• CLOSED: Soulshine Cafe

  • (14)
    6

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Raw
Western
Mediterranean
Mexican
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. As of Jan 2016, offers at least 5 vegan mains and over 5 vegan desserts, many of which are raw. The food is fresh, flavorful and healthy. Lovely spacious cafe with indoor and outdoor dining. A quirky and cute space with a retro vibe yet also with a contemporary feel. Friendly and helpful staff who understands veganism and wants to look after their vegan customers. Just a block down from the beach. Reported closed January 2024.


Venue map for Soulshine Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by Yolanda

SaraOliver

Points +383

Vegan
28 Apr 2023

Lovely

A decent range of vegan options, good service, and comfy couches

Advertisement

HeatherHarrower

Points +279

Vegan
14 May 2022

Yummy vegan menu

Cute little cafe with a seperate vegan menu. I had the mushroom stack which was really yum and a few treats out of the cabinet.

Pros: Seperate vegan menu, Cabinet of vegan treats, Cute little space

Cons: No baby change table, No vegan butter

Gravenhale

Points +1100

Vegan
26 Apr 2022

Stunning food

Wow, so impressed! The vegan menu here was extensive and it was so hard to choose what to get. I got a coffee and the vegan breakfast. It was pricey but the portion was so huge I couldn’t finish even half and took the rest away, so it was worth the price. Service was really good. I highly recommend!

JessMcQueen

Points +24

Vegan
01 May 2021

BEST VEGAN MEAL

This was hands-down the most delicious vegan meal I have had. Would rate Soulshine 5 stars if I could!

Pros: Delicious , Great value for money

rudog

Points +44

Vegan
12 Sep 2020

I’ll be back!

Oh my everything was delish, coffee on point, and I had their vegan mushroom stack which had this delightful crunchy quinoa rosti. My partner had the vegan avocado bagel with side of shrooms and we both feel their portions are generous, flavours delightful, and friendly staff. I for one have no problem sharing space with carnivores but if you don’t like ppl eating bacon next to you I would try very hard to pay attention only to you own wonderful and nourishing plate.

Pros: Veggies are fresh and well cooked, Mushrooms taste like heaven, Portions are more generous than most AKL places

Cons: Sitting next to bacon lovers

saneas

Points +206

Vegan
01 Dec 2019

Vegans Beware!

I've been coming here for a year or so for the Buckwheat pancakes and as a no oil plants only eater was assured they were oil-free (and yes I did check about oil in the pan). For some reason I decided to check again today and was told there was a little bit if oil in the pan. I wonder if this is the same with their vegan and gf menu. Disssapointed and communicated that politely.

Pros: Coffee great

Cons: Appears they are not entirely truthful, Expensive

oliviaanna

Points +350

Vegan
18 Nov 2018

Nice but pricey

We had the vegan burger. It was nice but the patty fell apart, we had to eat it with a knife and fork. Also was served in slices of gluten free bread instead of burger buns. The staff were friendly and they had quite a few vegan options. I would like to go back and try the pancakes sometime.

Pros: lots of vegan options

Cons: Quite expensive

AliceOBrienGortner

Points +58

Vegan
26 Jul 2018

Vegan menu but not the best quality

I’m a foodie who loves well flavoured and cooked food. The fact that there is a separate vegan menu is so amazing, but the food is a bit average. My teen-sister-made-it kinda quality. I find the veggies undercooked (in a quesadilla) and hard zuchinni aren’t my thing. But when I’m browns bay for the Sunday markets I’ll still stop in if we’re hungry to support them. They’re making s good effort.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Yummy smoothies

Cons: Often undercooked food

chuckisme

Points +42

Vegan
08 Jul 2018

Well labelled vegan comfort food

A great little cafe, not too far from the waterfront. My partner and I went for a walk in Long Bay and then made the 10min drive South to Browns Bay just for brunch here. The pancakes were fluffy and moist, and the hash pie was spectacular: what's not to love about sauteed vegetables wrapped in potato?! Free and fast WiFi if you have some important emails to send. Vegan chocolates on the side of the chai and hot chocolates were the icing on the cake!

Pros: Well labelled vegan options, Choccies on the side!

Noda

Points +611

Vegan
27 Jun 2018

Yum

Not a vegan cafe but has 5 very good vegan options available. I was very happy with my choices, they definitely make an effort for vegans. Well done Soulshine.

LibbyL

Points +46

Vegan
30 May 2018

great food

Love soul shine :) nice vibe, great vegan menu (especially the pancakes)!

SophieAndrews

Points +40

Vegan
09 Feb 2018

Great vegan options

While not a vegan café, Soulshine is very accommodating to vegans. They usually have four items on the menu, plus items in their cabinet, and a bunch of vegan friendly drinks. I love their spicy chai!

krystalkairi

Points +53

Vegan
24 Jul 2017

Lovely, Accommodating Cafe

Went to Soulshine with my omni boyfriend and we both left very happy. After perusing the regular menu briefly, we asked the server what was vegan - and they happily pointed us toward the vegan menu and let us know about the several non-dairy milk options they serve. The food itself was very tasty, and I think they really put a lot of thought into their vegan options. It wasn't "here's the meat version but without the meat", it was "here's this carefully prepared, thought about, and balanced dish for you to enjoy".

Luckily it's nearby the boyfriend's work, so I'm sure we'll be going back several more times.

Pros: Lots of food and beverage options, Tasty food, Knowledgeable staff

Cons: Small seating area

Yolanda

Points +1800

Vegan
06 Feb 2016

One of my fav places to eat

Situated in gorgeous Browns Bay over the bridge in Auckland’s North Shore, the food on offer at Soulshine is well worth the journey out of the city. It is not a vegetarian café yet I found it had far more options for me as a vegan than many NZ vegetarian eateries I have visited.
I ordered at the counter and asked the very helpful server what was suitable for me as a vegan. The menu is on the wall and all vegan options are clearly marked. The server must own the business because she told me her daughter was egg and dairy intolerant and so she really wanted Soulshine to be a place where vegans and others on special diets could come and have a wide range of choices. I applaud her in this as Soulshine has so many vegan options and they were far far more interesting than the usual vegan options offered elsewhere. In fact it was a bit hard to choose because there were 5-6 vegan mains and I really wanted the pancakes but the quesadilla looked amazing too! What to choose? I eventually settled on the corn cakes ($16). This was a brilliant choice as they were just so tasty. They were served with avocado, vegan cheese, veggies and the yummiest salsa. My dining companions had the vegan quesadilla (again served with vegan cheese and veggies) and bagels and were also very happy. We ordered a bowl of wedges to share and these came with a dish of that delicious salsa which was scoffed quickly.
I was too full to order from the range of smoothies and salads but I did treat myself to one of the many raw vegan sweet treats on offer. I choose the nectarine cheesecake ($6.50) which looked and tasted lovely.
After that I didn’t eat again for the rest of the day as the food was very filling. We strolled down a block to the sea and enjoyed the especially beautiful beach.
I travel and eat out a lot in New Zealand and Soulshine is definitely going on my list of ‘must eat’ places when I come to Auckland. I loved it.

Pros: heaps of vegan options, helpful staff, really good food

Cons: not central




This page has been viewed 3699 times.