Rainbow Bakery

  • Bakery Bakery
  • Vegan
  • ( 18 reviews )

Find

201 S Rogers St, Bloomington, Indiana, USA, 47404

All vegan bakery. Offers both sweet and savory baked treats: cakes, donuts, and more. Open Wed-Thu 9:00am-2:00pm, Fri-Sun 9:00am-4:00pm. Closed Mon-Tue.

Categories: Bakery

18 Reviews

First Review by please.supervolcano

dcwalls

Points +24

Vegan
06 Sep 2021

Great taste and texture!

We visited Bloomington and had to try out this bakery! It was excellent! Prices were very good and the quality was excellent! We got three cookies and three doughnuts. The maple bacon doughnuts were excellent! The “bacon” is flavored coconut and it truly tasted like bacon! We will come back when we’re in town!

Pros: All vegan!, Flavor, Price

courtpline

Points +568

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Lucky to have this option in town!

Adorable vegan bakery with doughnuts, muffins, breakfast sandwiches, coffee and other drinks. Staff is friendly and you can order in advance. Will be hard to resist coming here daily.

Pros: All vegan, Great flavors & variety

highgenevieve

Points +144

Vegan
28 May 2021

Delicious Pastries!

Everything here is phenomenal! I go for the breakfast sandwiches. The delivery is also very fast and friendly!

Advertisement

Hgirlrice

Points +461

Vegan
26 Dec 2020

Go early

They sell out so fast. We went at 10 am and everything was gone. Went back at 9 and finally got to try some and found everything to be a little dry

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Sells out

Owlsdocry

Points +50

Vegan
10 Jan 2020

Great spot for sweet and savory pastries!

As someone who craves sweetness after eating anything salty and vice versa, I always appreciate a bakery that has solid sweet and savory options. Rainbow Bakery offers delicious sweet stand-bys (such as chocolate peanut-butter, toasted coconut, and salted caramel donuts) alongside some interesting specialty flavors (such as sweet beet, pistachio cardamom, vanilla rose, and lavender donuts). I also love their savory donut flavors (such as maple bacon) and their pasties (delicious dough pockets with savory fillings).

There are a number of flavors I haven't tried yet, though I'd love to, including the persimmon donuts. Persimmons are kind of a southern Indiana staple (and I have many fond memories of my Bloomington native grandmother's persimmon pudding).

Updated from previous review on 2020-01-10

Pros: friendly staff, sweet and savory, great range of flavors (and all vegan

Cons: hard to predict when specialty flavors are there, no free refills on coffee

BrandySchm07

Points +151

Vegan
02 Oct 2019

AMAZING!

All. Vegan. Bakery. What more can I say? They have a delicious array of baked goods - donuts, cookies, muffins, scones, hand pies, and breakfast sandwiches. Everything that I've had has been amazing. My favorites are the breakfast sandwiches, apple cider donuts, and chocolate crinkle cookies.

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-02

Pros: Lots of options, Gluten-free options, Balanced baked goods - not too sweet

Cons: Donut flavors don't vary much

eamoore333

Points +72

Vegan
02 Sep 2019

The Perfect Treat

The hand pies are amazing! I also recommend the sea salt chocolate chip cookies and oatmeal cream pies. I don’t care for the donuts, they tend to be dry. The only all vegan restaurant in Bloomington, a great business to support!

Pros: All vegan, many delicious options, friendly staff

Cons: pricey, donuts are average

wgrace

Points +16

Vegan
15 Mar 2019

Try the lavender donut

It was a bit of a walk from campus, but that’s only a problem for me. Besides that, it was great! They have an entirely vegan menu, which I think makes it the only entirely vegan restaurant in Bloomington. I had the lavender donut and the cheezy potato hand pie, both of which were amazing, and worth trying if they have them during your visit. They have buyable art on the wall and great music over the speakers as well. Overall, my new ~treat myself~ place!

Pros: Entirely vegan, great music, Mix of comfort food and new things

Cons: Little bit of a walk from campus , A bit expensive, but not more than any other cafe

cameronglass

Points +71

Vegan
01 Mar 2019

Quite possibly the cutest bakery

So in love with Rainbow Bakery. Best vegan donuts I’ve ever had. Hands down better than the famous Voodoo Donuts. Love to be able to pick up donuts and save them for the next morning. Never disappointed.

Pros: It’s all vegan, Friendly staff, Wonderful aesthetic

allhess

Points +5155

Vegan
28 Feb 2019

Absolutely Fantastic

Get your fill of both sweet AND savory! Don’t miss a stop at Rainbow... The Maple ‘Bacon’ donut, the Rice Krispie treat and the pasties are some of our faves.

Pros: ALL vegan!, Great staff and locally owned, So much variety

emsaberhagen

Points +16

Vegan
05 Feb 2018

Phenomenal!

I was afraid Indiana would be scant on vegan options, but this place was amazing! Possibly my favorite vegan bakery I’ve been to. Really quality coffee as well. A must see if you’re in Bloomington.

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

24 Jul 2017

Completely Satisfied

Friendly! Great staff and delicious donuts. Of course ALL vegan!!

Nickaleg

Points +26

Vegan
26 Feb 2017

Completely Satisfied!

We went to the Rainbow Bakery and bought half-dozen donuts. We bought one with choclate icing, chocolate icing with sprinkles, strawberry icing, blackberry(?) icing, maple flavored icing and I cant remember the last one. We loved all of them plus the cinnamon roll I got. Im kind of glad its an hour drive otherwise I would be tempted to buy one everyday! Its also beautiful to be able to support a local, small business! It was also a pretty busy place so it must be a popular Btown spot.

Pros: No waiting time even though it was busy, Yummy food, Friendly staff

Cons: Pricey

KatieB

Points +337

Vegan
02 Apr 2016

Breakfast Pastie!

Ok, yes, they have vegan donuts, cupcakes, etc., but the most fun thing is the breakfast (tofu) scramble inside a pastry crust with a side of gravy. YASSSS!
Also, the sea salt chocolate chip cookies are amazing :)

Pros: eclectic cool, great service , very tasty

Cons: Not a lot of seating, it gets crowded, How about some vegan Chai Lattes?, limited quantities

act123

Points +17

Vegetarian
10 May 2015

sweet treat

This is a gem of a store and a fitting place for a town like Bloomington. The customer service is on point, the pricing is fair, and the final product is fresh and delightful.

LenaH

Points +64

Vegan
06 Dec 2014

Absolutely amazing

Visited Bloomington for the first time in October on a whirlwind

Pros: Vegan and GF option pastries, Coffee shop, Great atmosphere

jessgrif

Points +197

Vegan
03 Apr 2014

So excellent!

Everything I've had here is excellent!

I could sit here and list everything awesome about Rainbow Bakery, but you'd better just go and experience it for yourself :-)

The only downside is they have some of those little half and half containers for coffee. I don't know why they did that - but if it means non-vegans will have an almost entirely vegan snack when they otherwise wouldn't have - so be it!

Pros: All Vegan, Staff can help if you have allergies, Awesome special order cakes

please.supervolcano

Points +485

Vegan
04 Nov 2013

tasty!

i've tried a few savory and sweet items from rainbow, and everything i've sampled has been top notch. plus, the people running the bakery are super friendly.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Bloomington Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Rainbow Bakery closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3960 times.