Vegan-friendly
Ovo
Chinese
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Singaporean

Serves local vegetarian food with labelled vegan dishes such as hokkien mee, fried rice and laksa. Open for dine-in on Fridays to Sundays. Open to bulk orders and corporate events on Mondays to Thursdays. Contact via social media direct message or WhatsApp 9899 9062 for enquiries Open Tue-Sun 11:00am-8:30pm. Opens on Mon if it is the 1st or 15th of the lunar month. Last order 30 mins before closing.


Venue map for SoFood 尚素
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by KelvinWuGW

FlorenciaChan

Points +361

Vegetarian
21 May 2023

Nice food

The food is nice for a vegetarian jap restaurant. Food is served fast. Good portion

Went down again on 20/5/2023. Fully Aircon . Menu changed. Just happened that sushi was not available during our visit 😕. Hope that they don't take it out forever.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-14

Advertisement

WongSiowWai

Points +1745

Vegetarian
10 Nov 2022

Quality, huge portion

Eggless is available upon request.

Portion are huge, esp rice menu. Food was delivered warm in the evening.

Decent, quality dishes. Good service too.

The hotplate handmade unagi with rice portion looks small but it isn't. The egg was flavourable as it is at the bottom while the unagi taste mild. Soup was good too. Nice combination.

They told me they will change the menu every now and then which is a good move.

Thank you 💕

Updated from previous review on 2020-09-05

Pros: Huge portion, Quality food, Healthy 😄

Cons: Slightly on the expensive side for some rice dish

YiJieLeong

Points +62

Vegetarian
10 Mar 2022

Yummy food

Nice ambience. Yummy food..

evatan

Points +157

Vegetarian
12 Feb 2022

Cosy place

Nice food and affordable price

Pros: Lots of food options includes finger food, Drinks are not sweet - plus plus point for me

Cons: Food serve a bit slow

jh_k

Points +41

Mostly Veg
02 Jan 2022

yummy food and cozy place

Serves both Asian and Japanese cuisines that are very deli and affordable. However, seating can be limited and the chicken rice is rather dry

Lycious

Points +1371

Vegetarian
08 Dec 2021

Lack customer care

Had a bad experience here today when we ordered for Stir Fried Kway Teow. It’s not written “spicy” on the menu but it turned out to be spicy. When informed to the manager they defended that their Kway Teow is not consider as spicy and it’s always cooked this way. No one ever complains.
It’s very disappointing to hear such response and giving excuses instead of looking at the problem or at least apologize for our experience. They even remind us to pre-inform next time for non-spicy version ( as if it’s our fault .. there’s 2 version? ). I would like to remind that Spicy level for everyone is different. Although they re-cooked to non-spicy Kway Teow but the taste was awful - it’s super wet and super sweet. You can tell that the chef is insincere to re-cook. Not to forget - he was so angry in telling us off too. Their food could be somewhat nice but their customer service is zero to me.

Pros: Vegan option available , Japanese and Asian selection

Cons: Zero customer care sincerity , No aircon

elinercps

Points +451

Vegetarian
12 Oct 2021

Birthday feast!

Birthday feast from sofood and decided to give their makis a try. Saddened that their avocado maki was sold out by 4pm, but we ordered a variety:

𝑭𝒆𝒂𝒕.
𝗠𝗲𝗮𝘁𝗹𝗲𝘀𝘀 𝗙𝗹𝗼𝘀𝘀 𝗠𝗮𝗸𝗶
𝗬𝗮𝗸𝗶 𝗨𝗱𝗼𝗻
𝗖𝗮𝗹𝗮𝗺𝗮𝗿𝗶 𝗥𝗶𝗻𝗴𝘀
𝗣𝗼𝘁𝗮𝘁𝗼 𝗦𝗮𝗹𝗮𝗱
𝗬𝗮𝗺 𝗥𝗼𝗹𝗹𝘀
𝗗𝗲𝗲𝗽 𝗙𝗿𝗶𝗲𝗱 𝗚𝘆𝗼𝘇𝗮
𝗤𝗤 𝗦𝗲𝗮𝗳𝗼𝗼𝗱 𝗥𝗼𝗹𝗹 (𝗟𝗶𝗺𝗶𝘁𝗲𝗱 𝗲𝗱𝗶𝘁𝗶𝗼𝗻)

I personally enjoyed the potato salad, as it had a homely taste to it and the seafood roll went well with the accompanied chicken rice chilli. Been a while since I had fried gyoza and I loved how their skin is not overly thick.

The feast today was a refreshing change from the usual fare and it made the occasion feel more celebratory. Despite only consuming the food much later after picking them up, they still tasted awesome!

Pros: Wide variety

IanTan

Points +297

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2021

Small and cosy place with Jap Food

Nice food and cosy place for a meal

18ec

Points +150

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2021

Cosy quiet place for meals

Nicely tucked in a corner of Serangoon North

Pros: Family friendly

Cons: Be good to have more variety or dishes

veggiexplorer

Points +4751

Vegetarian
13 Mar 2021

Affordable and good. Handful vegan options.

@sofood.sg , a vegetarian shop, offer a handful of alliums free vegan options! It’s a cozy restaurant with friendly staff. Do check with staff if any dietary preferences, for better recommendations. Have tried the below vegan foodie with mom and all cost less than 30sgd (forgot the exact).

✨Kitsune Udon - yummy and favourite of all! Soup is tasty, good pairing of ingredients & generous portion!

✨Handmade Prawn Cake - Interesting dish ! First time trying “prawn” cake. The ingredients are thick and have this jelak feelings after. Taste is alrighty (#tasteissubjective ah!).. Haha my mom ok with this, I find it worth a try. Love the chilli dip pairing.

✨Chicken Cutlet Rice - Generous portion. Love the fried chicken and sauce. The fries and broc are yummy tooooooo! Rice is fragrant~ yummy

✨Agedashi Tofu - Love the sauce and tofu 😋

✨Black sugar ginger tea - love the hot tea. Been awhile since I last drank 黑糖姜茶茶. So comforting!

Pros: Handful of vegan options

Jassie

Points +330

Mostly Veg
19 Sep 2020

Extensive menu

The cafe has a day and night menu which is pretty unusual. The day menu serves local delights whereas the night menu serves international fusion food.

The menu did not indicate which dishes contains eggs but can enquire and request for egg to be omitted. Can give the sides a miss, main dishes are better done.

Updated from previous review on 2020-09-19

Pros: Clean and cosy , Convenient location, near bus stop

Cons: Use of mock meat in many dishes, No indication of whether dishes contains eggs

SKNg

Points +2036

Vegetarian
30 Jul 2020

Vegetarian Food

Sells noodle and rice meals. Fried kway teow, hor fun, olive fried rice, curry mutton rice, fish fillet rice, hokkien noodles, side dishes like samosa, crispy rolls, etc. Alsp have special menu on japanese rice and noodle.

Pros: Easy parking

KelvinWuGW

Points +1382

Vegetarian
31 May 2020

Nice food at reasonable prices

Nice food with generous portions and reasonable prices. They have a nice menu with vegan options. Food delivery option available too. We had a satisfying lunch and the food was delivered warm.




This page has been viewed 6625 times.