Screaming Carrots

  • Friend
  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 29 reviews )
Contact
754-400-9614
Find

826 W Hallandale Beach Blvd, Hallandale Beach, Florida, USA, 33009

A contemporary vegan restaurant, est. Jan 2016 and is near the I-95. Features a white decor and metal shined floor plus an open kitchen. Serves organic, wholefood cuisine specializing in Mediterranean and South East Asian cuisines with lots of flavor and aroma. Open Tue-Thu 10:00am-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 10:00am-9:00pm, Sun 10:00am-8:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Mediterranean, Take-out, Asian, Bakery, Fusion

29 Reviews

First Review by Silvanagabrielaeder

Very good. Very healthy. Lots of options. - Edit

I ate here with a non vegan friend and we had a very good meal. Everything is fresh, mostly organic, and a lot can be made oil free. The prices are very reasonable.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

It was an amazing experience, I mean lunch. - Edit

Almost unique in the area, maybe the best vegan restaurant in Broward

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great restaurant! - Edit

Cozy, clean restaurant with a large menu of vegan options and some gluten free. I tried the veg dumplings and the noodle soup. Both were great, freshly prepared and very flavorful. The portions are larger and reasonably priced. I can’t wait to work my way through the entire menu!!

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 13 Nov 2017 - Thanks for the kind review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wonderful - Edit

My food was delicious and not expensive without all the processed food too. Thanks for ending my visit to Miami with a ➕.

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 15 Sep 2017 - Thanks for the kind review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dissapointed - Edit

I was thrilled to try this place with all the amazing reviews it got, but left REALLY disappointed.

We arrived an hour before closing and while it was busy and the menu warned for a long wait, we didn't realize we would be waiting 45-50 minutes for food.

If the food had absolutely BLOWN me away I would have been fine with the wait. We were delivered a dry and relatively uninteresting noodle dish (the portion was HUGE which was a bonus, but we had to ask for some sort of sauce to add any flavor). The soup we got was pretty tasty but again not really fantastic enough to want to wait 45+ minutes for.

The service was absolutely terrible. This is the real reason I wouldn't come back. There was once server and she seemed generally uninterested in serving. She didn't come by once to see if we needed anything and left the restaurant to go home. She didn't once come by and see if we needed to-go boxes or a check or water or to see how the food was. It was a pathetic attempt at customer service.

Overall bummed that I had such a mediocre experience because this would have been a great place close by to my new home, but I don't think I'll be back with 100 other restaurants in the area to choose from. Thanks.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-24

Pros: Large portions , Pet friendly, Big menu

Cons: Terrible service, Long waits for food, Bland

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 29 Aug 2017 - Dear Davia, really sorry you did not enjoy your experience at screaming carrots. I guess we can’t please everyone all the time, that’s just a fact of life. Please just know that the bland dish you are describing is in fact our well known stir-fried glass noodles, our flagship dish, of which we serve roughly 30 guests every day! Hope you have better luck in the 100’s of other corporate-run, franchised, fast-food establishments in the area. Lots of love, Guy & Lek
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hairy Falafels ! Yuk! - Edit

Visited this place last week, was so excited that I found it on my Happy Cow app. Decided to get something small to try out, ordered falafel appetizer. Waited 15 mins when the waiter walked passed me and served a couple that came in after me a falafel appetizer. The owner then announced that they were out of falafels and hummus. I was asked to chose something else from the menu. After looking at the menu again, couldn't decide what else to try, told them that I really wanted the falafel appetizer. The owner told me it would take another 20 mins for him to make more falafels and hummus. I didn't mind waiting, the restaurant had such good reviews. After an additional 40 mins the waiter brought me my takeout and the waiter apologized for the wait. Owner said nothing! I get home, poured a glass of wine to drink with my meal. Bite into the first falafel, not bad. A little bland but not bad. Bite into the 2nd falafel, I feel something stringy in my mouth. Pull it out. It's hair. I open the falafel and I see more hair. How disgusting! The next 2 also had hair! Did the owner get upset because I decided to wait for him to make more falafels and hummus? I don't know but I will NEVER go back there again. Giving 2 stars because app will not allow me to give 1 star! Yuk!!!!!

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 29 Aug 2017 - Dear Rebecca, thank you for the detailed review, we appreciate the time and effort you put into writing it, and are convinced you had the best of intensions trying to help us improve, while providing the public with such a constructive service. We noticed you took the time to post your review both on google places and on happy cow, probably trying to maximize the exposure, thanks again! So let’s start for a second with laying out our mission at screaming carrots. We at screaming carrots promotes compassionate, sustainable, nutrient-rich and affordable eating without sacrificing flavor, quality or quantity. our food is made with love using all plant sourced ingredients, predominantly organic, local when possible and always non-GMO. Our goal is to provide an alternative to the otherwise corporate-run, fast-food disease causing establishments in our immediate surrounding area. We operate at no profit since we first started in August of 2015, and intend to keep it up for the foreseeable future. Now to the points raised in your review – Screaming Carrots uses a sophisticated computerized point-of-sale system. All orders taken by our wait staff are printed at the kitchen printer with date and time stamps on each order slip. Those are then arranged according to the time stamp for the kitchen staff to cook and plate. There is no scenario or reason for our kitchen staff to make one guest’s order ahead of another’s. What often happens is that our regular guests call in their orders ahead of time knowing the time it takes us to prepare each dish, with the intent to have their meal ready for them as soon as they walk in. Our kitchen is laid out in a way that is completely visible to guests from almost every seat in the restaurant. The reason for this design was for guests to have the confidence that we deliver on our mission statement and have nothing to hide. The new batch of falafel was made right in front of you, you were in fact seated at the table closest to the kitchen and witnessed every step of the preparation. Last and final point, the “HAIR” you found in your falafels when you got home, was in fact fiber from organic, fresh PARSLEY ground-up with its stems. Unlike human hair, parsley actually survives the high temperatures involved in deep frying falafel and retains a fiber feel that could sometimes be mistaken for hair. Human hair will NOT survive oil heated to 375 degrees! Kind regards and lots of love, Guy & Lek.
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My 1st Vegan, Organic restaurant - Edit

I told all my friends about this place. From junk food eaters to those that know what real foods are.

Pros: a lot of pros, but especially the dipping sauce an

Cons: none other than traffic.

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 29 Aug 2017 - Thank you so much!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I can't have enough - Edit

I make it a point to come indulge in goodness here at least twice a month. I'm from Miami so it's a little drive but completely worth it. The bread basket dips are seriously just LIFE!

Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to some amazing food.

Pros: food , taste , price

Cons: parking, seating available

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 17 Aug 2017 - Thanks for the kind words Luna! Please note that the lot next door (psychic reading) is also available for screaming carrots guests.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AMAZING!!! - Edit

i go there all the time to eat and it's just amazing! i definitely recommend. on a scale of 1-10 i choose 183833792. the food is so flavorful and the quantity of the food is just crazy, i always have left overs and the price is so good. the staff is super friendly and welcoming. the pad thai is my favorite dish and i can't wait to go back.

Pros: the quantity and quality is the best, the price is crazy good, the food is super flavorful

Cons: there aren't any!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

must go! - Edit

This is my second time here and both times my food was amazing! This time I had the Thai Noodle Soup. So delicious and flavorful!!!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome - Edit

Great place, tons of options and friendly staff! 💕🦄🐋🐳🌊☀️🌴

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

hidden gem - Edit

Falafel was great, humus tasted homemade. Tofu was good. Had a pad-thai tofu dish flavorful . They adjust the spices to your palate . I am from cleveland and I will be back .

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Must try! - Edit

This was the first vegan restaurant that I went to. It was so good that I finally began my journey of switching over after their food helped me realize how even much tastier eating vegan could be!

Cons: only one far away location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SO TASTEY I WENT BACK FOR SECONDS! - Edit

I loved it here and my carnivore parents did too. We got the felafel appetizer, and I kid you not they were the best I ever had. I got the tofo breakfast scramble, my mom got the glass noodles and my dad got the green curry rice w seitan. Definitely would recommend the last too if your going for the first time. Service was friendly and very knowledgable on my parents questions. I wish screaming carrots was in my city:(

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

eclectic mix, great options - Edit

I was super excited to try this place and it was the first place I stopped in to.
Mango salad was fantastic. Root veggies were healthily and interesting.
I had the Mac and cheese as a main and it was tasty and filing.

Pros: menu options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good variety - Edit

We came to Screaming Carrots for dinner as it was the closest vegan place to our hotel. The service was a little slow, but the food was good. We shared the fried dumplings, rice noodles and curry. The menu has good variety, but we weren't able to come back to try the other options.

Pros: all vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best in the area - Edit

I've been exploring the Ft. Lauderdale/Miami area for a year now. Screaming Carrots is by far the most enjoyable. Unpretentious, reasonably priced, ample portion size.

The chef clearly cares deeply about his creations. We had the Pan-fried mushrooms and a curry bowl plus the middle eastern pudding for desert.The colors, blend of flavors and textures create a complete sensory experience.

Pros: Vegan - Organic, Unique flavorful dishes, Easy access

Cons: Acoustics could be better, Slight antiseptic odor when first arrive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fresh & Tasty! - Edit

Conveniently located near I95 so I stopped in for dinner on my way up from Miami. The service was great and the Schnitzel Sandwich and salad were delicious! The menu is large and varied so I'll definitely go back!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious food! - Edit

They offer a kid's menu too! Which was good because my little sister was finally open to eating vegan food! I loved the spring rolls and stir fry! Yum

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

super cute and tasty - Edit

Very tasty and fresh food. With a nice ambience and decor. The only thing is the waitresses weren't very attentive at the time I went. There was only two other tables at the time that I went so it's wasn't like it was busy. Considering how new the restaurant was at the time I went, that hopefully has changed now. However, I definitely plan on going back again.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great little restaurant - Edit

Everything is vegan. Big variety on their menu. Their stir fry tempeh is amazing! Very clean and well lit place. I would recommend to everyone and this little mom and pap shop is going to need the support of the local vegan community!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent vegan restaurant in Hallandale - Edit

This place is awesome , restaurant super clean, friendly staff, the menu is DELICIOUS!!!

Pros: vegan, gluten free options, organic

Cons: no raw food altertives

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing! - Edit

I love this restaurant. The food is delicious! It's a relatively new place so it needs a little bit of work with service and keeping the menu items the same, but I've been here 3-4 times in the past two months and the food never disappoints.

Pros: great food, laid back atmosphere, big portions!

Cons: service needs work , some items come out different every time I've orde

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ahhhhhmazing! - Edit

What a great place! Definitely the best tofu scramble I've ever had. Pancakes were a perfect accompaniment and the staff was incredibly nice. I asked for hot sauce with my scramble and they brought out this Israeli hot paste that was way better than the Cholula I was expecting. Everything is so fresh, there's a huge fridge with fresh produce right up inside and they cut the fresh loaves of bread right in front of you. Fantastic spot!

Pros: Food, Staff, Environment

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Casual Dining - Edit

The day we arrived, they had just re-opened after being closed for a week to resurface the floor. They were a little disorganized at first, but apologized and I think most days it is a smooth running operation. Bright and clean. Nothing fancy, but they were friendly and the prices are good. We had a tofu scramble, a side salad, and tea. The pitcher of tea is a good deal for two.

Pros: Good Value, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Enjoyed the experience - Edit

Screaming Carrots is a casual vegan restaurant. I went for lunch with 2 omnivores who enjoyed their meals. The menu is pretty "mainstream" with items like spring rolls and falafel salad.

I disagree with the reviewer who said portion sizes are small. We couldn't finish our huge respective sandwiches/salad.

Pros: Good food, Reasonable prices, Good amount of seating

Cons: Lacks unique menu items

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Unique blend of flavors - Edit

Definitely worth a trip to experience this exciting menu with Thai and Mediterranean dishes! It's all vegan and all organic with a clean, inviting space less than a minute off I-95 in Hallandale. A true family run business, just opened in late January. Only down side is that, at least with take-out, the portions were a bit on the small side, but the flavors packed a big punch. If you're very hungry, add a soup or other appetizer to the mix. We especially enjoyed the portobella mushroom entree, green bean entree, and tempeh entree. We are sad we don't live in FLA because we would be coming back frequently!

Pros: Awesome unique menu of flavors, Decent value

Cons: Entree portions a bit on the small side

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Hallandale Beach Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Screaming Carrots closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7433 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support