Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Organic
Juice bar
Take-out
Fusion
Breakfast
Canadian

Part of small group of vegetarian restaurants - this one est. 2016. Serves a large variety of meals, and has a juice bar. Menu offers poutine with vegan cheese or curds, fusion bowls, acai bowls, salads, burgers, sandwiches, wraps, appetizers like buffalo cauliflower and dumplings. For dessert there's vegan cheesecake. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Pure Kitchen - Elgin
© OpenStreetMap contributors

88 Reviews

First Review by AmandaVollmershausen

etoile

Points +319

Vegetarian
15 Nov 2023

Just came for the poutine

I absolutely love poutine, and it's so rare to find a veg-friendly version in the U.S. Pure Kitchen was just across the street from my hotel, so of course it was my first stop. I was a little disappointed in the size of it, but admittedly it's listed under appetizers. The gravy was excellent, but I was a bit taken aback by how salty the fries were! Still, you can't get vegan poutine that often...even where there is veg gravy they frequently serve with curds, so it's nice to have the choice between them here. Good beverage menu too.

Next time I'm in town I'll have to try the rest of the menu, since the poutine was so small, clearly I need more next time!

Pros: Completely vegan poutine

Advertisement

JemmaThornton

Points +28

Vegetarian
27 Sep 2023

Great food

Tasty food, lovely atmosphere inside. Had a great brunch here.

AnthonyMTL

Points +233

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

Love the Terrasse out front!

Great food and nice staff. Pricy overall. Obviously you have to have the Korean Cauliflower wings.

vegdom

Points +364

Vegan
27 Jul 2023

Bowls and Wraps

Pretty standard bowls, wraps, juices. Similar to Fresh in Toronto, but more expensive / smaller portions.

Don't sit in the on street patio area unless you don't mind passing cars zooming right by your ears.

Pros: Fairly healthy vegan options

Cons: Small portions

Grabsy

Points +201

Vegan
11 Jul 2023

Great brunch

The potato pillows! Best potatoes I've had in a while. The tofu scramb and kale situation was also super tasty. Tempeh bacon was meh and the jam was weird and kinda smokey? But all in all I would definitely go back.

Pros: Potatoes!, Brunch , Almost completely vegan

Cons: Some dairy, Don't do takeout for brunch

MikeWigmore

Points +316

Vegan
26 Jun 2023

Don't Miss The BLT

Food was so tasty! A must visit! Try the blt!

Ad3le

Points +63

Vegan
30 Apr 2023

Slightly sophisticated and fun

Pure Kitchen is a staple for vegetarian and vegan food in Ottawa for a good reason. Their Korean cauliflower wings are legendary, and meals are generally filling, delicious, and nutritionally balanced. However, this is not a budget place, and I tend to gravitate towards it when I have something to celebrate with someone.

erint945

Points +537

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Home in Ottawa

While living in the Golden Triangle for two years, this became like a second home. My roommate and I loved sitting at the bar in the evenings or close to the window to watch the people walking on Elgin.

Great atmosphere, healthy but tasty food, and just all around goodness.

Deejsaray

Points +162

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

First time fan

We had the poutine, wraps, bowls, wings… (a few bottles of something sparkly) all of which were worth forking out the arm and leg for. Everything was dreamy good. Staff were down to earth and friendly, the atmosphere was class, and the vibes were high. If you find yourself in Ottawa with a big appetite and some money to spend, definitely go to Pure!

Pros: Unbelievably tasty, Quick and friendly service, Great choices (props to the veganised poutine!)

Cons: Pricey

JimboFord

Points +46

Vegetarian
06 Feb 2023

Consistently Dissapointing

Menu, portions and quality all continue to shrink, I now avoid sadly

Em_KaleGoddess12

Points +90

Vegetarian
15 Jan 2023

One of my go-to vegan restaurants in the National Capital

Pure Kitchen is one of my go-to restaurants in Ottawa! PK has some amazing regular menu items, including their bowls, their cauliflower wrap, and soups! I really like how creative they are with their rotating menu (if you are a local, you can follow them on social menu to see new items that they may add to the menu).

I would highly recommend ordering the buffalo cauliflower wrap with a side of red lentil dahl. It is my go-to order and never disappoints.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-15

Pros: Declicious and filling food, Creative dishes , Professional

Cons: Personally not a fan of their smoothies

Ascoles

Points +384

Vegan
20 Dec 2022

Simple food done well

Had the bimbim bap with crispy tofu and it was really tasty. The bowl was on the pricier side at over $25 including tip but they clearly understand good flavour. I imagine the dishes are reliably good and it is nice decor to sit in! If you’re looking for a range of hot food, this isn’t the place for you however. The menu is vegan aside from extras.

Pros: Tasty, Healthy, Happy hour

Cons: Service could have been more attentive

IronJuice

Points +982

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Bowls are underwhelming

Cheap cutleries, i feel those are sourced from dollar store.

Charred broccoli deserves a 5 star. Bowls are underwhelming besides Zen Buddha bowl which tastes indescribably awful. Tofu in the bibimbap bowl is good.

For the price I’m paying, it’s not worth a revisit.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-10

Pros: Mostly vegan

Cons: Expensive, Awful taste

edenthedrummer

Points +488

Vegan
23 Aug 2022

Amazing!!

The awesome burger if so delicious, and their homemade iced tea is perfect 🤩

LittleVegan_

Points +565

Vegan
19 May 2022

Always delicious!

My go to place when I am in Ottawa! I love their cauliflower wings and their vegan poutine. I also really enjoy their smoothies! I am hoping to bring my partner when we come down to visit next.

CaraLauren

Points +121

Vegan
19 Apr 2022

Delicious but pricey

Pure has some great options but it’s also pretty hefty cost wise. Definitely go here as a once in a few months treat but always great!

PurpleCurrant

Points +3538

Vegan
02 Apr 2022

A must try in Ottawa

The beeeest poutine I've had in Ottawa! The place is a bit expensive but everything on their menu is great, including the smoothies!

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-28

Isabelle Gosselin

Points +137

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Very good food

Nice « fresh » decor, clean, bright, « vibrant ». Staff is super friendly. Great choice of vegan food. Today I had the dhal soup and the « fantastik » noodle (Thaï) bowl, and hubby the chili, brave broccoli (amazing!) and the soulful bowl (lemon tofu, curry sauce, brown rice). We were extremely pleased with our meal. We’ve known this restaurant since the beginning and finds that they upped their game. Will be back soon!

Nathan

Points +2089

Vegan
16 Dec 2021

Yummy & expensive

Ate here with a friend and we both enjoyed our meals. We shared a green juice, the broccoli (BRAVE) starter, and two mains: FANTASTIC (peanut noodle dish) & LUCKY (bean burger). Then golden milk and carrot cake for dessert. Everything was really good. Service was great too. Expensive though.

minaelleg

Points +175

Vegan
01 Nov 2021

Awesome food, staff and vibes

Loved the food options, good for both vegan and vegetarian. Staff was super friendly and chatty! Will definitely be bringing my non-veggie friends here :)

XenaWarriorPrincess

Points +1906

Vegan
23 Aug 2021

Filling food, great dessert

The food was delicious! I had the Peaceful falafel wrap with greens and the carrot cake for dessert. The wrap was very, very filling and the carrot cake was probably the best one I've ever tasted. Service was friendly and efficient. They have an indoor dining area as well as an outdoor patio. Loved it.

Pros: Carrot cake was amazing

tengarine

Points +292

Vegan
18 Aug 2021

Yummy vegan food

I've gone a few times now and it's been wonderful each time. Friendly service whether it's to get food, apps or drinks! Would recommend the cauli wings (Korean BBQ). The fantastic bowl is also fantastic if you feel like a tasty salad. Also their chocolate cake.. wow!

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-18

stickincarn

Points +166

Vegan
17 Aug 2021

Excellent appies

We visited in August 2021. We had the buffalo cauliflower wings and the "prosperous" dips. I loved that the dips were all in one bowl and could be mixed together. Both appetizers were delicious. We just wished we had been more hungry so we could enjoy more food there!

The restaurant was taking part in the Ottawa Experience Pass. $50 off the bill.

We sat outside on the patio. The service was great. I enjoyed my margarita!

gopherveg

Points +2079

Vegan
01 Aug 2021

Great food and patio

My friend and I shared the cauliflower “wings” and a plate of fries. I ordered a wrap and salad and my friend had a large vegan Caesar salad. All of the food was delicious, vegan, and more than filling. I was particularly impressed with the wrap and how the tofu was marinated. I found the staff to be friendly and the service was quick. The patio is also big and lovely on a summer day. The meal, along with three drinks, was ~$85. I thought that this was more than fair for the quality and quantity of food. We both had doggy bags of food to take home.

Pros: Tons of vegan options, Tasty and flavourful, Great patio

SunshineKangaroo

Points +364

Mostly Veg
19 Jul 2021

Yum!

Came here for breakfast while on a trip to Ottawa. It was lovely, nice street view and lots of vegan options. The breakfast burrito was pretty good, not fabulous, but I’d come back here and try something else.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Atmosphere

Cons: Food was slightly dry.

meadowws

Points +973

Vegan
11 Jun 2021

Fresh

Delicious fresh food. Been a long time customer. I like that most of their takeout packaging is compostable. Nice staff. I love Pure Kitchen when I’m craving a bit of a healthier vegan meal. It is frustrating to me though that they still carry dairy products although all their food is fine vegan. Why not just have a 100% cruelty free facility when they’re already that close??

Rybinseller

Points +446

Vegan
20 Apr 2021

Favorite vegan poutine!

I love going to Pure for their healthy and nutritious juices and smoothies but most of all their cashew cheese poutine! The cheese consistency isn’t like a ‘traditional’ poutine but the mushroom gravy is delicious and the fries are always excellently made. I personally get the “sharing size” if I’m having it as a main so keep that in mind the individual might leave you wanting more if that’s all you’re having.

The picture also includes the sharing size poutine, Korean BBQ cauliflower wings (sharing size) and the classic burger with their half fries/half mixed green and a yummy Iron Warrior smoothie!

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly staff, Lots of options




This page has been viewed 16508 times.