• South Indian Dosa Mahal

  • (12)
    7
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Take-out

South Indian vegetarian cooking with buffet. Relocated from 1262 Bloor St W. Reported open, May 2023. Open Mon-Sat 12:00pm-7:00pm.


12 Reviews

First Review by rogeryang

Kabz90

Points +151

Vegan
14 Feb 2024

Dosa

Hits that dosa craving, decent prices too

Advertisement

MeirParker

Points +20

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Excellent venue for quick and satisfying meal

I had the fresh onion masala dosa and gulab jamun. Both were excellent. Service was quick and pleasant.

Pros: Service with a smile and quick., Clean, including washrooms, Food was delicious

Ruddegur

Points +1195

Vegan
23 Jul 2023

Delectable dosas

Had the mysore malasa and tamarind malasa dosas (full platter - the other curries are divine - you must upgrade for the full experience) on different occasions.
The flavors are amazing. The staff is extremely friendly and welcoming.
The takeaway set-up with the lined pizza-style box makes the dosa experience the same as in-house if you're heading to the beach right across the way from this new location, or if youre on the go with your furry friend.
Try this place out!

Pros: Amazing flavours, Nearly everything is vegan , Great staff

Cons: Still serves dairy

js-toronto

Points +867

Vegan
23 May 2023

A neighbourhood favourite!

Huge portions, good value, always tasty and flavourful. Staff are so friendly. I get takeout from here a lot. A big order of samosas is quite adorable and my favourite snack to buy when I have company coming!

Pros: Flavours, Portion, Affordable

lunavigilia

Points +41

Vegan
16 Oct 2022

Amazing

Shared the samosas and got Dosas with my partner, was so insanely good and filling! So many options for vegans, and the vegan cheese in the Dosa was delicious.

ToCJ

Points +33

Vegan
22 Apr 2022

Cheap, Filling and Flavorful Food

This place sells bite sized vegetarian and vegan Indian food for very, very cheap. You can get yourself a filling lunch of samosas, pakoras, etc, for 2-5 bucks. I don't think they have it listed on the menu, but if you ask they do a decent spiced coffee too.

Edit: unfortunately, this place has closed.

Updated from previous review on 2017-11-09

hmattblack

Points +20

Vegan
23 Jan 2022

Vegan Dosa! 💃

I would walk for days and camp out for these dosas.

Pros: Vegan Dosa!, Big portions, Cheap prices

GillesDom

Points +172

Vegan
20 Oct 2021

So delicious!

I’ve eaten here a few times and I’m always, always leaving with a belly full of delicious food, love, and gratitude.

I’ve yet to try everything, but I do love their chai. A cup of that soothes the soul.

AmberXXX

Points +97

Vegan
13 Feb 2021

Yesssss

So glad this place re opened, been going for years! The food is so cheap, big portions and the flavors are amazing! Vegan options galore.

gisaster25

Points +349

Vegan
26 Dec 2019

*** Dec 2019: they’ve reopened at 9 Roncesvalles Ave! Run don’t walk!

**August 2018: Dosa Mahal has been closed for several months due to damage from a fire next door. I can't wait for them to reopen!**

I love eating here. The food is delicious and crazy inexpensive. I usually get the chapati or puri 'meal' which comes on a metal tray with all kinds of things on it including the curry of the day, usually a lentil soup, a couple types of chutney, etc. The desserts are unremarkable however.





Updated from previous review on 2018-08-04

ReviloTimchs

Points +250

Vegan
13 Sep 2017

Sehr gutes Essen

Authentisch und günstig. Wir wurden schnell bedient. Vegane Gerichte - die meisten auf der Karte - waren klar gekennzeichnet.

rogeryang

Points +103

Vegan
22 Jan 2013

Tasty, and inexpensive!

This restaurant has recently become all vegetarian, making it even better than it was before! They make dosas, samosas, and a variety of other Indian food. They have items for takeout too, e.g. 3 samosas for $1!

Now that it's vegetarian, it's definitely my favourite Indian restaurant!




This page has been viewed 4179 times.