Vegan
American
Organic
Raw
Juice bar
Delivery
Take-out

Serves comfort soul food that is vegan. Menu varies and might include lasagna, mac-n-cheese, and corn bread, desserts, and others. Brunch on Sunday. The Eternity Juice Bar is owned by the same people, and sells juices, elixirs, sandwiches, deli-style salads, and a few vegan groceries. Black-owned. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-6:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-6:00pm.


Venue map for Soul Veg City
© OpenStreetMap contributors

55 Reviews

First Review by amargrav

jadaruss

Points +1515

Vegan
02 Oct 2023

Great options

Loved the Al a cart but not the shrimp. Cute decor good music.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-17

Advertisement

DanMiller

Points +141

Vegan
15 Sep 2023

Delicious

All vegan. I stopped by for lunch. There were numerous selections to choose from.
Everything I tried was delicious- spinach salad, a squash dish, shrimp and vegetables, bbq bits, mashed potatoes and beans and rice, plus a berry smoothie.

Pros: Delicious , Good selection , Reasonable prices, friendly

Italia23

Points +20

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

🫡 to the Owner(s)

Absolutely amazing place to support.
Wasn’t even looking, but SO glad to have stumbled upon this place on the S. Side. I immediately fell in love with the menu, ambiance, and then the amazing food.

Pros: The food & menu , Cleanliness , Friendly staff

veggie_htx

Points +2082

Vegan
09 Feb 2023

Exquisite!

Incredible vegan food. So flavorful!

CathieKentner

Points +13

Mostly Veg
07 Jan 2023

So happy we stopped

Looking for a place to eat and happened upon here. Excited to try a new to us restaurant. Best decision we made. Husband had the cajun shrimp and rice with spinach and I had the sloppy joe with fries. Both were absolutely delicious. Not heated frozen food, real homemade meals cooked by people who have a passion and love for what they do. Will definitely return.

Pros: Full vegan restaurant , Friendly staff , Clean dining room

j95p

Points +45

Vegetarian
14 Dec 2022

Awesome to the expansion.

Expanded store fronts since the last I was in the area. Al a cart or plates. Juice bar.

Pros: Vegan, Comfort food, Al a cart or meals

Cons: No

Kallday

Points +301

Vegan
16 Sep 2022

First Vegan Restaurant in Chicago!

I don’t even know where to begin! I’ve had my fair share of vegan “soul food” restaurants & this place might be my #1 pick so far! Located on the south side of Chicago, Soul Veg was a very impressive, hospitable establishment with an array of vegan options.

I ate from the Hot bar (was skeptical at first thanks to COVID) & I truly have no complaints. The food is priced by weight & there’s no limit to how much you can get. Honestly, I wanted to try everything but I knew my stomach would hate me if I did haha! As far as taste, everything I had was impeccable! My favorite items were the Purple Cabbage, Yams, & Jerk Chicken

Midwestveganfoodie365

Points +1969

Vegan
13 Sep 2022

Many options

Was glad to find a place that offered many things. It was mainly vegan comfort foods but still things was decent

VegTek

Points +106

Vegan
04 Aug 2022

WOW…so many options

This is absolutely a must visit! Food is so delicious and there’s something for everyone. I love the hot bar!!! Can’t wait to go back and try everything else. They’ve been around for so long and I can’t believe I just found this amazing vegan spot.

Pros: Options options options , Smoothies, Nice eat-in space

Cons: Pricey

Tigra220

Points +10447

Vegan
17 Feb 2022

Amazing!

This place is great for junk food and healthy food cravings. Sometimes I go for the food bar, other times I order from the menu. Kale greens were pretty tasty. Good flavor. Potato salad is bomb. BBQ tidbits are good. Don't like their cakes; they tend to always be dry. Disappointing. I also disliked their battered steak. Their cabbage is delicious, purple or regular. Deep fried seasoned fries with BBQ sauce and their Fried Tofu Sandwich are amazing! They recently remodeled and it’s beautiful. Don’t forget that they also have soft serve. The flavors rotate. It’s so good!! This continues to be a place that I frequent whenever I’m in town.

quinntoit

Points +43

Vegan
22 Dec 2021

My fav vegan spot overall in Chicago.

Holy heck! This place is essential in Chicago. If you don't eat here, why even go to Chicago?

Eymaymay

Points +142

Vegan
09 Oct 2021

Breakfast

My husband and I really enjoyed the breakfast. He got the French toast and I got the pancakes. Served with tofu scramble, hash, sausage. I also got a biscuit and side of kale salad. The biscuit was so moist and buttery and delicious. The tofu scramble and the hash browns were super good. The pancakes and French toast were decent. Kale salad was good (I mixed it with my hash and tofu yummm)

I would def come again. I’d love to try their lunch/dinner menu next.

Supreme

Points +162

Vegan
03 Aug 2021

Great place!!!

Good vibes great food wonderful service.

JahariaFilmore

Points +24

Vegan
04 Jul 2021

Amazing food and even better customer care

Such a cute restaurant. The atmosphere was welcoming and all of the employees were kind and helpful. The food was so amazing 😋😋. We ordered from the menu and the hot bar and everything was tasty. I would recommend the sloppy joe, lasagna, gyro... and the desserts are heavenly! Will definitely visit again when I'm back in Chicago.

dajo0620

Points +75

Vegan
15 Aug 2020

Best Food in Chicago

There’s no question. Best food in Chicago. Get everything off their hot bar. Lasagna was great!

Pros: Lots of options , Great tasting food, Fair prices

GlobalTravelingvegan

Points +142

Vegan
03 Aug 2020

The best raw bar ever

Love the raw food the most. I love it all but that the most.

reduce

Points +88

Vegan
26 May 2020

Chicago's Best?

What yummy and filling food! The portions are perfect and the flavors are amazing. Whatever you're craving, fried or healthy, they have it. And that Coconut Cream pie! Yes!

Pros: Flavourful, Homey dishes, Good selection

Cons: Can be hard to find parking

juboktimusprime

Points +73

Vegan
09 Dec 2019

Might be best spot in chicago

In our trip to Chicago, this was the best vegan food that we tried. The spicy chicken sandwich was life. The loaded fries was life. The basket that we got was great too. The cinnamon cake is really good too. The Hebrew Israelites did good with this place.

Pros: Lots of options, everything good, prices not crazy

MizzB

Points +3715

Vegan
26 Nov 2019

Soulfully delicious vegan eats

Original Soul Vegetarian Restaurant, on Chicago's Southside. 100% vegan deliciousness, with made to order juice bar, hot & cold deli selections, some raw foods, and sit down table service restaurant. Southern soul foods dishes like greens, chickn - fried, BarBQ & baked, Mac & cheese, sweet potatoes, cornbread, desserts, along with wraps, falafel, sandwiches, cauliflower nuggets - all vegan. Most recent visit, eggplant parmesan was amazingly well seasoned, smooth cheese sauce. Black eyed peas over brown rice, mildly seasoned. BarBQ seitan was quite good. And tasty baked sweet potatoes, just the way I like them, not too sweet & no marshmallows. I have yet to dine at one of their weekend buffets, yet they are highly recommended. On a somewhat busy street, on street parking out front & on side streets. Clean restrooms, dine in, take out. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful personnel. Part of Soul Vegetarian chain of vegan establishments; locations in Atlanta and Tallahassee, also serve up awesomely delicious food. Visited during Thanksgiving holidays 2019; delicious sweets during their holiday bake sale. Sweet potato pie was awesome!

Pros: 100% vegan, long term, Deliciously tasty, cooked, some raw, Friendly knowledgeable personnel

Cons: On street parking

chick58

Points +145

Vegetarian
02 Oct 2019

Senior discount and Sunday menu helped salve a hit and run accident earlier in the day

After spending three hours at the hospital to learn I suffered from no broken bones or fractures, I biked over to Original Soul Vegetarian for its Sunday dinner. After good service from the waitress, I enjoyed the lentil loaf, mashed potatoes, corn and salad with tasty cucumber dressing. The potatoes had some kind of sweetener that could have been left out, but the rest of the dinner was delicious. Dessert, which I didn't expect, was an apple cobbler, a nice conclusion to an otherwise unpleasant day. Besides the delicious dinner and unexpected dessert, my third gift from OSV was a senior discount! Of course, I left a tip, before biking home to soak in epsom salts and slather on lots of Ben-Gay.

Pros: Lentil loaf, Cucumber dressing and colorful salad, apple cobbler

Cons: too sweet mashed potatoes

mbujwid

Points +18

Vegan
13 Aug 2019

Simply Amazing!!

I am relatively new to being a vegan and had given up the idea of convenient good food-boy was I wrong!! Dinner was absolutely amazing! I had the spicy chicken sandwich, my fiancé had the Italian beef and my daughter had the nuggets-we ate every bite!! Great flavors and the texture to everything was spot on (something I’m learning not everyone doing this has mastered)!! Thank you for offering an alternative that is plant based!! We will definitely put this establishment on heavy rotation!!

Pros: Great flavor, Authentic textured food, Great price

Williesheia

Points +27

Vegan
26 Jun 2019

Vegan Gem

I love their food. Best experience.

Pros: Good food, Location , Kid-friendly

Cons: Nasty Restroom, Limited street parking

BridgetJoBrown

Points +18

Vegan
26 Jun 2019

revolutionary place! Yum

What a revolutionary place! It's a myth that vegan food is boring or bland. Highly recommend.

mmeilach

Points +99

Vegetarian
19 May 2019

One of the best on the south side

I've been coming to soul veg for over a decade and i love the food and the friendly service. The dinner specials, BBQ nuggets, BBQ twist sandwich and the hot food bar is amazing. Even if you call in an order you'll still wait though so if I'm in a hurry during the week i grab something from off the hot food bar (prepared foods sold by the weight kept very clean)

Pros: Amazing food all vegan, Friendly service, Hot food bar and salad bar

Cons: Slow service

PoisonedPawn

Points +242

Vegan
09 Oct 2018

Good place

Had the dinner special and it was great! The menu has a good selection of items and everything is reasonably priced.

jadawadabada

Points +18

Mostly Veg
23 Aug 2018

one of the best vegan restaurants in the southside of Chicago.

I’ve been going to Soul Veg for years and they are amazing.

SheilaE

Points +18

Vegan
17 Jul 2018

Life saver!

Cauliflower au gratin was so good!




This page has been viewed 24971 times.