• Rood Food and Pie

  • (7)
    19
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant serving a vegan start and main as well as two vegan pies: brown butter rosemary apple and a seasonal pie. Serves a vegan sandwich for lunch. Also serving cocktails. Happy hour Mon-Fri 4:30pm-6:30pm. Open Tue-Thu 4:30pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 10:00am-2:30pm, 4:30pm-10:00pm. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Rood Food and Pie
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by evenstar

JesseLee.eth

Points +16

Vegan
09 Dec 2023

Amazingly surprised

My wife and I came here for my 50th birthday and never imagined the food would be so good. We got everything vegan that was on their menu plus the beet salad minus the cheese.,  and we were both blown away by far the best, vegan dinner I’ve had in a time .

Pros: Brussel sprouts , Pie, Beet salad minus cheese

Advertisement

AlyssaEckles

Points +132

Mostly Veg
09 Nov 2022

Not so great anymore

I hate to update this review, but Rood Food is no longer the vegan-friendly place it was. Covid saw the restaurant reinvent itself into a more fine dining experience, with incredibly limited options. The only vegan main is a cauliflower steak now, with one appetizer and the option of salads with the cheeses and meats removed. Their vegan pies are still amazing though. Visit for dessert and a cocktail, but go get your dinner somewhere else if you're vegan.

Updated from previous review on 2019-05-31

Pros: Vegan pie option, Trendy atmosphere

Cons: Limited vegan menu

CRoh

Points +20

Vegan
17 May 2022

Not many options but delicious food

They don't do sliders anymore. The menu is completely different. This time there was only one vegan appetizer and one vegan entree and two vegan pies. I had the cauliflower steak, corn and zucchini cakes, and raspberry pie and everything was delicious! I appreciate that the cauliflower steak was served with bean so I wasn't eating only cauliflower for dinner.

I was disappointed there were so few options but the food was good enough that I wasn't mad about it. Expensive.

Pros: Delicious food, Vegan pie

Cons: Expensive , Not many options

hoke123

Points +111

Vegan
17 Jun 2020

Sliders are top notch

Highly recommend stopping in and splitting the slider options up with someone or getting them all.

kthomas

Points +343

Vegan
28 Dec 2019

SO GOOD

I got the yuca nachos, vegan crispy jackfruit, and the pumpkin pie- there were so many vegan choices that sounded delicious it was hard to decide! Everything was wonderful, from service to presentation, to actual taste. Definitely would recommend!

Pros: Many delicious vegan options, Fair prices, Good atmosphere

VeganUSA

Points +7410

Vegan
21 Feb 2019

Multiple vegan slider options available

When we ate at Rood Food in Pie, in February 2019, they were just three months new, but they seemed so established. The restaurant launched with vegan items from the get go.
Currently there are five vegan options for sliders: sloppy tofu, charred brussels sprouts, barbeque grilled jackfruit, awoken wild mushrooms, and crispy fried jackfruit.
We had the sloppy tofu with a side of jicama slaw, and the awoken wild mushrooms with sour cherry slaw - all delicious. Check the website, though, as they plan to change the menu from time to time. The rolls that accompany the sliders are two types: seasoned with curry or seasoned with cardamom. We enjoyed the rolls, but we also enjoyed the fillings as is without the rolls.
For dessert, we ate the rosemary apple pie made with a galette-style crust. Delicious, but they did not have a vegan ice cream offering, so we hope they add that in the future.

Pros: Multiple vegan slider options with vegan sides., Beautiful setting - looks like contemporary art., Excellent service

Cons: No vegan ice cream to accompany the vegan pie. , No off street parking; street parking limited.

evenstar

Points +175

Vegan
16 Dec 2018

Fantastic sliders

Hard to choose from the five vegan slider options, but I went with the Barbecued Grilled Jackfruit, and it did NOT disappoint. Fresh jackfruit, charred perfectly for amazing flavor, tossed in a finger-licking-good BBQ sauce. Curry rolls, cardamom rolls, and jicama slaw on the side. Omnivore husband's sliders came with a vegan daikon slaw that I liked better than mine! We shared an order of yucca chips, which were thinly sliced and were very close to potato chips - they paired perfectly with our meal.

The pie was quite good. Brown Butter Rosemary Apple (vegan butter!), it was loaded with apples in a soft pastry shell.

Can't wait for my next trip!

Updated from previous review on 2018-12-16

Pros: Many vegan slider options, Delicious pie




This page has been viewed 3329 times.