• Se Velha

  • (12)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Portuguese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Traditional Portuguese restaurant offering four vegetarian dishes of which two are vegan: vegan alheira (Portuguese sausage) and a vegan burger. Soup of the day is sometimes vegan. Only Portuguese cards accepted. Open Mon-Sat 08:00-22:00. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Se Velha
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by GiulianaAlmada

voivoed

Points +324

Vegan
17 Jun 2023

Separate vegan/vegetarian menu with tradicional Portuguese dishes

This is a regular restaurante by the Sé Velha, at the top of the Rua do Quebra Costas stairs. They have tables inside and outside in a area across the street.

We had the alheira and the francesinha, plus vegetable soup and fresh juice. The food was plain, but good. Both dishes came with French fries, and the alheiras also came with a simple salad. The soup was the typical vegetable soup you find everywhere in Portugal and it was also good. The francesinha was made with slightly spicy beans, which is an interesting change from others we’ve had before, which usually use seitan or some other meat substitutes.

Overall we were very satisfied with our meals. We’re glad to find more and more vegan offers in Coimbra. The staff was very, very friendly, even though we got there just a couple of minutes before they closed the kitchen, they insisted we would take our time eating, even after they were ready to close the restaurant. The owner later told us they plan on expanding their vegan menu.

Definitely a good option for a good meal while in downtown Coimbra, and we plan to go back next time we’re in town.

Pros: Really friendly staff and owners, Simple, good food, Nice outside area to enjoy your meal

Advertisement

veganilly

Points +42

Vegan
25 Aug 2022

Ok

Es gibt eine vegane Speisekarte und der Service ist sehr nett und engagiert. Leider hat das Essen eher Imbisscharakter und ist dafür etwas zu teuer.

Nataliacordero

Points +13

Vegetarian
09 Aug 2022

¡Genial!

Opciones veganas y vegetarianas. La chica, un encanto. Y el servicio perfecto. Un sitio típico, chiquitín, pero genial ☺️

Pros: Opciones veganas , Opciones vegetarianas , Personal

Sebnem

Points +70

Vegan
05 Aug 2022

Long waiting time

The restaurant was packed and the waiter accidentally brought a non-vegan plate of francesinha, (luckily I noticed it immediately) I had to wait longer for my correct order to arrive. Tasty but not mind blowing. Good to fill your stomach. Very pricey compared to other restaurants.
Update: I would like to mention that I was overcharged for my lunch and I only noticed this after arriving home. Probably because the place was really busy and the waiter simply confused my bill. I would recommend you to ask for the details at the cashier before you pay.
Still pricey tho!

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-03

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Expensive

DreelzEBS

Points +20

Vegan
24 May 2022

Food really bad

I am really sorry to say that. Especially since the service was nice and the seats outdoors had a nice atmosphere. But the food was really just awful. We had the vegan sausage (mushy, too smokey and really fatty from deep frying) with a salad (no dressing what so ever) and fries (mediocre at best) and a cappuccino with soy milk and a hot chocolate which where both over the top sweet (excusable for the hot chocolate but not for the cappuccino). Luckily we got a whole bottle of ketchup.
In addition the music was as bad as the food.
The only things this place has going for them was the nice service, clearly marked vegan items on the menu and the outdoor seats.

Sorry, but just go somewhere else.

Pros: Vegan stuff clearly marked, Service, Ambience outside

Cons: Not worth the money , Bad food, Annoying music

CaminoYogini

Points +95

Vegetarian
12 May 2022

Somewhat idiosyncratic veg dishes

They did have a separate vegan menu so there’s that. The veg soup was a mix of unnamed veggies cooked together until it was very thick. The veggie lasagna was not like any I’ve ever experienced before. Tasted okay however I’m tired of french fries being offered as a veg side dish. Would much rather have some broiled or baked veggies, not something so processed. The fresh orange juice was good. Kinda wish I went to the pizza joint with some veggie options instead.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-12

Pros: Has a separate vegan menu, Liked the outside tables , They have free wifi

Cons: The food was not too inspiring, Dislike French fries offered as a veg side dish

anavarani

Points +51

Vegan
13 Nov 2021

Good vegan options

Quick serving, beautiful location, right next to the old Cathedral (Sé Velha), reasonable price, food tastes really good. The Francesinha can be made vegan on request. The Alheira is also really good. I haven't tried the burger, but there is a vegan burger.

Pros: Vegan options: burger, alheira and francesinha, Reasonable price, Quick serving

AntiaMouriñoMartinez

Points +15

Vegetarian
31 Aug 2021

Comida típica portuguesa

Fueron muy amables y fue increíble tener la opción de probar comida típica portuguesa pero vegetariana. Repetiría sin dudarlo, estaba todo exquisito

SusanaDuarte

Points +10263

Vegan
03 Nov 2020

Pretty good food for a non vegetarian restaurant

It has 4 vegetarian options, which I tasted 2 of them and thought they were good!

mayraaleida

Points +172

Vegan
30 Jul 2020

Don’t go here

We were planning to go to Maria Portuguese, which is located next door, but by accident we ended up on the wrong terrace. We saw two vegan options (a sausage and a burger) so we gave it a try. I had the vegan sausage that came with fries and salad. The sausage looked like it was thrown in a deep fryer and had some sort of exploded plastic layer around it. When asked they told us it was eatable, however it didn’t taste like it. The inner content was also far from tasty. I ended up eating only the green salad, and bread they served on the side. I wouldn’t recommend any vegan eating here (cannot say anything about the veg options).

TatianaRocha

Points +23

Vegetarian
21 Jul 2020

Not the best but does the trick

It has 2 vegan options and 2 ovo lacto vegetarian options. Not the best food but does the job. Nice staff.

GiulianaAlmada

Points +49

Vegan
24 Jan 2020

Not amazing, but does the job

Traditional Portuguese restaurant in the touristy part of Coimbra. Right next to Maria Portuguesa (which also has vegan options). We noticed they had a couple of vegan dishes when walking by and decided to give it a try.
It’s far from great, but one of the very few vegan-friendly places in Coimbra, which I throughly appreciate.
I had the vegan alheira – careful not to eat the plastic around it! – and my bf, who’s ovolacto, the vegetarian Francesinha.
With a small beer, sparkling water, olives and bread, our bill came to 25€.
Bare in mind they only accept Portuguese cards or cash.
Maria Portuguesa next door is nicer but we like to vary.

Pros: One of the few vegan-friendly places in town, Located in the historic center

Cons: Food is just ok, A little too touristy




This page has been viewed 1671 times.