CLOSED: Sattbar - 사뜨바

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 16 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
070-41939144
Find

652-7, Sinsa-dong, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, South Korea

Raw food restaurant, est. 2015. Serves fusion Mediterranean style raw or half raw dishes like warm burger and soup, salad with hummus. Vegan except for honey. Owner speaks English. Reopened Jan 2016. 2015년에 설립된 로우 푸드 식당입니다. 버거, 수프, 후무스가 들어간 샐러드 등 퓨전 지중해식 로우 푸드 혹은 반 로우 푸드를 제공합니다. 꿀을 제외하면 모두 비건식입니다. 2016년에 재오픈했습니다. Reported closed, Feb 2018.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Raw, Western, Mediterranean, Honey

16 Reviews

First Review by JBWool

very limited, specific cuisine - Edit

I am mainly in the Apgujeong area most days, and Sattbar was the only restaurant serving actual vegan dishes (though they are not vegan or even a vegetarian restaurant - they have lamb on the menu as well as dishes containing eggs and dairy).
Unfortunately the menu is very limited and many dishes are not well balanced and very small. Also, the food itself is very heavy. I have delicate digestion and cannot handle foods like falafel. Its a shame that practically all the dishes on the menu contain hummus or falafel type things. The burger patties all have these heavy spices, as well as too much onion and garlic, and deep fried. Very hard to digest - I had an upset stomach every time I ate there, and when I asked to remove the falafel or hummus they had no alternatives so the dish was reduced to basically just lettuce. I know they have a mediterranean theme but there are so many dishes in this cuisine that dont involve deep fried aggressively seasoned chickpeas; I grew up in Cyprus, I know.
The sides arent very satisfying either; their sweet potato fries are very thinly sliced and overcooked - felt like twigs in my mouth.
Its a shame as the owner/staff are very nice, and were very acommodating. They have a lovely modern interior too. But definitely wont be going again, I switched to going to the galleria mall food court where they have a nice pumpkin salad. March Rabbit in garosugil isnt too far away, if Im not too hungry and have more time I go there.
Hope more vegan restaurants pop up in Apgujeong...everything here is very animal food heavy.

Pros: friendly staff , quiet, beautiful interior

Cons: limited menu, little variety, heavy, overseasoned food, small portions

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very Disappointing - Edit

The portions are tiny and the food is really average. My friends and I ordered burgers with sweet potato 'fries'. The burgers were super dry and quite bland. Also the bread didn't taste very fresh. I wouldn't go again.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious but expensive - Edit

It was really delicious but not worth the price... If the price doesnt matter for you then I recommend you this place but otherwise I dont recommend it... The portions were too small as well...

Pros: vegan

Cons: expensive, small portions

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food and nice place - Edit

I went last week there with one friend with high expectations as I have been for a long time reading about Sattbar. And I am pleased to say my expectatons were fullfilled. My friend and me shared the Hummus Bowl and the Falafel Salad, and both were amazing, and big enough to share and feel satisfied. The price I would say it was normal, like the normal price you usually pay for vegeterian/vegan food in Seoul. (10,000 wons per bowl aprox).
The owner is also friendly and nice, he suggested us what to eat and was really kind to us.
If I should say a contra, I would say the restaurant is pretty small so it can't handle big groups, but he told us he was going to move into a new place? Hopefully he will find a place for bigger groups!
Totally recommended!
Updated from previous review on Wednesday May 04, 2016

Updated from previous review on Wednesday May 04, 2016

Pros: Amazing food, Healthy, fresh and vegeterian, The owner is really friendly

Cons: Too small restaurant~, A bit expensive to eat everyday

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Honey - not vegan - Edit

The owner is lovely. There were only three dishes on the menu. They all had hummus in, which was great. Unfortunately, the hummus had honey in. I'm not a big fan of sweet things but he said the Korean customers love it. I'm glad he's doing good business, but vegan customers should know that there is honey in all of the dishes. His bar is not vegan - it's meat and dairy free. The felafel was really tasty.

Pros: Healthy food, Fresh coriander, Great felafel

Cons: Honey in the hummus

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

secret spot - Edit

a small sanctuary for vegans with love for fresh raw food and a beautiful interior! a very nice owner to have interesting conversation with! small changing menue

Cons: a bit pricey for the amount I got

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

guilt free and delicious - Edit

If you're looking for a healthy delicious meal, this is the place. Sattbar doesn't sacrifice healthy for flavor and vice versa. I also love the bread they use because I don't feel bloated after.

Pros: fresh ingredients, friendly service , welcoming decor

Cons: limited seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of the best meals served in the Seoul city - Edit

All the recipes are health friendly, and the chef always wants to serve the best choice for everyone. He is passionate about cooking new menus with carefully picked ingredients. Definitely a reliable place to eat fresh & delicious menus. English fluent chef can recommend the best menu whenever asked, so feel free to ask anything about the menu.

Pros: Freshly picked ingredients, English fluent chef

Cons: Menus may be sold out in early time

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

healthy and tasty food for everyone - Edit

This is one of my favorite and frequently-visited restaurant in Seoul. I usually order 'Chef's menu' on that day and it alyways saticefies me. :) The owner who cooks every menu has a strong faith in proper and good food for health. Just ask him for any recommodation as your taste and you will like it!
Updated from previous review on Monday February 08, 2016

Pros: fresh and healthy food, cozy atmosphere , English menu

Cons: early soldout

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Light for vegan in Seoul - Edit

Finally, I found a place which providing the essence of vegan food. Young and entertaining owner offers tasty but healthy food with fresh ingredients. Especially recommendable food is 'Burger Queen'. A textured vegetable protein with home-made sauce and Non-yeast bread drove me to a high level of satisfaction. Sometimes 'Sold out' sign disappointed me, but I understand too much time is spent to prepare a food in good quality.
Please, call and visit there.

Updated from previous review on Tuesday February 02, 2016

Pros: Tasty food, Owner speaks English

Cons: Frequently Sold out

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegetarian

  Contributions +13

Heaven for vegans - Edit

Are u vegan? if so, U should drop by this cozy place.
There are flexible menus. I especially enjoyed the salad with
hummus and falafel. The owner makes great hummus and falafel.
It was the best falafel I have tasted in a few years. I wanna know how to make those. He is a fluent English speaker and is humorous. (he is really funny, seriously)
Also, all of ingredients are fresh. Maybe sattbar's food mileage is very low.
I do recommend sattbar. I'm sure sattbar is the best vegan reastaurant in Korea. i mean it.

Pros: fresh vegetable, great taste, cozy place

Cons: only one place

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Rare gem in Seoul. - Edit

I have been going to Sattbar for almost a year now and it's definitely one of my top 5 favorite places to eat in Seoul. The owner is an English speak who seems to be more interested in making really good food than how much money he earns. I say this because he uses very fresh ingredients (which are expensive) and as you get to know him more, he gives you bigger portions. You can assume that all the ingredients that go into the bowl are all organic and it's one of those meals that leaves your stomach feeling full and comfortable. I feel like I could eat sattbar on a daily basis because it's not like those whimpy korean salads (no offense), but reminds me of those hearty salads you can find back in the states. I recommend iall to give it a try at least once and try not to fall in love with it... and if not the food, try not to fall in love with the owner.
Updated from previous review on Sunday January 31, 2016

Pros: owner speaks english, menu is flexible to your needs, tastes awesome

Cons: only one location, days when the entire menu is sold out, closed on sundays

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Real Vegan VIbes - Edit

There's a new flow of vegan and healthy food in seoul
and Sattbar is going to be in there.


Updated from previous review on Saturday January 30, 2016

Updated from previous review on Saturday January 30, 2016

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My favorite place in seoul! - Edit

A cozy restaurant with delicious falafel, soy-meat and other 100% vegan dishes. The food is very good, fresh and tasty. The chef really knows how to cook good food! :^)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegetarian

  Contributions +13

Purifying meal - Edit

Sattbar always gives me 100% content with the best hummus and its other harmonious ingredients such as fresh beans and vegetables. Also their vegan falafel burger gives you energy to liven up your day! And its cozy ambience tops up with warmth to you healthy meal.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very healthy and tasty at the same time. - Edit

It's really hard to find foods that are healthy and tastes good at the same time in Seoul. But, bowls from Satt bar satisfy these both sides pretty well, which is why I like to visit here and eat salad bowls at Sattbar even though I'm not a vegetarian. It makes me feeling healthy. Highly recommended.
Updated from previous review on Thursday January 28, 2016

Pros: Locally grown vegetables, feeling of eating healthy, handsome owner

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Seoul Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Sattbar - 사뜨바 closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3438 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support