Lacto
Ovo
American
Western
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Brew pub and restaurant with a kale and quinoa vegan burger, served with onion rings, vegan aioli, Violife cheddar and veggies. Open Mon-Thu 11:30am-12:00am, Fri-Sat 11:30am-1:00am, Sun 11:30am-12:00am. Kitchen closes 10:30pm.


Venue map for Smiðjan Brugghús
© OpenStreetMap contributors

34 Reviews

First Review by hejman84

ScratchPhoenix

Points +35

Vegan
12 Sep 2023

One Burger

There was one vegan option on the menu, a Linda McCarthey burger. It tastes like any other mock beef burger, and all the toppings were good. 3 stars for good ingredients well prepared and flavor full. There were five IPAs, two Pilsners, a Lager, and a Milk Stout on tap. I prefer dark and malty beers so this was a bit of a disappointment.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-12

Pros: Onion rings and pickles on top!, Cooked well, Friendly service

Cons: Only one vegan option, Too many IPAs on tap

Advertisement

maleams

Points +149

Vegan
26 Jul 2023

Good and fast!

Big and filling veggie burger! Expensive but got the job done

Chrjs

Points +273

Vegan
07 Jul 2023

Brewery with classic pub food and craft beer

Nice pub for a drink or two. Offers different beers from the tap and 2 vegan burger options.

Pros: 2 Vegan burgers on the menu, Delicious beer

Cons: Pricey (Iceland level)

JoshErwin

Points +174

Vegan
05 Jul 2023

Good Vegan Burger

Loved the onion rings on top. 2835 isk so came out to about $20.75.

Pros: Great burger

TurboTomas

Points +180

Vegan
01 May 2023

Best vegan burger of my life

Great atmosphere. Best vegan burger of my life. Helpful staff 👌 would give 5 if possible. Great place to drink different kinds of beers as well

Pros: Great vegan burger on the menu, Lots of beers, Atmosphere

Llainey

Points +361

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Only 1 vegan option but nice enough

I had the Linda McCartney vegan burger with a cheese slice, onion rings and gherkins with garlic sauce. Fries were extra on the side. The food came out really quickly (only 2 other people in the pub). The food was lovely and freshly cooked. There was only 1 vegan option on the menu clearly marked. Staff spoke English and were friendly. Good pit stop if you're passing by.

Pros: Quick service, Speak English

Cons: Only 1 vegan option

LenkaBesedová

Points +76

Vegan
24 Oct 2022

Great!

The place has nice atmosphere and tasty vegan burgers! You can order worh QR code online which makes the whole process super smooth and fast. Loved it.

Pros: Nicely decorated interior, Very vasty burger, Order via phone

Cons: Portions could be bigger

malzimm6

Points +367

Vegan
13 Oct 2022

Delicious veggie burger while traveling Iceland

July 2018 - This was one of our favorites places we ate in Iceland. Amazing veggie burger that totally hit the spot after a long day of exploring.

Update: We visited again in October 2022 and the vegan burger was just as good! Great atmosphere in the pub.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-13

Flavits

Points +33

Vegetarian
12 Sep 2022

Delicious

The vegan burger and the fries are delicious, with a cool atmosfere

Caro_Louise

Points +99

Vegan
25 Jul 2022

Very good burger!

The one vegan option was a burger with onion rings on it. It was very good and filling, and the fries that came with it were delicious too. Add a Belgian blonde beer and the warm and busy environment and I was a happy girl!

Vegeads

Points +376

Vegan
28 Jun 2022

Solid burger + fries

This was definitely better than the average vegan burger you'll find across the country, especially in the smaller towns. It was nice to just be able to order the "vegan burger" and not have to make any adjustments. The fries (as other people have pointed out) we also very good. I'd definitely eat here again if I had the chance.

IwaWella

Points +1249

Mostly Veg
31 May 2022

Beer

Pretty okay beer, very crowded place

cs6fc

Points +34

Vegan
27 Apr 2022

Good vegan burger

There is only one vegan option, but it was very good - a black bean burger with fries. If you enjoy black bean burgers, you will like it. The fries are very tasty as well.

Pros: Good meal

Cons: Only one vegan option

stephbaggz

Points +157

Vegan
07 Nov 2021

Good burger

Stopped here and had a delicious vegan burger with fries.
Not many other options but it was good.

mcdiehl

Points +212

Vegan
25 Jul 2021

Quality option

Tasty meal w nice atmosphere and vibe

Pros: Good vegan burger w cheese and aioli , Nice interior design

Brusswole_Sprouts

Points +531

Vegan
30 Jun 2021

One-ish option but it’s good!

Burger was delicious, though make sure the Mayo is vegan as we weren’t sure. Get the Buffalo cauliflower and pass on the sauce it’s still good!

dwells

Points +2216

Vegan
06 Jun 2021

Awesome fries

The vegan burger was pretty good (would’ve preferred a heartier patty, personally), but the fries are up there with the best I’ve had. Steak fries but a bit thinner in the middle with a thicker crispy exterior. The Wet Spot beer is a proper NEIPA, hazy with strong citrus and floral up front that finishes hoppy.

The restaurant itself is chill and modern, with games you can borrow on a shelf by the restroom, and the back wall is glass and provides a view of the brewery equipment.

Pros: Killer fries, Very good New England IPA

Cons: 2500kr for a not huge burger and fries

emilybmorley

Points +85

Vegan
17 Feb 2020

Vegan burger 5*

I had a delicious black bean patty vegan burger here with a side of chips. The burger was delicious (including the cheese which can be a hit and miss) and the chips were also 10/10. It cost about 2500isk for the burger and chips which isn’t too bad for Iceland. They also had card games to play while you were waiting (which wasn’t long anyway) and it had a great atmosphere. Was surprised to find somewhere this good in such a small town! Recommend to everyone.

Pros: Great atmosphere, card games etc, Reasonable price, Delicious

Cons: Only one vegan/veggie option, Portion of chips could be bigger

jamjarjen

Points +99

Vegan
05 Nov 2019

Stop by here

Only one option but oh my it’s worth it. Lovely vegan beer sampler also

Aredhel

Points +156

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Amazing vegan burger and delicious chips!

Even if you don't have a burger you must go here for the chips! They are so good. There is only one vegan option but it is very tasty, I have had it both times I have visited Vik.

Pros: Amazing chips, Tasty vegan burger

Cons: Only one vegan option, No vegan desserts

JessieDarbyson-Myers

Points +38

Vegan
15 Oct 2019

The vegan burger here is to live for!

Soft bun, amazing sauce, delicious patty and onion rings. Totally worth every bite.

AndrewDalkie

Points +26

Vegan
11 Sep 2019

Must eat!

Only one vegan burger option but it was excellent. Burger was piled high, but still very easy to eat, did not fall apart at all. Vegan aioli really made it.

Soniaaprisco

Points +2335

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

O melhor hambúrguer vegan que comi na Islândia!!!

Hambúrguer vegan delicioso servido com umas batatas fritas maravilhosas!!😋Adorei!

Pros: Comida saborosa, Serviço eficiente, Preço aceitável

paulveg5

Points +16

Vegan
06 Aug 2019

Great vegan burger

Just one vegan choice but it was great. Really nice place as well.

JuliaMorrissey

Points +329

Vegan
27 May 2019

Amazing burger

Absolutely loved the vegan burger here

gemmar

Points +52

Vegan
17 Mar 2019

So happy to find this after a long day sightseeing!

Very cool brew house and lovely staff. Very happy to see a clearly marked delicious vegan option on their small menu!

JordynMary

Points +134

Vegan
01 Jan 2019

Best veggie burger in a long time

There aren’t many options in the Vik area.. so we ended up eating here twice.. and I’m not mad about it at all.. the veggie burger was one of the best I’ve had in a very long time.. with the raw onion and onion rings?! Like damn.. so good. If this is how they make a vegan burger, they need to expand the menu as I’m sure they would come up with something else amazing.

Cons: Expensive




This page has been viewed 6401 times.