CLOSED: Sanctuary

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 43 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
+44-2037302892
Find

651 Fulham Rd, South West London, England, SW6 5PU

100% vegan haven in London, in the heart of Fulham, serving cruelty-free breakfasts, no-moolkshakes, paninis, gourmet burgers, Spanish tapas, dinners and more. Four minutes walk from Fulham Broadway tube station (District line). Confirmed closed, Dec 2017.

Categories: Vegan, American, Western, Delivery, Take-out, European, Spanish

43 Reviews

First Review by daho70

Nice but not amazing - Edit

Lots of different meals but, not really tasty some of them.
The tofu burguer it is not really nice, but the "chicken" imitation was really tasty, like the nuggets and Spanish Omelette.
If you are near to Fulham and you don't know where to go. This can be a good option

Pros: average price , nice atmosphere

Cons: Some of the food are not really tasty.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy food - Edit

Delicious food, friendly service; cosy atmosphere plus BYOB

Pros: All vegan. Buddha bowls, salads and burger meals.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Food - Edit

This restaurant is fairly local to me, so I’ve visited several times. The decor isn’t to my taste, although I do like the animal pictures that hang on the wall and seemingly proceeds of the money they make, goes to support a vegan run animal sanctuary.
The food that I’ve eaten there, has been fresh and tasty. I’ve had several of the burgers they serve, as well as the ‘fish’ and chips, which is absolutely delicious. The menu isn’t vast, but there’s a variety of different foods on offer and the prices aren’t too bad considering it’s in Fulham.
The smoothies are delicious too.
I’ve found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They don’t pester you every five minutes, but are on hand to answer questions or serve you if needed.
I believe a new menu is due out soon, so I will be checking it out and hope that the ‘Fish’ and Chips is still on it!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

no ambience and average food - Edit

Got the chicken nada burger and it was a bit plastic tasting and the tofu was a little shady and the ambience of the restaurant was a little weird...

Pros: cheap

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

better than real fish? - Edit

had the fish & chips and onion rings. The sauces and everything else were fantastic. My husband and I came here for me and then went to a real fish and chips place for him, and he actually said mine was better.

Pros: excellent food and presentation, nice atmosphere,

Cons: slow service, smaller portions

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Will come back! - Edit

Visited for snacking, so we took away a couple of cakes (raw cheesecake and carrot cake).
Both were yummy; but the carrot cake was better.

The staff was friendly and, although we only sat down for a short time, the service was great.

Will certainly come back to try their food next time!

Pros: friendly staff, yummy

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Super yum!! - Edit

I had the Caesar salad which was amazing! My friend who is non vegan had her first vegan burger (The hippo burger) and loved it. We could bring our own drinks as alcohol is not served.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food, quick service - Edit

Ordered the raging hippo burger and tortilla
Amazing vegan food served quickly by friendly staff.
An all round good experience 😊

Pros: Amazing food, Very quick, Friendly staff

Cons: No condiments on table

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing little place - Edit

Small and friendly restaurant. The burger was so good with yummy sides, can't wait to try again. Very reasonable price and service was excellent. Our waitress was polite, friendly and very helpful. The raw cheesecake was delicious too.
Highly recommend, this will become a regular for us 👍

Pros: very tasty food, great service, you can take your own alcohol

Cons: a few more choices maybe, the print on the menu is very small, needed my gla

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food - Edit

I visited The Sanctuary back in March. The burgers were absolutely divine!! However, after eating I was really put off by the dirty, unhygienic looking toilet, assuming the staff use it as well, it has put me off going back..... for now. But I cannot complain about the food. Had it not been for the cleanliness issue it would have definitely got 5 stars!

Pros: Lots of choice on the menu.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely food - Edit

Really lovely food. Not too many options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

cosy and yummy - Edit

Definitely want to go back here after a first visit, the tapas were all incredibly delicious with very convincing 'chicken nuggets', but was a little disappointed with my burger which was basically just a cold slab of tofu in a bun. However, my blueberry milkshake made up for it- it was amazing!

Pros: amazing tapas and milkshake

Cons: dodgy burger

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty large burgers! - Edit

My first time at this little cafe restaurant - can't wait to go back to try the rest of the menu! The "beef" vegan burger was excellent, also the sweet potato fries and onion rings together with the homemade sauces. Quick service, good value and highly recommended.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fish and chips :D - Edit

This was the perfect place to have dinner after a long day at Kensington Palace. We could this cosy little cafe hiding in Fulham. Ordered was a very filling vegan fish and chips. Was very delicious and I cannot wait to go back for another serving.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-03

Pros: 100% vegan, Fresh, Fast serving

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Epic fish & chips! - Edit

Loved the fish & chips and the Cesar Salad. Not a big fan of their raw fruity cheesecake (for some reason it tastes quite 'minty' even tho the texture was on point). Other than that, really cozy place and amazing food. Worth the visit ;)

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 28 Jul 2017 - Thank you very much for your visit and the great feedback :)

Best wishes!

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious, tasty food! - Edit

Having tasted their milkshakes, on more than one occasion, I thought I'd try the cheeseburger with bacon rasher. I was blown away how yummy it was, together with fries and their homemade dip. I must try the famous fish and chips they do next time!!

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 28 Jul 2017 - Thank you very much for your visit and the great feedback. Yes, do NOT miss out our "fish" and chips next time - you'll love it! ;)

Best wishes!

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food! - Edit

Came here with a group of friends for a get together. We loved the food it was great. All staff are vegan and a portion of their profits go to a local farm Sanctuary. Definitely recommend this place!

They have pictures of animals from the Sanctuary they support. It felt good to see such happy animals on the wall and knowing my food is clean from blood shed.

The cafe is a bit small so perhaps call in to book a table.

Pros: Great food, 100% Vegan , Supports an animal Sanctuary

Cons: Small place

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 28 Jul 2017 - Thank you very much for your visit and the great feedback :)

Best wishes!

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good choice for a quick vegan fix - Edit

Ate here for the first time - not very high quality food (they seem to just use supermarket vegan products like Linda McCartney burgers etc) but it's perfect for a quick junk food fix when out and about. Shakes were amazing though. Tapas looked good but didn't try them yet!

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 28 Jul 2017 - Thank you for your review. However, please note that the only products we use which are ready-made from suppliers (not Linda McCartney though) is for our Hippo Rampage and No Beef, Just Love burgers. ALL the rest (all tapas, all other mains, all salads, our other burgers, chicken style and fish style...) is homemade by our Chef, including the sauces, such as our raw BBQ sauce and the garlic mayo. All 100% homemade, so it simply isn't true to state that we use "supermarket products like Linda McCartney. If we did, we did, but we don't.

Best wishes,

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Healthy-ish fast food served with a smile - Edit

Review of second visit: I liked this place much more on a second visit in July 2017. The service was warm and efficient and my food was excellent of its kind - a burger (fish style, called "Nemo burger" I think) with a side order of kale chips, both well flavoured and not too greasy. The burger came with a good side salad as well as a wholemeal bun (think gluten free is also available). I pinched a couple of my partner's sweet potato wedges and they were good too. Portions were generous in my opinion. The fruit mocktail-type drinks were lovely and the whole thing came to under £30 for 2 without service.


=======
Review of initial visit: We came on a Sunday evening and they had run out of a few menu items but what they had was pretty good - I had a garlic mushroom "tapas" as a starter and then a broccoli and chickpea salad with blue "cheese" dressing while my other half had mushroom croquetas followed by "fish" and chips. They also made us a dessert out of bananas and chocolate which was good but a bit runny. Everything we had was tasty and mine was pretty healthy (not so sure about the deep-fried items). The salad was enormous, too, even by the standards of this greedy old vegan.

The atmosphere was relaxed and the people were welcoming - the dog that a friend brought was made a big fuss of and given water on arrival, both of which he appreciated. Prices seem modest by London standards - the fact that there is no booze probably helps.



Updated from previous review on 2017-07-16

Pros: Vegan , Welcoming, efficient service, Good value (for London anyway!)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan comfort food - Edit

Visited on a weekday lunchtime and the atmosphere was very relaxed. A local dad had popped in for lunch with his young daughter and was chatting with the waitress. Beautiful photos on the walls. Generally laid back and welcoming.
I picked a burger which was very 'meaty' and came with lots of tasty toppings and a light side salad. You can also choose various sides but the burger on it's own made a satisfying lunch.
I was a little disappointed that the cheesecake was sold out (will have to go back to try that!) but the coffee was good.

Pros: All vegan , Relaxed atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Meat alternatives - Edit

Really good for Mock meat alternatives, lots of choice and cool concept. Panini was amazing, special sauce was inventive. Wait staff could be a bit friendlier and a couple of mistakes with the order.

Pros: Mock meat, 'junk food'

Cons: unfriendly waiter

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Worth a trip to Fulham! - Edit

Wonderful, inventive food. Ordered far too much, just to try it all! Rich flavours and textures. To reach perfection, the salad dressing could have been better, but that’s being a fussy customer! Loved it

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 24 Jun 2017 - Thank you very much for your visit and the great feedback.

Best wishes!

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best veganised food in London - Edit

Delicious vegan versions of popular dishes - yummy range of burgers, fish chips and mushy peas and garlic mushrooms! Friendly atmosphere and great prices for the fact it's in London and is vegan.
Only thing I would complain about is that for a health-conscious place and founders, it is a rather oily.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

ummmhhhh - Edit

Guys, please rethinking your concept ;-) Burger was tasty, salad was boring. Ordered fries and kale chips - got 2x fries. Sound was cool but a smiling friendly face lifts up the atmosphere and energy too (and pls don't lick the spoon and reuse it for preparing the drinks... not good in front of guests). good luck!

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 24 Jun 2017 - Thank you for your time to write your personal opinion on your visit.

Please do rest assured that we DON'T use the same spoons for both tasting and preparing the drinks for our customers, that would be fully unacceptable. Feel free to pop in for a complimentary free drink of your choice at any time.

Regards,

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

My husband and I are vegan travel bloggers from Australia. We visited Sanctuary a couple of weeks ago and were really impressed with their food. It's such a caring, warm and happy place with delicious plant-based meals. Try the full English breakfast!

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 24 Jun 2017 - Thank you very much for your visit and the great feedback guys.

Best wishes!

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best vegan fish and chips - Edit

The "fish" was the best I've had in London so far. Could've done with a bigger portion of chips though!

Pros: All vegan, Delicious food

Cons: Smallish portions, Limited dessert options

1 Response
Read More

-Sanctuary- 24 Jun 2017 - Thank you very much for your visit and the great feedback.

Best wishes!

Sanctuary  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious meal 😍 - Edit

Had a very tasty lunch. The menu was varied, the restaurant is quiet and easy to get to. I had a burger with sweet potato wedges and it was just undescriabably yummy. I wish they had desserts though. I would recommend cheesecake, chocolate cake and something with fruits.

Pros: varied main menu, reasonable price, big portion

Cons: no dessert menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to South West London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Sanctuary closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4644 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support