Vegan-friendly
Lacto
International
Organic
Delivery
Take-out
Fusion
Australian

Organic cafe with a vegan menu, est. 2017. Includes breakfasts with vegan egg, bowls, burgers, gnocchi, toasties, salt and pepper tofu, sides, speciality drinks and more. All food is vegan although dairy is offered for drinks. Also sells local and handmade goods and holds cooking classes. Has gluten free options. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for SoulPod Foods
© OpenStreetMap contributors

37 Reviews

First Review by PotatoesTho

SarahLouise55

Points +130

Vegan
06 Feb 2024

Great eat in or take away

I have been to soul pod Cafe a few times to get a takeaway lunch and today I sat in. I have to say, the way they do takeaway makes all the menu items accessible as takeaway optione. Today (and probably most times) I had the green bowl with salt and pepper tofu which is SO GOOD every time. Dad had the cauliflower fritters which were also super yummy and he enjoyed his meal. He was mind blown at the vegan feta, which truly must be the best I've ever tasted too! Seems like it's quite a popular spot at lunch time, and rightfully so!

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly service, Good price

Advertisement

AM22

Points +32

Vegan
21 Sep 2023

Used to be better

This place used to be the best in the east!

However I think there's been a change of management - menu has changed with items renamed. They used to have creative and funky names for things, but now they just have your stock standard names. Eg soul scramble is now a basic tofu scramble.

Today we ate in and ordered 2x tofu scrambles and a breakky bagel. We both added mushrooms to the tofu scramble for the cost of $6. When it came out our $6 of mushrooms looked like the equivalent of $1 worth of mushrooms... this dish used to be significantly much better value for money. If you now want to add facon, mushrooms, roasted tomato, you'd be paying $31 for your food.

The breakky bagel was great, do recommend with cheese.

Apparently there is a new menu coming soon. Hopefully they make some changes that are good value for the customers.

plant_based_singh

25 Oct 2023

I agree, it used to be better. Now it's like the new owner doesn't even care about the cafe.

AM22

25 Oct 2023

Yeah, apparently it got bought along with Eastfield next door. Care factor and knowledge about products is minimal. Very sad, and they seem to have bots keeping their Google Reviews up 🫠

BossConner

Points +56

Vegan
25 Aug 2023

Great hot drinks

Fantastic chai latte, really enjoyed it
The burger was nice, but very ‘meaty’. It was a bit too heavy. Would have been better if it was lighter

AlexBerry

Points +22

Vegan
20 Jun 2023

So glad I found this place

Great plant based food... coffees are great too! Great place for breakfast, brunch, or lunch

Pros: Delicious food, Plant based smoothies , Coffee

HannahGoh

Points +18

Vegan
15 May 2023

Fantastic menu, lovely staff, reasonable prices

Really great vegan range. We tried...
The Rueben
The Breakfast focaccia
Chips (delicious, possibly handmade) with vegan aioli
Sticky date cake, lemon Almond cake, chocolate croissant
Friendly bunch of staff, highly recommended 😊

Pros: Big range, Well priced

aashkat

Points +558

Vegan
30 Apr 2023

Good vegan cafe

Food is awesome with plenty of desserts to choose from

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-30

Pros: Fresh vegan food, Value for money, Peaceful vibes

AshleeJade

Points +42

Vegan
02 Aug 2022

Good vegan options in outer suburbs

Some amazing vegan options with an extensive menu, great atmosphere and something for everyone. The menu includes vegan eggs French toast and many cakes and pastries at the counter. Would recommend and definitely coming back!

Pros: All vegan, Menu and pastries , Relatively cheep for portion

shadia_hancock

Points +24

Vegan
03 Jul 2022

Really delicious food and the drinks are yummy too. Love the range of options!

I have been to Soulpod a few times now and have taken my non-vegan friends there - we all agree that the food is delicious. The pastries are beautiful too and the drinks menu is great. The staff are really friendly and the indoor space is quite pleasant.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Range of flavours, Friendly staff

Cons: Limited outdoor seating , Tricky parking when busy

kafca

Points +202

Vegan
11 Apr 2022

What a great range of flavours!

This place was almost too good to be true. From the tuna sandwiches the cheese and tomato croissant the arancini balls and the McSoul muffin, the display cabinet just continued to offer new options. Then there’s so many desserts with the enticing cupcakes a pecan slice, danishes. I honestly don’t think I’ve been in a place where the range has been this big in such a small cafe. They also have Dandelion, matcha and turmeric coffee. This place has done it very very well. Located in an ordinary shopping mall in Croydon it got customer after customer in the time we were there which is really good to see. And there’s seating outside as well. A new age of vegan cafes.

Pros: More options and you can possibly imagine, Reasonable prices for everything, Everything superbly tasty

Cons: Nothing really

YohanⓋ

Points +5629

Vegan
08 Jan 2022

Really delicious and nutritious!

I like the food here a lot! It’s a small place, with a relaxed vibe. Staff are nice and the prices are pretty reasonable. This is the sister store to the one in Ferntree Gully

Pros: Tasty food.

MayaFlowers

Points +54

Vegan
05 Aug 2021

A great local

It's lovely to sit outside on a sunny day with a friend and a coffee. The Soul Nachos are definitely not to be missed!

Pros: Delicious items, Lots of Gluten Free options

kimmyeats

Points +347

Vegan
08 May 2021

Not fully vegan

I love the food here but this place is NOT fully vegan. The default milk is cows milk unless you ask for a plant based milk. They also serve biodynamic tempeh and brown rice which aren't vegan as that method requires mandatory use of animal organs and parts.

beesknees3

Points +26

Vegan
17 Mar 2021

The BEST

Had the cauliflower fritters. Absolutely yummo! The coleslaw was just SO good, and the whole thing combined was such a filling meal.

Pros: Completely plant based, Large portions

Cons: Far away from home

JamieLaing

Points +62

Vegan
27 Nov 2020

Yum!

Great service and delicious food. Plenty of options, you won’t be bored at all. Coffee is very tasty. I supported this place a lot during covid and it was absolutely money well spent!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Delicious food, Friendly service

Cons: I live too far away to go all the time lol

AmandaCell

Points +82

Vegan
07 Sep 2020

Delightful

So great having a 100% vegan store locally. Great food. Great chai. Great service.

Pros: 100% vegan, Delicious food, Great selection

holdenmelissa

Points +82

Vegan
27 Jun 2020

Awesome

The best vegan food, I eat there at least once a week if not more.

Pros: Completely vegan, Amazing options, Awesome staff

Cons: None

ErikaHarrison

Points +18

Vegan
20 May 2020

Amazing

Haven't been to Soulpod for a while now and came back to try it out again. Glad I did, the display is full of great vegan items like buckwheat sausage rolls, open tarts, great toasties and to much to mention. They are only doing takeaway due to COVID however they are still supplying the full menu. I had the scrambled tofu and OMG fantastic. My boyfriend had the soulbowl and was equally happy. Best plant-based cafe this side of MELBOURNE hand down.! Can't wait to go back when it is doing table service again.

JessicaFreitag

Points +22

Vegan
19 May 2020

Euh.. bit disappointing

I had really high hopes for this place, given its one of the only 100% vegan places in the area..
I ordered the baked beans, but they were really smoky (not labelled smoky on menu), and very heavy. Vegan feta was weird... ive had much better vegan feta at other non-vegan restaurants!
Partner had the 'Veef' burger, and it was okay, but again not that impressive. Alot of the dishes were fake meat based, which i found a bit offputting since i generally avoid these kinds of processed foods - wouldve liked to see more fresh salads and whole foods dishes.

AndrewWalton

Points +100

Vegan
31 Mar 2020

Great Food and Coffee

Fantastic coffee. Great service. Nice ambience. Reasonably priced. And there are a fair few meals I’ve tried and enjoyed. Love the nachos!

Pros: All vegan

KJSlater

Points +38

Vegan
27 Aug 2019

Where have you been all my life?!

How awesome is this place! 100% plant based and has such an awesome feel with incredible food! Had the smashed avo and was SO IMPRESSED!!! The vegan feta is AMAZING!! Can’t wait to work my way through the menu 😆💚🌱

Pros: Tasty food, Great service, Comfortable and cosy cafe

jesswilo

Points +60

Vegan
18 Jul 2019

Must try!

Lovely staff and absolutely top notch food. The vegetable toastie with almond feta and Buddha bowls are my favourite! Great coffee too.

MonicaKing

Points +48

Vegan
06 Jul 2019

Love my local

Love that this is my local, feel so lucky to have it. Wish I could eat there more often😄.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great change of options , Fresh and generous food sizes

TaraJohnston

Points +66

Vegan
26 May 2019

So yum

Seasonal menu that changes. All of the food is delicious, and great coffee!

Pros: Menu changes, So yum and health

KarlieeeB

Points +200

Vegan
28 Mar 2019

Super yummy

Had the potato jacket with the mexi beans, cheese and everything else.
Super yum and filling, I think it was a good price at 16.
The staff are really nice too.

Pros: All vegan

OliviaFatouros

Points +53

Vegan
07 Mar 2019

Yummy!

Had the green bruschetta with a side of avo and a delicious hot chocolate

PotatoesTho

Points +13449

Vegan
14 Feb 2019

All vegan in the suburbs

Disappointed on my most recent visit to find very little in the way of affordable meals. The lowest priced item aside from slices etc. was a baked potato for $16. Sandwiches were priced at $17 to $19. There is also a lack of pricing on the specials board which seems to indicate that soulpod is aware their prices are on the steeper side.

......

Quite impressed with the small but solid menu on my first visit. I enjoyed a very filling salad for lunch but was tempted to try a few of the other options too. I will return soon to see how this new little cafe is developing.





Updated from previous review on 2019-02-14

Pros: All vegan, Quality food

Cons: pricey

CLRtraveller

Points +7925

Vegan
24 Jan 2019

Good food

Nice menu, all vegan/plant-based. I chose the Soul Burger, $20, served on a toasted spelt bun, with mayo and cheez, maybe a bit heavy on the prepared mustard, but it’s a tasty and satisfying burger. This is not fast food; don’t be in a hurry.
WiFi available. Bathroom is at the back of the organic food store next door, Eastfield Natural Foods.
Also sells local and handmade goods (e.g., bath salts)

Pros: all vegan

Cons: not the fastest service




This page has been viewed 6242 times.