• Sabores do Curral

  • (7)
    12
    Loading...
  • Coffee-tea Coffee & Tea
Lacto

Cafe offering soy milk for coffee. Open Tue-Thu 10:00-18:00, Fri-Sat 10:00-22:00, Sun 10:00-18:00. Closed Mon. Kitchen closes an hour before restaurant.


Venue map for Sabores do Curral
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by ChristinaPötzi

Hedera

Points +479

Vegan
05 Jan 2024

Something different!

Not the usual pasta, but some more inventive vegan dishes such as a red lentil wrap and a tofu skewer with chestnut puree. We also loved the chestnut soup! Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about what was vegan.

Pros: Not the usual pasta dishes, Local vegan dish, Amazing view from the terrace

Advertisement

SarahCoppes

Points +120

Vegan
05 Nov 2023

Good food, friendly staff

Have a vegetarian section on the menu which I think is vegan. 3 dishes: tofu with chestnut cream, lasagne with spinach and lentil crepes.
But the chestnut salad is also vegan and very good!

They do have soy milk
No vegan pastry or desert
Staff is friendly and knows what vegan means

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable staff, Have vegan option in traditional style, Chestnut shaped menu

Cons: No desert or pastry, Relatively expensive compared to local places

JelteB

Points +17

Vegetarian
31 May 2023

Great food and nice views

The food was very nice. We tried all 3 vegetarian options and liked them all. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The view is amazing. Sitting outside is also lovely. The restaurant is quite fancy, but it is also possible to eat there after a hike. Would definitely recommend!

Pros: Vegetarian options

Cons: Nothing

RuiAlmas

Points +22

Vegan
02 Jun 2022

Curral Saboroso

Surpresa agradável no Interior da ilha da Madeira!

Pros: Excelentes opções vegetarianas , Amigos dos animais , Simpatia e eficiência

Cons: Custo médio , Acesso sinuoso

FloV

Points +148

Vegan
18 Nov 2021

More than just chestnuts

At first, the staff wasn't really aware of the 'vegan' concept, but after explaining and checking with the kitchen, they could tell us the options. Most of the vegetarian dishes are vegan. We took the tofu with chestnut puree. The chestnut puree is the same as the chestnut cream on the menu, but doesn't contain any 'cream' or butter at all. It was very tasty and quite a lot as lunch! It came with some cooked vegetables and soy sauce.

You can get your coffee with soy milk, but I wasn't such a fan of the taste. Besides, very good options to taste the local specialities and get good vegan food in this remote village.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-18

Pros: Tasty local food, Good vegan option in remote area

Cons: They serve a lot of meat , Coffee not great

tanjadieschulerin

Points +65

Vegan
08 Jun 2021

best tofu ever

They have a handfull of vegetarian dishes most of which can be made vegan. We went there for lunch and had the chestnut salad, tofu with vegetables and sweetpotatoe. My boyfriend who usually dislikes tofu said it was the best tofu he has ever tastes. The view is also very nice and the staff incredibly kind. Would 100% recommend visiting!

ChristinaPötzi

Points +149

Vegan
23 Nov 2020

freundlicher, zuvorkommender Service - bietet vegane Maronisuppe :-)

Wir sind nach einer Wanderung dort gelandet und haben uns sehr über die vegane Sojalatte gefreut, dass wir auch am nächsten Tag nochmals dorthin sind.
Schaut euch gerne ihre Facebookseite an - sie bieten jetzt auch eine vegane Maronisuppe an - die Spezialität des Nonnentales! Einen Besuch wert!




This page has been viewed 1206 times.