Vegan-friendly
International
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Irish

Quay Co-op is a Workers' Co-operative since 1982 founded on radical roots fighting for equality for all genders and for sustainable living. Home to Cork's first Vegetarian restaurant, which also heavily features vegan cuisine - today the restaurant is known as 'Upstairs at The Co-op' and offers table service dine in . A 'Downstairs Deli/Cafe' is open from 8am for takeaway and dine-in veggie sandwiches, salads & snacks. The health and wholefood store features Cork's biggest range of vegetarian food, much of which is made in house in. Open Wed-Sat 08:00-21:00. Shop opens at 8am Mon-Sat. Restaurant opens from 12-9 pm Wed-Sat.


Venue map for Quay Co-op Cafe - Sullivan's Quay
© OpenStreetMap contributors

70 Reviews

First Review by Stevie

plositive

Points +102

Vegan
10 Nov 2023

Full of Flavor & Personality

Loved the deli set up. Many vegan options and super friendly staff. You can sit and enjoy your food inside the grocery store which adds to the experience. Just lovely.

Advertisement

YogiColleen

Points +199

Vegan
28 Oct 2023

Delicious food

A lovely spot right by the river! We got our meal from the deli and a couple of prepackaged salads to go (all for €25). We really enjoyed the food- it was delicious!
We didn’t get to try the upstairs restaurant (maybe next time).
Customer service was so-so. And there weren’t as many vegan options as I thought there would be.
I would still go back should I find myself in Cork in the future.

Pros: Eat in or to go options, Seating by the river, Zero waste & refill home options

Cons: Not too many vegan options , Customer service was ok

JsonH

Points +293

Vegan
26 Oct 2023

Veggie & Vegan Deli

Had the burger and pastie, both of which were very satisfying and very good value. Staff were friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back again.

Pros: Very good value, Healthy Options , Friendly staff

Cons: Restaurant upstairs closed

RugbyNerd

Points +591

Vegetarian
17 May 2023

Großartig

A little bit expensive from a german perpective but worth it. Good selection and great taste.

dwsage

Points +231

Vegan
09 May 2023

Good food for a good price!

There's a decent selection of vegan options, which we greatly enjoyed. Large portions. Good price. Great place! Definitely worth a visit!

Pros: Delicious, Good options, Excelent price

yumyum22

Points +382

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Very filling vegan Tea

We got vegan tea for two. It was a large array of natural, whole food savoury and sweet snacks. I could not exaggerate how hungry I was before this, so I was prepared to be disappointed with small portions of a tea.

I was very wrong. It was incredibly filling, and delicious. Loved the deconstructed apple crumble.

I will add that vegan scones and cream were available, which was great!

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful views out of the window.

For vegans, the tea is well worth it - there's no poor substitute for vegetarian options, but rather full and proper choices from entirely plant based foods.

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-10

SusanaDuarte

Points +10263

Vegan
30 Mar 2023

Vegetarian restaurant

Vegetarian menu, we had a vegetables tempura with mini Buddha bowl, the oven potatoes and the tofu cocktail. Also everyday there is a different soup of the day. The food is tasty, but for the price they're asking is not really worth it.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-13

Pros: All vegetarian or vegan, Next to the market, Organic and locally produced

Cons: A bit expensive

Kittybiscuit

Points +7469

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

choice for vegans

2023 March I’ve been back here twice. I had a lunch special of vegetable tempura and salad and then I came here for dinner. The mushroom stroganoff was nice. I couldn’t eat all the rice served with it though. Staff are lovely.

2015 I was a bit worried I'd starve in Cork but I needn't have worried. There were lots of vegan options and the staff were so friendly and helpful. I had a shepherd's pie which was incredibly tasty. I also had a scone with soy cream. Yum!

Updated from previous review on 2015-12-17

Pros: friendly staff

Vegan-ista

Points +450

Vegan
26 Dec 2022

Vegan afternoon tea! New to the fabulous Quay Co-op 💚

Tasty, plentiful, special occasion afternoon tea - a new offering of the Quay Co-op. Was presented on a platter instead of the classic tiered stand but still very enjoyable. The organic vegan prosecco was delicious. All in all very good. How I wish they offered vegan scones and cream - available on the vegetarian option - would be so easy to make it vegan. Happy to recommend it, such a nice treat.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-26

Pros: Vegan afternoon tea in Cork, Great food, Fabulous building over looking the River Lee

ElizabethBushby

Points +20

Vegan
23 Dec 2022

Loved everything about this sweet place

Found this place on our last night in Cork. Absolutely loved it. Food was amazing, excellent range of cuisines that were well done. The staff were really friendly and helpful as well.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Vegan alcohol options clearly marked, Delicious range, hard to choose

DeirdreF

Points +316

Vegan
22 Dec 2022

Great place!

Loads of vegan options, nice atmosphere, excellent staff, good portions and not too expensive, definitely recommend!

julia2415

Points +20

Vegetarian
16 Oct 2022

great food + atmosphere

the menu was very clear about vegan/gf options, and the restaurant upstairs is lovely. the coffee is also delicious, and they offer a range of plant-based milks!

dms347

Points +385

Vegan
31 Jul 2022

Great Value, Cute Shop

This was my favorite place to eat in Cork. Really well priced, nice staff, lots of options.

Pros: Lots of options, Nice staff, Affordable prices

cpemp

Points +16

Vegan
29 Jul 2022

Tolles komplett vegetarisches Restaurant in Cork!

Super leckeres Essen mit vielen vegetarischen und veganen Optionen ☺️😋

Pros: Viele tolle Vegane/ Vegetarische Optionen 😋☺️, Sehr leckeres und gesundes Essen , Nette und höfliche Bedienung

ThatsVegayzing

Points +751

Vegan
10 Jun 2022

Unique and Delicious Plant-Based Cuisine


Healthy organic vegetarian/vegan food in Cork
Hidden gem!

Food ****
Absolutely delicious. We got the special which was a Malaysian vegetable curry with spicy apple chutney. We also ordered the Nut loaf which was an absolute must - one of the best dishes we’ve had in a while - comes with roasted potatoes and roasted root vegetables. SO GOOD!

Atmosphere ****
Very cute restaurant located on the second floor of a health food store but has an upscale feel. Parking can be tricky but we got a spot on the street near the restaurant and then you can purchase a parking pass for 2 euro at the food shop on the first floor.

Service ****
Great service and relaxed.
Also bathrooms available.

Price $$
Dishes were around 15 euro each.

Pros: Delicious options , Hefty servings

LisaLeahy

20 Jun 2022

From all of us at the Quay Co-op, we thank you for this lovely, comprehensive review and hope to see you again soon!

Ju'

Points +28

Vegan
16 Dec 2021

Heart warming restaurant!

Nice place with lots of vegan options (mains and some desserts), local and fresh products, great choice of drinks as well!
Paid a visit a few days after the reopening in November and had a lovely night there. got a "doggy bag" for my left-over , which is really nice to avoid food waste!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Nice staff and place , Reasonable prices

Trishadem

Points +13

Vegetarian
27 Sep 2021

CLOSED FOR REFURBISHMENT SEP 2021

It's not open to the public at present and it not quite clear when it will reopen. There is no reopening date given on their website.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-27

HealthyLiving

Points +24

Vegetarian
11 May 2021

Amazing Place

In a City full of great food - the Quay Co-Op stands out. There is always a great buzz in the place, the food is always top quality. On top of all that, there is an EPIC supermarket/health store downstairs where you can find everything you need.

Pros: Great food, Buzz, really good value

Cons: upstairs, might find it hard to get a seat at lunch time, ...

Veganup

Points +1500

Vegan
03 Feb 2021

Great food!

I had the pleasure of eating here twice while in Cork (pre-COVID) once for lunch and again for dinner. For lunch I had the antipasti board which was a combination of bread, olives, hummus and sun dry tomatoes. Sounds simple, right? I have no idea what was up with the sun dry tomatoes but they were fantastic. Not cardboard chewy like others I’ve had in the past, but somehow a flavourful semi dry but still juicy mouthful. For dinner I had a massive plate of some sort of veggie patties with gravy, carrots and parsnips. It was a huge serving and I felt bad that I couldn’t eat it all!

Pros: Heart healthy food, Large servings

risingv*gan

Points +116

Vegan
14 Dec 2020

good for lunch

has got a nice variety of sandwichs, rolls and baps, both vegan and vegetarian
they also have amazing soup in the store

livinlavidavegan

Points +551

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Great vegetarian and vegan restaurant

I've been here both as a vegetarian and a vegan and it's been great as both! Most recently, for the first time as a vegan, I got the vegan antipasti board to share which had a selection of bread, humous, pesto, olives and sun-dried tomatoes which was good (although a bit greasy). The best though was the vegan cheesecake which I was very pleasantly surprised to love!

Pros: Delicious vegan and vegetarian food, Nice old building with view of river

Cons: Not many vegan options

SheilaMosley

Points +90

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

Vegan cheesecake munching

This is a great place to go for vegan groceries and food. The cheesecake and wedges were worth the trip :)

Pros: Tasty vegan options , Well-signed menu

libgoddess

Points +78

Vegan
11 Oct 2019

Home from home

A beautiful, cosy, homely place with sublime food. Huge, filling vegan antipasti board with really tasty pesto and hummous. The tofu green curry was amazing! Lovely, genuinely friendly staff, and I really like how they keep carafes of tap water in the fridge for customers to help themselves to. My non-VG mum absolutely loved her salad. This will be my go-to lunch stop in Cork.

Pros: Warm welcome, Gorgeous food, Great view

Attentionerknox

Points +67

Vegan
30 Aug 2019

My go-to place for Lunch in Cork

I visit this place 2 or 3 times a week for lunch and to buy Oat Milk and bread in the store! There are plenty vegan options upstairs in the sit down restaurant and downstairs in the deli but I prefer the deli downstairs which is in the shop entrance. Here they have more of a sandwich and salad selection. Like a smoked tofu and roasted pepper baguette with pesto and organic leaves - my FAVE lunch eat for €5.50. Delicious and fills me up all afternoon. They also have a wicked smushed chickpea salad baguette with avocado and tomatoes, my 2nd fave. The deli offers salad pots with most of the salads being vegan - potatoe salad, coleslaw, pasta salad, chickpea etc.
They serve coffee down here but I prefer to get a take-away coffee from the restaurant upstairs - I guess I've been here so much that I kinda know who makes a good coffee and the staff upstairs are winning!
In the downstairs deli/shop they sell booja-booja dairy free chocolates as well as other sweat treats made locally. Individually packaged slices of vegan brownie or cake to take away.
The shop here is great, I get oat milk, rye bread, organic salads. Yesterday I picked up a jar of homemade vegan daal on sale for €2. Had it for dinner and it was divine!

What would I do without the Key Co-Op?

Pros: Creative Vegan Sandwich Selection, Vegan potatoe Salad, Oat Milk

Cons: Upstairs restaurant doesn't sell sandwiches

Lionesskeeper

Points +44

Vegan
01 May 2019

Highly Overrated

Had been at Vegfest in Cork and made my way down to the restaurant for something to eat at 6pm.. I went up a very grubby front up the stairs. The Vegan options were extremely limited. The falafel burger I got was barely edible owing to the fact the bun made the burger inaccessible because I couldn't bite into it. I couldn't even cut it in half. I just managed to eat the falafel bit. The only nice thing was the cold salad.Was willing to overlook that for a nice Chai tea and a nice dessert. I got a Vegan millionaire slice and said Chai. I had to leave the Chai behind because it wasn't even mixed correctly. The millionaire slice was nice. Also felt as if I was being forced out the door by servers. Avoid this place, there are nicer spots for Vegans in Cork than this.

Pros: The Vegan millionaire square was nice, The cold salad was nice and Vegan friendly

Cons: Dirty, Felt as if I was being rushed out the door, Vegan dining options extremely limited

ThomasVegano

Points +2346

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Just Ok

Not so many vegan option.

harlekwin42

Points +332

Vegetarian
24 Apr 2019

good for vegans

there is plenty of choice here. Lots of salads including, for example, coleslaw with vegan mayonnaise, and most dishes are either vegan or can be made vegan. Portions are huge - too big for me! Food feels a little tired, but I would certainly go back. Very reasonably priced.

Pros: plenty of choice, very good value, huge portions




This page has been viewed 16358 times.