Shaman Restaurant

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 34 reviews )
Contact
984761007
Find

Santa Catalina Ancha 366-B, Cusco, Peru

A shamanic restaurant dedicated to ancient shamanic food practices. Offers vegan and raw food with salads as well as traditional Peruvian dishes like stuffed avocado and Andean potatoes. The plate of the day might include soup, bread, beans, rice, quinoa, seitan, salad bar, and tea. Feb 2016 reported no longer using dairy and is now all vegan (although reported to use woollen place mats, July 2017). Open Mon-Sat 12:00pm-9:00pm.

Category: Vegan, Organic, Raw, Western, Salad bar, Juice bar, Peruvian

Reviews (34)

First Review by scottierae

Menu not that inventive - Edit

The place was recommended to me and I also saw many good reviews. I found the menu uninspiring however. I had difficulty choosing a dish as none sounded really interesting. I chose the pasta with huacaina sauce, as I wanted to try this typically peruvian sauce. It was not bad, but it really was just pasta with sauce. As extras they brought other sauces like hummus, which I did not think combined well. I would have preferred for example some grilled vegetables.

Not bad food, but in Cusco I have found several vegan restaurants with more creative menus.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SURE CAN BE VEGAN - Edit

The SHAMAN VEGAN has a simply amazing way to introduce you to the vegan diet. As I return home, want to be part of this global community. The food and all the aspects involving the spirit of the vegan diet and history at this place which is more than a little restaurant was with full senses to be in love with nature and more with our animals. I want to return and copy your style. Wish many more place like this will exist everywhere.

Pros: The best food I had ever, Great messages everywhere, Is not only vegan, is nice place to learn history

Cons: More publicity to find easily , You have to open others in Peru

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Thanks very much for your visit and wish your new diet will show you a full healthy life. Wish to see you again in the future.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SHAM vegan - Edit

Note that this place is NOT vegan: they have woollen placemats on every table! Their defence is that they are "very old" (twenty years), but that doesn't change the facts. I agree with not throwing them away and thus wasting them, but they should donate them to a non-vegan organization that might consequently not buy new ones. Otherwise, they could define themselves as vegetarian or offering plant-based food, but they do not get to call themselves vegan.

I tried out the place based on the recommendation of a friend. She and some reviews had mentioned silly religious nonsense going on, but thankfully I saw none of that. Also thankfully, only some of the food is faddishly raw: there are normal options available as well.

I had spaghetti in a Béchamel and mushroom sauce. I chose it because it was one of the options without avocado (which I loathe), but it came with avocado anyway. It also came with little dishes of houmous and two other dips/sauces. I love houmous but it was an odd combination and I didn't really know what to do with them: it would have been better had they come first and with a piece of bread. It was fairly nice but not really worth the price (18 sols).

I spoke Spanish throughout but the staff member kept speaking to me in English, which was highly irritating. Apart from the fact that my Spanish is fine and thus I don't need/want to use English, this is not a place that should be forcing its English on people: the menu is full of disastrous translations. For example, "papa rellena" (i.e. stuffed potato(es)) is translated as "filling potatoes" -- all potatoes are filling!



Updated from previous review on 2017-07-06

Pros: The food itself is all vegan., Not all of the food is faddishly raw.

Cons: The place as a whole is NOT vegan., There are silly religious associations., Some of the food is faddishly raw.

2 Responses
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - When a person has already problems and is upset in life, sure that we can not do magic to change this behavior. YOU came already angry to our restaurant and your argument that we are not vegan because the placemats on the tables?

You are wrong if thinking that we want to defend from you. Probably you do not have idea that in the mountains in certain periods if communities are not taking the wool of their lamas, alpacas, sheep, their animals could be sick and die. Removing the wool will help many animals to survive for longer periods until the moment that they will be kill and some of the dead animals will be serve at the restaurant on the hotel that you pointed as 5*****.

We do not want to think that the other vegan place sent you with a clear intention in affecting us with your review, which looks very much like this, and the other vegan restaurant that you are pointing higher in percentage is much lower than us, we do not understand why we have to enter in competitions with others, probably people like you are forcing us to reconsider our publicity and other ways how to be protect.

Peru is an amazing country declared to have the best avocado in the world and now are terrible because you "loathe avocado"?.

Some of the people's argument about the prices has non sense since our place is not expensive at all, S/. 18 is about US$ 5.5 and when pretending in not charging or lowing our prices, is like asking our employees to be happy for paying less because some tourist ask for.

Our staff does the effort in trying to use the international language which is English and become upset for this is like a child complain because not having his candy. Hope that the people reading your opinion will be smart enough and take your review as anecdotic only.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - We don't know from where is you argument that we have religious associations. We are in the spiritual path which has noting to do with religion, and we are not focusing our service as a business as the competitors that you honor.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SOFISTICADO - Edit

No parecía un restaurante de comida natural, era un local artístico y lleno de bellas pinturas y mensajes hasta en los baños. Su comida de alta calidad, con porciones correctas y elegantes. Es el mejor de los restaurantes de comida natural que hemos visitado. Espero retornar a Cusco y verlos nuevamente, quiero repetir el quinua chaufa y otros. Gracias por estar allí.

Pros: Arte en todos los rincones., Mensajes para el espíritu.

Cons: Necesitan más publicidad., Deben de hacer otros así en Perú.

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Gracias por su visita, queremos seguir despertando consciencia en nuestra comunidad, su aporte continúa fortaleciendo nuestro proyecto.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Encuentro de lo natural y cultural - Edit

Exelente opcion de comida natural. Mis amigos creian que se comia solo lechuga y zanahoria en este tipo de restaurantes, pero se encuentra mas alla de lo ordinario. Comida de alta calidad, junto con los dirigentes con pensamientos unicos de lo natural. NO SE LO PIERDAN.

Pros: Exelente comida, Fuera de la bulla de la calle, Ambiente amigable

Cons: Fue dificil de encontrarlo

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Perú es rico en alimentos y la región de Cusco también, entonces estamos satisfechos de no ofrecer solamente veduras en nuestras preparaciones. Gracias por vuestra visita y comentario.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fine, but nothing to write home about. - Edit

We had dinner here one night. We had the alfredo and the Andean treasure salad. The alfredo was ok after adding a heap of salt. The salad came with some different sauces, a few of which were decent. It was not bad at all. It just wasn't that good. Not good enough to return anyway.

The decor inside is, fun and the service was good.

Pros: close to downtown

Cons: food just ok.

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Thanks for your visit and wish the region gave you satisfactions during your visit. Many of our visitors agreed that the not exageration of salt was good enough and others added a little more if they wanted. Sure is not easy to give satisfaction to everyone.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

Amazing food! Great service! Now one of my favorite places to eat in Cusco! Menu del dia is filling and delicious for 14 soles you get muña salad soup and entree! They have vegetarian options but the menu is almost all vegan! My boyfriend and I came here after getting food poisoning at Green Point. We ordered soup and it was just what our stomach needed to recover from a day of sickness! Grateful for everyone who works there and the locals who go as well. They all were extremely kind and open to conversation with us.

Pros: fresh healthy food , great service , clean!

Cons: a little slow.. but that's most places in cusc

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Thanks very much for your visit. Hope to see you again in our restaurant, we are creating a spirit of community and wish our place touched you to continue with this message for many more.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice place but nothing special - Edit

The place is really cozy and staff is super friendly!
I ordered gratinated potatoes with cheese
which I expect to be hot but the dish was cold and more like a salad.
Overall I would say that the food is quite good but nothing special. It is kept simple , therefore the prices a low.

Pros: cheap and many options , cosy, friendly staff and English menu

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Thanks for your visit, we wish the Andes in general will be in your memories for long time.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious healthy hearty food - Edit

I could not enjoy the food more. it's absolutely delicious and so healthy. the food presentation is beautiful arranged with great care and love, the taste is divine. the environment is so beautiful too, very peaceful, great decor. it's my favourite restaurant in South America. the staff is so friendly and nice as well. I love it love it love it!!

Pros: all vegan gluten free options healthy superfoods

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - We appreciate your visit and hope to see you again. We will probably create other restaurants in other regions in Peru. Wish to you a great time in life.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

healthy & tasty - Edit

Food here is very fresh and healthy, and of course very tasty. The restaurant also has a very welcoming atmosphere

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Thanks very much for your visit. You are making the difference for us to continue with the spirit of service.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cosy - Edit

The vegan omelette is a game changer.

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Yes, our vegan omelette is a surprise, wish to see you again.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice place :) - Edit

Nice place, also a shop that's selling many interesting things. I would argue that french fries are NOT 'shamanic food'. But there is a lot of nice stuff as well :)

Pros: Nice shop

Cons: Small place with shared tables

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Thanks for your visit. Some of the preparations have international names as the named "'French fries", but as you said many other things are there, that is just a name. Hope to see you again in the future.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Food, nice establishment - Edit

We ate there with a group of 4 people and ordered the Papa Huancaina to share as starter, a vegetable dish and different pastas. The only con woult be that the starter arrived after the first main dishes. But firstly they brought bread with different sauces, which was nice and they had spices on the table. Additionally we loved the decoration of the restaurant. All in all the staff was kind (even asked for allergys), the food was good and reasonably priced.

Pros: frienly staff, good food, cool decorations

Cons: Starter arrived with the main dishes

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - We appreciate your visit and thanks very much for enjoying our place. We will try to be more careful in the order of the dishes. Hope your memories will bring you back to the Andes time by time.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent - Edit

Excellent vegan food, moderate prices, nice atmosphere, good service, huge portions. Big recommendation!

1 Response
Read More

Andes 24 Jul 2017 - Your visit encourage us to maintain the spirit for our services. Thanks for comming to our place.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

one of the best I've had - Edit

Very nice people, very nice environment and the food was so good. I had a veggie stuffed avocado and a burrito type thing. I wish I was there longer to try more!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good place for food as well as meeting other people - Edit

Nice vegan place in the center of Cuzco just off a main street. Nice raw food. Also has warm options in case the nights get a bit too cold and you need something warm. Great Maca power juice. Love to hang around the large central table and meet anyone from locals to people that just arrived from the airport.

Pros: Lots of choice, Great juices, Nice place to meet people

Cons: Sometimes noisy when it's busy, When busy you may need to wait for your order

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Happy vibes, healthy menu - Edit

Have you ever wanted to eat at a table set with a centerpiece of giant crystals for high-vibration dining? Shaman Restaurant is your place.

The menu offers an interesting mix of home-style regional and international foods, with a focus on healthy ingredients. There are fresh juices and desserts, too.

Service is warm and friendly, and some English is spoken.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Phenomenal - Edit

LOVED it. Delicious, healthful, and gorgeous food. Amazing energy. My favorite restaurant in Cusco.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Menu Del Dia - Edit

An all round fantastic menu. I went back for their Menu of the Day (Menu Del Dia) multiple times during my 2 week stay in Cusco. It's only 14 soles, and everything is well portioned and consistently delicious.

My favourite dishes off the menu include the vegan omelette and the chocolate waffles. I also really recommend testing out their brown rice dessert.

Pros: Fully vegan, Waffles from heaven , Cheap lunch menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My First 5 Star Rating! - Edit

Wow. Just wow you guys. I was so overwhelmed by the amount of options that were on the menu. I ended up ordering the Alfredo because its been so long since I've had white sauce, and it used to be my favorite. It was amazing! I would be willing to bet good money that a non-vegan wouldn't be able to identify it as not containing dairy. SO creamy and delicious! Prices aren't 'cheap', but very reasonable for the quality and amount of food you get. Atmosphere was great as well, beautiful decorations and friendly staff! EAT HERE!

Pros: Many Options, Beautiful Atompshere, Yummy Food

Cons: I don't have much time to go back!! :'(

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

THE BEST - Edit

Amazing place. Just go there. idk what else to say. Medium prices, good prices, excellent atmosphere. they can book you san pedro and aya retreats as well.

Pros: The whole place

Cons: I dont have two stomachs

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

favorite restaurant of all times - Edit

wow. the mega crystals, the raw and healthy food. I've been searching for a vegetarian place that focuses on the LOCAL food. they serve plenty of peruvian dishes that I was so happy with. very calm and peaceful and mega crystal frequencies whole eating.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I often dream about this restaurant! - Edit

I am excitedly returning to Peru next week and even more excited to return to eat at Shaman. I am sure it is going to be equally as amazing as it was last year. I will come back and edit this upon my return.
I was amazed at the love and crafting that went into their delicious vegan food.
Stay tuned for updates!

Pros: Great staff and affordable, Local sourcing, Great location

Cons: Small, can be a little slow

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food in a good location - Edit

I liked the food here and the people were nice. You get a lot of food for the money... currently 9.9 soles in May 2015. You get a salad, then a bowl of soup, then the main plate and a drink. You won't leave hungry!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very enjoyable and affordable dining experience - Edit

We just had dinner at Shaman Restaurant and really loved the experience. I can recommend the Quinoa Soup; it is truly delicious. The filled Avocado was outstanding too. The place has a lot of atmosphere and is very cozy.

Pros: Excellent food, Great prices for what you get, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Friendly place in Cuzco! - Edit

Nice place with good vegan, vegetarian and raw options. Simple, tasty and honest price. Totally recomend it (:

Pros: Good value, Friendly staff, Tasty

Cons: Noisy, Few tables

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Healthy Food/ Big Portions! - Edit

We ate here twice while in Cusco! Amazing (huge) dishes, prepared with great care. We loved the quinoa soup! Consider splitting salads, as they are enormous! Loved the "wall of wisdom"!

Pros: large menu

Cons: can be hard to find (it's in a small side street)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Cusco Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Shaman Restaurant closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4304 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support