Vegan
Western
Fast food
Take-out
Bakery
Australian

Vegan deli cafe est. 2017. Offers a variety of foods including waffles, sandwiches, toasties, beans and bowls, smoothies, coffee and lattes. Makes vegan meats, cheese, and sauces in-house. Sells some food to take home, including the vegan meats and cheese plus yoghurt, ice cream, chocolate and snacks. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Shift Eatery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

216 Reviews

First Review by veganvirtues

mrfantastik22

Points +184

Vegan
26 Feb 2024

Secret Gem!!

I randomly stumbled into this place and was pleasantly surprised with the food selection. My favorite two items were the “Vacon” lol and the pancakes 🤤. Top 3 best pancakes I’ve had anywhere in the world. Highly recommend.

Pros: Breakfast Focused , Pancakes , Vacon

Advertisement

DavineMusic

Points +188

Vegan
25 Feb 2024

Pancakes!

Highly recommend the stack of pancakes. They are very old school. Not the new fancy ones. These were straight out of IHOP!

Vegfix

Points +6018

Vegan
23 Feb 2024

Love it 💚💚💚💚💚

Fantastic Reuben, a proper sandwich with decent amount of filling.
The vegan egg and bacon sandwich lives up to its name - The Best Vegan Bacon & Egg Bagel in the World. It sure tastes like it.
Service was super quick and the turn around of tables meant we didn't have to wait long for a seat.
Definitely would go back

Astenomical

Points +76

Vegan
13 Feb 2024

Bacon and egg bagel of my dreams

Absolutely delicious vegan bacon and egg bagel and nice soy coffee. The staff were lovely and welcoming and the vibe is fun.

SaraNorlin

Points +2875

Vegan
05 Feb 2024

Great breakfast

Lovely atmosphere, good food, plus a pantry with some decent grocery items.

hotpotato96

Points +20

Vegan
31 Jan 2024

Amazing food but horrible service

I want to give one star but it automatically adds an extra star. The food is AMAZING but the service is horrible. You're supposed to order from a QR code and the host was quite rude about it, but I'm not from Australia so I had no idea that this was even a thing. There are also only four small tables in a cramped space. Incredible food but not worth the rude service imo

Pros: The food

Cons: The service, Ordering from a QR code

silliestlittlecow

Points +152

Vegan
20 Jan 2024

YEEEEEERREEMMMMMMMM

omg guys this is so awesome!!!! def go. the breakfast bagel is so delicious . awesome awesome a awesome awesome

Pros: awesome

KatieBoyle

Points +167

Vegan
14 Jan 2024

Tasty Toasties

Loved the Steve sandwich but the Tofu was the favourite. Good coffee too. Service was very friendly and prompt.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-14

Pros: Toasties, Service

JustinCoyne

Points +260

Vegan
13 Jan 2024

Delicious lunch options

Toasties were extra flavoursome, highly recommend the Smoked Tofu and also the Steve

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-13

lydiab96

Points +397

Vegan
09 Jan 2024

Delicious lunch

Ordered the My Shroom toastie and the join the club toastie to share with a friend. Both delicious, although I slightly preferred the mushroom one.

I also had the banana salted caramel smoothie which was also really tasty.

Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Kat4Paramed

Points +665

Vegan
07 Jan 2024

It's good

I went here twice on my trip in Sydney, and it's good. I absolutely adore vegan establishments and this place is good, it's just not mind blowing. The flavour was fine. The prices are high. The service is very quick, and the coffee is very good.
Absolutely please come and support this business but they are pricey and good.

kajabear

Points +500

Vegan
05 Jan 2024

Just what we needed!

Headed here straight after arriving in Sydney. Lovely food, lovely staff 🥹 Loved the sauce on the sandwich, and the pancakes were amazing with the coconut ice cream! Take a friend and order both! 🥰

rymc

Points +355

Mostly Veg
02 Jan 2024

Decent but not the mind blowing 5 stars others make it out to be

I would actually call this a 3.5 if HappyCow would implement a more useful rating system.

Staff are great and coffee is good. The food also tastes fine, but I’ve had better Seitan elsewhere - the Reuben (“steve”) felt like it used too much tomato paste and didn’t feel like it was actually emulating the meat. The bread was also an odd choice but that’s not the biggest deal in the world.

I think my bigger thing here is: it’s 2023 and melting vegan cheese is kind of a solved problem, so I’m confused why you’d serve a sandwich with unmelted cheese in it. It adds no flavor and just imparts a gummy texture that muddles everything.

That all said I *would* eat here again because these are all nitpicks, and sometimes you just want simple food.

Pros: Staff are great, Easy location, Decent food and coffee

philwky

Points +2827

Vegan
02 Jan 2024

Great Breakfast

The full breakfast was fantastic, and the tea and coffee were both lovely too.

Nice and chilled vibe. Worth a visit.

DelboyWilson

Points +151

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

Everything here is amazing

You can’t really go wrong here. All vegan, lots of gf options. Great vibes…

Love the breakfast bagels though. Killer. #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan, Lots of GF

abipatterick

Points +1469

Vegetarian
24 Dec 2023

Breakfast of dreams

We desperately needed food after a long flight into Sydney and found this cafe. I don't think it was the tiredness and jetlag talking, but this was one of the best breakfasts I've had!

The menu is short but still has variety - enough for me to have something small(breakfast bagel), while my husband could have a big fry up.

The people were helpful and patient with us given we were in a bit of a post-flight fog. It's not huge in there - we hadn't booked but were lucky it was quiet! Not sure if they take bookings, but definitely recommend trying that if you can

Elliepp

Points +31

Vegan
10 Dec 2023

Great cafe in Surry Hills

It’s my go to place for brunch, I abosultely love the mushroom toastie and the vegan salmon bagel. Ethical business that takes care of small details like using sustainable take away containers with clever re-usable packaging. Price is reasonable. I strongly recommend this place!

Pros: Food, Service, Location

LeahFerrara

Points +84

Vegan
04 Dec 2023

Yum food and great team

Came to Sydney briefly and really needed some good food and we found it with this place! Easy access from Central, delicious toasties and the team there were so polite and amazing. Recommend!

Pros: Food, Staff, Accessibility

Cons: Small, Not for the broke

Katharina_

Points +83

Vegan
24 Nov 2023

Nice toast

We have been there two times for breakfast, very nice staff, tasty and very big sandwiches

Angéline8888

Points +894

Vegan
15 Nov 2023

Perfect for a takeaway sandwich

I was so glad to find this place!!
We took away a sandwich on their menu at their opening and we could then take our train for a day in the blue mountain national park with a yummy picnic 😋!

Good location and open early!

Faz

Points +971

Vegan
28 Oct 2023

Jury is out

This was the first stop on our trip to Sydney. My partner and I were greeted upon entering and were asked if we’d eaten there before (we had not). We were given the option to sit inside or outside and were offered somewhere to put our luggage. We were also given the option to order at the table or the counter. So far so good.

My partner and I were tempted by the "The Best Vegan Bacon & Egg Bagel in the World" and ended up both ordering one. I also had the Banana Salted Caramel Smoothie. The bagels were nice and warm but fell victim to the classic bagel trope of being too bready (a muffin would have been superior IMO). Also, there was not enough filling for our liking and although we weren't actually expecting "The best in the world", neither the "bacon" nor the "egg" were noteworthy. Ultimately it just tasted like saucy bread. The smoothie was better, but still not amazing.

Food = 3/5
Service = 4/5
Value = 3/5 ($14 for a bagel is not good value, but it's on par with other places)
Vibe = 3/5 (standard cafe, nothing special, but was clean)
Verdict = 4/5, not bad, hard to judge from two things. I would give this place another go to try some different menu items.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-28

Pros: Welcoming staff

DavidaBache

Points +132

Vegan
05 Oct 2023

Quick vegan lunch

Great to finally eat here, been on my list for a while. One of the few fully Vegan places around, so it's a must visit. I had the bacon and egg roll, carrot cake, and coffee. (No photos I eat my meals , not social media). Just know if your vegan, then come here for a lovely meal at fairly decent prices. Yum

MelissaW

Points +830

Vegan
26 Sep 2023

Never disappoints

Been going here for years and they always deliver. Everything from big breakfasts, lunch’s, coffee & snacks to a simple pancake!

Pros: Great central location , Good price , Always good food

fengmanyi

Points +360

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

Tasty food and nice environment

Enjoyed breakfast here, a good range of options. We had the bacon egg bagel and chicken roll and both were tasty. We’ll be back

FlyingTofuMonster

Points +175

Vegan
24 Aug 2023

Best vegan cafe!

Amazing food! Must try if you are in Sydney..

CabernetS

Points +109

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Excellent!

So much choice. Service is friendly and helpful. Delicious food! My fave was the smoky beans but I’m yet to try all. My Omni partner loved the bacon and egg bagel.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-08

Pros: Yummy vegan food. , Default milk is oat but others available, Friendly service

Cons: None , N/a, I don’t live close enough to eat there everyday

YohanⓋ

Points +5631

Vegan
15 Aug 2023

Outstanding

The breakfast here was so tasty. I had the smoky tofu toasted sandwich, banana bread toasted with nuttlex and a soy flat white. All were super tasty and filling. I’ll be back for sure!!!

Pros: Fully vegan, Delicious food, Friendly service.




This page has been viewed 28495 times.