• CLOSED: Quay Canteen

  • (17)
    4

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vietnamese food, coffee, and raw treats. Includes vegan range, and menu items can be made vegan. Upstairs in the mall. Reported closed October 2023.


Venue map for Quay Canteen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

17 Reviews

First Review by CourtneyStreeter

ChristelleJb

Points +225

Vegan
24 Mar 2022

Healthy & great vegan options

Good for a Quick lunch stop overlooking crown St. Wished portions were bigger even though I am not a big eater

Pros: Healthy, Lots of GF and VG options, Nice setup

Cons: A little expensive for portions, GF surcharge

Advertisement

rronnie

Points +32

Vegan
05 Jun 2021

I bought seconds

Yummy and plentiful vegan options ranging from a classic big breakfast to an array of Asian street food inspired lunches. There are so many interesting original dishes here that I had to try more than one. The coffee left a bit to be desired.

karenkilbirnie

Points +28

Vegan
23 Apr 2021

What a gem

Had the tofu satay banh mi with a chocolate peanut slice for dessert. The restaurant is on the first floor and if you’re quick you can get a seat outside. Chilled staff and great atmosphere overall. So happy Wollongong has this great vegan option!!

BronteM

Points +140

Vegan
23 Aug 2020

My Go-To for Lunch

I love Quay Canteen! They have an extensive menu and a large portion of items are either already vegan or can be made vegan. The meals are reasonably priced and are both tasty and filling. Vegan options and substitutes are marked very clearly on the menu. The staff are super friendly and there is always a great atmosphere here. Great location, and the balcony seating is beautiful.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, lots of non-vegan dishes can be made vegan.

Cons: Not wheelchair accessible.

carolynveggie

Points +50

Vegan
04 Jul 2020

They make you pay for stuff you didn’t want and didn’t eat.

We got the Oreo shake for my boyfriend’s birthday today, and it was very watery and bland. (Plus It looks very different to the photo they’ve posted online. No doughnut on top, no chocolate sauce, no sprinkles.) My boyfriend took a few sips and decided to send it back as it wasn’t at all what he had expected. They took it back. On our way out, we asked to take the shake off the bill as we hadn’t eaten it. and they refused to refund us.

They made us pay for a drink we didn’t want AND DIDN’T DRINK?! 9 dollars. The manager basically looked at us and said ‘well, I like it..’ and said he absolutely would not refund us. With this ‘pay as you arrive’ strategy, it’s like they can just serve you any quality of food and you have to eat it and like it. I mean just imagine ordering spaghetti and they send out the canned stuff and you have to eat it or pay anyway? We tried to ask kindly and be so polite, but the manager basically lectured us on how good his shakes are.

Just weird, it makes me see through the way he’s responding to all these other bad reviews.

Cons: Expensive, Different to photos, Low quality milkshakes

travellingpear

Points +202

Vegan
03 Jul 2020

Bacon and egg rolls!

We got the vegan bacon and egg rolls (Seiten, scrambled tofu, hash brown) and they were soooo good really nice seating on the balcony too

PpLuvsPugs

Points +33

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

Awesome

The vegan options here are fantastic! Food is always fresh and tasty. Great portion sizes too. Only criticism is the vegan breakfast was a let down, fake meats needed more cooking to add crispiness.

Pros: Steamed Buns are Amazing , Tofu Vietnamese Rolls Amazing

Cons: Vegan breakfast fakes meats taste doughy , Vegan breakfast meats need to be crispy

carmah

Points +40

Vegan
03 May 2019

Always a winner

Great variety of food and they are always offering new specials, the majority of which are vegan! Have gluten free options for buns also but I would not recommend if you are coeliac.
Staff lovely and friendly and the food is always delicious and served fast! The bowls they have are amazing especially the burrito bowl!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great central location, Sells cocktails and other alcoholic drinks

Cons: Can be a little expensive for some dishes

TannaCampbell-Brown

Points +40

Vegan
26 Mar 2019

Hidden gem

Great atmosphere upstairs with plenty of plants and a nice view of crown street mall. Heapss of vegan options including an amazing vegan ‘prawn’ or tofu laksa and vegan egg and bacon roll and raw vegan treats. Must go!

Pros: Loads of vegan options, Great location and atmosphere , Delicious

Cons: Was hard to find

JessPeirce

Points +647

Vegan
10 Mar 2019

Delicious

Lots of vegan and gluten free options, both are marked clearly!
I got the tofu satay baguette with the gluten free option which is actually a wrap and the Oreo shake while my boyfriend for the vegan bacon and egg muffin.
They also have vegan gluten free doughnuts which are also really good
I can’t wait to go back!

jaylip

Points +73

Vegan
18 Feb 2019

Amazing!

Pretty good vegan breakfast menu. The bacon/‘egg’/hashbrown muffins are to die for.

Pros: Clearly labelled. , Lots of options. , Super clean.

alison-mc

Points +147

Mostly Veg
25 Sep 2017

So many vegan options!

Love this place, really inventive dishes that are absolutely delicious. Lots of Vietnamese/Mexican influence and heaps of tasty sweet treats. Definitely one of the best places to eat for vegans in Wollongong!

VinnieHTHoang

Points +62

Vegan
08 Sep 2017

fresh and clean

The vegan food choice is amazing, so many different types of ways to eat your Vietnamese food. So happy I can eat my heritage dish vegan style!!!

Pros: imaginative , delicious, atmosphere

Cons: can cross contaminate with meat product in kitchen

MelissaMoutia

Points +62

Vegan
06 Aug 2017

Great lunch spot with vegan/veg options

Their Vietnamese-inspired menu is accommodating for vegans/vegetarians. The Banh-mi is heavenly! They are at a nice location on a balcony in the centre of Crown Street Mall. Really nice spot for lunch in Wollongong. If you fancy an after-lunch treat, try one of their vegan donuts. Pretty amazing!

Updated from previous review on 2017-07-13

Pros: Great veg options and excellent food, Good, sunny location and near shops, Good size portions and decent value for money when

sixteen_weasels

Points +22

Vegetarian
21 May 2017

Great food & plenty of veg/vegan options

Local take on Vietnamese cuisine; most menu items have the option of tofu and or mushroom on them instead of meat; staff ask 'if you want your meal vegan' as well which is cool. Probably the best coffee in town as well

Staples

Points +38

Vegan
07 Apr 2017

Best vegan food in town

Hip and central cafe with a great vegan range. The Pandan Waffle is amazing and made from the pandanus palm! Super friendly and somewhere you can take nonvegans who'd also enjoy.

Pros: Entire menu can be made vegan, Outside seating

Cons: Tricky to find first visit

CourtneyStreeter

Points +27

Vegan
02 Apr 2017

Always have vegan options and specials and are so, so vegan-friendly

One of the chefs (I believe) is vegan which is very reassuring. There's permanent vegan items on the menu. Some of the vegan specials I've seen are okonomiyaki, cheesey nachos and laksa. They also offer vegan desserts! They environment is so welcoming and the staff are all so great!




This page has been viewed 3158 times.