Safari

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 14 reviews )

Serves meat, vegan options available. East African cuisine serving spiced vegetable, potato, and lentil dishes. Here 3 starters can be served vegan, and 5 main dishes are vegan suitable which can be combined into platters for 2 to 4 persons.
Note November 2021: Some regions in Germany, such as Bavaria and Saxony, may limit restaurant hours (call ahead). Indoor dining is only possible with proof of vaccination/recent recovery from Covid-19. Takeaway is available for anyone. Call ahead as availability, hours, and rules may vary. Open Tue-Thu 17:00-23:00, Fri-Sun 16:00-00:00. Closed Mon.

Categories: Beer/Wine, African, Eritrean, Ethiopian, Non-veg

14 Reviews

First Review by happyowl

caroshs

Points +28

Vegan
23 Nov 2021

Sehr gut

Authentisches Restaurant, gemütliche Atmosphäre und sehr leckeres Essen. Auch eine vegane Platte mit verschiedenen Gerichten für eine Person oder auch für mehrere Personen zum teilen möglich. Es gibt vegane Vorspeisen und auch eine leckere vegane Nachspeise aus schwarzem Reis auf Mango.

Pros: Viele vegane Optionen, Extra als vegan gekennzeichnet

BenediktK.

Points +53

Vegan
05 Nov 2021

Unique, healthy and very tasty

The restaurant has a cosy and exotic atmosphere and offers multiple nice vegan dishes and drinks (e.g. african beer) you won't find elsewhere in KL. Many dishes include legumes such as lentils and chickpeas and are served together with flatbread (injera).The employees are really friendly.

holyhell

Points +20

Vegan
21 Oct 2020

Good food friendly staff

Nothing more to say about 6 different vegan dishes and more veggie dishes.

Advertisement

Om_Devi_

Points +66

Vegan
21 Sep 2020

Nice people and delicious food!

There are some vegan options and they are delicious! ☺️ The food had a good flavor and nice spices!

Pros: Vegan plates available

Cupi

Points +21

Vegetarian
28 Dec 2019

Gemütlich, zwanglos & viele vegetarische & vegane Optionen

Ich war zum ersten mal hier und positiv überrascht, dass fast 50% der Karte fleischlos ist: Linsen-, Kichererbsen-, Gemüse- & Couscousgerichte. Die "Asmara Veggie" Platte enthielt ca. 4 bis 5 verschiedene vegetarische Gerichte von denen (sollte ich keine Zutat übersehen haben) auch tatsächlich alle vegan waren, dazu klassisch das dünne, gerollte Injera Brot. Gegessen wird mit den Händen, was die Stimmung am Tisch massiv auflockert 🖐🏼 Ich werde wieder kommen!

Pros: Super Preis/Leistung . Lockere Atmosphäre

RAKA

Points +48

Vegan
09 Nov 2019

Hot fire

Just that, hot fire. It's delicious and I always leave full.

Pros: Vegan option , Vegan options that dont suck, Price

Cons: Hard to get reservations

AnneliesDc

Points +95

Vegan
16 Aug 2019

Nice experience

I have been there numerous times and each time the food was very good and the staff friendly. We normally take the big platters to share which are a cool experience because you eat with your hands 🙈👍🏻 They also serve great fruits beers served in coconut shells 👌🏻

Pros: Vegan menu available or adaptable

Mrsalexander89

Points +131

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

Vegan options!

This was a cool experience and they have a very vegan friendly menu. I went with an Ethiopian friend and she said it is quite like her home. I also highly recommend their mango beer that is served in a cute little bowl. Don’t forget to make a reservation

Pros: Vegan friendly menu

BrinaBrina

Points +42

Vegan
21 Jan 2019

Super tasty and accommodating

Reservation is required as the restaurant is pretty hyped! You won't regret to try this place out, many vegetarian and vegan options available. I always ordered a plate with a selection of basically all their vegan options. Good portion sizes as well. Try out their fruity beer, it tastes amazing! Especially banana and mango beer. The staff is very friendly as well. Cannot recommend this enough if you want to give East African cuisine a try!

Pros: Vegan options, helpful staff

Shane_TK

Points +13

Mostly Veg
14 Jul 2017

Jesus told me to go here

Favorite in the area. Great options pretty great prices as well

ohdanigirl

Points +22

Vegan
25 Jun 2017

some of the best vegan food in the area!

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Kaiserslautern, the vegan platter is huge and SO flavorful. We come here a few times a month just because we love the food so much. Authentic Eritrean/Ethiopian cuisine at an affordable price! It's actually better than the Ethiopian food we had in South Africa. Make sure you have a reservation as it's almost always fully booked!

Pros: vegan options, affordable prices, big portions

Cons: limited parking, always requires reservation in advance

Damchozangmo

Points +206

Vegan
15 Apr 2017

For us just ok

For me the food there is not very outstanding, I can't get the hype around it.

Das Safari ist in Kaiserslautern ziemlich beliebt, wobei mein Mann und ich das einfach nicht verstehen können.
Es gibt viele wesentlich bessere Afrikaner und lieber ich koche mir selbst zu Hause was und muss dann kein Geld dafür ausgeben.
Ich bin halt jemand, der nur essen geht, wenn das Essen in dem Restaurant besser ist, als die eigenen Kochkünste (oder es geht nicht anders).
Fazit: Man kann dort auf jeden Fall essen gehen, mich haut es allerdings nicht vom Hocker.

Pros: Preiswert

Cons: Für Reservierungen schlecht zu erreichen, Ambiente nicht schön

th43026

Points +53

Vegan
29 Mar 2017

Wonderful addition to Kaiserslautern

Delicious food and very kind and helpful staff. They made special provisions for my small child (separate food not on the menu-rice and some beans without much sauce or spice).

Pros: great food, great service

happyowl

Points +2000

Vegan
13 Aug 2016

Delicious and relaxed

We came here to try something different and were pleasantly surprised. There is a very relaxed atmosphere, you eat with your hands and drink beer from a bowl. There is a special vegetarian/vegan menu with several options. We tried two of them and both were delicious. The staff was easy-going, relaxed and quick. Would definitely recommend! Because of Happy Cow's policy we can only give 4 stars, but they deserve 5.

Pros: Good atmosphere, Unique, fun, Good food

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kaiserslautern Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Safari closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1938 times.