CLOSED: Pumpkin Brown

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 100 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

16 Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland, EH1 2JU

Cafe est. 2016 at the Grassmarket Edinburgh offering salads and raw food options, breakfast porridge and soya yogurt, coffee, juice, energy shots, cakes and more. Everything is gluten-free and vegan as of June 2016. Reported closed, Aug 2021.

Categories: Vegan, Organic, Raw, Western, Fast food, Juice bar, Take-out, British, Catering, Breakfast

100 Reviews

First Review by craigmc

itsmeagain

Points +412

Vegan
09 Nov 2021

Tasty food

We both had a lentil and quinoa dish I think it was; kind of similar to stew with quinoa or similar.
Expensive, tasty and fairly filling.
Dessert was cheesecake and was awesome.
We drank a very expensive soft drink too.

Updated from previous review on 2019-05-26

Pros: Vegan , , Tasty, Cheesecake

Cons: Expensive, Soft drinks very expensive., Small limited menu.

SallyCinnamon

Points +34

Vegan
05 Jun 2021

A little gem in Edinburgh

Love this place as it's entirely vegan and gf and I can eat anything. Everything I have tried here are decent portions and delicious. Please open soon. Highly recommended.

AylaO

Points +38

Vegan
20 Jul 2020

Lovely place.

Really cosy place in lovely Edinburgh. Perfect for breakfast or a snack.

Advertisement

OlaPurgal

Points +154

Vegan
28 May 2020

Delicious breakfast!

Very nice! Great stuff and atmosphere! Delicious oatmeal. I love this place:)

WendyCohen

Points +32

Vegan
02 Mar 2020

Delicious

Hadn't eaten all day so ordered the pea and miso soup and toast and avocado. All were absolutely delicious and great portion sizes. I also bought some beautiful hand made soap. Definitely recommended.

LinkaWensveen

Points +136

Vegan
26 Feb 2020

Super!

Lovely hidden gem in Edinburgh with friendly staff and awesome meals. Even sold washable diapers :)

Pros: Freshly made , Friendly staff

MirandaLangford

Points +52

Vegan
04 Feb 2020

great atmosphere and delicious food

i come here every tuesday between classes (u of edinburgh) and i absolutely love their food, desserts, and specialty lattes. in particular, i love their vegan quiche. this is a great cafe and i absolutely love going here!! (i saw a review that said their quiche is not vegan but it is!! they get it from a company based in edinburgh and it has a chickpea flour base)

Pros: 100% vegan and all gluten free except toast, great food and beverages, 15% off student discount

Cons: side salad is just greens and lemon, limited seating

RheaPorter

Points +25

Vegetarian
02 Jan 2020

Good but not excellent

We went out of our way to track this place down during our stay as its 100% vegan. Sadly we weren’t overly impressed. The cake and coffee here is great, however for main meals we found it limited. I opted for the quiche and salad, the quiche was tasty but for the additional £1.50 for salad I was pretty surprised to receive just a couple of limp leafs from a bag. For a vegan food place, I would have expected better. Has great potential.

Pros: 100% Vegan

Cons: Not a huge variety for lunch meals

ValentCat

Points +69

Vegan
26 Dec 2019

Some Lovely Cakes!!

Went to this cafe one afternoon last week with my friend and we had a great time! I had the pistachio and peach cake and my friend had the chai - they were both so delicious 😊 and the coffees were also just as yummy! I’m 100% coming back soon 😄

Pros: Lots of vegan options (cakes and other snacks), Great selection of hot and cold drinks , Nice and chill atmosphere

Cons: A small space - but it’s worth waiting for a seat

TomScicluna

Points +30

Vegan
24 Dec 2019

Almost perfect

Great food. I had the lentil stew... but I did find out they sell quiche, so not 100% vegan. Come on guys drop that last bit!

xoxoramengirl

Points +62

Vegan
22 Dec 2019

Nice soup

Had some very nice soup. Good portion very filling. The shop was nice and service was prompt.

Pros: Lots of options & everything was vegan, Fast service , Healthy

Cons: Expensive , Staff could be friendlier

Yramatram

Points +252

Mostly Veg
13 Dec 2019

Best veg lattes

I took an almond latte with blueberries and lavender.. Soo good!!!

Hiddenlavender

Points +272

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Yummy

Had the raw cake, could not fault them and then went back for more.

yairo

Points +128

Vegan
28 Oct 2019

Health focused cafe

GF, Refined suger free, organic, vegan and tasty. Do you really need anything other than that? Very nice cafe in the center of Edinburgh, beautifully served, tasty desserts, though not everyone will like them as they're refined sugar free. Also a lot of packed options.
The oats were simple and tasty breakfast, can't go wrong with them, also served beautifully.
Snickerdoodle bar and Raspberry lemon cake are also highly recommended.
Overall, loved this place.

Pros: Healthy and tasty

dani-K

Points +44

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Front of house letting them down

Our first time visit this venue. We found them via happy cow and were very excited to try out. We were drawn because they are are vegan establishment. On entering the decor was lovely and upon arrival of our food, we were satisfied. One small note, the mixed leaf salad was a bit sad and more of a garnish- not representative of the £1.50 price tag.

Our disappointment came due to after placing our order and returning to our seat we realised the venue offer student discount. Off our food bill this would have saved us £4, so another drink or a cake. When we returned to the till (immediately before even sitting to our table) we were told we can’t be refunded nor compensated and were told ‘next time’. This inflexibility and the manner in which it was handled, no empathy and no attempt to try to help us by any avenue as well as the lady that served us turned to a colleague and said ‘they want something free’. I think given you advertised 15% discount we are within our rights to claim this. £4 matter a lot to students.
We enjoyed the food but wouldn’t return purely due to the lack of smiles and help from the serving team. Definitely something for the owners to review

Pros: Vegan, Nice food , Lovely setting

Cons: Sombre staff, Inflexibility of procedures , Lacking warmth from staff

@trying2bevegan

Points +242

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

Healthy food stop!

This hip and trendy vegan place is awesome if you are after a quick and tasty stop for food.
The interior is clean and fresh and so is the food. There isn't many places to sit so wouldn't recommend for more than 2/4 people unless you plan on taking away. The price is right and a soup and salad costing £8.
The soup was flavourful and tummy warming. And the salad was Dank! (in a good way) fresh and tasty dressing makes the bowl the best!
Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Pros: All vegan baby

Cons: Not many seats

sas1999

Points +23

Mostly Veg
14 Sep 2019

Sehr lecker , aber nicht ganz günstig

Sehr süßes Café/Restaurant , das Essen war super lecker, aber auch recht teuer

Pros: Komplett vegan, Gratis Wasser , hübsch eingerichtet , Sehr freundlich

Cons: Portionen nicht riesig , Preise eher gehoben

Rosie108

Points +199

Vegan
12 Sep 2019

Cute vegan cafe with GF options

I ate a delicious slice of vegan, gluten free quiche plus had lemon GF/vegan cheesecake too. I would recommend both!

This cafe had a really nice atmosphere and was great for brunch. The staff were really friendly.

EmmaW

Points +63

Vegetarian
05 Sep 2019

Lovely porridge

Perfect gluten free and vegan food. I like their large variety of mylk options. Cutest cafe as well

Pros: Everything gluten free and vegan , Refined sugar free, Excellent location

Cons: Quite pricey

ThePorridge

Points +124

Vegan
17 Aug 2019

Great coffee

The smoothie bowl was totally delicious and the coffee was also good, although no decaf was available. The avocado on toast was average and the porridge was unavailable.

itsjules

Points +227

Vegan
01 Aug 2019

nice little bistro

sweet little store with a rage of vegan food and good vibes.
the salad and sandwich tasted delicious!
cool decoration and very nice staff.

the food was a little expansive but worth the price. sadly they only had plastic cutlery for take away..

AlexandraScheumann

Points +126

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Very delicious cakes

We visited this place today with our two kids. We had sandwiches, cappuccino with hazelnut milk, cafe latte with almond milk, green goddess smoothie, brownies and a snicker doodle cake. Everything was very delicious.

RawMunchies

Points +26

Raw
21 Jul 2019

Great Cakes!

One of my favourites places in the city.
Got great cakes - I took this Blueberry Cake photo on my birthday. It was absolute yum!
Inspired me to make blueberry cupcakes
http://rawmunchies.org/blueberry-cupcakes-2/
And their hours and location are great too.

Pros: taste, location, opening hours

Cons: should have more salad options, could have a larger menu

Paolj

Points +113

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

Troppo pepe e dolci insapore

Ho preso due torte salate una piena di pepe l’altra di peperoni. E due torte molto costose ghiacciate e con poco sapore

Pros: Bio, Km0

Cons: Costoso, Piatti freddi

LVienne

Points +203

Vegan
14 Jul 2019

Great vegan cafe in Royal Mile

Lovely all-vegan cafe with very friendly staff. Had two great oat milk lattes - lavender & blueberry and Rose & raspberry, followed by great tofu-based tortilla slices and vegan passion fruit cheesecake. Not cheap (unsurprisingly around here) but a great start to our day.

Pros: Lots of quality and interesting vegan choices

Yamuna.Kemmerling

Points +72

Vegan
07 Jul 2019

Zero waste heaven

Small but charming café in the middle of the city. They also sell zero waste supplies... we bought to reusable coffee-to-go-cups made out of paper!! They are amazing!

Pros: They have to go sandwiches and so on, Vegan twix and bounty! , Middle of the city

Cons: No soy milk

Tanyamyam

Points +96

Vegan
06 Jul 2019

vegan for all😍😍

Little nice café that has no big signs that everything is vegan and this is the best!!
We loved the place for the sentence we heard“if you are used to cow’s....“ Showing that cow-milk is not „regular“ or „normal“.
Fantastic (raw)cakes. Great smoothies.

Pros: yummy raw cakes, vegan bountee &twix, smoothies, zero waste stuff to buy (we took the cups😍)

Cons: no soy milk (but great oat)

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Edinburgh Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Pumpkin Brown closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 18638 times.