Soka Warung

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 13 reviews )

Find

Tamarind Rd, Jungutbatu, Penida Island, Bali, Indonesia, 80771

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cosy restaurant of the guesthouse, Soka Homestay. Cook is able to veganize dishes on request such as gado-gado and banana pancakes with coconut milk. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-9:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, Western, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Asian, Gluten-free, Indonesian , Non-veg

13 Reviews

First Review by JimvanPutten

MarieshaCollen

Points +32

Vegan
20 Feb 2020

Lovely vegan food

We came here in hope the reviews were not wrong with the staff knowing about veganism we were pleasantly surprised. We had a tempeh burger and a gado-gado both of which were good!
We will be back again for sure!

JZNCYeats

Points +130

Vegan
06 Feb 2020

Little gem

Warung is a tiny house front restaurant. Blink and you miss this place....map here has you in front of a spa....but keep looking it’s worth it.
Simple food, great service, and they make a few dishes vegan on request!

Pros: Yummy , Cheap, Clean

Cons: Little variety

Ulrika

Points +169

Vegan
04 Dec 2019

Delicious!

This is a really small warung, really close to mushroom bay beach. We had the tempe goreng with peanut dip (15K) and tempe sate with rice and vegetables (35K). Mix juices were 20K, and they were really good, too.

Pros: Vegan options available — just ask!, Delicious food

Cons: The kitchen was small and a bit on the slow side, Cash only

Advertisement

abibarlow95

Points +266

Vegan
29 Oct 2019

Friendly staff - create vegan dishes for you

Nothing vegan on the actual menu but just ask the owner. She made us a tempeh burger and double checked with us we didn’t want cheese or mayo. Good understanding of vegan and very friendly. Cheap too

Pros: Cheap , Friendly staff, Willing to adapt items to make them vegan

Stana

Points +28

Vegan
05 Oct 2019

Great vegan options

Even there are not vegan dishes on the menu, once you ask, you will get offer of many options. I had a tempeh burger and it was delicious.
The restaurant is always full and I am not surprised😄because of that the waiting time is a bit longer but it is totally worth of it. Very nice staff also :)
There are no clearly veggie restaurants at the island so this place is a very good choice for non vegan restaurant

Cons: Cheap

sunchasingtravelers

Points +588

Vegan
16 Sep 2019

Good food for good price

We went there in the evening at around 7.30pm. All tables (6) were full, but luckily a couple just left. Another couple arrived after us, and the owner helped sitting on a table with another couple. The owner and his wife (I assume because it‘s a family business) are very friendly. We had no issues with our order (with no meat and no egg😄). We had one Nasi Goreng, one Gado Gado, and one Tempe Goreng as well as two watermelon juices. This was the first time we were asked if sugar should be added to the juices. We looked at each other and realized why some juices tasted sweeter than others :). We didn’t expect that someone would add sugar to a juice. So, we were happy, he asked. Good portions and a lot of peanut sauce made us extra happy. The bill was super fair. We had a good experience and a good time. I recommend this place. Don‘t forget your sustainable straws as they use plastic straws.

Pros: Good portions, Tasty food, Good price

Avatar Felissi

Felissi

Points +934

Vegan
09 Sep 2019

Good location for vegans

The owner knows what vegan is and is very nice. The food is good but I like the Clasico Warung for Indonesian dishes a little better. E.g. I prefer the Gado Gado when the sauce is not already on top and when there are bigger slizes of tempeh and tofu.

The pancakes are very yummy though and when you are vegetarian you should definitely try the tempeh burger.

Overall a cosy little warung, great value for money.

Veggiematt

Points +83

Vegetarian
14 Jul 2019

Good food and friendly service

Small business ran by family. Great friendly smiles serve the food. The gado gado and nasi goreng were available as vegan versions. They normally serve crispy small chunks of tempeh but upon request they served larger chunks too. Ate here 3 times eventually: price/quality is just too good.

Inthorn

Points +56

Vegetarian
26 May 2019

Great cheap food

Can veganize most dishes. Try Tempe Burger

Pros: Good , Cheap , Authentic

StephanieToledo

Points +18

Vegan
25 May 2019

Awsome

I higly recommend it!! Small cozy restaurant, family owned business. They are really attentive and careful. I tried almost every dish on the menu and loved it all. Good portion. They can make most of the dishes on the menu vegan and clearly explained which ones could be "veganized" or only vegetarian.
Also really friendly staff who helped me with tips about lebongam or with whom i had nice chats with :)

Cons: None! :)

TabithaA

Points +1881

Vegan
07 Jan 2019

It’s ok

They will happily exclude non vegan ingredients and their food is good and cheap but they don’t understand what vegan actually is. Very tasty food and reasonably good service.

Pros: Cheap, Tasty

Cons: Not vegan specifically

grottkjell

Points +40

Vegan
18 Oct 2018

Ok tasting, very cheap food. Staff helpful with vegan options.

Wanted vegan food but nothing was clearly specified on the menu so we had to ask and explain to the waiter. At some point they were unsure about if we could eat cheese so they came out and asked rather than guessing, which is a good thing (would be better if they just knew, but hey...). The food I had which was a Burger with fried tempe was nothing special, but a veganized gado gado was much better. Dinner for 2 people including 2 drinks landed on 86k rupiah which I think is very cheap.

Pros: Very cheap, Accomodating staff

Cons: No clearly marked vegan options on menu, Some dishes not very good tasting

JimvanPutten

Points +88

Vegan
27 Sep 2018

Best gado-gado ever

This cosy little restaurant is run by the same family as the guesthouse were we stayed. On request the cook veganized the dishes on the menu, like the delicious, perfectly spiced gado-gado and the banana pancakes with coconut milk instead of cowsmilk. 
Juices were also fresh and delicious.
Very friendly and kind staff and very affordable prices.
Would have given a 5 star rating if possible

Pros: Possibility to veganize dishes, Kind family runned business , Cozy and not commercial

Cons: Smoking is permitted

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Penida Island Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Soka Warung closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1637 times.