Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Western
Juice bar
Fusion
Breakfast
Indonesian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers marked vegan choices on the menu such as waffles, chia pudding, breakfast burrito, vegan big breakfast, smoothies, lunch falafel wrap, burger and bowls. Has vegan desserts such as bliss balls and muffins. Removed January 2024: Limited vegan options.


Venue map for Shelter Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by LisaWynne-Allen

evitapetita

Points +153

Vegetarian
24 Aug 2023

Nice food

Nice food and atmosphere. Staff really kind

Pros: Food, Atmosphere , Deco

Cons: Nothing

Advertisement

SofieNilsson

Points +1319

Vegan
01 Jul 2023

Good but expensive

I came here in the morning and they only offered smoothie bowls. Pretty expensive, 84k. But really good! Very fresh and nice!

AdamJ3112

Points +155

Vegan
04 May 2023

No options

Not the same place. Managed to get one dish altered to make it plant based. Not good for vegans. However the one good option was very tasty, Portobello mushrooms and quinoa on toast.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-04

Pros: Nice atmosphere

Cons: Expensive , No options , Disappointing

Lvr

Points +117

Vegan
24 Apr 2023

Zero vegan options

Except for smoothie bowls. Listing should be removed.

juli-the-traveller

Points +17

Vegetarian
04 Mar 2023

Don’t go! (2023)

This used to be one of our favorite cafes as a veggie couple.
In 2022 a new owner and head chef took over, and he completely changed the menu. Now it’s even hard to find good vegetarian options.
I’m very sad about it, because this place used to be really lively for vegans (look at the older reviews). Now they serve fancy squids and lamb meat…
The only vegan options are the small smooths bowls, but you can get better ones somewhere else.

Pros: It was great before 2022

Cons: Not good anymore, No vegetarian options

emilypalin

Points +26

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Not many vegan options

Having read the reviews I thought I’d be spoilt for choice with vegan options however maybe the menu has changed. So instead I ordered the ulawatu smoothie bowl from the place downstairs (connected to the restaurant) and also ordered a soy latte which was great coffee.

Pros: Really tasty coffee and smoothie bowls, Peaceful setting , Friendly staff

Cons: Closed at 4pm-maybe open later during peak season, Not that many vegan options besides smoothie bowl

RadiJana

Points +157

Vegan
22 Dec 2022

War zufrieden

Das Essen war lecker. Etwas mehr Auswahl bzw alternativen wären nett

Pros: Sehr flexibel, Schönes Lokal, Ruhig gelegen

barbi.hauser

Points +122

Vegan
03 Mar 2020

Hidden gem

Located in a narrow alley, this cafe offers delicious vegan options, smoothies. The cariflower bites is a must try. Friendly staff, great atmosphere.

thevegantravelers

Points +1426

Vegan
21 Dec 2019

no desserts anymore, but good bowls

They dont had any desserts except the energy balls. The bowls and cauliflower wings where great. For a full vegan Bali guude, visit www.the-vegan-travelers.com

Pros: great location

Cons: no vegan desserts anymore

vegan_nyam

Points +1528

Vegan
15 Dec 2019

Coool

Enjoyed las vegan, waffles, avo toast, smoothie bowl. Las vegan is perfect.

chanelnightelf

Points +154

Vegan
23 Nov 2019

Overpriced compared to other places

Had a vegan breakfast there, it stated it had hash browns, it only came with one ball of spiralized potato, (hash brown) the tofu scramble had a lot of mustard in it, it was more of a healthy breakfast, with pumpkin and cabbage on it, With hummus salsa and guacamole as sides. would have preferred a bit of butter for my toast., and for 2 breakfast and 2 pot tea with soy milk came to 311k as tax was added. Very disappointed. It is a nice setting cafe with clothes shop downstairs though, very busy on the day we went. Also we kept asking for sugar they only gave one sachet each at a time, so had to keep going to ask for more. Overall very filling but wouldn’t order it again.

Pros: Lots of options, Healthy, Fresh food

Cons: A little expensive for what it is, Quite busy at times

lilScorpio

Points +9440

Vegan
11 Oct 2019

good for bringing omnivores

At Shelter Café I choose the vegan burger, which was pretty yummy, it had a beetroot hummus spread and a veggie-sunflower-seed patty. A little bit disappointed about the bun, which was no actual bun, but two slices of bread, so it was more of a sandwich.
Beside I had a young coconut, which was okay, but I had a way sweeter and fresher one before at another place.
At my second visit I had cauliflower wings (for only 25k) and fries, just as a snack, and especially the wings were very, very yummy, even though very oily😉
Shelter café is a little more on the pricey side, especially you have to keep in mind that there will be added tax and service charge from over 20% to your bill (usually it’s max. about 15%).
Staff was friendly and the location is nice, you have a good view about a soccer field, which is quite relaxing for this area in the city center😉

Pros: good and fresh taste , good for taking omnivores and vegans to

Cons: Little more pricey (tax!), can be busy

Felissi

Points +1492

Vegan
26 Aug 2019

Best waffles ever

The waffles do not only look fantastic, they also taste great (but you should like cinnamon). One of the best vegan waffles I ever had.
The Las Vegan plate was also good, maybe a bit too much garlic over all.
When we arrived it was crowded, but we got on the waiting list and returned 20mins later again. It was defenitely worth waiting!

laurainwaterland

Points +180

Vegan
09 Aug 2019

Great waffles

Shelter doesn’t have that many vegan options. They do offer to make some vegan but you then trade a burger bun for a piece of bread which defeats the purpose of a burger. I now come here mainly for the waffles if I feel like a sweet breakfast. Everything is very tasty I just prefer having more options.

Pros: Best vegan waffles in Bali, Vegan options exit

Laceface

Points +367

Vegan
03 Aug 2019

5 stars!!

Happy cow only lets you give vegan places 5 stars, but this place was incredible! Almost every menu item could be made vegan. I got them waffles after seeing people post them on Instagram and they were delicious. They also have a good kombucha selection, and great coffee and it feels like you are eating in a treehouse. Loved it so much. Only thing that would make it better is if they went all vegan

Pros: Menu, Waffles, Cute store downstairs

Cons: Not fully vegan

Alma_copenhagen

Points +369

Vegan
01 Jun 2019

Yummi!

Nice atmosphere, staff and food! Loved every bit of it.

PiaConaghan

Points +33

Vegan
27 Apr 2019

Beautiful setting

Delicious food in a beautiful setting 🌱

Pros: Good vegan options including deserts, Very tasty, fresh and colourful

Cons: Open sides so no air con, Closes at 6pm

allaboutlissy

Points +88

Vegan
04 Apr 2019

So yum!!

The Nutella smoothie is unreal!! There’s chocolate on top which is just as delicious as the rest of the smoothie!! Super thick! And the waffle is amazing as well! Not many vegan options but enough to be satisfied!! They have soy cashew almond and coconut milk I believe! And lots of vegan cheesecakes and other treats!

romily1

Points +467

Vegan
21 Mar 2019

Great sweet treats! Too hot in the cafe!

We tried some great coconut & lemon balls and also tried their vegan frozen snickers cheesecake which was delicious

Beautiful cafe, amazing decor & plants!
However we found it hot in the open-air cafe to sit & eat so unfortunately had sweet treats to takeaway! But others people may be fine 😊

Lovely shop downstairs!

Some vegan options! - new menu doesn’t match that on the website

KevinLibawski

Points +38

Vegan
20 Mar 2019

Awesome 😍

Its Just great ! Healthy food Menu and great pancakes

Pros: Quality, Healthy Options

Cons: Not all vegan

eeds

Points +77

Vegan
28 Jan 2019

Amazing

We visited here two days because one wasn’t enough. The atmosphere is beautiful, staff are gorgeous and the food is to die for !! Plenty of vegan options. Loved it so much!!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Beautiful scenery , Amazing staff

Cons: A little expensive , Serves meat

RobBehar

Points +40

Vegan
30 Oct 2018

breaky

Avia bowl (Mavericks) awesome.
Fruit salad awesome.
Setting is upstairs, awesome.

Pros: great setting, lots of vege options

Cons: coffee could have been better

LisaWynne-Allen

Points +20

Vegan
21 Oct 2018

Great vegan options

Wanted to give this place 5 stars but can’t as it’s not fully vegan. Amazing vegan options. So many on the menu. We went for breakfast and the kids had waffles and I had a big vegan breakfast (Las Vegan). A whole page of vegan smoothies, cakes and desserts. Would go there again!!

Pros: Tasty food and beautifully presented, Good coffee

Cons: Slightly pricey for Bali but well worth it




This page has been viewed 6866 times.