• Saff's Cafe

  • (14)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Western
Take-out
Australian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe with some vegetarian and vegan dishes and has bonsoy milk. Open Mon-Sun 7:30am-4:00pm.


Venue map for Saff's Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by missfifilarou

vegan-vixen

Points +187

Vegan
04 Jan 2024

Delicious

I had the special which was a vegan okonomiyaki with pickled ginger and a delicious slaw. Tho there was only a few vegan items in the menu they all look quite yummy and there was also a vegan lumber jack cake.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-04

Advertisement

r8medusa

Points +344

Vegan
29 Dec 2022

Not bad for basic, well priced vegan options

Basic vegan breakfast and lunch options with no frills. Great coffee and reasonably priced. Don’t expect anything flash though.

Pros: Great coffee, Cool deco, Friendly staff

Cons: Only two vegan options

fizzell

Points +24

Vegan
08 Mar 2021

Vegan all day breakfast on the menu

Great breakfast. Rosti was delicious.

Vix333

Points +768

Vegan
03 Mar 2021

Not really vegan friendly

Only 2 vegan items, a vegan breakfast or museli. No vegan lunch items and no vegan cakes.

I ended up just having a coffee!

Pros: There is a vegan breakfast

Cons: No lunch , No cakes, Not enough options

LizSwinton

Points +131

Vegan
02 Nov 2020

Great vegan brekky - come with your appetite

Huge vegan breakfast on a large potato rosti (no toast which I think is a bonus). Great smoky baked beans, huge portabello mushroom, avocado, grilled tomato and a flavoursome dukkah fill the plate.

Pros: Outdoor seating in the shade, Lovely coffee, Good table service

Cons: Limited vegan options

TK1

Points +20

Vegan
13 Oct 2020

FANTASTIC MEAL

Whilst there are limited vegan options, the vegan breakfast which is available all day is spectacular, left very satisfied!

Pros: Friendly Staff, Nice vibes, Aesthetic Cafe

ebruce827

Points +16

Vegan
06 Jul 2020

Disappointed

Went out for lunch and was hopeful that there would be an option to cater for vegans. They do offer a vegan breakfast however nothing on the lunch menu. Was met with unhelpful staff and no flexibility to change menu items to cater - e.g. take out meat/dairy items from a burger and add in a mushroom/tomato. Ended up with a bowl of fries. Wish I had of asked before I went in!

Pros: Vegan breakfast looked like it would be enjoyable

Cons: No vegan lunch, Can’t change lunch items to cater, Rude staff

NDVegan

Points +6140

Vegan
03 Feb 2020

Need more vegan options

Breakfast needs to come with toast! Instead it comes with crunchy and oily hashbrowns which arent good. Chai is not strong they need to brew it properly.

Cons: Pricey and could be better

Paramed007

Points +66

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Pretty good

I had the big vegan breakfast (for lunch) and it was awesome! Very friendly staff member recommended it and it was worth it 👍

Pros: Friendly staff, Good food

Cons: Non that I experienced

Foodie12345

Points +27

Mostly Veg
18 Oct 2019

So yum!

Cute little cafe located in the town centre of Castlemaine. I had the Bircher Musli for breakie, which was awesomely delicious. Huge recommendation!

Pros: Cozy arhmosphere

Cons: Just a few vegan options

andibrand

Points +108

Vegan
08 Apr 2018

Not many vegan options

Sadly this restaurant no longer serves the vegan burger and had no vegan cakes. However, I had the vegan breakfast which was brilliant. Highly recommended. Service was OK. Typically unfriendly Australian service. I wonder if it's because salaries are so high in Oz that there are never enough staff in restaurants and they are therefore overworked?

Tiggy

28 Sep 2018

No that’s not the reason .

https://facebook.com/HospoVoice/

Aloo

Points +6624

Vegan
02 Apr 2018

Popular cafe

We enjoyed a pleasant experience at Saff's recently. It was a long weekend and the place was absolutely packed, so we had to wait for a couple of extra chairs. But it was no problem, staff were happy and helpful although they were clearly very busy. We sat outside and enjoyed people and dog watching.
The veggie burger on the menu was crossed out, There were a couple of other vegan options on the menu, but I really felt like the burger so I asked what else they could suggest. They advised that the chickpea and rice pattie (of the burger option) is being phased out, but they will be offering mushroom burgers instead, with beetroot, goats cheese, beetroot chutney and lettuce. Obviously, I asked for the vegan option of this.
It was OK. Too much beetroot (including beetroot chutney) and it had rocket instead of lettuce. The mushrooms were tenderly cooked but a little bland. Overall, a little uninspired and too sweet for my tastes.
In a region where options are limited, I would still suggest trying Saff's. The veggie breakfast looks great, and they seem only to happy to cater for vegans.

BrisVegan

Points +20

Vegan
21 Mar 2018

Great atmosphere with vegan options

Had the vegan big breakfast with great coffee. Prompt efficient service in a friendly environment- popular spot in town on a Wed morning. Vegan chickpea burger option for lunch on the menu also.

Pros: Clean, modern, friendly.

missfifilarou

Points +42

Vegan
12 Nov 2017

yummy food

Saffs cafe is great they have a quite a few vegan and vego options on the menu and there happy to cater to your needs there happy to let you know what is vegan or not however on the menu it will have written if it’s vegan on not. To top it of the staff are really lovely and make great coffee. They use bonsoy which is great !!!!

Pros: good options, friendly staff , use bonsoy




This page has been viewed 6923 times.