• Shmagels Bagels

  • (23)
    26
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Take-out
Bakery
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Bagel shop with a selection of vegan friendly toppings include fresh avocado, hummus, vegan mozzarella/provolone, sprouts, and vegan butter. Also sells juices, coffee and tea. Open Mon-Tue 7:00am-12:00pm, Thu 7:00am-12:00pm, Fri-Sun 7:00am-1:00pm.


Venue map for Shmagels Bagels
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by jamiecap

qLir

Points +32

Vegan
01 Oct 2023

So Expensive

I'm used to upcharges, but wow. The vegan menu is unlabeled for a reason -- its a per item upcharge, which literally doubles the price of everything. It costs over $20 per club sandwich.

Beyond that, the bagels themselves were pretty good. The vegan meats and cheese were fine grocery store quality, served cold. Overall bagel sandwiches were... OK.

If you just want a bagel and vegan cream cheese, not a terrible spot. Otherwise, do yourself a favor and try elsewhere.

Pros: Bagels

Cons: Vegan upcharges

Advertisement

VeganbyChoice

Points +1408

Vegan
24 Aug 2023

Unfriendly service and Vegan options

1st time here. Owner was unfriendly and impatient with my family and I understanding which items are vegan. She explained that she has been vegan for 45 years and that is why they have vegan options to begin with. When we asked for suggestions, she continued to share that she only sells bagels, she doesn’t actually eat them. We would up ordering a vegan BLT bagel and green goddess bagel. Both were good. Nothing special. I wouldn’t come back just because of the service.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Impatient and unfriendly service

akreisern

Points +28

Vegan
20 Jun 2023

Love it

I love having so many options, especially for breakfast. They have a variety of vegan bagel flavors and lots of vegan options to fill your bagel with. The sandwich pictured is a vegan everything bagel with vegan egg, cheese and sausage avocado (the green smoothie is from another shop).

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-20

ambernicole

Points +96

Vegan
11 Sep 2022

great vegan breakfast!

i was so impressed with this place! vegan cheese, ham, turkey, bacon, mayo, butter, and avocado. they have a vegan menu but you can also customize your own sandwich and the vegan bagels are clearly marked. almond and oat milk for coffee. staff was friendly and made sure everything was vegan.

imjubis

Points +24

Vegan
25 Aug 2022

Amazing


They had a lot of vegan options available and they were cleared marked. I got an everything bagel with vegan ham and cheddar cheese and a banana/strawberry smoothie. Just perfect

cdennis

Points +18

Vegan
05 Aug 2022

Many options

The staff was very nice and they had many vegan options (bacon, turkey, sausage, cheddar and provolone cheese) along with avocado and sprouts. I got an all vegan bagel with turkey, provolone, lettuce, tomato, and bacon. I also got vegan mayo on it!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff

vegantchr

Points +58

Vegan
02 Aug 2022

Good bagels

Ended up going twice while on vacation. Vegan options clearly marked on board. First, I got a bagel with the vegan cheese and vegan meat. Was good however, it seems like the cheese and meat I could buy at the supermarket, nothing exceptional. Second time, I got a bagel with vegan cream cheese. Don’t know what cream they used but it was definitely tasty! My friend got everything bagel with vegan butter. Both times said it was good.

gopugyourself

Points +87

Vegan
01 Jul 2022

Tasty vegan bagels

we were very pleased with the vegan options available here - not all the bagels are vegan but the ones that are are clearly marked and they had a tasty vegan cream cheese. they also have a vegan bacon and offer a vegan BLT that we didn’t try, but were happy to see options available.

mike1366

Points +1200

Vegan
21 Sep 2021

Vegan bagels

Tons of vegan options clearly marked, including vegan cream cheese, bacon, sausage, etc. Good service for a bagel or sandwich to go.

CarlyCristello

Points +96

Vegan
14 Jul 2021

bad attitudes

walked 30 minutes to get here and waited in line for another 20 mins. was excited about the vegan options. ordered vegan BLT and the lady at the front, I assume the owner, informed me they’re out of vegan bacon (which is totally fine and understandable). upon me asking for a suggestion of another vegan sandwich she recommended she yelled mid sentence and said “LISTEN, we have vegan beyond turkey, ham, etc” but didn’t suggest an actual other sandwich option. I ended up with an everything bagel with vegan cream cheese, I wasn’t asked if I wanted it toasted so it obviously wasn’t and the cream cheese was gross. I do not recommend this place at all.

Pros: has A/C inside

Cons: long wait, pricey, rude

RaeAnne97

Points +79

Vegan
14 Jun 2021

Great place if you’re with Non-Vegans!

I got the Vegan Chipotle Club. Pretty good, everything was really processed but it was nice to go to a place down here where I can get vegan mayo, bacon, and turkey.

The only place they have menu items they can fully veganize is on a chalkboard in the window, so try to decide what you’re getting before walking in the door!

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-13

JenBunty

Points +28

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

cute sandwich shop

small shop with early labeled vegan items. no bathroom and no seating. iced coffee was ok. $17 for a chipotle blt bagel, iced coffe and a Bang energy drink

Pros: some vegan options, clearly labeled, staff is kind

Cons: pricy

oliviadeneige

Points +20

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

Satisfying options. Queen behind the counter is decades long vegan

Clearly listed vegan bagels, several toppings options including avocado, vegan butter and vegan cream cheese. Has bagel sandwich options including "hot ham and cheese", "vegan club", "vegan blt". Line was a bit long to get in but it was fast once you ordered.

Pros: Good food, Friendly staff

Cons: Small portions, Longer wait

Melasaurus_Rex

Points +20

Vegan
26 May 2021

Some vegan options

The vegan options for the day are listed on the chalkboard out front. The vegan bagels are marked with a V on their baskets. FYI, the rainbow bagels and hash browns are NOT vegan.

The food is okay. The bagels are tasty.

veganwflightbenefits

Points +472

Vegan
21 Aug 2020

Go to 33rd st!

The one on 33rd st has several vegan meat and cheese options clearly marked on a chalkboard everyday! Basic bagel sandwiches but a nice, fast breakfast option.

veggie666

Points +610

Mostly Veg
15 Jul 2020

Very happy!

They had a whole chalkboard of vegan options like bacon, hummus, cheese, butter, cream chs. Recommend also sprouts etc. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Bagel was good.

arikatroxell

Points +54

Vegan
01 Jun 2020

Bad experience

They didn't have the vegan options they advertised.

CynthiaClem

Points +22

Vegan
06 Oct 2019

Sadly disappointed

Uhhh, was super excited to see this place on happy cow. When we got there the staff was “pretty sure” nothing was vegan and there were no vegan toppings 😭

Crickett363jw

Points +142

Vegan
30 Aug 2019

Pretty good

they had a handful of vegan options, which I’m always thankful for. (it’s better then nothing) I asked if the rainbow bagel were vegan and there’re not (at least in the oc location) which I was super sad because that’s the whole reason I came there. Wish they had a ingredient list or vegan food labeled as such on there website. Would’ve made things a lot easier.

Pros: Good amount of vegan stuff, Bagels listed if vegan , Friendly customer service

Cons: No list of vegan food or ingredients on website , Free Parking limited/have to pay for other lots , Rainbow bagel isn’t vegan :(

GlassCat27

Points +28

Vegan
27 Aug 2019

I was sad they didn't let me order from the kids menu... be careful about location

At first, I went to the one on 129th street. They do NOT have vegan options!!! I wish I knew that ahead of time. The one on 33rd street is pretty vegan-friendly. They offer vegan mozzarella, bacon, hummus, cream cheese, and avocado substitutes.

I tried to order a pizza bagel from the kid's menu, but they told me I was not a kid and couldn't have it. I don't know if that's standard or not, but I was a little sad (my next choice was an oreo bagel also from the kid's menu). I ended up ordering a bagel grilled cheese with vegan bacon and mozzarella. The vegan mozzarella was AMAZING! Didn't taste like Dayia. They didn't cook the bacon before sticking it on the bagel; it was warm but not cooked. They also didn't seem to toast the bagel before cooking it, but the cheese was melted and everything but the tomato warm.

They are reasonably priced (my good sized grilled cheese was around $6) and I'm not sure they even charged me extra for the subs.

Pros: Lots of subs if you go to the right location, Well priced, Fast

Cons: Don't cook thoroughly , Two very different locations, Short hours

gfals3

Points +64

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Happy to find a breakfast spot

Vegan options were written on a chalkboard right on the counter. They had vegan butter, vegan mozz, avocado, and alfalfa sprouts. I had a bagel with tomato, avocado, sprouts and the vegan mozz, it was yummy!

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: But not a ton of options

Laurenveronica7

Points +1225

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Bagels... Shamagels, Coffee was my part

Polite and hardworking staff. Knowledgeable and tries to offer multiple vegan toppings. The bagels are also marked whether they were vegan or not. The bagels were verrrrry good and fresh. Toppings were alright. I had hummus, spouts, and avocado. A bit pricy, but good. My iced mocha with almond milk was surpriiiiising tasty. Most places that coffee isn’t in the name or not like a cafe I’m not setting the bar high, but this iced latte was delish!

Pros: Iced latte=superb , Friendly staff, Parking in rear

Cons: A little pricey , Not a ton of topping choices

jamiecap

Points +69

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

cute shop to go w/ omni family

i had a delicious bagel with sprouts and vegan provolone with avocado, such an easy ocean city vegan breakfast, perfect to take into the beach!

Pros: plenty of vegan friendly options, there’s something for everyone, outdoor seating




This page has been viewed 4072 times.