Lacto
Indian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian menu with a vegetarian section on the menu. Flavorful food. Open Tue-Sun 12:00-15:00, 18:00-23:00.


Venue map for Sabor da India
© OpenStreetMap contributors

49 Reviews

First Review by FarfarStefan

ajkelkar

Points +82

Vegan
13 Dec 2023

Great vegan food

They fully understand what vegan means. I had the tandoori roti with vegetable kofte which was vegan on request

Advertisement

Andyrio

Points +24

Vegan
22 Oct 2023

Bester Inder!

Absolut empfehlenswert! Für mich der beste Inder wo ich jemals war! Sehr viele vegane Optionen!

Jaywood000

Points +141

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

Excellent options

Nice spot, and attentive staff. Lots of vegan options - including curries, starters and sides(note the only vegan bread is the roti). Further note: the owner may show you a 'trick' with mixing two sauces together, which was a little odd. We had aloo tikki and pakoras, and then roti, mushroom rice (Make sure to specify vegan), Kofta and an Aubergine dish - all really nice (but very Filling!)

BigSixBass

Points +359

Vegan
11 Apr 2023

Super vegan friendly Indian

Went twice in a week...great atmosphere, friendly vibes all round, and no problems discussing and picking vegan options with the staff. Very tasty too.

robinlefleur

Points +740

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Good food, many options

The staff was very friendly and the food was nice. They have a whole page of vegetarian dishes which the most of caj be made vegan

Pros: Many vegan options

alanvegan

Points +20

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Good food ; good people

Lots of recommendations from Happy Cow which are all well founded👍

Pros: Lots of veg options , Not expensive

DavidS184

Points +88

Vegan
21 Jan 2023

Great good & Very vegan-friendly

Staff are very service oriented toward vegans and were very helpful in assisting me in picking vegan menu items, of which there are several.

Great food! Very popular, so reservations are recommended.

Pros: Great food , Vegan friendly staff

kallitheplantguy

Points +50

Vegan
23 Oct 2022

Yummy!!!

Many vegan/vegetarian options. Great staff and good location. Recommend Chala Massalla. And awesome bread.😄

Chrischel1811

Points +44

Vegan
30 Sep 2022

Best service, vegan friendly

The service was the best we have seen in Madeira: authentically friendly and very kind and fast - they recognized what we needed fast and gave us some tipps which food we can eat/share together. We told them that we are vegan and orderded some vegetable food - which was made extra vegan for us. ☺️

We have eaten this delicous meals in a few days - every meal was very tasty and full of flavour. There was nothing to complain.

- vegetable samosas (potatoes were in it)
- Palak Soup (spinach)
- Daal soup (lentils)
- Papadams (order it! The sauces and chutneys are Huge and tasty - hot and sweet)
- Daal Saag (lentils with spinach in a curry sauce)
- Aloo Gobi (potatoes and cauliflowers in a curry sauce)
- Malai kofta (vegetable balls with tomato sauce)
- Rothi (vegan full grain flour bread - perfect to share and enjoy with chutneys and the rests at your plate ;))

Value for money is surprisingly good! The prices are really affordable, so we could eat starters, side dishes and Main menues and were totally happy. We also liked the nice athmosphere there. Visit this Indian Restaurant, you will enjoy it.

MonaRu

Points +26

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

High recommendation

Very many vegetarian dishes can be veganized. The staff is very friendly and gave me great advice. The food was awesome, definitely try the koftas in vegan! Even the bread can be served vegan.

SusannaAbreu

Points +127

Mostly Veg
02 Jul 2022

5 stars actually

Excellent Indian food. Used to come here regularly when working in Madeira. Always satisfied and the service is very nice.

Charlotte_22

Points +88

Vegan
28 Jun 2022

Highly recommend

I love and miss a good Indian so when we found this place we had to visit and it did not disappoint!
The staff are very welcoming and lovely to talk to. The waitress talked us through the restaurant and what they can make vegan (most of the menu). It taste like heaven.
I recommend the vegetable koftas in a korma sauce (made vegan). If your like me and over order you can take the left overs for the next day !!

Pros: Well priced , Good options , Great portions

Cons: No free popadoms😉

Glenn_93

Points +46

Vegan
28 Jun 2022

Great place with helpful staff!

Large amount of choice of menu of things that can be adjusted and made vegan if they are not already. Staff attentive, polite and knowledgeable on making things vegan. Definitely worth a visit!

Pros: Helpful staff willing to help , Reasonably priced , Very good quality food

oliveoil22

Points +16

Vegan
18 Jun 2022

Best meal of the holiday in Madeira!

Very tasty vegan options would defo recommend - took the leftovers away for lunch the next day :)

Pros: Lots of vegan options (in the vegetarian section), Friendly staff , Staff and chefs knew what vegan meant

Caro0191

Points +24

Vegan
13 May 2022

Lovely meal

Very welcoming, lots of choice- most dishes can be veganised off vegetarian menu, attentive staff, good service, ample portions, tasty and reasonably priced. Would recommend.

Pros: Service and friendly staff, Tasy food, Good value

Ards

Points +168

Vegan
04 Apr 2022

Deserves 5☆

Staff were really helpful when answering about vegan options.

Food had a good flavour, spicy but could of been hotter.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Good flavour , Good value for money

hejkeule

Points +29

Vegetarian
30 Oct 2021

Wenn ich könnte, würde ich 5 Sterne geben

Super lecker, wir wurden beim Bestellen schon gefragt ob wir vegan seien und es gibt eine lange Liste an vegetarischen Gerichten. Unsere Bedienung sagte uns, es wären sehr viele deutsche bei ihm zu Gast, welche vegetarisch oder vegan bestellen. Hat uns ein bisschen glücklich gemacht😄das Essen war sehr authentisch und extrem lecker. Wollten eigentlich anschließend noch an der Promenade spazieren gehen, war aber aufgrund von Überfüllung im Magen nicht mehr möglich :D

Pros: Karte sogar auf deutsch, Günstig, Suuuper lecker

Amyyyyy

Points +2126

Vegan
20 Oct 2021

Vegan

Very good vegetarian/vegan menu. Staff were very friendly

Pros: Inexpensive , Good value for money

DebbieH

Points +16

Vegan
29 Aug 2021

Delicious food, very Vegan friendly

Delicious food, extensive vegetarian menu, warm welcome from friendly staff and knowledgeable (about vegan food) owner. Good value, will certainly return on next visit to Madeira.

Pros: Delicious food, Good value, Friendly and knowledgeable staff

Nikolate

Points +2293

Vegan
23 May 2021

Best veg food in Funchal

Really 5 stars! Amazingly good Indian food. We already went twice and will go another time for dinner. Service is great and very friendly. I am glad they did survived the covid situation. They deserve every visit and order. Vegetable corma, dal tarka, chana massala... Perfect. WE have been in other Indian places in Funchal but this one is best by far. :)

Pros: variety of dips for food, nice service with goodbye glass of Porto wine

Cons: non

DiPugh

Points +152

Vegan
26 Nov 2020

Extensive veggie/vegan menu options

Lots to choose from if you’re veggie, they even put the veggie options before the others. If you’re vegan just let them know, extremely helpful and will tweak to suit.
Staff and owner very friendly and kind.
Oh, and the food is really good!

Pros: Good food and good value, Relaxed dining, Friendly and helpful

Vitorhcv

Points +16

Non Veg
03 Feb 2020

Friends Dinner

It was supposed to be just a friends reunion for a nice vegan based meal, but rapidly we felt more like we were all family, due to the tasty food but nonetheless because of Teresa who was serving us most of the time and made this dinner a great gathering and a lot of laughs were spent due to her friendly and warm attitude.

Thanks for the evening.

Will be back.

Pros: Lots of vegan options. , Good ambience.

Rallemus

Points +47

Vegan
18 Jan 2020

Deserves 5 stars

If you like Indian food you will not be disappointed. We had the menu 1 containing starter, main dish, dessert, coffee/tea and a liceour at the end. Very tasty and balanced with a lot of small dips and chutneys. Definitely value for money.
The menu May not be vegan, but only vegetarian.

Pros: Food was delicious, Affordable, Lot of food

Cons: Slow service at time (but good service)

EvelineB

Points +28

Vegan
12 Dec 2019

Good food, friendly staff

Vegetarian menu (and meat en fish) enough of it is vegan. Staff knows the different between vegan and vegetarian. Really good food. Friendly staff.

Pros: Enough vegan options.

SiMa

Points +245

Vegan
29 Nov 2019

Knowledgable staff

There are a ton of vegetarian options in the menu, of which only a few options were not vegan. Super tasty food and fantastic service.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Reasonably priced, Great service

VeggiSteffi

Points +176

Vegan
19 Nov 2019

Perfekter Service, köstlichstes Essen!

Der Service allein wäre schon 5* wert; sehr zuvorkommend und freundlich, haben uns alle VEGANEN Optionen erklärt, Abschied mit Handschlag und der Chef entschuldigte sich noch mal persönlich, dass das Gericht versehentlich zuerst nur vegetarisch war. Doch es dauerte nicht lang, da kam das Gericht in vegan👍🏻
Das Essen war sehr aromatisch u toll gewürzt, es gab einige Kleinigkeiten als Gruß des Hauses u zum Abschluss konnte man sich zwischen mehreren Kurzgetränken für einen entscheiden. 😋🤤
Die Atmosphäre ist sehr angenehm, samt gedimmten Licht, WC ist sauber.

Tipp: Wer Koriander nicht so gern mag, sollte das vorher sagen, denn der wird gern in kleinen Fitzel überall drüber gestreut.

Pros: Viele vegane Optionen! Preislich zwischen € - €€€

Cons: Keine.

Blossom2019

Points +106

Vegan
25 Sep 2019

Amazing!!!! A must go!

Absolutely amazing in customer service and food. My partner has a severe nut allergy, and along with me being vegan eating out can be a pain but it couldn’t have been easier here. The owner came out and put us at ease and advised us. We want to eat here every night of our holiday.

Pros: Lots of vegan options and very accommodating , Really good for allergies , Amazing food




This page has been viewed 7966 times.