Romeo's Sugar Free Bakery

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 8 reviews )

Find

178 Upper St, North London, England, N1 1RG

Serves meat, vegan options available. Bakery offering gluten-free breads, quiche, and cakes. Open for all meals as well afternoon tea. Vegan options may include cheese-less pizza, salad, mushroom spinach quiche, salads, differen cakes. Can make vegan toast and crepe for brunch - ask. Open Mon-Wed 09:30-21:30, Thu-Fri 09:00-22:30, Sat-Sun 09:00-21:00.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, Pizza, Take-out, Bakery, European, French, Gluten-free, Non-veg

8 Reviews

First Review by Bea_lc

Summer_Tan

Points +1736

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Wholesome Cakes (Vegan Options too) that accommodates all!

TAKEAWAY: Vegan Triple Chocolate Cake, Vegan Apple & Almond Cake, Vegan Coconut Cheesecake

I didn’t dine in, and only stopped by to get vegan cakes to takeaway. It seemed to be popular among locals who were having breakfast/brunch here. The waitress was very helpful and friendly, happily answered the questions I had about the different vegan goodies they have, and was very accommodating towards my requests. There is plenty of seating – some tables outside and also downstairs (I think). The place has a rustic and warm charm to it with mainly wooden interior.

The vegan cakes I had were a mix bag. The great thing is that they weren’t overly sweet. The Vegan Triple chocolate cake was average to me as it was quite dry and didn’t have the intense chocolatey flavour I expected. The Vegan coconut cheesecake was good although texturally it was too soft for me, and I really liked the vegan apple and almond cake.

A novel idea of a bakery - natural sugars and offering vegan & gluten free options, but left more to be desired taste wise. They have good potential but definitely have room for improvement with their sweet treats. Still, I would like to come back again to try their breakfast/lunch.

Pros: Vegan and Gluten Free Options, Friendly Staff

Cons: Vegan Cakes needs improvement

KittyCowell

Points +24

Vegan
24 Feb 2019

Great!

I love how everything is gluten free and natural sugar only, and there are lots of vegan options too. It can be so hard to to tick all these boxes!

Pros: Lots of vegan, gluten free and natural sugar goods

Cons: Even more vegan options woild be great! Ha.

MisterSowers

Points +76

Vegan
07 Feb 2019

Not A fluorescent Chain Restaurant!

Such a relief to find a spot like it in the area.

Advertisement

jon active

Points +1803

Vegan
13 Apr 2018

Nice savoury stuff but a tad pricey

I've been refined sugar free for over 3 years now and so spotting this "sugar free" outlet was a pleasant surprise.
We were in a rush so did not try as many cakes as we wished but without a doubt the savoury items were the best. There are plenty of vegan options and the cheesy spinach pastry roll was a delight. The chocolate brownie was however a complete waste of time. dry, tasteless and dull. The prices are as one might expect on Upper Street islington, damn expensive. Top tip is to go towards the end of the day when the friendly staff we were served by offered us items cheaper that were the "last of the day" Maybe she spotted two poor folk from another socio economic lifestyle or maybe its policy either way we were grateful for the offer.

Pros: Sugar free vegan options!, Good selection of vegan savouries, Friendly staff

Cons: Expensive, Not all vegan, Avoid the chocolate brownie

IanShaw

Points +26

Vegan
24 Feb 2018

amazing selection!

Found this little place as I came to Assembly Hall for a show, and tons of vegan options! Really enjoyed it

cr87

Points +124

Vegan
24 Feb 2018

Great pastries and coffee

Loads of vegan options including quiche and pizza plus cakes and pastries. Really tasty coffee too. Will be back!

Bern

Points +86

Vegan
28 Oct 2017

delicious but expensive

I had the vegan apple cake which was delicious (sweetend with coconut sugar). Service was friendly and interieur cute. At £5.25 a slice, 5.5 for vegan quiche and 6.99 for a green smoothie it was quite pricey though.

Bea_lc

Points +553

Vegan
31 May 2017

Vegan GF and SF cakes!

At Romeo's they do some things very well and some others not so much... Their vegan: brownies, coconut cake and apple cakes are super tasty. They also have seasonal sweets on top of that usual vegan offer. However when it comes to veganism things they just tend to remove the cheese (like their vegan pizza) or brunch toasts.
The service is not ideal and they are on the expensive side of things by charging £3.5 for brownies and £4.5 for a cake slice.

Pros: Everything is gluten free and sugar free, Tasty

Cons: Very expensive , Poor service

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to North London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Romeo's Sugar Free Bakery closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1130 times.