Shizen Vegan Sushi Bar

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 151 reviews )

Find

370 14th St (at Valencia, Mission District), San Francisco, California, USA, 94103

Vegan sushi bar and izakaya, opened Jan 2015. Offers sushi, ramen, and Japanese food in small plates in a unique dining set-up with matching wood beams and tables. November 2021 - open for indoor dining, limited outdoor dining and takeout. Open Mon-Thu 5:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 4:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 4:30pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Japanese, Take-out

151 Reviews

First Review by AshleyLorden

Mandelo

Points +60

Vegan
29 Nov 2021

😍

I was so excited to get a reservation. They were totally booked the first couple times I tried.

Everything was great. The tomato nigiri was excellent. I also really enjoyed the eggplant nigiri and specialty rolls. The menu was entertaining.

NadinePerez

Points +33

Vegan
22 Nov 2021

Probably favorite restaurant, worth the price point

Probably my favorite vegan dining experience, each dish is amazing and the quality of ingredients are fantastic.

VeganWithAPassport

Points +1806

Vegan
12 Nov 2021

Yum!!!!!

The ramen was bursting with flavor! There was some mock meat in there and I'm not sure what it was supposed to be but wow, it was delish! Also, although the avocado nigiri was basic, it was still delicious (there was this beet sause on top), main con is lack of dining in options, reservations fill up 3-4 weeks in advance 😳

Pros: Large sushi menu

Cons: Need reservations 3-4 weeks in advance

Advertisement

NomadicDreamer

Points +261

Vegan
05 Nov 2021

Unforgettable vegan sushi!

If you are in the Bay Area and you love sushi, this place should be on your list! They have so many nice sushi rolls, with many vegan sauces to go along with it! All of the sushi was nicely decorated, so you can tell the chef values having his dishes come out looking the best he can. If you like taking photos of your good, all the dishes are Instagramable.

We had to make a reservation in advance cause this place tends to get crowded, especially on the weekends. The service was excellent and we couldn’t be happier!

Totally recommend to vegan lovers out there!

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-05

Pros: Lots of options , Nice service

Cons: No desert menu

meghan2017

Points +140

Vegan
04 Nov 2021

Worth the hype & the $$$

You guys…. This place has me second guessing every other 5-star rating I have ever given. Shizen has raised the bar for vegan food and has the best sushi I have ever had. It was so good I was speechless and could not get over it. It’s pricey but so worth it. Do not skip this place while in SF!

KyleHeiner

Points +74

Vegan
28 Oct 2021

DIVINE 😭😭😭

GOAt sushi, for all who enjoy flavor and the finer things in life (good food)

ShaliniChakrabarty

Points +1570

Vegan
15 Oct 2021

Best vegan sushi place!

This place is by far the best vegan sushi place, and my favorite roll that everyone must try - the body and soul. If you come with a bunch of friends and want to live dangerously make sure to get the surprise endings😉by far the spiciest thing I’ve ever eaten 😂 I was crying!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-08

Pros: Delicious food to eat at on special occasions, Beautiful interiors, Large menu

Cons: Waiting time can be long since place is small

ronrom96

Points +188

Vegan
14 Oct 2021

the best food ever

get the 30 minutes early to avoid the lines

JoelJonas

Points +58

Mostly Veg
04 Oct 2021

Above Them All

I think Maki lends itself to be easy conversion (for veggie or vegan). This place levels up not just Temaki and Nigiri BUT also Izakaya! Worth the hype and advanced reservations!

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-01

JulienneSlice

Points +740

Vegan
29 Sep 2021

Distinctive

Shizen has a distinguished reputation and following for many great reasons. The creativity and attention to detail is just a few reasons. Their food is delicious and the ambience is delightful and it’s a place not to be missed. If you are in the area or not just go you’ll love it, but definitely make a reservation!

Updated from previous review on 2019-11-12

Pros: High quality , Vegan

MirandaEber

Points +184

Vegan
14 Sep 2021

Amazing

The food was amazing! There were so many options it was almost overwhelming, but everything we got was amazing!!! They only have three seat times. I would suggest calling to make a reservation

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-14

Pros: Large menu, Amazing food

Cons: Only 3 seatings, Must make reservations

johnnytallica

Points +47

Vegan
07 Sep 2021

Incredible

As you can tell by all the reviews this place is incredible, amazing and mind blowing. I do not think there is a bad dish on the menu. It is truly unbelievable how good all their items are.

Pros: Service, Taste, Unique

sweet-E

Points +86

Vegan
24 Aug 2021

Shizen has been on my list, happy to have finally ate there!

Some tasty treats here, rolls are delicious & plated beautifully, the Karage was one of my favorites & mushroom tempura yum!

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-24

Pros: 100% vegan

Cons: Ramen not the best

Chella

Points +156

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Perfect

The one thing I miss since going vegan is sushi. Needless to say, I was beyond excited when I discovered Shizen. The food did not disappoint! We had some specialty rolls that were out of this world. The combinations of flavors is out of this world and you forget that everything is plant based. Presentation and flavor is on point!

Service was excellent and I will be back again!

Updated from previous review on 2018-08-07

Pros: Excellent sushi and rolls, Great drinks, Hip decor

Doctordeb

Points +75

Vegan
18 Jul 2021

Just terrific imaginative vegan sushi, ramen and roasted Brussels sprouts!

Always a wonderful dining experience. Fun food whether vegan or not!

Pros: All vegan!, Creatively dressed staff, Best vegan sushi I’ve ever had!

Cons: Small space so preCovid we needed to line up 4:45

SanFranvegan

Points +77

Vegan
10 Jun 2021

Delicious!

Food was really delicious and pretty. The sauces in the sushi rolls made soy sauce unnecessary. It is pricey but the quality justifies it. I look forward to eating inside when it reopens (it’s cold in SF).

TheGottulas

Points +344

Vegan
04 Jun 2021

Good vegan sushi

We've eaten here twice - once at the restaurant before lockdown and once during lockdown we got takeout. Eating in is definitely preferred, especially for the price. We felt the sushi was so-so when we took it to-go. We've tried mostly all of the rolls on the menu and feel like you cant go wrong with any of them, except maybe the Philly unless you have a hankering for cream cheese.

Pros: Great selection of sushi

Cons: Expensive

staceyketchie

Points +490

Vegan
02 Jun 2021

Best vegan sushi

There are so many options and everything we tried was amazing! Definitely does not disappoint.

misabella

Points +759

Vegan
01 Jun 2021

As Delicious as it is Lovely

This is a meal I will remember, and not just because it’s one of the first dining out experiences I’ve had in over a year of lock down! The sushi is just as wonderful in one’s mouth as it is to one’s eyes. Such beautiful presentation!
My favorite was the Perfect Alibi special role was perhaps my favorite with great mushrooms and a ginger shoyu tomato that was just so perfectly prepared and delicate and flavorful; who would have thought a little tomato could be so incredibly special and exciting!! Really, it was that good. Everything I tried was fabulous. Being partial to mushrooms, I also particularly loved the Shizen Shiitake with a delicate shredded tofu stuffing that complemented the mushrooms perfectly.
The service was also excellent, and they managed to make even dining on the sidewalk a special experience, with nice extra touches like bringing out planters (we were there as they set things up). The inside looked like a lovely space too, I would love to eat there when it’s possible again!
Highly recommend and high on my list of favorites and return wish lists!

Pros: Gorgeous, inventive, delicious food, Plants are the star of the cooking, Great service and space

TaylorBrill

Points +50

Vegan
31 May 2021

Best sushi ever

Bar none, this is the best sushi i have ever had. Vegan only made it better.

Pros: Amazing array of specialty items

Cons: None

jay.callores

Points +1473

Vegan
14 May 2021

Whenever I have a guest in town, this is where you'll find me

Shizen is one of my fav restaurants in SF so disclaimer, this review is full-on stan. TL:DR: everything is as delicious as it looks!

Shizen plates beautifully which you taste in every bite, especially in their Specialty Rolls, whether it's a traditional vegan sushi interpretation like the Proud Peacock or something cheekier like the Surprise Ending (the lucky person who gets the extra wasabi hidden under the beet, shoots the sake in the middle). You can spend your entire meal on this section (I have!) but on your second and repeated visits, branch and check out other offerings like their gyoza, katsu, or poke.

I can't rave enough about this place. Whenever I have a guest in town, you know where to find me.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-06

gettingthere

Points +36

Vegan
13 Apr 2021

Best restaurant in SF

Being able to get ramen to go from here has been one of the nice things to come out of the lockdown period. It's a perfect comfort meal. Be sure to get the spicy garlic option. It's not very spicy at all, just rich and flavorful.

I used to order both ramen and a roll or two to make the trip worthwhile, but an order of ramen is definitely enough for a meal for one, and quite reasonably priced.

The rolls are fantastic too, a bit more of a splurge but great to try a bunch to share with friends. If you're a vegan visiting the Bay Area and only have time to visit one place, this should be the one.

Updated from previous review on 2021-04-13

Pros: All vegan, Rich, savory ramen

Cons: Not much of a con, but not great dessert selection

anne_123

Points +60

Vegan
03 Apr 2021

Amazing sushi!

The sushi tasted really good! I would definitely come back here and recommend it to everyone! It was a little bit more on the pricier side, but in my opinion it’s totally worth it! The staff was also really sweet :)

Pros: A lot of options, Looks good, Sweet staff

Cons: Expensive

tristinXXII

Points +118

Vegetarian
27 Mar 2021

I dream of going to this place again

So good. I liked every roll i tried

Pros: All vegan sushi!!

Cons: Kinda expensive

shaane

Points +116

Vegan
30 Jan 2021

The absolute best

I dream of when I can get Shizen again. Never know what to order because everything is THAT amazing, but it’s comforting to know you can’t make a single mistake with anything you order.

MarEichler17

Points +112

Vegan
09 Jan 2021

... ditto what everyone else says

So delicious!! Also, the food is so pretty; makes me feel very fancy. Additionally, menu is clearly marked with gf options for celiac folks!!

losangela

Points +242

Vegan
21 Dec 2020

amazing vegan sushi, a must try at SF

This is the only vegan restaurant I know with a Michelin star. The eggplant sushi is incredible! Everything is delicious. An absolute must try if you're in the area.

gettingthere

13 Apr 2021

I didn't know it had a Michelin star. How cool!

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to San Francisco Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Shizen Vegan Sushi Bar closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 41016 times.