Rehoboth

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 9 reviews )

Find

1721 Babcock Rd, San Antonio, Texas, USA, 78229

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ethiopian restaurant with some vegan dishes and option for vegan group eating - see webpage for details. Open Tue-Thu 11:00am-9:30pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-9:30pm.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, African, Ethiopian, Eritrean, Non-veg

9 Reviews

First Review by Suz

Veggiesaurus_Jen

Points +262

Vegan
16 Sep 2021

Excellent food; our favorite place

The food here is always excellent— would give 5 stars if possible on HappyCow. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Rehoboth is always our first choice of where to eat in San Antonio!
My go-to order is the Shiro (always smooth and perfectly spiced!), lentil sambusas and the vegan soup with extra injera. The red lentils are also excellent, and the dnish.

Pros: Always delicious , Friendly

Kasham

Points +362

Vegetarian
30 Jul 2021

Put your hands in it!

Love this food! In case you’re unaware, Ethiopian food is eaten without utensils. I ordered the vegetarian combo plate and added spicy okra.
We shared a vegan Sumbusa as well.
Had leftovers and was full. Large portions and great value!

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Lylz

Points +30

Vegan
01 Jul 2021

Vegan

Wonderful food & service!!! Owner was super helpful and such a friendly person!!! Smells delicious in here and love the music & vibes!!!!

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-01


Updated from previous review on 2021-07-01

Pros: Great vegan options!, I was trying to rate this restaurant 5 stars!, Wonderful service and food!

Advertisement

metiche

Points +43

Vegan
27 Apr 2020

iconic and delicious

I go here pretty regularly and only one other time was someone else dining in, almost always just my wife and I and the server. so the service is great and the food is amazing!! good deals when ordering the large platters in my opinion.

Pros: lots of vegan options

hannahdlovell

Points +21

Vegetarian
04 Jan 2020

Great ambience, delicious food, and a taste of Ethiopian culture

I had never tried Ethiopian cuisine, so my husband and I came here and loved it. The restaurant is small, but full of culture and a small taste of beautiful Ethiopian culture. The food was fantastic. We shared the veggie combo for two which had lentil curry, chickpea curry, spiced potatoes, collard greens, beets, and turmeric cabbage. The habesha tea was delicious and tasted similar to chai, but much more flavorful (lots of coriander) and no milk. I’ll definitely be coming here again.

Pros: Fantastic Ambience, Delicious food, Great tea, habesha tea

Cons: Styrofoam to-go containers

NatalieJuarez

Points +22

Vegan
05 Jun 2019

AMAZING

The owner is very nice and the food is incredible. Honestly a vegan gem of a restaurant in SA

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Buffet 9.99 Tues-Fri from 11-2pm , So delicious!! Best vegan food in SA

emilykthr

Points +35

Vegan
29 May 2019

Vegan plate for 3

We ordered Vegan group eating plate for 3 for my husband and I since he can eat quite a lot=p Plus it has more variety of dishes than the one for 2 people. We also got vegan sambusas. Everything was delicious and inexpensive for the amount of food they give you. We left there very satisfied. I would recommend it especially if anybody is looking for a place for both vegan and their omnivore friends:)



Updated from previous review on 2019-05-29

ChristinaSalazar

Points +356

Vegan
24 Oct 2018

Delicious!

I've come here many times and me and my vegan friends love it! Order the vegetable combo which is a big party tray style assortment of lentils, beans, veggies on top of soft bread you break off to eat the stuff on top. Very filling and very delicious! They also have meat items so it's a great place to bring your nonvegan friends and family!

Pros: Amazing food, Authentic cuisine

Cons: A little pricey, Not a quick place, meant to stay a while!

Suz

Points +350

Vegan
15 Sep 2018

Don't Miss This Jewel of San Antonio!! NEW! Lunch Buffet!!

*** Update: NEW Lunch Buffet 11am-2pm Tues-Fri -- YUM!!

Wonderful place!! Family-owned and run, Rehoboth opened June 2017. One of those 'best kept secrets.' Located in a little shopping center on NE corner of Callaghan & Babcock, near Medical Center.

This friendly little restaurant serves authentic, traditional veggie and vegan fare you MUST try... and you'll be back ... again and again. From beautiful music and decor to the warm, welcoming family who host, prepare and serve their lovely native foods, it's a thoroughly laid back, pleasant experience.

Ethiopian style eating is communal and eaten with bread rather than utensils. (They do have utensils if you ask.) Enjoy the earthy, spicy green dipping sauce with little strips of fried pita bread that comes while waiting for your order.

Their colorful veggie combo platter gives you a tasty collage of several different dishes served on traditional, spongy, gluten-free injera flat bread. Start eating with soft warm rolls of injera. Eventually, eat the 'platter' of injera, too. Yummier than licking the plate!

It might not look like a lot. Don't be fooled! If you've never eaten Ethiopian food before, it's a delightful intro. You'll have plenty to eat and leave quite satisfied without feeling stuffed.

Always something new and beautiful added in cultural decor and menu offerings. Recently, the most scrumptious fava bean dish (called 'ful') showed up on their All Day Breakfast menu. Totally addicting!!!! Comes with rolls of injera and soft, fresh pita bread. mmmm... yes, on our way to get some now... :-)

They also serve wine and beer now, plus desserts, coffee, teas, and more. Filtered (not tap) water in your water glass.

Much attention to all the little details that make a difference. Ex: At the end of your meal, you'll get a tiny little packet with a moist, chemical-free, citrus-scented towelette to clean your fingers.

Quiet, comfortable, gentle atmosphere where they're pleased you came and treat you as an honored guest in their home. Even though they're not exclusively veggie, it's easier and more fun to eat vegan here than most restaurants. They're careful to keep vegan food prep separate and vegan. Vegan eating is part of their culture.

Check out their new menu and beautiful photos here... http://eritrean-ethiopiancuisine.com/ and then just GO! :-)
*** 10 star vegan fare *** Closed Mondays.












Updated from previous review on 2018-09-15

Pros: Great food... simple, fresh and delicious, Warm, friendly, welcoming, Plenty of great veggie and vegan options

Cons: None!

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to San Antonio Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Rehoboth closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1953 times.