Vegan
American
International
Beer/Wine
Fusion

Veggie-centric restaurant and bar in Chicago's North Shore since Jan 2020. Serves fine plant-based cuisine, cocktails, and drinks. Open Tue-Thu 4:30pm-9:30pm, Fri-Sun 10:00am-2:00pm, Fri-Sat 4:30pm-10:30pm, Sun 4:30pm-9:30pm. Closed Tue.


Venue map for Spirit Elephant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

58 Reviews

First Review by Hodzic_fam

littleduck

Points +288

Vegan
19 Feb 2024

Pricey but good.

Love a fully vegan upscale restaurant, but I think we expected a bit more with the prices.

Staff was friendly and helpful, my omni partner liked his burger just fine (Impossible), and I had the sweet potato gnocchi. The sauce was incredible, absolutely outstanding, but the actual pasta seemed like your run-of-the-mill storebought gnocchi - texture and taste weren't great.

Cocktails were awesome though!

Pros: fully vegan, robust menu

Cons: expensive

Advertisement

HappyVeganTravelers

Points +92

Vegan
15 Feb 2024

Great service, OK food

We ate here for Valentine's Day and were seated with a note that we could not stay longer than 90 minutes. It was a pretty off-putting way to start our meal. The ambiance was really nice. It had a pretty industrial feel. Our server was amazing. She was super friendly and attentive in an unobtrusive way. She was wonderful. The food was only ok though and for the price we were really expecting something great. The "calamari" tasted like fried mushroom, which they were. They were very very good, but we were just expecting some creativity to make it taste like calamari. We had the mushroom soup which tasted like pure salt. The server took it off the bill just because she saw we didn't eat it. (Great sevice). The meatloaf was spectacular. It was by far the best thing we ate. The filet was ok but had a strong sage flavor. The carrot cake was good but also pretty salty. We will more than likely try again but with lower expectations.

Atlast1

Points +15

Mostly Veg
06 Feb 2024

Fantastic

The food here is delicious!

ssmith7389

Points +74

Vegan
12 Dec 2023

Delicious Food

Went there with 4 of my non-vegan family members. Everyone loved their food. Menu offers many options and ambience is very good as well. Large bar area

Vegan Vagabond

Points +2580

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

So very excellent

I think this is one of the best all-around, vegan restaurants in the country. They have an exceptional menu, and the food is always prepared very well. It’s a great place for brunch, lunch, and dinner. I just wish it was near downtown instead of up in the northern suburb. :-)

wiscovegangal

Points +271

Vegan
02 Oct 2023

Delicious!

Delicious brunch options! We will be back!

Samantha18

Points +475

Vegan
27 Aug 2023

Delicious!

I had made reservations months in advance on the patio for a birthday dinner. When we arrived we had to wait at the bar because a table for us was not ready. The patio was closed due to the temperature being too hot. We were seated inside. The table we were seated at had a leak above it from the air conditioning. The host told us to only sit on one side of the booth otherwise we would get wet. He then told us he would throw in a free appetizer or dessert due to the inconvenience. When I received the bill, nothing had been thrown in for free.
The food was a plus. It was so hard to pick which entree to order. Everything sounded so good. We got 2 apps and 2 entrees. Everything was delicious!

Pros: Big selection , All vegan , Cute interior

Cons: Super noisy and crowded, Leaky ceiling above our table, Patio was closed

MartinBaumeister

Points +458

Vegan
09 Jul 2023

Favorite vegan place in Chicagoland

Wonderful 100% plant based restaurant. This is an upscale restaurant with a delicious variety of vegan dishes. They have a full bar as well and offer a nice selection of cocktails! Check them out for dinner or Sat/Sun brunch. You will be back many times! The outdoor patio just got a major upgrade including a roof and heaters so you can even enjoy it when the weather isn’t ideal!
Plenty of street parking but also a public parking garage next to the train station. If you come by train, it’s a two minute walk. As a nice extra, you can enjoy the lovely town and beach before or after.

whereisme7

Points +40

Vegan
29 Jun 2023

Good food but overpriced

The food is very good but seems a bit overpriced

Maejunejuly

Points +637

Vegan
21 Jun 2023

Get All Junk Inside My Trunk

This is my new favorite vegan spot! The ambiance, the service and the food was all exceptional. I wanna eat the entire menu—all that spirit elephant junk in my trunk!!!

Pros: Soo many GF and vegan options!!!!, Great service!

nascrdad

Points +70

Vegan
24 May 2023

Great place

Lots of options, great people

Pros: Fantastic food, Great little place, Good people

karolciad

Points +152

Vegan
15 May 2023

Amazing gravy

I love the restaurant style. Amazing food. All of us had something different, and everything was very tasteful.

Cons: Crowdy, so make reservation

Ashvegan02

Points +148

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

Not worth the price

This is my second time and food is definitely disappointing. It's lacking in flavor. The calmari was oily and cold. Entree's were cold and hardly had any flavor to it. Food is expensive here and definitely not worth the price. You will find other better vegan restaurants.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-20

Pros: Lot of options

Cons: Lack of flavor, Expensive

belaariela

Points +32

Vegan
18 Feb 2023

All vegan, all beautiful

Have been here 3 times now and have always enjoyed myself. The atmosphere is visually relaxing and high class, perfectly complimenting the food. I'm perpetually impressed with the menu options - especially because they offer more than just fake meat dishes.

My first time there was an issue with my order but they resolved it wonderfully - we all make mistakes, it's how we solve them that shows our true character.

Pros: Creative dishes, Lovely decor

Cons: A bit expensive

anir117

Points +408

Vegan
25 Dec 2022

Always delicious

So many choices, all delicious and flavourful. Quite expensive, but fresh ingredients. They also regularly change their menu so there are new things to try.

kayleeo

Points +231

Vegan
10 Nov 2022

Absolutely delicious

Went here today for lunch with some non vegan friends. Everything we received was mouth watering and service was absolutely amazing as well. My friend has a nut allergy and they went above and beyond working with her allergy. We are already planning a time to come back for brunch and dinner!

RaeSikora

Points +329

Vegan
31 Oct 2022

Expensive and Underwhelming

I am updating the review .... I decided I should give this place a second try. As a long term vegan, I want to love it. But, it is very expensive and nothing special. 18 dollar impossible burger was, well, just an impossible burger on a bun. I will not be returning here. I brought family members and no one was impressed with the food. For me, the litmus test is: would I recommend the place to either vegans or non-vegans. And I can honestly say I wouldnt recommend it. I have heard the brunch is really good....just not sure I want to go for a third time to test that recommendation.

As a long time vegan, I want every vegan restaurant to be a great experience for all the people eating there. I want non-vegans to love the meal and open their hearts and minds to being vegan. This was my first time eating here. The three of us had mushy crabcakes, mushy house veggie burger, totally underwhelming orange chicken. The brussel sprout appetizer was tasty, but floating in deep oil and burned. The pumpkin cheesecake was not cheesecake at all, but three mini-muffins with a "whipped cream" that tasted like whipped shortening with no flavor. I am not a picky eater, but I would not return here and I certainly would not tell anyone else to go there. It is the opposite of a restaurant that is so good it "veganizes" people. I would have given one star, but two is the lowest you can go here.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-05

Pros: Nice staff, Nice space, but loud music made conversation hard., Comfortable booth

Cons: Expensive, Mushy crabcakes, All under-whelming

RaeSikora

06 Nov 2021

So maybe it was just an off night for the cooks. I see lots of positive reviews below. When I contacted the restaurant about our experience they were very kind, not defensive. When I am back in the Chicago area, I will try it again.

ECDLR

Points +557

Vegan
24 Oct 2022

Creative all vegan restaurant

Spirit elephant is all around a great experience for vegans and non vegans! I went with my parents who are pickier non vegans and they loved it. The inside is gorgeous. There’s a bar with beer, wine, cocktails, and mocktails. The make their hard seltzer and some of their spirits in house. Ample free street parking.

The food was all incredible, cannot make a single negative critique. We ordered the calamari, watermelon poke, forbidden bowl, cauliflower steak, portobello masala, and crabless cakes. Can recommend all these options!

Pros: Original items, Flavors, Decor

Cons: Expensive

Davesw

Points +3228

Vegan
01 Oct 2022

Top ten!

I saw this on a Happy Cow list of ten best places for brunch internationally, so we had to check it out when we came to Chicago. It lived up, and was worth the half hour drive from the city!

The ranchero skillet was a perfect dish for me!

The mammoth cinnamon roll was excellent!

Pros: Many dishes I want to try

Cons: Expensive

CMSDE

Points +126

Vegetarian
18 Sep 2022

Special veg occasions

Since it opened (and Green Zebra in Chicago has closed), this place has become the birthday dinner destination for me and all my veg coworkers, and I've noticed other celebratory groups there, too, when I've gone. The decor is more upscale than any other vegetarian or vegan restaurant I know of that's currently open in Chicagoland, and the back patio is decorated with potted plants and is very pleasant.

The menu isn't adventurous, but everything I've had there is well-prepared, and there is a nice variety. This most recent time that I visited, I had the "Vedgeplant Parm," which was tasty; I recommend it. The desserts are pretty good, but so far I have not had one that I would order a second time--though I do keep trying them!

Pros: Special occasions, Lovely patio

Andromeda192000

Points +25

Vegetarian
24 Aug 2022

Wonderful vegan restaurant

This is my favorite vegan restaurant I have ever eaten at and I will certainly be back soon.

Pros: Completely vegan, Delicious food, Very friendly staff

Cons: Expensive

Solanum

Points +147

Vegan
13 Aug 2022

Among the best

They have a menu that changes often, and never disappoint. We like to come for brunch especially, and there's no better brunch spot in the northern 'burbs. Their interior is beautiful, but they only have a few sidewalk tables for outdoor dining. Their cocktails and mocktails are also quite unique and enjoyable.

Pros: All vegan, Delicious, Brunch

Cons: On the pricier side

PlantyAuntieMeesh

29 Aug 2022

There is an entire garden behind the restaurant, its a hidden gem. We reserve a back patio spot on opentable and its just perfect

aubreyj27

Points +1205

Vegan
07 Jul 2022

one of my favorites!

one of my top restaurants of all time! i’ve tried a lot of their menu and everything has been really good. i would recommend leaving room for desserts. the cauliflower wings are lovely. everything on the menu is lovely! i was also impressed by the ice cream served with a few of the desserts, definitely one of the better vegan ice creams i’ve had. the service has always been fast and everybody is very kind:) never a bad experience!

Pros: delicious!

camalayas3

Points +26

Vegan
07 Jul 2022

Nice spot with great cauliflower wings

Very delicious food with a laid back vibe. The prices were a bit higher but the portion sizes were quite large so you could easily share with someone or take some food home for a second meal.

The cauliflower wings were bomb!!

jkessel55

Points +54

Vegan
03 Jul 2022

Upscale Vegan: Delicious for Everyone

I had the Portobello Marsala (Grilled Portobello, Campanelle Pasta, Roasted Mushrooms, Zucchini, Red Peppers, Garlic, Marsala Wine Sauce) and a Lemon-Ginger Boost (zero-proof mocktail).

The dish was beautifully prepared with rich flavors and texture. The mocktail was perfectly balanced and refreshing. My only regret was not ordering a Brussels Salad for a starter just to have some green with the meal.

My brother-in-law isn’t vegan but really enjoyed the Meatless Loaf Bourguinon. In fact, he said he wanted to come back with his wife, my sister because he liked it so well.

Pros: 100% plant-based, Friendly staff, Delicious menu and drinks

Cons: Green side salad is missing from the dinner menu

smdice

Points +288

Vegan
01 Jul 2022

Amazing!!!

Absolutely love Spirit elephant! 🤍🐘

Pros: Amazing food & desserts, Gorgeous decor , Nice bar & drinks

Cons: Pricey

StephanieCurtis26

Points +54

Vegan
29 Jun 2022

Amazing vegan food

The food here was amazing!! Such great options on the menu and everything was delicious! The prices were a bit high for the portion sizes I thought, but for a 100% plant based restaurant it’s worth it! The crabless cakes were divine and not pictured was an amazing banana cake and cinnamon roll!




This page has been viewed 8333 times.