Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Organic
Juice bar
Take-out
Fusion
Breakfast
Canadian

Part of small group of vegetarian restaurants - this one est. 2015 and is its first. Serves a large variety of meals, and has a juice bar. Menu offers poutine with vegan cheese or curds, fusion bowls, acai bowls, salads, burgers, sandwiches, wraps, appetizers like buffalo cauliflower and dumplings. For dessert there's vegan cheesecake. Confimed open May 2020. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Pure Kitchen - Richmond Rd
© OpenStreetMap contributors

34 Reviews

First Review by GrantBoland

BillWittur

Points +19

Vegetarian
29 Dec 2023

Great options!

We got the maple tofu noodles and spicy bibimap. Both were excellent. #Veganuary

Advertisement

James.look

Points +26

Vegan
09 Jun 2023

Great food!

Vegetarian or Vegan? Just be VEGAN!

NCRC

Points +38

Vegan
01 Apr 2023

Loved it! Will be back!

It’s a wonderful place. My husband and I went there for lunch. They had a nice variety of options to choose from. Food was tasty and satisfying. The service was excellent. We will be back.

Pros: Great vegan options , Satisfying and tasty, Excellent and friendly service.

erint945

Points +537

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

My All-Time Fav

My favourite, go-to spot when I lived in Ottawa and I always visit whenever I'm in town. You can tell the food is made in house and its so tasty! You feel like you're having a healthy meal but it's also just so filling and good. Great vibes during the day for lunch but also fun to go with a date or friend in the evening.

JustineNolan

Points +499

Vegan
21 Nov 2022

Delicious food, great service

I have been here a few times and every time I have trouble choosing what to order because everything is so good! This time I had the tempeh wrap which really hit the spot and a small vegan poutine. The poutine was good, but they put a bit too much cashew cheese for my liking, a little less and it would have been spot on.

The blonde waitress was super lovely and very attentive.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Not too busy, Great service

rtnc68

Points +344

Vegan
13 Nov 2022

Excellent

Excellent service and food.

Pros: Great options.

CLRtraveller

Points +7925

Vegan
02 Aug 2022

Good wraps and bowls

I was in town twice this year and ate three times at this Pure location.
My friend and I enjoyed an unhurried lunch (Dec. 2021), each of us ordering a wrap and a drink. I liked the fried cauliflower wrap & buffalo sauce (nippy; you can substitute a less spicy sauce) with mixed-greens salad, and my friend the falafel & hummus wrap. Wines and craft beers are available. Tables are partitioned with wood-framed plastic barriers. Pleasant service.
July 2022, I invited two sets of omnivore friends here, two days in a row, and everyone loved the food and the rooftop patio. Most of the tables on the patio are covered, trees are beside, but sometimes loud trucks are on the road. The Korean bbq cauliflower wings were very good. The unsweetened iced tea was just what I needed. The Zen Buddha Bowl is my idea of a perfect bowl meal: all the healthy components. A pitcher of rosé sangria was enjoyed by all. I took away two giant cookies, and they are scrumptious - best cookies I’ve found!
Great food here.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-16

Pros: almost completely vegan, good food and drinks menus

tofu4life

Points +138

Vegetarian
18 Jul 2022

Good Atmosphere, Great Food

This is my number one restaurant in Ottawa. The food is delicious and there is a wide selection of options with western and Asian influences. The poutine is the best vegan poutine I've ever found. The portions are quite big but the waiters, who were extremely kind and helpful, are quick to offer takeout boxes. The restaurant seems to fill up fairly quickly and reservations can only be made for large groups, so we had dinner at 5:30 and there was lots of room and the food was served very fast. The worst part about eating here is how long it takes to decide which of the unique dishes to have.

Pros: Delicious food , Fantastic staff , Great location & atmosphere

Cons: Space fills up fast

XenaWarriorPrincess

Points +1906

Vegan
11 May 2022

LOVED IT

Pure Kitchen is my favorite restaurant in Ottawa! Their generous portions of healthy & tasty plant-based food always hit the spot. My latest obsession is the Fulfilled (vegan eggplant parm sandwich) + you need to get the transformed kale Caesar salad as a side. They have a nice patio during the summer.

MissyDay

Points +159

Vegan
13 Sep 2021

Busy

The food was absolutely delicious. The absolute best cauliflower bites I've ever had. I would give 5 star, but we didn't have the best experience. They were very busy, it was very loud, the staff weren't very pleasant. We were wait listed and told to wait outside they'd notify us on the phone when our table was ready. Then they pushed us off the list, and they gave our table away. When we came in to ask about our table they told us we were in the way and to wait outside. The washrooms were upstairs and extremely hot no climate control. They didn't seem happy to have our business, seemed like we were more of a burden. I won't go back to this location. Hopefully their other locations have better service.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-13

Pros: Many options, Delicious , Flavourful

Cons: Rude staff, Extremely hot washrooms that are upstairs, Not fully vegan,they sell dairy products and honey

RobAbb

Points +94

Vegan
13 Aug 2021

Our favourite place

We go there often. Friendly, only 1 non vegan item which is cheese -optional and dairy for coffee. If I could suggest a small change, I wish they were 100% vegan

Pros: Great everything, Tofu blt is outstanding , Salad is awesome

BenMarshy

Points +696

Vegan
06 Aug 2019

Awesome

99% vegan here. They have a dairy option and a honey option I think but everything is vegan unless you specifically ask for it not to be. I hope these guys get rid of dairy and honey in the near future but it's an amazing place to eat. They have a sweet patio upstairs that I love to sit at. The bowls are amazing and the juices are to die for. A little pricy but worth it.

Pros: Many options

Cons: A tad too expensive for me

Nadveggie

Points +202

Vegan
27 Apr 2019

Amazing as always

Reasonable prices and great variety, pure kitchen is an Ottawa go-to. The food is always great, and the staff is nice. If you're in Ottawa I'd recommend visiting! Also, best cauliflower wings ever!

1aura

Points +36

Vegan
21 Apr 2019

Mmm...

Always go here when I am in Ottawa, so many great options. I’ve had non-veg coworkers join me and rave about the food too. Prices is very reasonable and comparable to most restaurants.

LoveJane

Points +134

Vegan
08 Mar 2019

Amazing

The best cauliflower wings!!!

Shannlo

Points +28

Vegan
27 Feb 2019

Dinner

Went yesterday for dinner with my husband. And it was fantastic. The food was incredible. We had the wonton and broccoli app. And I had the falafel wrap and he had a bowl. And we had the peanut butter cups for dessert. It was all great. And our waitress was fabulous. She was so great with all of our questions and she even gave us a list of other vegan places to try. Definitely above and beyond. Will definitely go back.

JamieParkhill

Points +77

Vegan
29 Jan 2019

Awesome restaurant!

My partner and I were visiting Ottawa for a few days and this spot became our go to everyday. Awesome menu, and they are very accommodating when it comes to modifying their menu items.

McKayla

Points +28

Vegan
28 Jan 2019

love this place!

one of my favourite restaurants ever! the menu has a great selection and is so delicious!

Wattsup

Points +365

Vegan
03 Jan 2019

Super friendly waitress

Nice atmosphere and very friendly servers. Lots to choose from — even for snacks!

Pros: Cashew cheese, Friendly servers

Cons: Cost adds up fast, Seasonal menu, Crowded = looooong wait for table

trickster

Points +13

Mostly Veg
25 Oct 2018

Un incontournable dans la région!

Menu varié et permis d’alcool.

Unibrows97

Points +417

Vegan
24 Oct 2018

My favourite restaurant in town


I just left Ottawa but I have been to Pure Kitchen’s 3 locations multiple times. Everything on the menu is vegan unless you add cheese but they have cashew cheese too. I have tried everything on the menu and I would recommend the poutine (obviously), the cauliflower bites, the Lucky burger, the mystical bowl and the fantastic bowl but I haven’t had a single bad thing in my whole year living in Ottawa.

lovinkarin

Points +77

Vegan
23 Mar 2018

Always Awesome

We waited about 10 minutes for a table, but the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The cashew cream Poutine with goddess greens did not disappoint. The buffalo cauliflower wings were a little more spicy than my taste, so next time I would ask for a different sauce. The highlight of tonight was definitely my good company and the Poutine.

KarinaChartrand

Points +30

Vegan
18 Feb 2018

Best vegan food

The best vegan food I ever had. I went with my non-vegan family and they loved it. The fries are so good and crispy!!😍The poutine is so delicious tho. My family had some burgers, ramen, falafel bowl, grilled cheese and a cauliflower wrap. EVERYTHING was amazing!! I would recommend to anybody even picky eaters will love!! 🌱

Updated from previous review on 2018-02-18

Pros: Good service, Good vegetarian food, Good vibes

Cons: Not all vegan

JonJon

Points +20134

Vegan
15 Nov 2017

A good find! Pleasant atmosphere

I had dinner at Pure Kitchen with friends and family. I took a burger (vegan) plus fries and I liked it: good taste and texture. However, I find the fries a little bit too salty. I also took a juice that was really yummy. Vegan options are numerous and varied. My (non vegetarian) family also liked the place and the food. The restaurant has great vibes, you can also try their terrace upstairs (on summer). The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is often crowded so make a reservation to be sure to have a table. Prices are a bit high, but it's not exagerated.

Updated from previous review on 2017-11-15

Pros: very good food, really pleasant place, many vegan options, friendly staff

Cons: not 100% vegan, a little pricey, too salty, crowded

Vanvegan

Points +76

Vegan
18 Sep 2017

great

Good food, good staff, lots of options!

Pros: lots of vegan options, very delicious food

Cons: serves non-vegan items

hayls04

Points +326

Vegan
12 Sep 2017

Great and wholesome food

I've been going to Pure Kitchen since they opened, every time that I am in Ottawa. Everything is vegetarian and most things are vegan with the exception of the option to add dairy cheese. They have loads of healthy tasty options like the salads (which are far from boring) and the bowls! My favourite bowl is the "fantastic" bowl which features rice noodles and a peanut sauce. The transformed salad is a take on a vegan Caesar salad made with kale and it's fantastic :) the smoothies and juices are also super tasty and the vegan poutine is to die for!! Beautiful rooftop patio and aesthetically pleasing interior make for a lovely atmosphere & the location is great because I can almost always find parking nearby.

Veganchick11

Points +320

Vegan
29 Apr 2017

Vegan Meatball Sub!

After taking me a few years to check this place out, I've now eaten here twice this week! Highly recommend the cauliflower wings, the neatball sub, and the vegan chocolate cake. I'd pass on the vegan cheesecake - I was so excited about it but sadly the texture was just slightly firmer than a pudding. Staff are really friendly, and the atmosphere is quite nice! Both times I went there was a wait time, and they only take reservations for parties of 5 or more. But, I'm glad to see a veg restaurant so busy!

Pros: healthy, lots of vegan options, vegan poutine!

Cons: A bit pricey, long wait times




This page has been viewed 11513 times.