Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Raw
British
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers vegan dishes marked on the menu. Includes a vegan breakfast, soup of the day, porridge, roasted squash sandwich and mushrooms and spinach on toast. Vegan milks available as well as vegan cakes. Sometimes hosts vegan nights. Open Mon-Sat 09:00-16:00, Sun 10:00-14:00.


Venue map for Soulshine Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by AmySP

jasminegraceg

Points +779

Vegan
08 Sep 2023

Beautiful healthy food

An absolute gem of a place. Several veggie and vegan options available. Really healthy food options with organic produce which is a rare find. We tried the vegan pesto pasta and the hummus and carrot sandwich both of which were stunning, as was the raw cake we tried which was a golden milk slice. Would love to visit again and try some other options.

Update - went back again for breakfast and had the beans on sourdough with nicks mushrooms and OMG the creamy garlic mushrooms were PHENOMENAL.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-06

Pros: Friendly staff, Organic produce

Advertisement

TamsinW1234

Points +174

Vegan
22 Jul 2023

Amazing!

Two of us went for lunch. The menu is interesting with lots of vegan options. We had the cabbage with peanut rayu which was absolutely delicious, the flavour was perfect. We also had the salad which again, was really beautifully presented and the flavours were delicous. And really good bread to clean the plates with! It really was very very good food and I would love to go back and would definitely recommend. Nice indoor and outdoor seating areas and friendly staff. A great find! And dog friendly!

Pros: Varied and interesting menu., Lots of vegan options., Nice atmosphere and indoor/outdoor spaces.

Cons: Nothing!

larkar

Points +130

Vegetarian
03 Mar 2023

Excellent seasonal and organic food

Love this cafe. They are now open for dinner and it was excellent. There’s not a lot of vegetarian options but the ones they have are really good. The grilled cauliflower was delicious as were the pickled turnips.

Pros: Organic produce , Great drinks menu , Cosy atmosphere

Cons: Not a lot of veggie options

Mpie

Points +2653

Vegan
12 Aug 2022

So delicious (& kid friendly)

We landed here after the restaurant we wanted to go to was fully booked, and how happy are we to have this discovered this gem! The menu is tapa style, we ordered 5 small plates for 2 adults 1 4-year old, it was a bit much but we managed to empty our plates.

All was truly delicious! Every item we ordered had so much flavour and was perfectly cooked. We ordered local wine (from really nearby even) which was very nice to discover.

Our toddler liked this place also a lot. There are toy figures available which he loved to play with. The owner even suggested to cook up some plain carrots for him and he enjoyed the vegan cake with white chocolate (especially the chocolate part).

Pros: English wine, Friendly staff, Flavourful food

ellamurgatroyd

Points +53

Vegan
04 Nov 2021

Beautiful!

Really thoughtful vegan options and not just the standards (eg. mushroom risotto), and amazing milkshakes and juices, including a delicious peanut butter, coco and oat milk shake!!

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-30

Pros: Thoughtfully prepared vegan options, Vegan cakes and sweet things, Local ingredients,metal straws, jars as cups(eco)

Cons: Not fully vegan :(

AletheaMcloughlin

Points +12

Non Veg
27 Jun 2021

This Place Is Five Star

I cannot mark it five star as they are not a totally vegetarian restaurant even though the Veggies are such the heroes

We have eaten Andy's food since his days as Head Chef down at River Cottage HQ. We have been on his courses, I did some work experience with him down at River Cottage and have basically become somewhat of a stalker!! I own the Popup Kitchen in Lyme Regis and I was blessed to have Andy and Joel (Goose & Badger) at the Popup Kitchen for a few months. They had a massive following and decided to make the leap into getting their own premises in Bridport.

They could not have found anywhere better, the vibe of the place is incredible. They have an incredible team who make you feel totally welcome and special.

Last night we decided to treat ourself to a meal and it was just the best night, food, wine and service. We ate oysters, incredible steak and vegetables to die for. All you need is the vegetable dishes and you still feel that you have died and gone to heaven. We are also very fortunate that they have taken on our daughter as their apprentice and she has never been happier because of the whole team.

You guys are super super special and great things are happening. You know how gushy I get with you guys, but it is for good reason. Absolutely incredible xxxxx

Pros: Everything and everyone

Cons: The fact I couldn't mark it five star :-)

thomasdavidge

Points +37

Vegan
19 Jan 2021

Adorable little Café

There are a solid handful of vegan options here. The vegan breakfast is absolutely amazing and the vegan mozarella and aubergine toastie is just brilliant. Not cheap but not expensive either. Coffee is good and the staff are always so friendly. Big thumbs up!

Poodlegirl

Points +64

Vegan
07 Mar 2020

Tasty locally sourced vegan options 🌱💚

We enjoyed a lunch of roast squash sandwich with a delicious salad and dressing, lovely setting and great to have some sweet vegan treats 👌

Pros: Locally sourced , Well thought out vegan options , Tasty sweet treats

Cons: Serves meat, Could have more vegan options

philJ

Points +11

Mostly Veg
22 Oct 2019

Lovely food and vibe. Very helpful people.

A 3 generation party of 7 at short notice accommodated and fed with style and great grub

EmmaSalt

Points +52

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

Juices are delicious

Really enjoyed the ziggy stardust juice. Also had the hummus and flat breads which was disappointing. Very small portion for the price (£8.50). Wouldn't order it again.
Lots of raw vegan cake options and many of the fresh salads were vegan and looked delicious.

Pros: Lots of fresh juice and smoothie selections

Cons: Small portions, Gets busy

freemn

Points +24

Vegan
01 Aug 2019

Happy Soul

For the coffee lovers; the pour over or a coffee cooler.

For the hungry; the vegan English will sort you right out.

Great space.

Pros: Great vegan options, Great coffee, Great seating

Cons: Literally none.

AmySP

Points +74

Vegan
11 Apr 2019

Hippy cafe

Honestly this cafe has lovely hippy vibes and feels like it should just be vegetarian, has good vegan options and cake. Hosts vegan nights and supports local artists/crafts people. It honestly is a shame it serves meat because I think it would do so very well being just veggie/vegan as it seems to serve locally sourced food. It was recommended to us by the zero waste shop in Bridport and I asked if it had vegan options - the staff said that’s why I’m sending you there.

I had squash tacos which were yummy and very fresh ingredients.

Pros: Good vegan options, Good vibes , Locally sourced/fresh ingredients

Cons: Serves meat (it really doesn’t need to!)




This page has been viewed 2124 times.