Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Western
Beer/Wine
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Chef-owned fusion food restaurant. Offers a separate vegan menu with dishes might be such as tomato basil soup, avocado salad with spicy peanut dressing and crispy noodles, tempura vegetables with sweet chilli and soy dip, grilled mushroom bruschetta with onion marmalade. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-22:00.


Venue map for Red Onion
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by MuK-UK

Kadda

Points +77

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Very tasty and good selection of vegan dishes

I had the truffle macaroni sheese with wild mushrooms, peas and rocket and onion rings on the side. It was all extremely tasty with good portions.

Advertisement

Marta_C

Points +96

Vegan
14 Dec 2022

Amazing food - beautiful

You can't fault the Red Onion. I am annoyed by the fact that Happy Cow does not allow me to rate it 5 stars because it is not a solely vegan restaurant. Frankly, it is one of the best places I have been to for vegan food. You can tell that the chef has a genuine interest in food from the beautiful combination of flavours, creativity and presentation of the dishes. Most restaurants should learn from Red Onion - thanks to the amazing staff too :)

Pros: Attention to detail, Exceptional service, Delicious food

AshSned

Points +406

Vegan
12 Dec 2022

Great choice of vegan food

Had a lovely meal and really enjoyed what we had. Nearly all wines are vegan and all labelled on menu. Only thing was chocolate brownie was more cake like rather than brownie consistency.

RebeccaWhitten

Points +457

Vegan
08 Jul 2022

Great choices for vegans

We visited red onion as I had received a voucher as a gift. The menu did not disappoint and would be great to visit with omni friends and family as they have a bit of everything. The chef was even out asking people how their meals were which I think is a lovely touch! Would love to go back here.

SMandi

Points +156

Vegan
15 Mar 2022

Decent vegan menu

Had the vegetable tempura, very yummy. Breading wasn't too heavy. Then had the macaroni and cheese. Also very good.

madveganfood

Points +1166

Vegan
13 Feb 2022

Inexpensive high quality food

They have a fantastic menu with lots of options. I recommend this place if you are with omni company or even if you are looking for high class food.

Pros: Amazing tasty options

Annebumble

Points +503

Vegan
13 Nov 2021

Beautiful Vegan lunch

Dedicated vegan menu, vegan haggis bon bons were fabulous, mixed tempura vegetables and root vegetable korma. I’ll try the vegan Mac n cheese next time!

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu , Great service

Tylinder

Points +41

Vegetarian
13 Aug 2020

A lovely restaurant

The Red Onion was recommended to me by the owner of my favourite vegan restaurant in Glasgow for when they had a night off. It is a lovely restaurant with nice attentive staff. The vegan menu is varied and tasty, good value, the evening was relaxed and unhurried. Very nice indeed, thank you!

Pros: Good vegan menu, Unhurried and relaxed, Tasty food with a Scottish twist

VeronicaBrady

Points +30

Vegan
09 Jul 2020

Great for date night or celbrations

I love red onion for fancier occasions. Everything on their menu is delish. I personally couldn't afford to go hear every week but when you do it is well worth the wait. I would highly recommend the vegan taster menu.

Pros: Good Value, Nice vibe , Creative Menu

Cons: Pricey for everyday eating our , No cocktails

TimorousBeasty

Points +208

Vegan
13 Mar 2020

Plush wee restaurant with vegan choices but not wallet bursting

Plush little restaurant just behind sauchiehall street, a little off the beaten track but easy to find. Friendly staff and nice ambience. Food delicious and nice vegan menu. I had the haggis Bon bons which were lovely followed by a delicious wild mushroom risotto all finished off with the banana fritters which were again delectable. My carnivorous fellow diners also enjoyed their meals so caters for all. Reasonably priced set menu choice; Will definitely be back, can’t give 5 stars as served meat.

Pros: Good separate menu of delicious vegan options, Friendly staff, Nice restaurant with good ambience

Cons: Little off the beaten track but worth finding

RhonaM

Points +597

Vegan
13 Feb 2020

Great food

Lovely staff, good service and the food was wonderful. Lots of vegan options to choose from and affordably priced. Menus available online.

cgworthing

Points +46

Vegan
07 Nov 2019

Plenty of choice

A whole vegan menu to choose from with several options for each course. I had bang bang avocado salad to start and a risotto for main. Both were delicious. I would definitely come back.

Edent

Points +557

Vegetarian
24 Apr 2019

Huge vegan menu

Provides a separate vegan menu. Also has veggie and gluten free menus. Brilliant twist on local foods. A couple of local beers on offer. Service was quick and friendly.
A tasting menu is available if you book 24hrs in advance.

Pros: Large selection , Local cuisine , Credit cards accepted

garyandmax

Points +32

Vegan
24 Mar 2019

Spectacular looking food

Really enjoyed our evening at Red Onion! Friendly, attentive staff, with tasty and fabulously presented food.

Alyson

Points +751

Vegan
26 Oct 2018

Interesting vegan menu

Was here for a working lunch and was pleased to see a good choice of starters, mains and desserts (4-5 in each category). I had haggis bon-bons to start, just for the name, and they were very nice crispy balls with some salad. Mediterranean tart for mains was good. No room for dessert! Busy place so were glad had table reserved.

Pros: Interesting vegan menu

Cons: Busy, Serves meat

axis777

Points +107

Vegan
06 Jun 2018

Highly recommended

I went here just a few hours after arriving in Scotland with an 8 hour jet lag, and I am *so* happy I did. Their vegan menu (be sure to ask for it) was a highly welcome relief from travel food. The place was quite busy, so if you have more than 2 you may face a wait and there’s no bar. It’s worth it, nonetheless. I would come back here every time I’m in Glasgow.

Pros: Beautifully creative vegan options, Busy but quieter than other local scenes, In the artsy part of Glasgow

Cons: Serves all food persuasions, May be a bit of a wait if you have a larger party

TashaMacLellan

Points +50

Vegan
15 Apr 2018

Fantastic!

The Vegan options here are varied and full of flavour!! I highly recommend this place. Chef and owner is a well known Scottish guy, who clearly is open minded regarding veganism!!

Pros: Plenty of Vegan options Very tasty! Booth tables.

Agadooska

Points +559

Vegan
04 Jan 2017

OK for non vegan restaurant

Maybe my expectations were a bit too high after reading enthusiastic comments on Facebook but I left slightly disappointed.
Service was good, food was good but not exceptional. Avocado peanut salad was pretty good, crispy noodles felt as if they were made a day in advance but overall it was something unusual that I didn't see anywhere else, so worth a try. For main course I had mushroom tart which was quite delicious, quite unnecessarily accompanied by a huge pile of salad which I felt didn't really go with the tart, some rocket salad would compliment it so much better.
The biggest disappointment was dessert of banana fritters and chocolate praline sauce, fritters were quite mediocre and the sauce didn't go with it at all, the whole thing was screaming for some ice cream to bring it together and make it less dry.
Overall though it was good value for money considering the restaurant which is a bit more "fancy" than your usual vegan eatery in Glasgow and the separate vegan menu makes them an option for those forced to eat out with meat eaters on special occasions.

Pros: Vegan menu , Value for money , Good service

Cons: Food not that great

Loneill43

Points +20

Vegan
28 Mar 2016

Seperate Vegan Menu

Loved this restaurant so much choice, usually I struggle eating at a normal meat serving restaurant with one or two choices. The vegan menu boasts 5 starters and 5 mains and it's not just boring old sweet potato salad. I had lovely veg tempura to start and a mushroom risotto for main. I even got a vegan chocolate brownie. Can't wait to go back and try some of the other meals. Everything about here was amazing! Highly recommend!!!

Pros: Tasty, Plenty of choice

Mollyjane

Points +58

Vegan
16 Mar 2016

vegan menu!

I was delighted to find that Red Onion have a separate vegan menu- not just one or two veggie options! My choices (tempura and veg "meat"balls) were great and I look forward to going back to try some of the others. Well done Red Onion!

Pros: a full vegan menu

Cons: none

Lucy.

Points +22

Vegan
01 Jan 2016

confused menu!

We booked a table for two for dinner in the evening. We ordered from the set vegan menu, a starter and main each and for myself a pudding. The starters arrived and were excellent, the avocado salad and the tempura vegetables ( a very generous amount of vegetables). The mains were quick to be served which was great as we were hungry but upon arrival my spaghetti and 'vegan meatball' appeared to actually be shop bought cauldron falafels and spaghetti. You don't eat the two things together, it felt like 2 different meals so i was disappointed. The other main of bean burger was ok but they didn't live up to the starter which was disappointing. The pudding was of hot chocolate brownie and was served with a very thin alpro custard. When you go to a restaurant such as the red onion you expect good standards of chef who can cook things like vegan meatballs from scratch as it's something I do easily at home myself - even if he was using granose etc - the service was great but overall the food was sadly lacking. I don't see the point in doing a specified vegan menu if its not going to do flavourful and exciting vegan cooking justice.

Pros: good Service , food was quick , friendly staff

Cons: strong meat smell especially next to the kitchen , FLAFELS ARE NOT VEGAN MEATBALLS!!, price doesn't reflect the food quality

endofcity

Points +440

Vegan
16 Feb 2015

Vegan choices were a bit average

It's refreshing to see a restaurant offering a separate vegan menu but I was a little disappointed by the options available.

The choice is a little limited (to be expected) and I felt the dishes lacked imagination. They include mushroom bruschetta, the ubiquitous mushroom risotto and a tomato tart.

The service was good but when the food came I was very much underwhelmed. It wasn't bad but I wasn't thinking 'wow, I must come back'.

However, the effort they have made to have a separate vegan menu deserves applause.

Don't think I feel hugely motivated to return.

Pros: Nice dining room, Good service, Separate vegan menu

Cons: Prices on the high side, Food was very ordinary, PA system on wall!

MuK-UK

Points +262

Vegan
02 Nov 2014

How Refreshing!

This is surely the way of the future: somewhere that can offer something for many different diets and do it well.
The separate vegan menu offers a good range of choice. There was also menus for vegetarians and coeliacs. The wine menu also clearly marked the vegan options. The pre-theatre 3 course offer is good value.
I thoroughly enjoyed my meal in this pleasant restaurant and the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.
I'll certainly be back, especially if needing to eat with non vegan friends and family.

Pros: Varied Menu, Pre-Theatre Menu, Relaxed

Cons: Full Price Menu At The More Expensive End Compared




This page has been viewed 7172 times.