• Pura Vida

  • (10)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Mexican
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has sandwiches, salads, soups, wraps, snacks, a soy burger, and breakfast food. Moved here in 2015 from Laguna 777. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-10:30pm.


Venue map for Pura Vida
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by shea11

KellyRollings

Points +604

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Great food - terrible service

We have the mushroom burrito- it’s big enough to share. Service was awful and we had a mix of English and Spanish speaking so it wasn’t a language barrier. We asked for hot sauce etc - they left for ages and then said no. Next table gets hot sauce. We needed to ask for bill 3 times. Staff said sorry it’s coming we are busy, 6 staff outside on break at same time - better management needed.

Pros: Many choices , Air conditioning

Cons: More European/American prices , Awful service

JonRivera

25 Aug 2023

I agree on the terrible service. This place sucks

Advertisement

Mayasah68

Points +94

Vegetarian
03 Jan 2023

Options available!

Great shrimp pizza and salads!

Mayasah68

04 Jan 2023

I decided to visit today since it had been quite a while. It was more than an hour to get our order. The waitstaff was noticeably lean and the food was cold. Very disappointing. Rating one star.

AnnaliseNeff

Points +130

Vegan
29 Dec 2022

Not many options

Not as many options as you’d hope. My partner and I ended up getting the chickpea burger which was only okay but fine when you’re desperate. They had soyrizo on the menu, but they didn’t have it when we went. I don’t know if they no longer carry it or if it was just sold out.

They did have other veggie wraps and smoothies on the menu we didn’t try, so definitely give them a chance if you’re needing food later in the evening.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-29

MelissaAyala

Points +204

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Muy bueno

Excelente servicio, muy atentos, me supieron explicar las opciones veganas, me explicaron que el guacamole tiene leche, entonces me lo cambiaron solo por rebanadas de aguacate. La comida bien servida y todo agradable.

Pros: Opciones aptas., Buen servicio., Llenador.

Simsimsims

Points +2283

Vegan
11 Feb 2020

Good

The vegan options are good, but the service can sometimes be improved

timothynicholas

Points +65

Vegan
26 Mar 2019

Good vegan option

Vegan options are not labeled but easily identified by staff even though I don’t speak much Spanish.

PaleoVegan333

Points +80

Vegan
27 Jul 2018

TRIED TO SEND BACK UNCOOKED FOOD, OWNER THREATENED ME AND CALLED POLICE!!!

I went there and was served tortilla soup that didn't have any of the ingredients in it that they claimed on the menu, and was just tomato juice and tortilla strips, and a quesadilla that was not cooked, and fell apart when I picked it up. Neither was edible.

When I sent it back, the owner came out to yell at me and tell me that I was the first one to complain at the restaurant in 20 years, and that I didn't know what I was talking about.

He yelled, and yelled, and yelled. He accused me of being a trouble maker. And never offered to change the food. So I just asked to pay for the drinks I had drank.

He yelled at me that I was going to have to pay for everything, even the food I didn't eat. And I said "I shouldn't have to, it was not cooked, and I didn't eat it". He then threatened me, and called the police on me. He actually called the police on me. Then he threatened me in front of them, so they let me go.

It was all very surreal, and traumatic. It was like a nightmare.

But I am sure you want to hear the full story and all the details, so you know what actually happened. They didn't give me enough space to write it here. But check out the restaurants listing on trip advisor and you can see it there.

BillLee

Points +91

Vegetarian
19 Dec 2017

good selection of hot food and good fruit smoothies

My wife and i both enjoyed our meals a lot. The soy chorizo was very tasty, and the smoothy had fresh mango and coconut. Yummy 😀

tenshilling

Points +145

Vegan
20 May 2017

Hidden ingredients so ask!

This place has a lot of options on the menu that are either vegetarian or vegan, plus an incredible selection of juices and smoothies.

We started with chips and salsa. To my surprise it was topped with a feta-like cheese! Didn't expect that! My dining partner isn't vegan so he ate it.

My veggie burger was huge but a little dry. After eating almost half, I spotted a thin white spread on the top bun, under the tomatoes. I'm guessing mayo? That was really annoying.

All in all I wasn't that impressed with my food. There are other solid vegan options here in Mazatlan. But this is a good compromise if you're eating with non-vegans.

Make sure to verify that what you're ordering is vegan and don't rely on what the menu says or your expectations. For some reason, I didn't expect mayo on my burger (but cheese on salsa isn't normal).

Updated from previous review on 2017-05-18

Pros: varied menu , amazing juice options

Cons: hidden ingredients not listed on menu , Expensive for what it is

MikeFeinstein

17 Jan 2022

I first told the waitress that I was vegan before ordering anything, ordered the soya burger like you did, and yes it had mayo. I talked to the manager about it later, saying that it is the responsibility of the waitress to warn me about the mayo after I tell her I'm vegan, and suggest removing it or replacing with something else.

shea11

Points +28

Vegan
26 Jul 2011

vegan in Mazatlan- it does exist!

We travel to Mexico a couple times a year and i usually struggle to find vegan food that i can eat while south of the border. I usually end up packing a lot of my own food. Last December we decided to go to Mazatlan (a city we normally don't visit) and i did my typical online search for vegan restaurants.

I happened to find Pura Vida online and so we decided to check it out while we were down there. We spotted it from about a block away because of the giant pineapple sign out front and i was skeptical what it might be like inside. But once inside, we were thrilled to find that most ingredients were organic and they offered a veggie burger which we ordered with no cheese.
They also had smoothies (which we didnt try) but their menu appeared to have several veggie/vegan friendly options.

Next time we visit Mazatlan, this restaurant will surely be a staple for us!

Pros: easy to find, veggie friendly




This page has been viewed 4526 times.