Lacto
Korean

Panchan (side dishes), soups, vegetable dishes, traditional music & dance. Vegan except for a lassi drink. Started by a former monk. In Insadong area, mid way between the two ends of Insadong St, in a small street in between Insadong 8-Gil and Insadong 6-Gil adjacent to Insadong-gil. 고풍스럽고 자연친화적인 인테리어가 특색있는 한옥 구조의 사찰음식 전문점입니다. 온돌방에서 식사가 가능하며, 식사로 한정식 코스요리가 제공됩니다. 저녁에는 한국 전통 음악과 춤 공연을 즐길 수 있습니다. 가격은 점심코스 33,000원, 저녁코스 45,000원 입니다(17년 3월 기준). Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-10:00pm.


Venue map for SanChon Korean Temple Cooking - 산촌 사찰음식전문점
© OpenStreetMap contributors

108 Reviews

First Review by veganqwert

HannahP96

Points +497

Vegan
26 Nov 2023

High-end, high concept temple food

We had a lovely experience and enjoyed the multiple course meal. The first few courses were like amuse-bouche (tiny, carefully prepared) and interesting. The main course had a huge variety of dishes. Highly recommend.

Pros: Innovative, Great variety, Nice ambience

Advertisement

shannen.veryperfect

Points +2022

Raw
30 Sep 2023

❤️❤️❤️

Es war unglaublich lecker und das Menü ist sehr zu empfehlen. Besonders der fermentierte Saft in Course 1 hatte es uns angetan 🥰

Vegan Victoria

Points +486

Vegan
24 Sep 2023

Amazing vegan spread

So many small bites of tasty vegan food freshly prepared and served in beautiful bowls. Very cool setting with artwork and live piano music by the owners father!

Pros: Vegan versions of traditional Korean food , Friendly service - good English , Cool setting in fun neighborhood

benni04

Points +26

Vegan
16 Aug 2023

My best experience in korea

Such an amazing experience, you will get an insight in korea food with explanations about the many portions.
Very friendly people with piano music and a traditional setting.

roosbij

Points +689

Vegan
20 Jul 2023

Authentic temple food

A set menu for 29.000 won per person. You get a lot of small dishes (banchan) after a few appetizers. Tea and water are included, as is a small desert. There was live piano music which was super nice. The waiter was very friendly and explained all the food to us. Only deducted a star because we had 4 dishes that were the same (spinach) and the rather high price. The flavours were authentic and the meal was filling though.

Pros: Traditional , Lots of things to try, Piano music

Cons: Expensive

AJKD

Points +16

Vegan
31 May 2023

Love this place!

Was only in Seoul 5 days but this place was on my list due to the great reviews. I went hungry because, from the pictures of others, it looks like a lot of food! I have no clue what half of the stuff was, but everything was delightful! I enjoyed the interesting flavors and how it was just enough of each dish to taste everything. Highly recommend!

clashdk

18 Jul 2023

I saw a vide of this place and it was 9 years old, so happy to see they are still around and you visited recently! Can't wait to try it.

camilavalgas

Points +28

Vegan
28 May 2023

Worst food of my life

We went to this restaurant with really high expectations. All the pictures of the food looked stunning, and we were very curious to try different dishes. However, the whole experience at this restaurant was absolutely awful. The first waiter who came to our table did not explain to us that there was just one fixed menu and said we had to already pay before eating anything. It was a bit odd and an unfriendly mood, but ok, we paid (29,000 won per person). We felt it was a bit expensive, but at this time we were still believing we would try some really nice food... Then the appetizers arrived and we were literally almost crying to eat. The most horrible food I have ever had. We had to force ourselves to eat because our real wish was to leave the restaurant (maybe that's why they demand people to pay in advance?). I'm shocked by the number of positive reviews from this restaurant because, for me, it felt like most of the food was not edible. Everything is really weird!!! The only normal things were the rice and a soup. In the end, a waiter brought the dessert (what a surprise, also not good), while we were still struggling to eat all the main dishes, so she just placed the dessert on top of all the main dishes because there wasn't more space at the table... without saying not even a word for us. I think I also have never seen such unfriendly staff. Weird vibe. We are traumatized by this restaurant!

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-28

Cons: AWFUL food, Expensive, Unfriendly staff

Heatha

Points +150

Vegan
25 May 2023

Excellent selection of banchan!

So happy to find a place to eat banchan in Seoul. It’s a set menu. No selection. Loved it!

Koalified.Person

Points +130

Herbivore
13 May 2023

Tempel Küche Erleben

Tempel Essen ist ein besonderes Erlebnis, hier bekommt man saisonale Zutaten und Gerichte, viele Beilagen und ein angenehmes Ambiente. Wir waren zum Abschluss unseres Urlaubs hier um meinen Bruder und seine Frau einzuladen, alle wurden satt, waren begeistert von dem guten Essen!

Pros: Gesundes, leckeres Essen, Reichlich, Für besondere Anlässe

Cons: Zeitdruck zwischen den Menüs (gefühlt)

wincoop

Points +474

Vegan
25 Apr 2023

Nice experience but…

Our first meal in Seoul.
As soon as you sit they start putting the food on the table from the menu of 29.000 won. The food is nice. Communication is hard. Between the main course and desert the owner (?) came to collect the money. All in all it was nice but somehow a off as well…

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-25

Pros: Nice food, The pine tea

Cons: Owner, Expensive

LiaSofia

Points +379

Herbivore
08 Mar 2023

Nice experience and many new flavours

I have never had temple food before so this was quite an interesting experience. Everything tasted really good - many of the dishes/veggies I could not even name, so there were quite a few new flavours involved.
Some of the dishes were very spicy, so to quote my friend, 'Beware of everything that is red in Korea' - at least for people whose taste buds are not accustomed to spicy foods.
All in all it was a very pleasant experince. Just the atmosphere felt a little off at times.

Pros: Many new plates to try

Cons: The atmosphere felt a bit off, A little expensive

이희정

Points +24

Vegan
14 Jan 2023

gorgeous but

This restaurant is absolutely attractive but too expensive and overrated. Plating and decorations are beautiful but the taste was not satisfied. #Veganuary

Pros: traditional Korean steamed vegetable dishes, lots of side dishes , gorgeous plating

Cons: Expensive , Not value for money, Served Cold, Overrated

schreibwild

Points +16

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

The food was okay but the experience the worst

On the upside the food was decent and we left full. However I never felt so unwelcomed in a restaurant ever.

My husband and I went there for dinner at 7 pm. The restaurant wasn't busy at all, so a reservation wasn't needed. Two tables with guest were occupied.

First we were ignored and after a few minutes an elderly man who was having dinner with his family greeted us and pointed to a table in the very back of the restaurant. Just as we took off our jackets a waiter hardly put down a teapot and two cups. Without even being asked, another waiter put down the appetizers.

Halfway through the first course we had to rearrange the food on other plates because additional plates were coming and the waiter wanted to take some empty ones. I asked him to slow down a little because we haven't finished the first appetizers. Only five minutes later the main course was squeezed on the table so mid-eating we had to rearrange our food again. In the meantime two other women sat down at a table next to us making the same experience while the waiter placed our dessert on a table close by. Right in the middle of the main course the dessert found its way on our table together with the bill.

Before we went there we were thinking of ordering soju but we were so rushed through the dinner we didn't have a chance to order anything else.

Again, although the food was decent, it was a terrible, catastrophic, unwelcoming visit of a restaurant without the great hospitality we experienced in other recommended restaurants in Seoul. We tried to give a waiter our feedback on our experience so they can improve but it seemed that they do not take constructive criticism.

Pros: The food was good.

Cons: Courses came at an extreme fast pace, We felt unwelcomed, Terrible dinner experience

Gilraen

Points +251

Vegan
26 Dec 2022

Beautiful food and experience

I had a wonderful time going here by myself, about 1 hr before any real evening rush starts. The atmosphere was peaceful, really beautiful venue. The food was stunning and delicious. Portion sizes were beyond generous and I couldn’t finish everything.

Will definitely be back the next time I’m in Seoul.

Pros: Beautiful atmosphere , Incredible presentation , Delicious food

Cons: Arguably too much food for 1 person

Mrs_Z

Points +228

Vegan
18 Oct 2022

Not for solo diners

Sadly I was turned away in a rather rude and unpleasant manner as I am travelling solo. While I have full understanding some restaurants prefer to have more than one person occupying a table, I would really have appreciated a kind and polite approach to letting me know.

Cons: Not for solo dining

SteveH

Points +17512

Vegan
12 Oct 2022

Decent if ignore past reputation

While I always knew SanChon was there I never went because it felt like a tourist place and the set lunch is quite large for 1 person. After reading a few reviews of people unhappy that it is "not as good as it used to be" I decided to go review it from a 1st timers perspective.

The layout is well decorated but additions to dining area dont match other areas. Felt a bit like an annex. Regardless, it was a nice dining space.

The food was only "ok", not great but nothing was bad. Honestly, expected more but that is the problem with expectations. If this was a no-name temple food inspired place I would give it 4 stars without hesitation. So I will give SanChon the same.

Service was fine... overall lunch felt like just another lunch. Nothing memorable but a solid vegan meal and I left full. Lunch set was 29,000

Updated: brought a big group here for dinner and the food and service were below average. Maybe just an off night for them but nobody in our group enjoyed the dinner.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-13

oceansidehs

Points +84

Vegan
06 Oct 2022

Hidden templecooking place

They have only 1 menu but this is really good. Should be fully vegan. Can only recommend it.

Pros: Vegan Menu

Cons: Lot of food and no flexibility

뚜안.杨

Points +643

Vegan
28 Sep 2022

Not for everyone, Good experience

Temple food is definitely lighter in taste. Presentation is beautiful and you will definitely visit the toilet well after such food.
I find it healthy and light. If you looking for savory food, this is not your place.
But if you are looking for a clean and healthy lunch or dinner. Here's the place for you.
Service is great too!!

krissysch

Points +1214

Vegetarian
28 Sep 2022

Nice experience

This was a really nice experience, since it was our first temple food and it was really exciting to try all the different dishes. You get a set menumade of 4 courses (2 starters, 1 main dish,1 dessert), Team and some alcoholic drink (not sure what it was, sorry). The interior is really nice and the food is arranged pretty nice, too. We weren't a fan of all food, but that's just our personal taste, the quality in general was really good. The women who brought the dishes were really nice, although they didn't speak english we felt very welcomed by them. The owner seemed to be a bit cold when showing us our table and walking around, which made the atmosphere a bit strange. The food itself is a lot, so come very hungry.

Pros: A lot of food

Cons: Not the best atmosphere

Fosefine

Points +98

Vegan
26 Sep 2022

Amazing food, you need to try it

This place was amazing. Located in a gallery, I was even lucky enough to listen to a pianist during my stay. The menu is fix, it’s a lot and worth the 29000WON. So many different dishes to try 🤩

Pros: Delicious food , Gallery vibe, Fix menu

NikoPW

Points +73

Vegan
22 Sep 2022

Enorme despliegue de comida

Si te lo puedes permitir, la verdad es una experiencia, con sabores que como persona occidental no estoy acostumbrado.

Es un menú cerrado de como 20 platos.

Pros: Cuando fui todo era vegano., Pruebas como 20 platos de una., El sitio.

Cons: Es bastante dinero, 29000W (Menú cerrado)

RiceRiot

Points +285

Vegetarian
21 Sep 2022

Sheeeesh

A multi course meal costs about 29.000 won per person. You get a lot of food to choose from and everything is vegan 👍👍👍
Really tastes like temple food, but I still prefer the original from the temple😋
The location is a little bit hidden but the venue is sooo nice, there were trees, birds, an art gallery and even a pianist haha
Very good experience, would go there again, although little bit pricey and premium.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-21

Pros: Big meal, Nice venue, Staff speaks English

Cons: 29.000 per meal

MioMauser

Points +364

Vegetarian
21 Sep 2022

definitely an experience

the atmosphere is reaally nice with lots of plants everywhere and during our meal someone started playing the piano! Most of the food was really good and unique, I especially loved the different drinks that come with each course. However, we just came back from a temple stay and I must say I loved the food there a lot more and also paid a lot less. The waiter was a bit rough, I wouldnt say rude but I would also not say friendly. All in all a memorable experience, but I think I will stick with temple food at actual temples !

Pros: big menu, nice atmosphere

Cons: expensive

MannatV

Points +526

Vegetarian
14 Sep 2022

Vegetarian friendly meal

This was my first time trying temple food. I imagined it being simple in taste but it was actually pretty delicious. They do mention using onion and garlic in their food but if you’re not a big fan they can remove it as well.

The menu is a set full course meal but I saw options for bibimbap (비빔밥) and another dish as well. If you go there with someone you have to order two sets. You cannot order one and split it. The staff speaks English.

My favorite dish had to be the pancake and this appetizer dish that was covered with a grass green seaweed looking thing (sorry I don’t know the name). The drinks were great as well. There were two kinds of tea (one for dessert and one for during the meal) and a fermented drink.

The ambiance is great and very calming. I would definitely want to go back here and try the other dishes. It looked like they were also going to open a cafe soon so I would definitely try that.

Neeeon

Points +335

Vegan
12 Sep 2022

Really interesting

It was very nice to be able to taste so many different types of dishes. There's a set menu, so no choices regarding the food, but the menu was more than enough and I think almost anyone would find dishes that they like within that menu. The plating was pleasing to the eye and the food tasted good, natural, and fresh. I liked most dishes, but some were maybe a bit too mild for my taste, since I like food with a lot of flavour and umami. Also, the waiters seemed a little bit rushed in bringing out the food, and seemed to be a bit flustered when we hadn't finished the first dishes within a certain time. It could've been us that misunderstood something, of course. It was really nice to be able to experience this type of food anyways. There was also live music being played on the piano, which felt luxurious to be able to enjoy while eating.

Pros: So different many dishes , Live music, Traditional food

Cons: A little bit rushed in the beginning

asdeshmukh

Points +59

Mostly Veg
29 Aug 2022

Nice ambiance

Set course, nice presentation. Meal arrives in a series of beautifully displayed courses. Very unique experience. Some items, especially the namul in the banchan dishes were ordinary. The fermented pine tea was special! Live piano music in the background

Pros: All vegetarian , Lots of small dishes , Reasonable price

Mari4

Points +898

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

One of the best meals I’ve had

Do not miss this place! I wish I could eat here every day.




This page has been viewed 51905 times.