.

mtg3

Points +33

Vegan
15 Jul 2017

great food and huge portions!

Good, well marked veggie and vegan options. They have a few different types of seasoned tofu and seitan. The pho bowls are HUGE, the vegan curry is spicy but so yummy! Also the tofu fries are a must try. Super affordable prices for DC area, I will definitely be going back.

shineonyou

Points +853

Vegan
09 May 2017

Great pho!

I love this place. Great pho (plus other vegan options). You can get The Roots bowl, or you can build your own. I just get The Roots bowl because I has exactly what I want anyway.

There are two versions of this place really. Downstairs you order at a counter and upstairs you have full-table service. The menus are also slightly different. For example, I believe only the upstairs full-service section has the curry dishes. And only the upstairs offers alcohol. But really, you should come here for the pho, and they have that on both menus. I've only eaten in the upstairs section one time- and regretted it because it takes longer to get your food.

This place seems a little different from a lot of pho places that you might have previously visited. I believe the owners are an American couple, one of whom has parents from Vietnam. Either way, it's delicious take on some classic Vietnamese dishes.

cookiem

Points +5865

Vegan
28 Feb 2016

Vegan pho, vermicelli and other Vietnamese goodies

This place is adorably simple - order something tasty from the menu, and be confident in knowing it's vegan. They have vegan pho made with vegan burdock root based broth. The portions are generous.

They have vegan curry. They have vegan stir fry. Both are NAMED as vegan on the menu. They have summer rolls, spring rolls, 3 salads in entree or appetizer sizes, two tofu appetizers, make your own options for bahn mi (3-4 different proteins like salt and pepper tofu, lemongrass tofu, seitan and veggies), make your own bowls for vermicelli and steamed rice, and make your own pho bowl if you don't like the pre-determined vegan pho (Roots) on the menu.

With fast preparation in the open kitchen and good prices for huge portions, you'll be happy vegan eating here. There's plenty of space to sit downstairs, or go upstairs most evenings for a sit-down full service with bar option.

This place is a surprising find in Glover Park, and as result, it is my favorite place for vegan Vietnamese in Glover Park and right now, in the DC area!

Pros: Fast service and generous portions, Vegan all over the menu, Vegan pho and curry!

Cons: Too many good choices!




This page has been viewed 3180 times.