Fast food
Juice bar
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small roadside restaurant with bamboo tables, light and airy atmosphere. Has vegetarian and vegan options. Smoothies can be made vegan on request. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Quan 3 Chi Em
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by SeanSteel

zezekiel

Points +59

Mostly Veg
26 Jan 2023

A nice surprise in Mai Chau!

Really surprising to find such extensive vegetarian options in Mai Chau! We had a terrific “wrap and roll” spring roll platter filled with fresh local produce, tofu and strips of omelet. It was delicious, and more than we could eat.

There is also an intriguing list of local rice wines that we didn’t try but we may next time.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-19

Advertisement

FranziskaLais

Points +40

Vegan
21 Aug 2022

Good food but bad service

The food is really tasty and I can recommend it. However the service was really bad when I was there. We waited a long time for the food, our drinks came after two times of asking and we had to pay an extra portion of rice although we did not eat it.

Pros: Many options , Tasty food

Cons: Bad service

LuboSiska[ViK]

Points +329

Vegan
11 Oct 2021

Great family restaurant!

Most amazing spring rolls in Vietnam!

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-11

Pros: Some vegan options, Big portions, Great prices

Cons: Loong waiting time

RileyAnderson

Points +116

Vegan
09 Feb 2020

Large portions, fair price

The staff was friendly and the meal portions were very big. My partner and I ordered the vegetarian set meal #3 and were filled to the brim with deliciousness! The lemongrass and chillo tofu was our favorite as were the fried spring rolls and smoothies. (The dipping sauce does have fish so be aware) the glass noodles were also very good.

Pros: Lots of options, Large portions , Fair price

Cons: Only one staff member speaks English fluently , Bathroom was in the house next door

AmanParikh

Points +872

Vegan
25 Jan 2020

Big Portions and really nice family

Had the tofu in tomato sauce and morning glory with garlic. Really nice, hot food and big portions for the price

Nice to find some vegan food in such a rural town

Pros: 2 pages of vegan/veg options , Big portions , Cheap

juletta

Points +24

Vegan
26 Dec 2019

Wahnsinnig lecker!

Garküche mit einigen vegetarischen und veganen Optionen auf der Karte (englisch übersetzt). Bei veganer Ernährung nochmal nachfragen welche Brühe verwendet wird. Wir haben uns so wohl gefühlt dass wir zwei Mal dort gegessen haben. Beide Male sehr lecker (Suppe mit Reis-/Glasnudeln, frittierte Nudeln mit Gemüse und Tofu). Unbedingt den frischen Maracuja-Saft probieren... der beste Saft in ganz Vietnam!

Pros: Vegetarische und vegane Optionen, Englische Speisekarte

Cons: Keine Toilette

42TJ0NES

Points +227

Vegan
31 Oct 2019

Biggest Banh My & other tasty foods

We both had a Tofu Banh My (very tasty) which isn't on the menu, but a little Vietnamese always helps :D

Ask for: Bánh mỳ và Đậu hũ, không trứng (Bread with tofu, no egg) and you'll not be disappointed! It came with chili dipping sauce as well as soy sauce.

The fried vegetables and rice was delicious too! Oh, and the smoothies are to die for.

Be careful ordering anything soupy as most of the time even when you state you are vegetarian (Ăn Chay) the broth most often that not is bone broth, only sometimes will it be made with vegetable stock if the staff speak very good English.

We ate 3 times here during our 3 day stay in Mai Châu: an absolute must visit!

Pros: Lots of options, Great smoothies , HUGE Bánh Mý

Cons: We had bone broth when ordering a veggie soup

katelynlove

Points +53

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

Thank goodness

The food is made right in front of you with fresh ingredients! I’m excited to go back and try many more of the vegan options

Dsar222

Points +372

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

Great spot for vegans in Mai Chau

Great place for vegans in Mai Chau (which isn’t great for vegans). Menu has lots of veggie/vegan options, many which can be veganised if not already (e.g. they can make spring rolls without eggs if you ask). We got spring rolls, tofu in tomato sauce and morning glory - all absolutely delicious! We came back the next day for the tofu in tomato and morning glory it was that good. Reasonably priced (I think it was 40/50k a dish) and the staff are friendly and speak English. Don’t forget to sign the guestbook!

Pros: Many vegan options, Many veg options can be veganised, Reasonably priced

Cons: No takeaway containers

vegan3m

Points +1604

Vegan
05 May 2019

Don’t go during the evening.

Really nice family run restaurant.

The food was lovely here, however we would highly recommend NOT going during the evening time, as there are tons of moths that fly around the lights - many going in or very near our food.

We would happily come back here during the daytime though, as the food was really delicious.

I recommend both the tofu in tomato sauce and the vegetable pho in particular.
The smoothies were also great and very fresh.

Pros: They can alter meals to make them vegan, Very cheap , Generous portion sizes

Cons: Moths in the evening ruin the food

VictoriaSt

Points +431

Vegan
24 Feb 2019

Best place in Mai Châu

I had a banh mi, pumpkin soup, and ginger tea. The Banh mi was awesome and refreshing. If had pickled veggies and egg. Would be even better with some sauce. The soup wasn't what I expected, but still really good. Filled with potatoes, pumpkin, and beans. The ginger tea was great. They make everything from scratch, and can cook to your liking. Really nice staff. Most the menu options are 40k or 50k, portions are big.

Natatopa

Points +15

Vegetarian
07 Jan 2019

little paradise in Mai Chau

I was fed up eating rice and veggies in all its variety until I discover this charming place, with delicius vegetarian food. The owner is very friendly and smart woman, who can speak english really well. Fully recomended!!!

Pros: Good price, Open long hours

MelindaToscano

Points +22

Vegan
17 Dec 2018

Super nice

Good food and friendly family. We went there every day during our stay in Mai Chau.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Good and cheap food

Dimwiddle

Points +136

Vegan
17 Oct 2018

Great fresh dishes

This is a very nice family run restaurant with a nice relaxed local feel, the whole family is very friendly and welcoming. The food here is incredible - made from scratch by the mother of the family, with the help from her daughters. The portions are huge!! This has been the only place in Vietnam where I struggle to finish my meal lol! It’s VERY cheap for what you get!! One of the daughters speaks good English and knows what vegan is... on top of this there is a vegetarian mains and snacks section! Only negative is that the dish comes out when it’s ready, so you might have snacks and desserts served before your main dishes... this isn’t really an issue though as food is great in whatever order! We ended up going here a few times during our stay. Must try for veggies in Mai Chau.

Pros: Massive portion, Really cheap and delicious , Friendly staff

Cons: Wait time and serving order

jabcka

Points +70

Vegan
25 Sep 2018

מסעדה מעולה.

המסעדה צמחונית, בשרית וטבעונית. בעלות המסעדה, משפחה חביבה מאד, קשובות ויודעות להכין אוכל צמחוני או טבעוני לפי בקשה.

האוכל מעולה. כיף להגיע למקום כזה עם צוות כל כך נחמד וטבחיות כל כך מוכשרות.

תודה לכן.

SeanSteel

Points +391

Vegan
25 Aug 2018

tasty home cooked food

A lovely family run restaurant where they care about their customers and their food.
They have a dedicated vegetarian menu which can be veganised if you ask and explain clearly.
The tofu in tomato was the best we have eaten in our travels.
The smoothies were delicious from local ingredients. Just be sure to ask for no milk.

Pros: cheap and cheerful, daughter speaks good English

Cons: be sure to clearly explain what you cannot eat




This page has been viewed 2118 times.