Vegan
American
Organic
Beer/Wine
Catering

Fine dining plant-based bistro by vegan chef of Local Love catering, Barry Horton. Brunch until 3pm. Features seasonal organic produce. Check facebook for special events. Est 2014 in California and moved here in early 2020. Open Wed-Fri 11:30am-3:00pm, Wed-Sat 5:30pm-9:00pm, Sat 10:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Sanctuary Bistro
© OpenStreetMap contributors

104 Reviews

First Review by KarenBrighten

dk42

Points +11

Mostly Veg
04 Feb 2024

Love this place!

Went here Thursday night with a small group. We went ordered most of the menu. Everything was delicious! I find the prices very reasonable, especially given the quality of ingredients and flavor.

We started with the crispy oyster mushroom artisanal plate, which everyone enjoyed. Then the fried sushi and king trumpet scallops appetizers. We were surprised at how much everyone enjoyed the broth for the trumpet scallops. After eating the trumpet mushroom scallops, we took turns finishing the broth. And I am still thinking about the sushi. Mmm.

Next, the roasted beet salad which was lovely. Then, the crispy lions mane, the spicy lasagna, and the roasted tahini cauliflower. All were enjoyed! (My favorite was the cauliflower.)

Finally, for dessert we had the cashew cheesecake, lemon trifle, chocolate parfait, and crème brûlée. Cheesecake won in my opinion, but all were delicious and everyone had a different favorite.

The owner Jennifer is a delight! She is a great conversationalist while also handling all the tables. She’s also a thoughtful guide to the menu!

Highly recommend!!

Advertisement

DawnPeterson

Points +16

Vegan
10 Dec 2023

Best Meal in Charlotte

I went here for my birthday dinner last night. It was phenomenal! From the service to the presentation to the food, everything was incredible. This is the best meal I’ve had in Charlotte to date. As a 19-year vegan, I’m used to cooking my own food or going to a limited number of restaurants. It was so nice to go somewhere and not have to worry about whether something is vegan or how it was prepared. Please support this local, family-owned business! They work their tails off so we can enjoy a meal without compromising our values.

sinas

Points +21

Vegan
20 Nov 2023

Some of the best in Charlotte

If you can get in the door, you will be rewarded with some of the best vegan food in Charlotte. We are lucky to have them!

Definitely try the fried mushroom appetizer and the crème brûlée’!

sharonrader

Points +174

Vegan
28 Oct 2023

Great vegan options beyond compare

Delicious and savory food, delightful wait staff

Pros: Amazing non alcoholic beverage selection, Great brunch selections , Soothing atmosphere

wwortiz1

Points +17

Vegetarian
20 Aug 2023

Amazing Experience!

We had a very difficult time choosing from the menu as everything sounded wonderful. We truly enjoyed the use of wood in the decor (tables especially). Very nice ambience. Our hostess was super nice, friendly, and knowledgeable of the menu. We have been trying to visit the establishment for months and finally had the opportunity to walk in on a Saturday during brunch time. Can’t say enough about the food. Everything we ordered was utterly delicious! Highly recommend and will definitely be back!!

Pros: Delicious Healthy Food, Very Reasonable Pricing, Great Atmosphere

Cons: Parking, NA, NA

LigeiaSmith

Points +299

Vegan
23 Jun 2023

AMAZING vegan food

I stopped here on my way from Charleston to Linville and I am SO glad I did.
I got the New England chowder and the golden beet fried ravioli. Amazing amazing!!!

Lots of parking as it’s surprisingly in a strip mall, friendly service and welcoming friendly atmosphere. I would go out of my way to eat here again!

Pros: Good quality fiud, Welcoming, For the animsls

Cons: It’s not next to my house. Lol

lucianf

Points +284

Vegan
09 Jun 2023

One of the best you’ll ever try

If you’d have to pick one vegan restaurant choose this and you won’t be disappointed. Chef Barry is preparing delicious meals every time. My top: shiitake bacon, clam chowder (using cashews as a base) and pretty much everything is new on the menu. You can’t go wrong.

AndrewVoss

Points +134

Vegan
04 Jun 2023

Awesome Bruch Spot

Stopped by on Saturday for brunch. The vibe is great. I highly recommend the po-boy sandwich. Dessert is also worth getting! 😊

vandalsence

Points +148

Vegan
28 Apr 2023

Good

I enjoyed the food, especially the oyster mushroom plate. The waitress was nice, and the whole operation was surprisingly efficient for only having one chef and one waitress with all of the tables and quite a few of the bar seats full. They even gave a list of vegan options and a sanctuary in Charlotte too with my receipt. Lovely place, you can tell they really care about the cause.

Elie48

Points +109

Vegan
20 Apr 2023

Incredibly delicious

We found this place while in Charlotte on a visit and instantly fell in love!! One of the owners, Jennifer, welcomed us so warmly and served us throughout the evening- making excellent recommendations and checking in with us regularly. The food was amazing, gourmet in every sense of the word. Presentation, taste and perfect portion size. We definitely return!!

Pros: Fully vegan, Friendly staff!, Intimate, warm atmosphere

Cons: None!

AjMalde1

Points +82

Vegan
27 Mar 2023

Awesome high end restaurant

Unique dishes in a very welcoming environment. All GF, and vegan. Wonderful service. The creme brulee needs to be firmer to have the right texture. Otherwise, it's perfect!

Pros: All vegan and GF, Unique dishes, Presentation

Cons: On the high side, but it's all organic and a nice

AlisonKoehler

Points +26

Vegetarian
24 Mar 2023

Amazing all vegan restaurant

I have had the pleasure to eat a few dinners here and now lunch (I don’t live close, or I’d be here weekly). This is a wonderful place for more upscale vegan dining, something we don’t have a lot of around here. It is a small, intimate restaurant; make reservations for dinner. The decor is nice with beautiful woodwork. The owner usually serves and her husband is the chef. Service is wonderful. The food is outstanding. The chef is a master at making unique, flavorful dishes with very fresh ingredients. I have loved everything I’ve tried. The chowder, beet salad, fried mushrooms, unique ravioli, lions mane steak, blue cheese dressing (unbelievable, could drink it alone), broccoli soufflé, chocolate parfait, among others. Hard to imagine these dishes are dairy free! This would be a great place to go with non-vegan friends; I’m sure everyone would enjoy. They are gluten free too if that is an issue. Highly recommend. Can’t wait to go back!

SusanEst

Points +36

Vegan
03 Feb 2023

EXQUISITE food, great ambience, wonderful organization!!!

First, I love the fact that this is all 100% vegan and gluten-free! But the food is beyond all expectations! Absolutely divine!!! You can't go wrong. Plus they support good vegan causes and local artists, etc. Love you, Sanctuary Bistro! We are so blessed to have them in Charlotte!!!

ELT

Points +292

Vegan
08 Jan 2023

There aren't enough stars to accurately review Sanctuary!

If you only try one vegan restaurant in Charlotte, it should be Sanctuary. You will meet one of the nicest people in town and eat one of the most delicious meals of your life. You'll get more than just dinner - it's an experience, from the ambiance to the thoughtful menu to the kind and attentive service.

It's best to make reservations.

tuelltime78

Points +233

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

Great for date night

Finally got to try Sanctuary Bistro and it did not disappoint! The flavors were excellent, the food was very attractive, and the atmosphere was great! The staff were very kind and attentive. All the flavors of the food were very well balanced and it was nice to go somewhere that had more than fast food options like burgers available. The menu changes seasonally and I'm excited to try all the dishes they have to offer! #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan and gluten free , Chef driven, excellent flavors, Great atmosphere and staff

Jōjia_Momo

Points +504

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

CLT is lucky to have them.

Outrageously good brunch.

The atmosphere is true of a high quality bistro. The staff is very friendly and the menu has a lot of variety.

The waffles are to not be skipped. The oyster mushrooms are bomb!

Charlotte needed this so badly and y’all are lucky to have it. It’s like a slice of California in the Carolina’s.

The entire menu is gluten free, which is unheard of. And there’s no awful impossible or beyond. This restaurant has a real chef that pours themselves into their craft, and it shows.

Pros: Entirely gluten free menu, Atmosphere , No impossible / beyond garbage

Cons: Nothing!

Flyingmouse29

Points +29

Vegetarian
12 Nov 2022

Delicious!

This restaurant is tiny and adorable. Make sure you make reservations to get a table. We shared the fried lions mane mushrooms as a starter, had the lasagna and portobello Rockefeller as entrees, and tiramisu as dessert. All was delicious but the portobello Rockefeller was the star. I love this place and can’t wait to come back.

Pros: Seasonal menu, Lots of choices

vegangyy

Points +696

Vegan
03 Nov 2022

Sophisticated and delicious

Certainly a higher end, sophisticated dining experience. The dishes we ordered were excellent, service was great. They have a thorough drink menu with wines, beers and caffeinated and caffeine free teas which was lovely. Indoor space is lovely and decorated so nicely. Food is focused on veggies which was awesome.

greysonstrzelczyk

Points +157

Vegan
27 Oct 2022

Absolutely Delightful

This restaurant is everything you could ever ask for. It has a wonderful intimate atmosphere. They kindly suggest no phones and encourage connection. I am from out of town and had lovely conversation with the people at the table next to me who are regulars that live right by the restaurant. Jennifer (owner) is one of the kindest people. She served the entire floor making sure everyone was taken care of. Chef Barry prepared some of the most delicious food I’ve ever eaten. The tiramisu was heavenly. This is a restaurant you just HAVE to experience. Life changing.

MariaMcMillan

Points +65

Vegetarian
23 Sep 2022

Fresh and good food

Excellent food- fresh ingredients and interesting combos. The chowder is amazing!

Pros: Fab Food

Cons: Small so plan ahead

jennnnn

Points +355

Vegan
18 Jul 2022

Elegant Vegan Dining

Sanctuary Bistro has a rotating menu that is all vegan and all gluten free. Dinner dishes usually contain mushrooms and the brunch seems to have more variety. Expect an elegant, multi-course meal in an intimate setting.

Pros: All vegan and gluten free , Family owned, Creative meals

Cons: Dinner options somewhat limited, Pricey, but worth it

obimoe

Points +421

Vegan
07 Jul 2022

Incredible

Amazing food. Most health-centered vegan restaurants are pretentious but this one is wonderful and the staff is so welcoming. The 'dillas, chowder, fried mushrooms, creme brulee were all fabulous

Pros: Gluten free, Good prices for the quality of food, Easy parking

KirstenLong

Points +30

Vegan
16 Apr 2022

Amazing fine dining vegan restaurant.

Loved the welcoming environment, exceptional service, amazing food and great ambience.

Pros: All vegan food, Excellent service, Amazing food

Cons: None

SBVeg

Points +24

Mostly Veg
26 Mar 2022

Don’t miss

Stopped here on our way to Savannah, GA and so glad we did. The Roasted Beet Salad was one of the best salads I’ve ever had. My husband had the Po Boy Dilla (sandwich in a fried tortilla shell) and it was delish. Thank you Sanctuary Bistro for an incredible lunch!

HollyJo

Points +287

Vegan
18 Mar 2022

So Yummy!!

Everything is so amazing and flavorful! I’ve never had something here that I did not like! I could probably drink the bleu cheese dressing lol

Pros: Gluten free, Unique Menu

Maggie.Kudrick

Points +66

Vegan
15 Mar 2022

3 Times in 24 Hours

Visited Charlotte a couple weeks ago and went to this same restaurant for the majority of the weekend. (Would've gone more, but they're closed on Sunday.)
By far, my favorite was the brunch menu. The dillas and waffles are beyond words! I also liked the oyster mushroom artisan plate and the broccoli soufflé.
Appreciate that everything is gf, so I didn't have to think about substituting at all.
Jennifer was lovely and amazed to see us again and again. The atmosphere is cozy and minimal.

scottnamo

Points +18

Vegan
13 Mar 2022

Awesome

One of the best restaurants in Charlotte. Just happens to be vegan. Food is outstanding, anyone will love it.




This page has been viewed 29107 times.