Vegan
Organic
Juice bar
European
Slovakian

Vegan restaurant opened 2018 in Peace Square (Mierové Námestie). Serves soups, salads, burritos, juices, and desserts. Menu changes frequently. Open Mon-Fri 11:00-15:30. Closed Sat-Sun.


Venue map for Roots
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by Nataliele

JoseManuelChustBal

Points +42

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

Good place

A better hint of being in a flat would be the business, because I saw barely signs and the entrance to the building is narrow.

Pros: they main daily menu, home-made bread (maybe gluten free? even), Located in a flat, more relaxing

Cons: not much variety of dishes, hard to find, not hints to say it's a flat

Advertisement

MatejChochlík

Points +1486

Vegan
18 Sep 2020

Couldn't root for Roots, sadly.

I genuinely don't like to score fully vegan restaurants this low. Same as other vegans I believe, I tend to root and sometimes forgive some things simply because the business is fully vegan and I am confident that it should be rewarded. However, this time I could not root for Roots 😒
Of course, there are positives to begin with. The place is minimalistic but very cozy with super friendly stuff, and has great prices considering that they are located in the historic city center.
However, during our visit nothing else seemed to align the way it should. We came around 1 p.m. and were not in the mood for the lunch menu so wanted to order something from the regular menu. After ordering the burger, we were told they ran out of the buns. They did offer to make it as a sandwich for us so we went for it. Afterwards we were told that since it's the regular and not lunch menu we will have to wait (there was only one other table at the time).
Homemade lemonade had undissolved sugar (quite a lot of it), and water with ice had small unidentified particles in it - possibly the glass/form to make the ice was not properly cleaned? Sweet potato 'fries' were either not fried but baked, or under-fried, and they forgot one of the sauces we ordered. Overall, the entire presentation appeared very 'amateuristic' as if they had just opened the business and were fine-tuning everything.
As mentioned in the begging, a lot of this could have been overlooked (everyone can have an off-day) if the food was amazing, but unfortunately, that was also not the case and while it was o.k., it was hardly something to write home about. In fact, few days later I have trouble remembering anything specific about the food, except that 'meatball' sandwich was a nice idea but for some reason was super dry.
We'll definitely give them another chance next time we are around simply because we want them to be good just as any other vegan restaurant, but rating higher now will simply not be honest. I honestly wish that they'll prove us wrong 😉

Pros: Nice place, good location. , Friendly staff.

Cons: Average food., Not memorable. , No kids area.

SiestaZávodská

Points +40

Vegan
19 May 2020

Best vegan option in Trenčín

I highly recommend this place. I ´ve visited Roots many times and meals were always tasty and everytime I received also fruit as a snack. I ordered cakes and sweets during Easter and it was heavenly good.

elenahs

Points +693

Vegan
16 Dec 2019

Vegan food in Trenčín

I wasn't expecting to find a vegan restaurant in Trenčín, so when I saw this on HappyCow I obviously had to try it on my trip there. It is a nice place which serves a daily menu as well as some permanent dishes. We tried the daily menu and one of their homemade lemonades, everything was great. I will definitely eat here again if I go back to Trenčín.

tomjorss

Points +13

Vegetarian
18 Nov 2019

God bless every veg meal in Slovakia.

Simple. Tasty. Cheap. Nice. Hard to find :-).

Janka6

Points +21

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

Awesome restaurant in the heart of Trenčín

Delicious chickpeas-peas burger and kuskus with vegetables. Very kind stuff.

thomasvanwageningen

Points +30

Vegan
25 Aug 2019

Great lunch place

I wasn't expecting Trencin to have a veg restaurant, glad Happy Cow showed me they did. I had two of there wraps for lunch, the Mediterranean and the spicy quinoa. The first was absolutely delicious (great pesto flavor!) while the second was a little bland (ironically). My sister had the mushroom tacos and one of the lemonades, both also really yummy.

It has a really great vibe, lot's of plants and simple with lot's of concrete and wood features.

teatjeckisk

Points +130

Vegan
10 Aug 2019

Visiting restaurant was such a nice surprise

Restaurant is located in the city center so it's excellently accessible but it's still quite cheap which is great. The atmosphere of the place is amazing-it's super cozy and full of many cute details-and the staff is really nice. The food is good and healthy and in daily offer appear many interesting meals. To sum up, I really enjoyed my visit there!

Pros: Prices, location, atmosphere, nice staff and food

Cons: None

Resurek

Points +122

Vegan
30 Dec 2018

The Only one in town

Good food, cozy sitting, very nice people working there😄

Pros: Cozy sitting, Cool menu, Free appetizer

Nataliele

Points +58

Vegan
01 Jul 2018

Very satisfied!

I’m glad there’s finally a place to go to eat for lonely vegans in this little town. I was nicely surprised, the inside is very nice and cozy. Food was really delicious I had the rainbow sandwich which was yummy and full of healthy veggies and I also tried their banana-chocolate cake (they have different types every day). Also my non-vegan friend really enjoyed it too. It was simply amazing. I will definitely be visiting this place as much as I can!

Pros: yummy food, daily menu, stable offer, nice staff, free stickers

vegan.goddammit

Points +929

Vegetarian
07 Apr 2018

Very tasty food

The food was really tasty and it came with a lot of vegetables. While waiting for a meal we we offered a free snack (fruit and veggie sticks). The interior is new and modern.




This page has been viewed 3885 times.