Salud y Vida

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 9 reviews )

Find

Jr Leoniza y Lescano 632 (at Mariscal Caceres and Parque de la Aventura), Huaraz, Peru

Offers a large a la carte Peruvian food menu. Also sells a small amount of packaged foods like faux meats and cookies. Located just off of Mariscal Caceres, off the SouthEast corner of Parque de la Aventura. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-9:30pm. Closed Sun.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Peruvian

9 Reviews

First Review by PhilipEngland

BenniRo

Points +136

Vegetarian
15 Feb 2020

Very good VEGAN menu

Fair prices (8 soles) and a vegan menu!

Pros: Vegan options, 2 different main dishes

OnnaM

Points +70

Vegan
04 Feb 2020

Good food

The menu de dia is 8 soles and includes soup, main and a drink. The food is good.
Now the door opens easily, and stays open most of the time :)
Quick service.

Pros: Price, service, location

SerenJade

Points +186

Vegan
25 Jul 2019

Good cheap local spot

I arrived thinking it was closed, but went in as the door was open. I ordered the lunch, soup, small salad, main and camomile tea. I didn't have the dessert as it wasn't vegan. I paid 6 soles for this, very good price.

However the main was strangely sweet, the waitress served all the locals who arrived before me, even though I had arrived at least 10 minutes before them.

Great price and nice that it is a veggie place but not the best place I've eaten.

Pros: The price, nice local atmosphere

Advertisement

MarmiteHappy

Points +551

Vegan
11 Dec 2018

Delicious

We had the lunch menu. A large vegetable soup broth and side salad with rice and a choice of two bean dishes as a main and fruit salad for dessert. All delicious!

Pros: Great food , Cheap lunch, Nice venue

Olena

Points +277

Vegan
31 Mar 2018

Good and cheap)

For 8 sol you can have soup and segundo plate, tea and fruit salad or home made yoghurt to choose.

jollyjade

Points +97

Mostly Veg
21 Oct 2017

menu del dia 8 soles

Make sure you really push the door. We went here on 2 occasions, could not see anyone inside, tried the door and walked away thinking it was closed. The third time we realised the door was stiff and then returned many times. happy to have menu options and menu del dia for 8soles.
You receive a small salad, soup (3 choices for segundo) natural yogurt & herbal tea.
You can buy a litre of natural yogurt to take away, great way to get some probiotics back in my diet.
The food is quite basic, we like our food with a little spice.
Not a problem. For our whole time in South America we travel with small bag of dried chilli flakes and Himalayan or other un bleached salt. Adding a little spice and good quality salt to any dish really makes a difference.
We usually find we have to do this even in more expensive places to.

Pros: great price, full of locals

Cons: some mains a little plain

WimFeijen

Points +21

Mostly Veg
15 Aug 2017

long wait, poor food

The drinks were nice, the food was very slow to arrive.
Our spinach pasta would have profited from more vegetables and flavor (pesto).
The tofu and potatoes could use more baking. The tea was too much like water.

Antoniaaustralia

Points +86

Vegan
14 May 2017

Basic cheap Peruvian food

The lunch menu is cheap and filling.
Good to go and support local vegan/vegetarianism. Go Peru!
Again, not much to expect in terms of flavour but we were grateful places like this even existed in somewhere like Huaraz, home of the meaty dishes. If you are vegan, request this as it's not strictly vegan, it is vegetarian.

Pros: filling, cheap

Cons: basic flavours and sloppy mains

PhilipEngland

Points +42

Vegan
01 Jan 2015

Great Peruvian vegetarian food

The food here is very good. The menu is straightforward, soups, salads, main dishes mostly all revolving around soy steak with different additions, and a few different sides. My dish was rice and salad, plantains, soy steak with a nice sauce, on a bed of chips. The food is all pretty hearty, the mushroom soup I had was quite thick but great, And came with a delicious roll. This is the place to go in Huaraz for a fairly inexpensive meal that will definitely fill you up, and probably the only place in the city with vegan protein except dried soya at the supermarket, or the Cafe Andino which serves some tofu. The staff was very friendly, and the restaurant promotes healthy eating all over the interior. The place can also seat 40 so it is great for a party of vegetarians or vegans.

Pros: Large portions of great tasting food, Vegan protein!, Friendly, accommodating staff

Cons: Not the most diverse menu, Food was a little slow, but made w love

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Huaraz Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Salud y Vida closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2266 times.