• Cafe Sabor Cruceño

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
International
Mexican
Spanish
Latin
Guatemalan
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Rooftop restaurant located in the CECAP building overlooking lake Atitlán. Menu includes several vegan choices such as the traditional Guatemalan dishes pepián and tayuyos. Meat can be replaced with tofu or beans, as specified on the menu. Staff is knowledgeable about veganism and can suggest dishes with vegan modifications. Smoothies and traditional drinks such as Horchata are also available. Also serving dinners on Fridays, December through April. Non-profit run by the graduates of the CECAP Vocational School Culinary Program. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-5:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Cafe Sabor Cruceño
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by DJWLaan

Casalita

Points +96

Vegan
23 Jan 2024

Ran out of tofu

I love this place and would come back but my meal was disappointing. I ordered one of the curries but they were out of tofu. It is not their fault, I understand there isn’t an endless supply of resources but my meal was just a small amount of broccoli, mushrooms, green beans, and a little rice in a lot of sauce. It was good but I left hungry😒

However the view makes up for it, the store downstairs has beautiful handmade products which I am excited to bring home, and it’s a great mission.

I took the advice of another review to take the TukTuk up the big hill and I’m so glad I did.

Only 3 stars just bc I have to rate based on my entree.

Pros: Great mission, Great views, Friendly

Cons: Limited supply of tofu

Advertisement

ixeldog

Points +276

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Great view and food

Loved finding this place. Way up the huge hill in the heart of Santa Cruz, with an amazing view overlooking the lake from on high, and tofu and vegan options, I loved this place. They even have good wifi (Starlink) and good cell reception. I saw a couple people doing work, and could easily see me joining them 🤓

Pros: Amazing elevated view of the lake, Great food, and tofu, Good WiFi

Cons: Definitely take a tuk tuk up the huge hill

jow

Points +184

Vegan
20 Dec 2022

Help the local community

An amazing scheme set up to train locals in cooking and to give them space and a shop to sell their wonderful handicrafts.

Pros: Phenomenal view over lake, Very reasonable , Great wine 🍷

Cons: Absolutely none!

Alyannkar

Points +1163

Vegan
21 May 2022

Incredible experience supporting the local community.

This restaurant, hands down, has the best view of the lake from any restaurant I have visited all throughout Lake Atitlan. The view and the food both make this space so so special. The food was so great the first time I visited, that I came a few more times while staying 3/4 mile away. The store on the first floor of the restaurant is also incredible. The local community creates beautiful weavings. I bought several things from the shop and treasure them :]

AlizabethAshlee

Points +631

Vegan
07 Mar 2022

Authentic deliousness!

We got both the local curries with tofu and horchata, which were all delicious. The tacos are great, and they can make the eggplant sandwich vegan - sub cheese for avo and the bread for tortillas. Great views and love that proceeds serve the community as well! We also did the cooking class they offer and it can't be missed!!!

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-02

KiwiLimette

Points +1245

Vegan
28 Feb 2022

Soooo good with stunning view

I had the Pepian with Tofu which was really delicious. The staff was super friendly and the view is simply stunning! It also is relatively cheap and the quality seems very high.

MikeShaw

Points +36

Vegan
15 Jan 2022

Simple, authentic food

Lovely authentic menu with Guatemalan dishes - many of which have been altered to be veggie or vegan. Great view overlooking the Lake and in a very quiet Santa Cruz.

DJWLaan

Points +93

Vegan
16 Mar 2019

Great, local vegan food

Awesome location overlooking the lake. Staff were very friendly and suggested how to make things vegan. The menu has several vegan options.
The food was very good and good portions. Traditional Guatemalan dishes. The best we've had anywhere around the lake.

Pros: A lot of traditional vegan options , Great location, Good prices & portions




This page has been viewed 967 times.