Screaming Carrots

  • Friend
  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 38 reviews )
Contact
754-400-9614
Find

826 W Hallandale Beach Blvd, Hallandale Beach, Florida, USA, 33009

Contemporary vegan restaurant est. 2016 and is located near the I-95. Features a white decor and metal shined floor plus an open kitchen. Serves organic, wholefood cuisine specializing in Mediterranean and South East Asian cuisines with lots of flavor and aroma. Open Tue-Thu 10:00am-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 10:00am-9:00pm, Sun 10:00am-8:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Mediterranean, Take-out, Asian, Bakery, Fusion

38 Reviews

First Review by Silvanagabrielaeder

Great food! - Edit

Visited this restaurant for lunch the other day. The menu had an extensive list of options. Being vegan, this is always welcomed. We ordered the falafel sandwich and the schnitzel sandwich. Both were delicious. Dessert was a slice of banana bread. Prices were reasonable and good portions. Staff was friendly. Will be returning!

Pros: Many things to choose from the menu, Food was tasty , Nice place

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent - Edit

Food is awesome! Had the rice with tempeh and stir fry noodles with seitan. Also had bruschetta. Servings were large.

Pros: food was delicious

Cons: it was not oil free

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food, slow service - Edit

The food was great, the service was slow. The menu tells you up front that everything is made to order and they appreciate your patience; that's fine. But one dish came out 15 minutes before the other and I finished eating before my girlfriend got her food. Then it was 15 minutes to get the bill. 4 tables who came in after us left before I even got my bill.

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 05 Feb 2018 - Thanks for the review Andrew, and sorry our service did not meet your expectations. I am happy to recommend other vegan spots in the area that advertise as fast-food restaurants, just let us know if you are interested!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good Food - Edit

Nice little cafe, food is very good and price is reasonable. Only complaint is the occasionally long wait for the food and for the check when they get busy.

Pros: Price, Taste

Cons: Long waits when busy

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 05 Feb 2018 - Thanks for the review John. Not much we can do about the wait, at least not without hurting our food quality, the ingredients we use, or the portion sizes. Hope you understand!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing place!! - Edit

Large menu with extra daily options. Perfect for breakfast, lunch, dinner or even an in between snack. The food is so well done, organic, and the place is family owned with the family working the restaurant every day. Seriously, if you want some good food, check this place out.

Pros: great tasting food, expansive menu, they make everything to order!

Cons: food takes a little long to come out

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 15 Jan 2018 - Thanks for the kind review Mirela!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food with huge portions!!! - Edit

This is the best restaurant I've been to in the area by far! The staff are really friendly and great, food was fantastic and the portions were phenomenal! My dad and I are pretty big eaters and this is one of the few vegetarian places that give a hefty enough size to sate our appetites. I'll definitely go back to try some more of their delicacies!

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 20 Dec 2017 - Thanks so much for the kind review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Must-go - Edit

Best fallafels ever. I highly recommend this place, lots of options, from Isralie to Thaï choices. A must visit place for vegans and omnivores. Mostly organic aswell.

Pros: organic, vegan 100%, choices

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 18 Dec 2017 - Thanks so much Sacha!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good food - Edit

I've been here several times since it's opening. The food is very flavorful and delicious. Its freshly made with dedication so it's not always consistent when ordering the same meal and generally takes a long time to make. If you're willing to wait, the food is some of the best. The atmosphere is a bit boring so when I come here I go for the food only. The portions are a decent size so you're never left feeling hungry.

Pros: all vegan, fresh food, large portions

Cons: boring atmosphere, takes a long time to make (which also means it's n

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 04 Dec 2017 - Thanks for the review Shiru. We'll try to work on the atmosphere....  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dinner out - Edit

Delicious meal! Late in the day, they had ran out of a few items so our substitutes of Vegetable dumplings and falafel app were fantastic! The entree was big enough to split with left overs! Yes, there is a wait, but with good company it doesn’t feel like it!

Pros: reasonable prices, delicious food, good options

Cons: ran out of certain menu items, one waiter for all 9 tables, but he was great!!

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 04 Dec 2017 - Thanks for the review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good. Very healthy. Lots of options. - Edit

I ate here with a non vegan friend and we had a very good meal. Everything is fresh, mostly organic, and a lot can be made oil free. The prices are very reasonable.

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 20 Nov 2017 - Thanks for the review. Please help us better understand what could have we done differently to earn your perfect rating.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

It was an amazing experience, I mean lunch. - Edit

Almost unique in the area, maybe the best vegan restaurant in Broward

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 20 Nov 2017 - Thanks so much Andres!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great restaurant! - Edit

Cozy, clean restaurant with a large menu of vegan options and some gluten free. I tried the veg dumplings and the noodle soup. Both were great, freshly prepared and very flavorful. The portions are larger and reasonably priced. I can’t wait to work my way through the entire menu!!

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 13 Nov 2017 - Thanks for the kind review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wonderful - Edit

My food was delicious and not expensive without all the processed food too. Thanks for ending my visit to Miami with a ➕.

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 15 Sep 2017 - Thanks for the kind review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dissapointed - Edit

I was thrilled to try this place with all the amazing reviews it got, but left REALLY disappointed.

We arrived an hour before closing and while it was busy and the menu warned for a long wait, we didn't realize we would be waiting 45-50 minutes for food.

If the food had absolutely BLOWN me away I would have been fine with the wait. We were delivered a dry and relatively uninteresting noodle dish (the portion was HUGE which was a bonus, but we had to ask for some sort of sauce to add any flavor). The soup we got was pretty tasty but again not really fantastic enough to want to wait 45+ minutes for.

The service was absolutely terrible. This is the real reason I wouldn't come back. There was once server and she seemed generally uninterested in serving. She didn't come by once to see if we needed anything and left the restaurant to go home. She didn't once come by and see if we needed to-go boxes or a check or water or to see how the food was. It was a pathetic attempt at customer service.

Overall bummed that I had such a mediocre experience because this would have been a great place close by to my new home, but I don't think I'll be back with 100 other restaurants in the area to choose from. Thanks.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-24

Pros: Large portions , Pet friendly, Big menu

Cons: Terrible service, Long waits for food, Bland

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 29 Aug 2017 - Dear Davia, really sorry you did not enjoy your experience at screaming carrots. I guess we can’t please everyone all the time, that’s just a fact of life. Please just know that the bland dish you are describing is in fact our well known stir-fried glass noodles, our flagship dish, of which we serve roughly 30 guests every day! Hope you have better luck in the 100’s of other corporate-run, franchised, fast-food establishments in the area. Lots of love, Guy & Lek
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hairy Falafels ! Yuk! - Edit

Visited this place last week, was so excited that I found it on my Happy Cow app. Decided to get something small to try out, ordered falafel appetizer. Waited 15 mins when the waiter walked passed me and served a couple that came in after me a falafel appetizer. The owner then announced that they were out of falafels and hummus. I was asked to chose something else from the menu. After looking at the menu again, couldn't decide what else to try, told them that I really wanted the falafel appetizer. The owner told me it would take another 20 mins for him to make more falafels and hummus. I didn't mind waiting, the restaurant had such good reviews. After an additional 40 mins the waiter brought me my takeout and the waiter apologized for the wait. Owner said nothing! I get home, poured a glass of wine to drink with my meal. Bite into the first falafel, not bad. A little bland but not bad. Bite into the 2nd falafel, I feel something stringy in my mouth. Pull it out. It's hair. I open the falafel and I see more hair. How disgusting! The next 2 also had hair! Did the owner get upset because I decided to wait for him to make more falafels and hummus? I don't know but I will NEVER go back there again. Giving 2 stars because app will not allow me to give 1 star! Yuk!!!!!

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 29 Aug 2017 - Dear Rebecca, thank you for the detailed review, we appreciate the time and effort you put into writing it, and are convinced you had the best of intensions trying to help us improve, while providing the public with such a constructive service. We noticed you took the time to post your review both on google places and on happy cow, probably trying to maximize the exposure, thanks again! So let’s start for a second with laying out our mission at screaming carrots. We at screaming carrots promotes compassionate, sustainable, nutrient-rich and affordable eating without sacrificing flavor, quality or quantity. our food is made with love using all plant sourced ingredients, predominantly organic, local when possible and always non-GMO. Our goal is to provide an alternative to the otherwise corporate-run, fast-food disease causing establishments in our immediate surrounding area. We operate at no profit since we first started in August of 2015, and intend to keep it up for the foreseeable future. Now to the points raised in your review – Screaming Carrots uses a sophisticated computerized point-of-sale system. All orders taken by our wait staff are printed at the kitchen printer with date and time stamps on each order slip. Those are then arranged according to the time stamp for the kitchen staff to cook and plate. There is no scenario or reason for our kitchen staff to make one guest’s order ahead of another’s. What often happens is that our regular guests call in their orders ahead of time knowing the time it takes us to prepare each dish, with the intent to have their meal ready for them as soon as they walk in. Our kitchen is laid out in a way that is completely visible to guests from almost every seat in the restaurant. The reason for this design was for guests to have the confidence that we deliver on our mission statement and have nothing to hide. The new batch of falafel was made right in front of you, you were in fact seated at the table closest to the kitchen and witnessed every step of the preparation. Last and final point, the “HAIR” you found in your falafels when you got home, was in fact fiber from organic, fresh PARSLEY ground-up with its stems. Unlike human hair, parsley actually survives the high temperatures involved in deep frying falafel and retains a fiber feel that could sometimes be mistaken for hair. Human hair will NOT survive oil heated to 375 degrees! Kind regards and lots of love, Guy & Lek.
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My 1st Vegan, Organic restaurant - Edit

I told all my friends about this place. From junk food eaters to those that know what real foods are.

Pros: a lot of pros, but especially the dipping sauce an

Cons: none other than traffic.

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 29 Aug 2017 - Thank you so much!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I can't have enough - Edit

I make it a point to come indulge in goodness here at least twice a month. I'm from Miami so it's a little drive but completely worth it. The bread basket dips are seriously just LIFE!

Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to some amazing food.

Pros: food , taste , price

Cons: parking, seating available

1 Response
Read More

guybraverman 17 Aug 2017 - Thanks for the kind words Luna! Please note that the lot next door (psychic reading) is also available for screaming carrots guests.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AMAZING!!! - Edit

i go there all the time to eat and it's just amazing! i definitely recommend. on a scale of 1-10 i choose 183833792. the food is so flavorful and the quantity of the food is just crazy, i always have left overs and the price is so good. the staff is super friendly and welcoming. the pad thai is my favorite dish and i can't wait to go back.

Pros: the quantity and quality is the best, the price is crazy good, the food is super flavorful

Cons: there aren't any!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

must go! - Edit

This is my second time here and both times my food was amazing! This time I had the Thai Noodle Soup. So delicious and flavorful!!!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome - Edit

Great place, tons of options and friendly staff! 💕🦄🐋🐳🌊☀️🌴

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

hidden gem - Edit

Falafel was great, humus tasted homemade. Tofu was good. Had a pad-thai tofu dish flavorful . They adjust the spices to your palate . I am from cleveland and I will be back .

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Must try! - Edit

This was the first vegan restaurant that I went to. It was so good that I finally began my journey of switching over after their food helped me realize how even much tastier eating vegan could be!

Cons: only one far away location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SO TASTEY I WENT BACK FOR SECONDS! - Edit

I loved it here and my carnivore parents did too. We got the felafel appetizer, and I kid you not they were the best I ever had. I got the tofo breakfast scramble, my mom got the glass noodles and my dad got the green curry rice w seitan. Definitely would recommend the last too if your going for the first time. Service was friendly and very knowledgable on my parents questions. I wish screaming carrots was in my city:(

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

eclectic mix, great options - Edit

I was super excited to try this place and it was the first place I stopped in to.
Mango salad was fantastic. Root veggies were healthily and interesting.
I had the Mac and cheese as a main and it was tasty and filing.

Pros: menu options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good variety - Edit

We came to Screaming Carrots for dinner as it was the closest vegan place to our hotel. The service was a little slow, but the food was good. We shared the fried dumplings, rice noodles and curry. The menu has good variety, but we weren't able to come back to try the other options.

Pros: all vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best in the area - Edit

I've been exploring the Ft. Lauderdale/Miami area for a year now. Screaming Carrots is by far the most enjoyable. Unpretentious, reasonably priced, ample portion size.

The chef clearly cares deeply about his creations. We had the Pan-fried mushrooms and a curry bowl plus the middle eastern pudding for desert.The colors, blend of flavors and textures create a complete sensory experience.

Pros: Vegan - Organic, Unique flavorful dishes, Easy access

Cons: Acoustics could be better, Slight antiseptic odor when first arrive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fresh & Tasty! - Edit

Conveniently located near I95 so I stopped in for dinner on my way up from Miami. The service was great and the Schnitzel Sandwich and salad were delicious! The menu is large and varied so I'll definitely go back!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Hallandale Beach Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Screaming Carrots closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8500 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support