Vegan
Japanese
Organic
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Fusion
Gluten-free

Contemporary vegan restaurant featuring plant-based Japanese and Asian fusion cuisines since 2018. Menu offers a variety of vegan sushi rolls as well as noodles and bowls, and sides like gyoza, spring rolls, edamame, and cauliflower "popcorn" with dip. Dessert selection includes cakes and brownies with ice cream. Fine dining atmosphere. Make a reservation via website. Open Mon-Sun 18:00-00:00. Check website for holiday opening hours. Kitchen closes 10:30pm Sun-Thur. Fri & Sat 11pm.


Venue map for Roots & Rolls
© OpenStreetMap contributors

Featured Review

Lucía.

Points +3239

Vegan
16 Jan 2024

Tremendous

Roots & Rolls is perfect for a delectable dinner experience in a beautiful and cozy setting. The menu is creative and versatile. Everything is presented as pretty as a picture and tastes even better. Our highlight were the baos, which were a pleasant flavour explosion with the perfect point of spice. We also loved the kinoko, hip carroots and say cheese sushi. Being still hungry, we also ordered the "popcorn", which was my least favourite dish, but still tasty. We finished with the deconstructed lemon tart and found pleasure in the well-balanced flavour/texture pairing of yuzu, lemon, vanilla and mint/sorbet, cream and cake. #Veganuary

Roots&Rolls

07 Feb 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review, we really appreciate it! Hope to see you soon again!

Lucía.

07 Feb 2024

365 Reviews

First Review by ManelGarcia

AndresAcevedo

Points +92

Vegan
10 Feb 2024

healthy sushi and more

We came in just as they opened after strolling through the area. We enjoyed the food and the staff was super friendly. The sushi dishes could be slightly bigger (wish the pad thai would come with Heura by default and didn't need to be ordered as an extra) and the music a bit lower.

Pros: Pad Thai yummy, sushi felt healthy

Cons: Small dishes, Loud music

Advertisement

Sandra021

Points +13

Vegetarian
03 Feb 2024

Muy bueno!

Está todo riquísimo. Buen servicio y buena comida

Roots&Rolls

07 Feb 2024

andreaigls

Points +236

Vegan
18 Jan 2024

La mejor opción de sushi

El local está muy bien. Pedimos uno de los menús degustación que tienen, el que incluye todos los entrantes, sushi y los baos y postre. Estaba todo espectacular, especialmente las dos tablas de sushi y los baos. Los entrantes no estaban mal pero en comparación con los otros platos pues... Sin más.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-18

Pros: Gran variedad , Buena atención

Cons: Un poco caro

Roots&Rolls

07 Feb 2024

Muchas gracias por tu visita y tu valoración!

Lucía.

Points +3239

Vegan
16 Jan 2024

Tremendous

Roots & Rolls is perfect for a delectable dinner experience in a beautiful and cozy setting. The menu is creative and versatile. Everything is presented as pretty as a picture and tastes even better. Our highlight were the baos, which were a pleasant flavour explosion with the perfect point of spice. We also loved the kinoko, hip carroots and say cheese sushi. Being still hungry, we also ordered the "popcorn", which was my least favourite dish, but still tasty. We finished with the deconstructed lemon tart and found pleasure in the well-balanced flavour/texture pairing of yuzu, lemon, vanilla and mint/sorbet, cream and cake. #Veganuary

Roots&Rolls

07 Feb 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful and detailed review, we really appreciate it! Hope to see you soon again!

Lucía.

07 Feb 2024

judithlovesvegan

Points +48

Vegan
09 Jan 2024

Tasty

We tried different sushi and the ramen, everything was delicious. #Veganuary

Roots&Rolls

07 Feb 2024

Thank you so much, we are very happy to hear you had a good experience with us!

S.Arnabat

Points +140

Vegan
31 Dec 2023

Bueno

Lo que hemos probado estaba bien, no obstante por precio y expectativas esperabamos mas.

Como pro diré que hay mucha variedad y la carta es amplia. Como contra el precio.

Roots&Rolls

04 Jan 2024

ChristianDanteDiaz

Points +261

Vegan
25 Dec 2023

La perfección

Ir a Barcelona, ser vegano y no ir a este sitio... ¿¡Qué haces con tu vida!?
De todos los restaurantes veganos que he ido a lo largo del mundo... Este por ahora es mi favorito. Todo lo que ofrece, la combinación de sabores... Deseando volver de nuevo.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-25

Roots&Rolls

27 Dec 2023

Muchas gracias Christian por tus amables palabras, lo agradecemos mucho!

JustineHollie

Points +57

Vegan
23 Dec 2023

Best vegan sushis I’ve had

Had the sushi degustacion plate and it was worth the price. Those are very flavourful sushis - the best I had since turning vegan. Highly recommend!

Roots&Rolls

27 Dec 2023

Thank you so much Justine for your kind review, we are so happy to hear you enjoy our vegan sushi!

RavlRVegan

Points +58

Vegan
17 Dec 2023

Una delicia

No nos vamos a engañar, es caro pero aún así lo vale. Sus creaciones de makis son una auténtica delicia.

Roots&Rolls

27 Dec 2023

Muchas gracias por tu valoración, lo agradecemos mucho!

FabioBronx

Points +159

Vegan
16 Dec 2023

Very Special Sushi

Very stylish place with special Sushi and amazing Starters.
Popcorn Cauliflower, crispy wings etc

Pros: Starters, Style

Cons: Expensive

Roots&Rolls

27 Dec 2023

H54LF

Points +153

Vegan
14 Dec 2023

Very Good

Walked in one evening and was greeted pretty quickly. Not the friendliest at first, but asked for a recommendation seemed a lot nicer afterwards. I ordered the mushroom ramen, and the sushi suggested from the server, who said his favorite roll was the geisha. The ramen is decent, but nothing to rave about. The geisha was absolutely a great recommendation and choice. Very happy with it! I ordered water as a drink, but didn't realize I was going to get a bottled water for 2.5€ lol oh well. A bit on the expensive side, but for the environment and quality of the meal, not a bad deal. Seems like the type of place you would bring someone you want to impress and that's totally okay. For casual travelers looking to save, you'll get some good food but it's a bit pricey if you're not a picky eater.

Pros: All vegan, Atmosphere

Cons: Pricey

Roots&Rolls

27 Dec 2023

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you soon again!

Natury

Points +29

Vegan
07 Dec 2023

A Culinary Gem in Barcelona

From the moment I stepped into Roots & Rolls, I knew I was in for a unique experience. This isn't just another vegan eatery; it's a revolutionary take on Japanese cuisine, reimagined through a plant-based lens.

The ambiance struck a perfect balance between modern chic and cozy comfort, setting the stage for an extraordinary culinary journey. The highlight, without a doubt, was their vegan sushi. Each roll was a masterpiece, both visually and on the palate. The 'Hip Caroots' was a revelation – a colorful medley of flavors and textures, so artfully crafted that each bite felt like a celebration.

But the magic didn't stop there. The 'Roots Pad Thai' was a symphony of Pad Thai, while the 'Ramen Miso' transported me straight to the bustling streets of Tokyo. Their innovative approach to traditional Japanese dishes, using plant-based ingredients, was nothing short of culinary wizardry.

The staff deserves a special mention too. Attentive, knowledgeable, and passionate about their offerings, they made the dining experience even more delightful.

And the finale? A vegan cashew cheesecake that was the perfect harmony of sweet and earthy tones – a fitting end to a meal that was as much an adventure as it was dinner.

Roots & Rolls isn't just a restaurant; it's a testament to the creativity and possibilities of vegan cuisine. Whether you're a long-time vegan or just sushi-curious, this place is a must-visit in Barcelona. It's not just about eating; it's about experiencing food that's crafted with care, imagination, and respect for the planet.

Pros: Interior Design and Atmospehere, Kind, friendly and proactive Staff, Quality of food

Roots&Rolls

27 Dec 2023

Thank you very much for your 5-star review, it means a lot to us! We hope to see you here soon again!

AlasdairR

Points +397

Vegan
29 Nov 2023

Good but somewhat pricey

Excellent Asian fusion food but felt overall that price quality ratio is not quite right. Service was ok but not exceptional.

Roots&Rolls

03 Dec 2023

Thank you for your review and your feedback! We are sorry we didn't live up to your expectations in terms of pricing, as we always work with the best ingredients and make everything in-house.

FK123

Points +641

Vegan
26 Nov 2023

Uninspired

I had the homemade lemonade with lime, the "say chees" sushi and the "heüra karaage". Rice was hard, taste was okay. Too uninspired.

Roots&Rolls

03 Dec 2023

We are sorry we didn't live up to your expectations, as we usually get good feedback on our dishes!

lindseyben

Points +76

Vegan
20 Nov 2023

So good we went back again!

We spent a week in Barcelona, and this was our favorite restaurant. We ended up going back again to try everything! The sushi is so creative and delicious. The drinks are fantastic. Our non-vegan friends loved it too! Would definitely recommend.

Pros: Creative, delicious vegan sushi, Best espresso martini ever!, Excellent menu

Cons: They basically kicked us out at closing time

Roots&Rolls

03 Dec 2023

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our dishes and drinks!

VeggieRasta

Points +523

Vegan
06 Nov 2023

Lloc increïble

Ja hem estat 2 cops. El lloc és modern amb una decoració interior que el representa. Vam provar els bao, sushi i ramen y tot estava deliciós. Els postres també no es queden curts 🤤. El preu és elevat, però penso que la quantitat i qualitat dels plats és correcte

Pros: Tasty dishes, Friendly staff, Fair quality price ratio

Roots&Rolls

07 Nov 2023

LegalVegan

Points +42

Vegan
17 Oct 2023

Absolutely incredible!

We went here for an evening meal on the first night of our trip and what a find it was.

We made a booking via the website and were given a choice of where to sit on arrival.

We opted to sit outside on the street terrace which comes with a 10% surcharge on your bill but the staff were very open about this and there were signs on the tables to let you know.

My partner and I had the €39 tasting menu which included half a bottle of wine or prosecco (each) or you can have beer/a soft drink instead.

The food was absolutely incredible and easily enough for 2 people due to the generous portion sizes. Our personal favourite was the sushi and the huera (soy based meat brand) karaage.

The staff were very polite and spoke good English.

And yes the menu is 100% vegan.

Very highly recommended.

Roots&Rolls

07 Nov 2023

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it!

lamiya

Points +257

Vegan
04 Oct 2023

Expensive for mediocre food

I was really looking forward to going to a vegan sushi place. I got the gyozas, cheese roll and kimchi, 16 euros for 8 rolls that’s not even good is ridiculous.

Roots&Rolls

10 Oct 2023

We are sorry to hear our food was not to your liking, as we usually get very good reviews on this. The high quality and the many steps in making the dishes (we do everything in-house) is also reflected in our prices, where we strive to always keep our pricing as fair as possible.

VeGoons

Points +41

Vegan
01 Oct 2023

Great and very creative Sushi!

A place that makes visiting Barcelona a joy every single time.

Roots&Rolls

10 Oct 2023

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it!

givitbigone

Points +103

Vegetarian
24 Sep 2023

Fantastic vegan sushi

Loved everything we ordered including a mock chicken dish to start that I remember being particularly delicious! Wine was also really nice. There is cashew used to make a lot of the vegan cheesy options so avoid the cheese sushi if you are allergic.

Roots&Rolls

10 Oct 2023

Thank you very much for your visit and your review, we really appreciate it!

LupitaMora

Points +1123

Vegan
24 Sep 2023

Muy costoso y el sushi nada especial

El lugar es ultra costoso y bueno, la verdad esperaba más del sushi. No está mal, pero tampoco me deslumbró. He probado mejores.

Pros: Todo vegano

Cons: Cobran más si te haces afuera , Muy costoso

Roots&Rolls

10 Oct 2023

Hola. Todos nuestros productos son caseros y de la máxima calidad, por ello tratamos de siempre ser honestos con nuestros precios. Saludos.

CatarinaJorge

Points +253

Vegan
21 Sep 2023

Beautiful and delicious

Great combination of flavours!

Roots&Rolls

10 Oct 2023

Thank you very much Catarina for your visit and your review!

MarianaParadisi

Points +132

Vegan
19 Sep 2023

La calidad es soberbia

Repetimos piezas de sushi porque realmente, esta gente sabe lo que hace.

Pros: La comida es de calidad, El vino de 10

Cons: Muy caro, pero lo vale

Roots&Rolls

21 Sep 2023

Muchísimas gracias Mariana por tus amables palabras, lo agradecemos mucho!

LiMiCPH

Points +52

Vegan
16 Sep 2023

Fantastic Food!

We went there 2 times because it was so good. We tried their tasting menu - which is just amazing - and the second time we ordered various maki rolls. Everything we tried was just delicious. Highly recommend the Geisha rolls and the chocolate cake/brownie. 😊

Pros: All vegan, Variety, Nice atmosphere

Roots&Rolls

21 Sep 2023

Thank you very much for your lovely review, it means a lot to us!

LeenaE

Points +79

Vegan
04 Sep 2023

Best food so far in Barcelona

Amazing dinner, also my non vegan friend thought it was great. We ate the starters chosen menu and shared a desert. This was enought food for 2 ladies. Tasty !

Roots&Rolls

11 Sep 2023

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us!

SallyMulholland

Points +48

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

First class

Making decor, welcoming staff, fabulous food, great atmosphere, good background music, clean, easy to find, we had the pad Thai, best we’ve ever had, fresh, tasty, ( no grease) and a lovely cheese cake for dessert, staff were very nice and attentive

Pros: Food, Atmosphere , Decor

SallyMulholland

02 Sep 2023

Should say “great decor “ auto correct 🙈

Roots&Rolls

11 Sep 2023

Wow, thank you Sally for your lovely review, it means a lot to us!

løuve

Points +171

Vegan
28 Aug 2023

Très bon et très bel endroit !

C’était vraiment très beau, et très bon. Pour chipoter un peu, les saveurs selon nous étaient un peu similaire, tout se mélangeait un peu. Ça n’empêche pas que c’était vraiment bon et que le service était très agréable !

Roots&Rolls

29 Aug 2023



This page has been viewed 59507 times.