Lacto
Ovo
Indian
Take-out
Asian
Gluten-free
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian cafe that denotes dairy free options next to vegetarian dishes. Staff is knowledgeable about veganism. Vegan options include samosas, lentil cakes, curries, korma, tikka masala and sides. Open Wed-Sat 11:30am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Serendib
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by Sarah P

chels2ocean

Points +693

Vegan
10 Sep 2023

Gem in Ellsworth

Was very surprised to find such good Indian food in Ellsworth! If you don't like spicy I would consider asking for mild. I asked for medium and it was definitely spicy (I didn't mind though). Madras curry with chickpeas was very good as were the devilled potatoes. I would also be sure to specify vegan because while the entree I ordered was vegan (dairy free) it was still served with a small cup of yogurt.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-10

Advertisement

DientesDeSable

Points +26

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

Something different in smalltown Maine

This is a busy, chic little place surprisingly found in Ellsworth, Maine. It's contemporary; it isn't a mom-and-pop Sri Lankan joint. Our reservation didn't go through and they were packed, so we were happy to take food to go and eat at a picnic table in front of the public library.

While people here correctly describe it as Indian / Sri Lankan fusion (given the presence of naan, samosas, and mullagatawny), it's safe to say that the menu is dominated by Sri Lankan-inspired flavors, many of them rather different from most Indian fare to be found in North America (read: largely North Indian). For example, the beetroot curry from the rice and curry meal had the unmistakable flavor of toasted sesame oil, uncommon in Indian restaurants. It could have been from toasted mustard seeds, but sesame oil is also used in Tamil cooking, so not at all a stretch. In other dishes, coconut and citrus figure prominently. Interesting indeed.

We chose the vegan option of mushroom curry as the main component of the rice and curry meal. It had a lot of spiciness (and far too much gravy / juice for the amount of rice that accompanied it), but few other flavors to beat the heat, besides the mushrooms' umami. The amount of spice was bracing and refreshing, while lacking any complexity to balance it. Meanwhile the dhal that came with it was no-nonsense and satisfying, similar to Punjabi dhal tarka.

The starter that we ordered was the lentil cakes, which were very creative, and came with tamarind sauce. The tempered spinach was as simple and stripped-down as the name implies, not overwhelmed in spices or cooked to oblivion like at many Indian restaurants. We only wound up with a scant amount of rice to share among four people, which could have been a result of ordering it to go. But other than that we were all quite happy with the food. They have a fair number of vegan options there, with even something like tikka masala being offered as veganizeable.

Pros: The vibe did look quite nice, Unusual flavors and textures, Creative fusion

Cons: Portions could be bigger/better-scaled

psmcfiddle

Points +38

Vegan
27 Nov 2021

Sri Lankan- Indian deliciousness

Many standard fare choices made vegan. Delicious

Pros: Choices of vegan, Standard ideas , Delicious and great family owned business

Cons: Wishing for a tad more creative somehow…, For Ells, Maine… delicious

SumruBelgerKrody

Points +31

Vegetarian
08 Jul 2021

Great food

Wonderful experience, friendly service, great Indian food

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options, Very delicious food, Delicate, rich flavor

sophiefrenchfry

Points +1333

Vegan
16 Nov 2018

Diverse menu - yummy!!

Serendib is a small Indian and Sri Lankan restaurant in downtown Ellsworth. If you are passing through the area, it is worth stopping in here for a meal. They have a great variety of vegetarian and vegan dishes. I ate here with friends who are also vegetarian, and we were so overwhelmed by the choices that we ordered way too much food. There were a lot of options that you don't usually see at Indian restaurants, so it was a nice change of pace. You might consider making reservations. The night we were visiting, there was a long wait, and lots of folks were turned away who didn't have a reservation.

Pros: Unique menu, Lots of yummy veggie options

Cons: Reservations needed

Yourweirdveganfriend

Points +259

Vegan
12 Jul 2018

excellent currys

We had the cashew curry and the tikka Masala with chickpeas. The portions are big. The sauces were excellents! There should be more vegetables though, it's only the chickpeas and rice in the plate. Many vegetarian options (chickpeas or mushrooms) and you can ask dairy free (DF).

Sarah P

Points +8511

Vegan
11 Jun 2018

lots of delicious choices

What a delicious feast of a lunch we enjoyed at Serendib! Although vegan is not marked on the menu, it was so easy to specify vegan to the server, who knew immediately how to explain all the options. If a dish is vegetarian and has the DF (dairy-free) designation, it is vegan. We ordered the lentil bean cakes appetizer, the garlic pickle side, and the curry rice plate that were all vegan. The plate was huge, with mushroom curry, rice, and several sides, including pickled beet salad, dal and potatoes. We had a whole meal left over. I can't wait to return!

Pros: lots of vegan options, delicious and large portions, bright sunny space

Cons: vegan not marked on menu




This page has been viewed 2020 times.