Shochiku-en

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 27 reviews )

Find

Nishiasakusa 2-7-6, Taito, Tokyo, Japan, 111-0035

Cafe which became fully vegan in Mar 2020. Serves coffee with soy, oat or almond milk, tea, chocolate desserts, and steamed buns. English, Chinese, and Japanese spoken. Est. 2019. Open Mon-Tue 11:00am-8:00pm, Fri-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm. Closed Wed-Thur.

Categories: Vegan, American, Japanese

27 Reviews

First Review by 岩橋遥

MinaÖsterblom

Points +2

Vegan
04 Dec 2021

Super good food and very cozy place!

Exactly what I was looking for, a perfect small vegan cafe.

Hikki07

Points +19

Mostly Veg
20 Nov 2021

First time

Very cute small cafe. The rainbow cake was great. It had a subtle sweet taste. The woman there was very kind.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice staff, Nice environment

AuntieGame

Points +74

Vegan
29 Oct 2021

So good

Nice little cafe with lovely rainbow cake and tea 💕

Advertisement

Marties

Points +378

Mostly Veg
19 Oct 2021

Super friendly, tasty, cozy

Even though the smoked soy "nuggets" in the yuki-burger could taste better, I thought the genki-burger was on point, simple but delicious with a chewy bread that was crunchy on the outside (yum!)

The "cheese" tea and rainbow cake are absolutely delicious -- the cake is super moist, and the coloring doesn't leave any disgusting aftertaste like I feared -- but they taste strongly like soy. Personally, I love tofu and soy milk, but if someone doesn't, they may not appreciate this.

While I was there, a group of Chinese girls dressed in kimonos came by, took the small table by the counter and started having the cutest conversation with the owner. The whole experience was super wholesome and welcoming!

Pros: Quiet neighborhood, Cozy, Delicious

Cons: Small place, Not many options in the menu

CindyMikoda

Points +19

Vegetarian
11 Oct 2021

Delicious!

The place is super cozy, their cake and smoothies are the best. I really like it.

ItalianChick

Points +1739

Vegan
07 Sep 2021

Raaaaaaaaaainbow cake!

Rainbow cake is so delish and original! Really liked it!

Cafe is rather small, but it is so pretty and all foods look nice. Coffee is good too, but comes in plastic even when you sit in. I recommend bringing your own reusable straw for drinks.

I am def coming back to try the cake again. Staff is very nice too and they have a point card system. I think they might offer delivery for their cakes too.

cbegley1808

Points +366

Vegan
31 Jul 2021

Cozy little cake place

Great big slices of cake all vegan with a delicious creamy soy cream. They also do vegan meat and vegetable buns! About a 5-10 minute walk from Sensoji and they offer loyalty cards!

Pros: Great big slices of cake, Convenient location , Loyalty card (get a stamp every ¥500 you spend

Cons: Prices can add up as you want a bit of everything

SofiaMelissaLimonJac

Points +34

Vegan
15 Jun 2021

Love this little place

I tried the new Genki burger set, with blueberry smoothie and a melon fruit cake... So delicious!

Pros: Super friendly staff,and you can buy vegan butter!

Ruzha

Points +1503

Vegan
04 May 2021

A Must Try!

Hurry up and get yourself to Shochiku-en! It’s a small and cute cafe serving cakes, buns, and drinks. We had their signature rainbow cake, a matcha cheese cream drink, a sakura baked snack, a veggie bun, and a Taiwanese style vegan meat bun. Everything was incredible! We enjoyed every single bite and sip. The rainbow cake was light and fluffy and just perfectly sweet. The matcha cheese cream drink was spectacular. We took a cheese cream coffee and a pineapple cake to go. I can’t wait to go back!

SomSom

Points +57

Vegan
05 Apr 2021

Great food and desserts

I went to est herr two days in a row. They have yummy and ig worthy cakes! The steam buns are also super flavourful and delicious!

Pros: All vegan and tasty.

Cons: The store/cafe is small so sewtibg is limited.

JMeenoo

Points +39

Vegetarian
05 Jan 2021

Scrumptious food

The food is scrumptious- we have already been thrice - no garlic and onions - in most of the food. They also sell few products at the restaurant . The quantity is good if you are eating there , but quantity reduces on take always . The Bubble teas and cakes are fabulous . The food looks like a typical Japanese meat food .

Pros: Suitable for Indian Jain’s , Accommodating staff

Cons: Less staff - so serving is delayed , The food runs outs very quickly

katescosmic

Points +142

Vegan
07 Nov 2020

Incredible milk tea and curry!

This place is AMAZING! A cute little cafe with lots of tasty Taiwanese stuff. The black salty cream cheese tea is on another level - a must try for any milk tea lovers! The curry was really tasty and filling too. This is a great place to stop for lunch! They sell vegan products like instant ramen and soy meat too.

Bonus point: when we were there they were playing an amazing playlist of old romantic classics - sooo good!

Alina&Deian

Points +1280

Vegan
20 Jul 2020

Cute place for bubble tea and coffee

Perfect place for you if you like bubble tea. They have oat and almond milk. Friendly staff.

zoe_

Points +117

Vegan
19 Jun 2020

good food

I ordered a matcha latte and the teriyaki skewers plate to take out, as it was a new addition.
the matcha latte was nothing special, I think I drank all the milk part first so I was left with a more bitter part after.
the teriyaki skewers were really good ! I honestly think it could pass as meat. It was the same taste as I remember teriyaki chicken skewers to taste like. it came with a decent amount of rice and some lettuce and tomato. maybe one slightly disappointing thing would be that the skewers were quite small and I got "only" 3.

Pros: all vegan place , loved the food

Cons: Good portions but small "main"compared to the side

Vurz

Points +356

Mostly Veg
05 Jun 2020

Huge Mock Meat Selection

Great vegan restaurant. I ate here a couple of times and the owner is really nice and helpful! I recommend the fake meat platter, it is more of an appetizer but amazing and only 500 Yen. Also they got many different boba teas!

sarita.p

Points +422

Vegan
02 Jun 2020

Don’t miss out! :-D

Great place, lovely food, nice owner, nice selection of unusual shakes and milktea. One of my favorites in Tokyo!!

Pros: Fun and playful dishes , Extremely delicious , Friendly sweet staff/owner

drlj

Points +435

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Bubble tea!

Cute place with vegan bubble tea, cookies and set meals of soy meats, burgers and noodles. Helpful staff.

Pros: I love bubble tea! , Good value, Friendly staff

Cons: Limited seating

JayVunBerry

Points +26

Vegan
10 Feb 2020

Yummy to my tummy

It was so good I got to meals made for 2 people and ate boy he of them. I’m a big guy that eats a lot one meal can easily fill you up

Pros: Plenty to chose from , Taste sooooo good , No pricey at all

Taimetoitlane

Points +252

Vegetarian
02 Feb 2020

OK but not great

I was looking for the vegan eel but somehow, could not find it. Either the menu changed or I did not read it carefully enough. I took the set menu with vegan fish instead. The soup that came with the set was boring. It tasted like a few pieces of veggies and mushrooms in warm, oily water. The fried mock fish and the veganaise it was garnished with tasted good, but the main dish did not come together for me overall. There was a fair portion of rice, but not much to combine it with: The mock fish was gone after few bites and I was left with rice, shredded lettuce, a small side portion of potato salad, three slices of cucumber and another side, some sliced vegetable or mushroom. I am not sure how to combine these ingredients. Some kind of sauce would have been needed to glue them together. I also ordered a mango smoothie, which was creamy and tasty. Overall, good if you need a change from vegan ramen but not overwhelming.

Pros: Good selection of interesting-sounding dishes, Tasty smoothies

Cons: Very small at just three tables, Ingredients did not combine well, Tasteless soup

大垣祥

Points +95

Mostly Veg
28 Jan 2020

delicious

The vegetarian eel set meal was delicious

Pros: many vegan manus , many drink manus, not expensive

RyoMiyazawa

Points +219

Mostly Veg
27 Jan 2020

Vegan lunch

I was surprised to delicious vegan eel and Teriyaki chicken.

Pros: a lot of menu, cheap

suzayyyy

Points +17

Vegetarian
22 Jan 2020

Cute unassuming japanese comfort food cafe

Friendly staff. Decent prices. Good food

setsu

Points +30

Vegan
13 Jan 2020

Milk tea super delicious

There is milk tea that we can drink. It tastes very good. The taste of the tea is very fragrant and not greasy.

miliberlin

Points +500

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Tasty set menu

The set menu satisfied my taste buds to the fullest! Good price and delicious.

JoannaMateo

Points +28

Vegan
27 Dec 2019

Fantastic restaurant!!

A delicious set meal with unbelievable taste! Perfect for us vegans. Congratulations to the chef!

Pros: Cute space, clean and modern, A variety of dishes to choose from, Polite and friendly staff

Idiosyncratinom

Points +529

Vegan
25 Dec 2019

Bubble teas and meals

Vegetarian (can use cow milk for teas, but will ask if you want a vegan milk).
Several dishes to eat, at reasonable prices. Everything is easy to understand.

I only had a tea with vegan salty cheese, and would love to go back for more later on.
Definitely check it out as well as the other veggie restaurants nearby!

Pros: Variety of teas, all can be vegan, Several vegan meat meals

岩橋遥

Points +32

Vegan
23 Dec 2019

Wonderful vegan restaurant

Everybody so nice, friendly.

Pros: Vegan , Happy

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Tokyo Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Shochiku-en closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1983 times.