Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Latin
Colombian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small restaurant serving dishes with focus on the Andes region of South America, especially quinoa dishes and empanadas, including empanadas stuffed with quinoa. Larger selection for lunch, limited menu for dinner. Was originally pure veg but added chicken plate on Saturdays (only) per report Aug 2013. Weekdays vegetarian/vegan only. Open Mon 8:30am-4:00pm, Tue-Fri 8:30am-7:00pm, Sat 8:30am-4:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-4:00pm. Open Mon-Fri until 8pm.


Venue map for Quinua y Amaranto
© OpenStreetMap contributors

33 Reviews

First Review by veggiepachanga

GriseldaBaTa

Points +43

Vegan
02 Feb 2024

El menú del día es fantástico!

Un menú colorido, completo y simplemente delicioso. En un local muy agradable y bonito.

Advertisement

bimm

Points +35

Herbivore
12 Jan 2024

Very nice place

We had dinner here - in the evening they habe a set menu. Ours with a nice soup, a main and a little dessert. Homemade tasty food. The meal is vegetarian, ours was even vegan. They add chicken on weekends but makes easily a vegan option on demand. #Veganuary

jacklorusso

Points +208

Vegan
29 Dec 2023

Super cute place, delicious menú del dia

We loved it here. They made the menú del dia vegan for us by substituting one thing for a vegan empanada. Really nice vibe in here!

_rocha____

Points +2194

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Adaptable Vegan Option

Good location in the Candelaria area. The chef was very friendly. Great service. Had vegan option available (tofu “empanada”). Excellent dessert included. We left there quite satisfied.

Boa localização na região da Candelária. A chef foi bastante simpática. Atendimento ótimo. Tinha opção vegana disponível (empanada de tofu). Sobremesa inclusa no pacote, deliciosa. Saímos de lá bastante satisfeitos.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-29

ClaraTorrado

Points +26

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Deliciosa la opción vegana, quedé satisfecha.

Muy rica la opción vegana, y también me adaptaron el postre. Me gustó el ambiente y el menú de hoy estaba delicioso.

Pros: Un almuerzo delicioso, muy buen servicio.

mirkospino

Points +166

Vegan
25 Jan 2023

Perfects for vegans and vegetarians

Excellent small and beautiful vegetarian restaurant in Candelaria. The staff is super nice. I didn't check the menu, I just chose the menu of the day, menu del dia, which was vegetable soup (tasty) and lentil balls with potatoes, peanut sauce and avocado salad. Very affordable prices. Great, I'll be back

Pros: Excellent Food, Cheap Prices, Nice Staff

Cons: Close at 6:30pm

IsabelaMonteiro

Points +583

Vegan
16 Nov 2022

Home made & amazing!

I felt like eating in someone’s home. Food was delicious, with quality ingredients, portions were big and price was cheap! Best meal I had in Bogotá.

justaddvodka

Points +64

Mostly Veg
24 Aug 2022

Great set menu

Vegetarian set menu was great

DaynaLopez

Points +345

Vegan
21 Jul 2022

Delicious.

They have a set lunch but everything I tried was really delicious, the place is nice and the service was friendly.

Forager

Points +325

Vegan
22 Jan 2022

Good, but expensive, vegetarian food

Good food, with vegan set lunch option.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-22

Pros: Tasty, healthy food, Accepts credit

Cons: Expensive, Not vegan, only vegetarian, No outdoor seating

KevinCastañeda

Points +13

Vegetarian
22 Dec 2021

Porción pequeña costó elevado

El costo es alto del plato a comparación de lo que se recibe, un plato muy corriente

AlejandraFranco

Points +70

Vegan
07 Dec 2020

Rico

Lugar acogedor y comida rica, sin embargo venden platos con pollo

FleurdelaFleur

Points +63

Mostly Veg
17 Feb 2020

Delicious! But more of a $$ price!

18.000 COP. Seriously delicious and complete tipical colombian lunch, but compared to other colombian veggie places (usually about 8.000COP) they are a little bit more expensive. They definetely deserve this but so the pricerating should say $$, just to prevent false (cheap) expectations😄

Pros: Delicious!

Cons: $$ price

tdec

Points +99

Vegetarian
20 Jan 2020

Delicious !

We had a set menu for lunch which was absolutely delicious and complete.
Best pure vegetarian option in Bogota in my mind. Very cozy eatery.

This is a pure vegetarian restaurant, no meat on the menu or in sight, despite what HappyCow lists because of a 2013 review. This also means that the maximum score the resturant can get is 4 stars, but in reality this is a 5 star restaurant.

TamaraMontana

Points +36

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

Wonderful Vegan Options!

I would definitely come back!

Pros: Excellent Vegan empanadas , Super affordable, Great taste & value for the money!

MarcNocochi

Points +53

Vegetarian
10 Dec 2019

Delicious and very nice old house

They have a menu of the day, no options but everything was very good. You can check the menu online. 18,000 COP for all. Very good will go back!

There was no meat on the menu, all was vegetarian even seemed vegan but maybe they use butter. I didn’t ask.

CaptainRuin

Points +101

Vegan
31 Oct 2019

Delicious traditional food!

Had the menu of the day. Lovely and filling food, polite service and comfortable calm decor.

Pros: Delicious wholesome food.

Cons: Dining room a little small and busy.

alejandraguijo

Points +134

Vegan
05 Jul 2019

Opciones vegetarianas

El restaurante ofrece opciones vegetarianas y algunas opciones ventanas. El lugar es lindo y tradicional. Tienen un brownie increíble vegano marca Bahji y gluten free y otros productos de comercio justo, porque priorizar como proveedores a redes de mujeres y pequeños productores.

The restaurant offers vegetarian dishes and some vegan options. The place is really nice and traditional. They have an amazing vegan and gluten free brownie from the brand Bahji and other fair trade products, because they prioritize as suppliers women networks and small producers.

Updated from previous review on 2019-07-05

NatalyNájera

Points +2

Vegetarian
02 Nov 2018

Corriente

Fui al lugar al ver muchas buenas reseñas, el lugar es bonito y la comida es un plato corriente de porciones muy pequeñas y un altísimo precio. $17000 COP no lo valen si la comida es normal y poca, una mala inversión.

GaiaGoldhill

Points +39

Vegan
07 Feb 2018

a beautiful little spot

I just came back from a very delicious, very filling first meal in Colombia. Soup, salad, fresh juice, curry, and an incredible tofu and quinoa mix stuffed in dough. They had no problem making it totally vegan, and were attentive and kind. It was a little pricey (17,000), but worth it for the amount and quality. Would have given it a five star if I could. I saw no meat on the menu, so I’m not sure why it says they serve meat.

Pros: muy rico

Houben85

Points +88

Vegan
19 Oct 2017

Nice and cheap

Ate here with two vegetarians and one vegan. Got soup, a large main dish (lasagna for the vegetarians and some sort of vegetable stew with salad for the vegan) and a juice, altogether for 16000 pesos (about 5 euro). Tasted good.

Pros: Very cozy place , Large plates, Very cheap

Cons: Almost no options (can be an advantage)

AriellePerkett

Points +581

Vegan
28 Jul 2017

Good for vegetarians

While it seems to be completely vegetarian, when we asked for vegan food there was still a piece of cheese in the soup. The vegan plate was much smaller than the vegetarian plate, and sort of disappointing. Also no prices on anything, and the meal was almost twice the price (16000 colombian pesos) of other veg places nearby.

Cons: expensive small portion

Santa Fe Davy

Points +60

Vegetarian
12 Dec 2016

Lovely

This place is an oasis on a street of touristy restaurants. It is run by two ladies who offer a delicious three-course set meal with fruit juice. The food was delicious and the service attentive, and I liked the quiet laid-back atmosphere. I am told that they offer ajiaco, a Colombian chicken soup on the weekends, but when I was there it was totally vegetarian. Readers should realize that this site disallows 5-star ratings for restaurants who ever serve meat at all. So that weekend ajiaco cost Q&A that the 5th star.

Pros: Well prepared food, Attentive service, Quiet, friendly atmosphere

Cons: Little choice

bonn93

Points +309

Vegetarian
07 Jul 2016

Best in Bogotá

This place is lovely. Once I got the set lunch meal which they were able to make vegan for me and consisted of juice, soup, a few different rice/quinoa/veg dishes and an amazing dessert which seemed to be some kind of peach purée. It's a little more expensive than most at COP $16 000 but I felt it was worth it as all the food was delicious and high quality. For a more budget-friendly option, another time I got 3 BIG vegan vegetable-filled empanadas to take away for COP $7500. The setting is cosy, there's free wifi and it's well-located in La Candelaria. Overall highly recommended!

saskia.sc

Points +25

Vegetarian
13 Mar 2015

Great lunch spot!

Fixed vegetarian menu for lunch- includes soup, juice, and dessert (main course changes everyday). Really healthy ingredients, nice atmosphere, and kind staff!

amf84

Points +19

Vegetarian
20 Feb 2015

Cute and Cozy

Honestly, I was just happy to have found a place that serves actual vegetables! The restaurant is very cozy and the kitchen is right when you walk in. We had the fixed vegetarian meal which was a vegetable soup, pesto pasta with salad and an apricot puree for dessert for 15,000 pesos each. We also had an empanada...yum. I think this rotates each day. It was soothing and delicious, it felt like I was eating at a friend's home!

The owner and servers were extremely nice. We don't speak Spanish and they didn't speak English, but we were able to communicate everything we needed. :)

Pros: Plently of Vegetables, Friendly Owner, Yummy Food

Cons: They didn't speak English, No protein offered that day: quinoa, etc

Stine-Soendergaard

Points +20

Vegetarian
20 Jan 2015

Superb! My friend and I got a vegetarian menu for lunch; soup (which was tasty for a change), main dish, desert + juice. It was 15.000 pesos each and worth it.
- We went there last night (Monday 19/1 2015) at 6 and it was closed. So I guess it's only open for lunch




This page has been viewed 6829 times.