• Roast and Toast Cafe

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Take-out
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Coffee house and cafe. Breakfast and lunch includes nutty French toast, granola and soy milk, bagels, soups, and sandwiches. Dinner menu begins at 4pm with a few veggie dishes such as roasted veggie lasagna, and fettucine alfredo. Coffee roasted onsite. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-2:00pm.


Venue map for Roast and Toast Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by gr8vegan

jbryan21

Points +158

Vegan
27 Aug 2022

Nice cafe with some food options

The dirty chai (soy for us) and blackberry lemonade were delicious. The avocado toast was a very small portion for $9. The veggie hummus wrap is simple and small for $9. Food isn't a great value for vegans but not a lot in this town to choose from.

Pros: Great coffee and lemonade, Two vegan food items

Cons: Very small portions, Not a good value

Advertisement

estela_edelle

Points +182

Vegan
13 Sep 2019

Good option in town

Great variety of coffees and good sandwiches, wraps and soups.
Plenty of vegetarian and vegan options.
great ambience and staff too.

Pros: tasty food, good price, good service

Damntastyvegan

Points +961

Vegan
09 Sep 2019

Great hummus veggie pita

Came on a busy Sunday afternoon. There is a note on the bottom of the menu to ask for vegan options. They basically tell you ways that the items on the menu can be made vegan.

We got the veggie hummus pita and I added roasted red pepper. My husband built his own sandwich with all the veggies they had on the menu.

They offer soy, oat and almond milk for coffee drinks as well.

The man ringing us up was really helpful and nice.

Pros: Good coffee, Friendly service , Fun atmosphere

Cons: Limited vegan options but do-able, Can get a little crowded and noisy

FalafelFiend

Points +92

Vegan
02 Sep 2019

Limited options

The vegan options are very limited, but many restaurants in the area have no options whatsoever. The veggie pita is great - hummus is tasty and produce is fresh.

harrietsleveen

Points +116

Vegan
21 Aug 2016

Eclectic, fun, reasonable

You will like the imaginative, fun decor. There are plenty of vegan choices, the staff is friendly and helpful. Prices are reasonable, I heartily recommend this place.

Pros: Good food, Good service, Good options

veganinvegas

Points +361

Vegan
18 Aug 2016

Lifesaver

Extremely busy coffeeshop. Tables jammed up against each other. Got just a large black coffee and used my own almond milk creamer. Restaurant layout is long and narrow and you order halfway into the restaurant. Which leads you to feel like a salmon swimming upstream against the tide of incoming people when you try to leave.

Cons: Limited vegan selection, Very crowded

happycowgirl

Points +5631

Vegan
03 Jul 2011

Best Veg in Petoskey

I'm a 20+ year vegetarian, went all vegan this year. I vacation in northern Michigan a couple times a year and I choose to vacation in Petoskey b/c of Roast and Toast Cafe. They're open for breakfast, lunch and dinner so you know you always can get your veggie fix.

Outside of Traverse City, northern Michigan is a meat-lovers paradise so the pickins can be slim for us. Plus, other than in TC, there is not one Starbucks in Northern Michigan. Problem solved: Roast and Toast is my first stop in the morning. Great soy lattes and oatmeal -help yourself to the Michigan cherries, raisins and brown sugar. Go with a bagel and cream cheese or toast with peanut butter. They have 4 kinds of breads fresh baked each morning. Try the spicy veggie egg wrap. Grab a homemade cinnamon roll. Vegan? Their granola with soy milk is AWESOME.

Veggie or vegan, their salad selection has got you covered. I used to get the vegetarian sandwich which has swiss and cheddar cheese with deli sauce, carrots, cucumbers, zucchini, green peppers, leaf lettuce, and tomatoes. Now I get the avocado veggie sandwich (w/o the swiss cheese), the Avocado BLT (w/o the bacon), or a PBJ.

Only dinner is served after 4pm and the veggie options become limited. They always have vegetarian lasagna and spinach ricotta stuffed shells on the menu, so if you're veggie you're good. If vegan you're limited to the salads.

Inside they have free Wi-fi and board games. When you first walk in, there's a fun bulletin board, brochure and magazine rack to your right (so bring your veggie literature to post!).

Updated from previous review on Sunday May 24, 2009 to add that now there is a Starbucks in Petoskey inside Glen's Market on US-31 near 119.

Pros: progressive atomsphere, wi-fi, great food!

Cons: no vegan entrees for dinner

gr8vegan

Points +2359

Vegan
17 Jun 2008

cheesey

This place is fine for a vegetarian. The only vegan options are hot chocolate with soymilk and a ABC vegan cookie. Its a popular spot. If you've got $50 to blow you can eat at Andante on Bay, the more advanced notice the better your meal.




This page has been viewed 4751 times.